If you could have two things back at the club, what would they be?.

If there were 2 things I'd like to see again, it would be, in no particular order:

1. Wooden Tennis Racquets - I still marvel at the exploits of Boris Beckham and Yvonne Wollongong using the stringed timber. I currently still use a wooden racquet on the satellite circuit in an effort to break in to the WTA top 100. I just find that using a Continental grip, rather than a Western grip, i'm able to generate more spin than Nathan Hauritz on glass!!!

2. Catchit Fishing Bait - The number of fish myself and Scotty Wiper caught using this stuff up at Tocumwal would blow your collective minds. Until they changed the formula of course. i've been purring over the nutritional information of Catchit in its early days compared to its later days, and like SW, I am seething.

You know what gets people in - kids playgrounds and dog parks. No joke. Maybe if we can expand as per the masterplan we take over and expand the existing dog park (which is extremely popular) into our official precinct.
When we spent our year in Altona, my masterplan was to get a coffee cart and run it on weekends at the dog park in the Westona end. No coffee shops for a few K's in either direction. A free strong bowls and free dog snacks and bang bang!

1. Roo Ruckle - those two smooth squirrels don't hold a candle to him!
  2. A game breaker who would take it on themselves to lift the team when the game is there to be won. Carey used to do it every week - Duckwood does it for the Cats

Great post. We need to create reasons for supporters to visit the club - build attachment. We have a chance to do this with the new developments surrounding the ground. Create a decent cafe/bistro that will draw people in, a public interactive space (not just footy) and above all the best kids playground or similar in Melbourne - get the kids to support North and you have them for life. Create something that is unique to draw people into Arden St and build subtle marketing ops around it. Do it smart and it also becomes a revenue stream.

We can start this organically when our AFLW team plays games at Arden Street - its going to be awesome

Don't need two things. Just one:

Adam Simpson.

One Grand Final and now another top 4 spot with a list that's not top 4 in quality imo, all while having to travel interstate every other week. He's a very good coach.

More than two things, but every shit thing Carey ever did off the field.

Could have been such a great ambassador for our club, especially in times over the last decade when we've needed strong public leaders, but he was a train wreck of a human being.

1. A speech writer. Honestly...the swallow interviews were bad but ziebell is just as robotic. Bring some god damn spirit and passion off the field dammit. Jmac got all sorts of plaudits for standing up for the team in pre-season. More of that thanks and less "one week at a time and we will have a talk about it during the week" zzzzzzz. Fire up campaigners!

2. McKernan's 1996 Brownlow. It wasn't a suspension you pricks!

2. A game breaker who would take it on themselves to lift the team when the game is there to be won. Carey used to do it every week - Duckwood does it for the Cats

Kangaroos without fur

Criminal

More than two things, but every shit thing Carey ever did off the field.

Could have been such a great ambassador for our club, especially in times over the last decade when we've needed strong public leaders, but he was a train wreck of a human being.

Do you reckon the club would still be in Melbourne if he'd not ****ed up so badly?

The AFL would have groomed him to move for a few years then when our greatest ever player came out and said we had no future in Melbourne it'd be a kick in the guts we couldn't have recovered from. He lived up there for years and loved it from what i heard.

Then again from what i understand the clubs financial position would have been alot better without all the hush money he cost us because of his stupid behaviour when he was out partying.

What? Correct me if I’m wrong but I don’t believe there was a Grand Final played in 1998.

Difficult to play a Grand Final in a year that didn't actually exist.

I have a roo ruckle

1. Dr Harry Unglick - The Silver Fox (that’s what me and my 179 mates call him) was the Mr Myagi of the AFL. I don’t recall any long term injuries occurring under his rain. Some may call it good luck. I call it both.

2. Catchit - as the ad so rightly stated, “It’s great bait mate.” And it was. I never caught so many fish in all my life as I did when Catchit was released - Anything ranging from plankton to great whites to mighty blue marlins. And that’s no exaggeration. Plus the silver foil packet was way ahead of its time. Apparently NASA was commissioned to help with the packaging but dont quote me on that.
However, the bait worked so well that Wildlife and Fisheries demanded the ingredients be changed to reduce its effectiveness in one of the greatest sporting conspiracies of this generation. Suddenly, Catchit became useless which prompted me to run an online campaign voicing my outrage. Within 12 months we had an online partition signed by almost 20 seasoned fisherman including Jesse The Body Ventura, who was a Navy Seal at the time. But the manufacturer soon went bust and I was stuck with over 20 cases of the stuff. I ended up donating it all for a nominal fee to my local kinder garden for them to use as plasticine. They soon got it.

Yep - people drive all over Melbourne to go to popular playgrounds. I am serious. Do something special and people will come - add a few services around it and revenue will come. Then look at how you can leverage popularity with recruiting supporters. Its a no brainer.

This. Three kids under 3. We do this.

Been travelling Greece the past 4 weeks. Eating out is a ticking time bomb with the kids. Dropping plates, cups, forks knives, screaming...sooking!!!

Then one night we came across this one restaurant with an adjoining enclosed playground. Best night ever.

Get it done North.

If you could have two things back at the club, what would they be?.