Opinion If you could, would you reward the side who finishes top of the ladder as the grand final host?

The numbers are skewed because your mob turned in the single most embarrassing performance in GF history. Take that disaster out and the figures aren’t so different.
So 7 of the top 9 margins are Vic over non Vic teams (7 goals or more) and you still try to justify your position.
”yeah, if you ignore the facts that don’t suit my argument, I’m 100 % correct”

So 7 of the top 9 margins are Vic over non Vic teams (7 goals or more) and you still try to justify your position.
”yeah, if you ignore the facts that don’t suit my argument, I’m 100 % correct”
I’m comfortable with the fact that an exactly 50% winning ratio for interstate teams in Gfs is more significant than your winning margin stats, which don’t really tell you anything important

And you should be comfortable with selectively misleading statistical information, because that’s how Vics can justify a logically indefensible position..

Ok mate - let me break it down for you. I am using a larger data sample, comprising all GFs involving interstate teams. It’s not as big a sample as you’d want, but at least it takes in 30 years of GFs. You are breaking down the larger sample into 4 much smaller samples (V def non-Vic; non-Vic def Vic; non-Vic def non-Vic; Vic def Vic). Breaking it into such small pools of data makes the figures much less valid. Single results - such as Geelong v Port - distort those tiny data samples greatly. You are the one using stats in a laughable way, and then having a sook about it being something that apparently ‘Vics do’. Grow up and learn something about basic statistics.

Of course.

That just isn't going to ever happen. Neither is a GF at Metricon, or Spotless or in Tassie for Hawthorn ;)

Neither is a GF at Etihad for North, St Kilda or the Bulldogs.

So this argument is actually that if WCE, Freo, Port, Crows, Sydney or Brisbane finish top of the ladder they get rewarded with a home GF. Same as for the Victorian clubs who play out of the MCG. This argument is not at all about fairness at all.

Ok mate - let me break it down for you. I am using a larger data sample, comprising all GFs involving interstate teams. It’s not as big a sample as you’d want, but at least it takes in 30 years of GFs. You are breaking down the larger sample into 4 much smaller samples (V def non-Vic; non-Vic def Vic; non-Vic def non-Vic; Vic def Vic). Breaking it into such small pools of data makes the figures much less valid. Single results - such as Geelong v Port - distort those tiny data samples greatly. You are the one using stats in a laughable way, and then having a sook about it being something that apparently ‘Vics do’. Grow up and learn something about basic statistics.
Ok mate, I said at the beginning that the entire sample is too small but chose to humour you, let me break it down for you.
Trying to claim a 50% winning percentage overall means little, when 2 of the 4 groups that I’ve used don’t apply.
non vics playing non vics equal 50%. Always.
Vic playing vics doesn’t count. Always.

so you are left with the same two groups that I’ve used.
vics beating Non vics, and vice versa.

you've claimed that 50% is the true calculation. Which is one group compared to the other.
which are the same groups that I’ve used.
so don’t give that crap about tiny data samples.

the difference is that you think that a W/l calculation is the only measure.
statistically that it is too binary to judge performance, margins indicate HGA far better than W/L does.
Moneyball is the applied example that taught everyone that statistical correlation. W/L can produce skewed results over smaller sample sizes like a best of 7 playoff, but percentages always wins over the long term.
Casinos make their profits exclusively off this thinking.

the margin for vics beating non vics is almost twice the opposite.
If you presented that variance (on a larger sample size) to any statistician or professional sports gambler, and asked them to put their money down on one or the other, no prizes for guessing where they’d put it. Every time.

No guesses for even guessing where you’d put it if you were honest.

I’ve said enough. I know you won’t accept my post because that’s what BF is. You’ll probably resort to some childish insult about growing up and basic statistics. Again.

That just isn't going to ever happen. Neither is a GF at Metricon, or Spotless or in Tassie for Hawthorn ;)

So this argument is actually that if WCE, Freo, Port, Crows, Sydney or Brisbane finish top of the ladder they get rewarded with a home GF. Same as for the Victorian clubs who play out of the MCG. This argument is not at all about fairness at all.
Well that’s not what I’m arguing. I’m saying if you earn a home Grand Final then you should get it. Simple.

I understand. It's not exactly fair to the Suns, Giants, Dogs, Kangas, Saints, Cats, or a future Tassie side. I think, for instance, GWS would rather play a grand final at the MCG than the SCG if given a choice, although after last years result, perhaps not...

Team who wins it the year before gets to host it the following year.

Then hope Gold Coast or GWS never win it.

Make it a home-state final.

That still means the highest seeded team doesn't have the disadvantage of travel, they get to sleep in their own bed, have regular routine and the stadium will still be predominantly the highest seeded teams fans (as it should be).

No! How much 'advantage' should the team that finishes top get? They already get a home final for their first game and have to play against the side that finished 4th, whereas the side that finished second has to play against the side that finished 3rd. Then they get the double chance as well in case they lose.

After the first game all games should be played at the most neutral ground that can hold a big crowd.
You're so right. Why should the top team get an added advantage when that advantage could go to a Victorian team.

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

The other advantage of the reigner premier state hosting the grand final is that if their follow-up season is just as good as the previous, and their rival team has a strong year, too, you're more likely to get a derby grand final in WA, a showdown GF etc. If it isn't, you're not going to get that dream GF anyway.

It doesn't even matter. I'll say it. If Port Adelaide win the premiership It won't be the same, and it won't have merit given the heavily compromised season. Brisbane have had the biggest advantage this season and if they take out the flag it's purely down to the advantages that they've been granted by the AFL.

The AFL is an extension of the VFL It’s a different cultural environment concerning the AFL. We always (nearly always) want to maximize crowd and respect the tradition that the final will be played at the theatre of football- the MCG. It’s not like the US or the champions league in Europe where there is a rolling stadium allocation .
Other states holding the GF would seem ‘small’ compared to the G.

Make it a home-state final.

That still means the highest seeded team doesn't have the disadvantage of travel, they get to sleep in their own bed, have regular routine and the stadium will still be predominantly the highest seeded teams fans (as it should be).

That just advantages the teams who play out of the larger stadia and forces a group of clubs to host GFs not in their home ground.

Either the argument is capacity - in which case MCG hosts - or the argument is fairness - in which case any team finishing top gets a home GF. Your halfway argument is not valid and not surprisingly favours the team you support.

No! How much 'advantage' should the team that finishes top get? They already get a home final for their first game and have to play against the side that finished 4th, whereas the side that finished second has to play against the side that finished 3rd. Then they get the double chance as well in case they lose.
What does any of that have to do with anything?

Yeah, top 4 sides get a double chance. What would you prefer?

After the first game all games should be played at the most neutral ground that can hold a big crowd.
So if Richmond and WC play in a PF, where should it be played? Adelaide Oval?

Yes,

Vic clubs play the GF at MCG.

Interstate should play at their ground of choice if finishing top.

All Vic clubs should rotate through the season with equal number of games played at the MCG.

This means we then have an even competition without some clubs currently having a homeground advanatge at the G.

Make it fair, make it even, it will be a much better competition.

Some games would be played at night, some through the week, but fair fixture would be fantastic.

Yes,

Vic clubs play the GF at MCG.

Interstate should play at their ground of choice if finishing top.

All Vic clubs should rotate through the season with equal number of games played at the MCG.

This means we then have an even competition without some clubs currently having a homeground advanatge at the G.

Make it fair, make it even, it will be a much better competition.

Some games would be played at night, some through the week, but fair fixture would be fantastic.

Best suggestion of the thread IMO

Opinion If you could, would you reward the side who finishes top of the ladder as the grand final host?