Incredibly unpopular opinion: I hate the Auskick kids presenting the Premiership medals

That's interesting, how do they go about choosing them and why only from those areas?

It's actually crap, they have NAB AFL Auskicker of the week every week who get to go there and present the medals. There'll be kids from WA, SA, NSW, Vic, Tassie, Qld, maybe even the ACT or NT

Yeah have a look where the ( random) Auskicker of the round is from each week.

Yeah, because the Saturday Night Team always broadcast from Melbourne :rolleyes:.

They must make Nelson (Nelly) Mandela get out of his sick bed and row across the Indian Ocean in a small boat until he reaches WA.

Then when he lands at Freo, he must hitch a ride on a bus with the Purple Hordes, and head to the "G".
If he comes by boat, he won't be allowed in to the country.:p

I don't really see how having the kids do it takes anything away from the players. The players are getting a premiership medallion, and the focus is roghtly on them. The kids barely get their faces on TV but get a footy memory.
Its not as though the kid's name comes over the PA and they do a lap of honour for handing out the medals, nothing is taken from the players except having to act civil for a few seconds.

Keep the kids handing out the medals, but get rid of the Auskicker half time interview on the broadcast. Who wants to hear the little shyts. Their babbling is almost as inane as mine.

I have a better idea.

Scrap the two seniors sides playing.......have the Premiership decided among the aus-kick kids. mini hawks v mini freo :thumbsu:

I like this idea, then to find out the result we can turn 8 pages in to the back of the Sunday Press to see the "Hawks 18 beat the Dockers 12" and then the ladder so we can see where the Tigers, Blues, Bombers, Cats etc finished and we know from the use of the nicknames we are talking about 6 year olds and not the bloody seniors...but I 'm starting to go off on a tangent.

Get off my lawn kids.

Get rid of the kids, I say. What possible good could it do to let them hang a medallion around a champions neck. They wont remember it and will only give them a sense of entitlement for the rest of their life. It is also unfair on all the other kids that play AUSKICK and don't get to do it. They should let all the kids play auskick go to the GF for nothing, pay their airfares and have a run around on the hallowed turf.

Get a flipping grip :rolleyes: you bunch of humbugs.

The humble eh, what drivel .... if a Polly Farmer or a Kevin Sheedy gave a modern day player his premiership gong its a link to legends of the game who aren't with us forever.

GF day is about the players that deliver NOT some kid. Been a dreadful concept since day#1.

Im pretty sure no player gives a crap about whether its polly farmer or some kid giving them their medal, given they spend their lives around football personalities and they are probably too exhausted and happy to even notice where the medal comes from. What a stupid thing to complain about, pathetic.

Whenever you see highlights from GF"s past, it's always nice to see some legend or other handing out the medallions. What wasn't so nice was the bullshit crocodile tears from 06 when David Wirrpanda didn't shake some kiddies hand (after that one point win it could have been a talking horse from Ballarat handing out the medals for all he'd have noticed I'm guessing) leading to the graceful majestic Geelong-instigated cap-handing-out theatrics we have now.

Did lulz at O'Keefe last year plonking the hat on his own head before being instructed that it's about the kiddies and not him and having the camera follow him as he rectified his grievous error lest anyone at home have a heart attack from anger and fury that a kiddie didn't get the respect he somehow deserves by having O'Keefe plonk a hat on his head and shake his hand

So yes, I'm against it too.

Hate it.

This is something the players have dreamed of all their lives. To play in a winning premiership. And at the moment they go to get their medal what do they get told? "GIVE THE HAT TO THE KID DON'T FORGET TO GIVE THE HAT TO THE KID". It shouldn't be about some kid in that moment, it should be about the players. Scrap this stupid concept and bring back a legend of the game handing out the medals. Would mean a hell of a lot more being able to shake hands with Ron Barassi or Malcolm Blight or someone of the like and being told well done by them.

It's Grand Final day. They've just won the flag. Give the players one moment for them. Stuff the kids.

FFS just because the players have won a GF doesn't give them the right to forget their manners.

Shaking a kids hand when he gives you a medal isn't that ****ing hard, is it? If we had former AFL legends, would they shake their hands? I think so.

Did lulz at O'Keefe last year plonking the hat on his own head before being instructed that it's about the kiddies and not him and having the camera follow him as he rectified his grievous error lest anyone at home have a heart attack from anger and fury that a kiddie didn't get the respect he somehow deserves by having O'Keefe plonk a hat on his head and shake his hand

Mark Williams did the same in 2008

I see both opinions, on one hand it's a moment the kid will remember forever and on the other I can see the view where it cheapens the moment and looks like a or stunt. No other sport in the world does it. To be honest I think they should scrap it. The kids play at half time and they are still getting an unbelievable grand final experience.

I reckon loose the hats and get older Auskickers. Should be the Grade 5/6's (so 11/12yo's) who are taller and can shake hands like they look like they know what it's about. I know one who's about 6ft so he could be on standby in case Sandilands needs a medal hung around his neck! Also, the matching aboriginal kids to aboriginal player is rubbish. Have we not go to the stage where we don't have to do that.

Imagine the players for the rest of the weekend & mad monday?

Ross Lyon: Pav, aren't you pumped!? You finally got a flag!
Pav: Nah, its shit, it's meaningless, I had to receive my medal from some kid I don't even know.

Get over it, the kids would remember it for the rest of their lives and I'm sure the players don't mind one bit. Yes it's their dream to win a premiership and they've worked ever so hard for it. But they also get paid for it too. A lot.

Incredibly unpopular opinion: I hate the Auskick kids presenting the Premiership medals