Independent report into Hobart's proposed new stadium has found the costs of the project have been significantly underestimated

You know Penrith is outta west right? It's like saying why aren't there any kids wearing western bulldogs jumpers in Geelong. The giants focus areas are inner and central western sydney. They have finally decided to target specific suburbs, instead of spreading themselves too thin across the massive area.

Why soccer is the most popular sport in western sydney, it's where the most Socceroos come out of. Their crowds were massive, they've won an Asian championship and an A league title, but they have slid behind the giants for crowds, a club who have never won a flag.

You are making the mistake of comparing the giants to afl clubs in footy heartland areas across 100 years, you should be comparing them to soccer and nrl clubs in western sydney, many of which that have been around for decades longer, in a sport that gets Sydney and national saturation media coverage, via their mates at news.corp.
The inner west is Swans territory. Footy is strong there but it is all Swans. In fact you won’t find anywhere in Sydney where the Giants are more popular than the Swans.

That's to be expected really considering the swans have been around 4x the amount of time.

It's like going up to a West Coast Eagles fan in Freos 12th year in the competition and saying "did you know that West Coast is bigger than Freo in most parts of Perth"?

"...it's probably not finished until 2029 or 2030."

"A conversation with the AFL would make sense in terms of how those two years would be dealt with"

Even Though Gutters is still spinning the $hit out of it at least he now admits the time frame is impossible. Thats a tick for the Gruen report.

Wow, $4.5 mill lol it's literally nothing to a state government, in fact it's likely what they calculated it will cost the devils in revenue whilst playing out of a shitbox bellreive stadium, instead of a new one. Also the money goes to the devils not the afl. The abc really have an anti afl agenda going on.

Very very poor analysis to think day 1 crowds matters in a long term team.

Giants and GC will be much bigger than Tassy in the long term
But nowhere near as passionate

"...it's probably not finished until 2029 or 2030."

"A conversation with the AFL would make sense in terms of how those two years would be dealt with"

Even Though Gutters is still spinning the $hit out of it at least he now admits the time frame is impossible. Thats a tick for the Gruen report.

You really do seem to be death riding this whole thing and getting all political. I bet you're one of those people getting around with "No $tadium" plastered on the back window of your car (which I'm always tempted to slap a Yes over when I see them).

That's to be expected really considering the swans have been around 4x the amount of time.

It's like going up to a West Coast Eagles fan in Freos 12th year in the competition and saying "did you know that West Coast is bigger than Freo in most parts of Perth"?
I said ALL parts of Sydney. I was responding to a post saying that the Giants are concentrating in the Inner West which is simply not true. My other point is that any growth of the code in Sydney is 99% due to the Swans and would have happened anyway even if the Giants never existed.

I bet Freo are more popular than West Coast in Fremantle. Or maybe not.

You really do seem to be death riding this whole thing and getting all political. I bet you're one of those people getting around with "No $tadium" plastered on the back window of your car (which I'm always tempted to slap a Yes over when I see them).

I bought two foundation memberships, one for me and one for my brother. No stickers at all on my car, I prefer people to make their own minds up. I'm not death riding the stadium idea at all, but we got screwed on the deal, and if the AFL and the government don't allay peoples fears I don't believe the current proposal will pass parliament.

I said ALL parts of Sydney. I was responding to a post saying that the Giants are concentrating in the Inner West which is simply not true. My other point is that any growth of the code in Sydney is 99% due to the Swans and would have happened anyway even if the Giants never existed.

If you don’t think a Sydney derby has contributed to the growth of footy in nsw I think that’s very naive.

Wow, $4.5 mill lol it's literally nothing to a state government, in fact it's likely what they calculated it will cost the devils in revenue whilst playing out of a shitbox bellreive stadium, instead of a new one. Also the money goes to the devils not the afl. The abc really have an anti afl agenda going on.

The $4.5 million fine was always there, for failure to complete progress on time. There's another $4.5 million for each extra year. It's not much in the scheme of things and the AFL can waive those requirements under the current agreement if they choose. It's one of the many demands that people are wanting renegotiated.

As for the state of Bellerive Oval I can't comment. I only drive down to Hobart once or twice a year and have never been there. Few people from the north go south much, unless to visit family. There's nothing down there other than a few more shops. If you really want to shop in a capital city Melbourne is just 1 hour away from Launceston by plane and leaves Hobart for dead in every way.

Where the money goes is kind of irrelevant, the Devils franchise is part of the AFL, like Bunnings is part of Wesfarmers. And as for the ABC being biased it's probably because other than the Murdoc media there is no other reporting of what happens in this state. Though even they have published critical material of late, calling the Dr Gruen report 'damming'. If that's not editorializing I don't know what is.

Well the giants women's team play regularly outta Henson park which is in fact, inner west. So there and also up in the hills region too, I'm sure they've gained some supporters. In addition to places like Blacktown of course which has their highest number of club members.

The swans are bigger due to the giants, the same as the lions are bigger due to the suns. This year's final was epic and gets more wide spread attention in Sydney, than a final against an interstate side.

Well I'm sure after being in the competition for 30 years like Fremantle, the Giants will be more popular in Parramatta than the Swans.

The $4.5 million fine was always there, for failure to complete progress on time. There's another $4.5 million for each extra year. It's not much in the scheme of things and the AFL can waive those requirements under the current agreement if they choose. It's one of the many demands that people are wanting renegotiated.

As for the state of Bellerive Oval I can't comment. I only drive down to Hobart once or twice a year and have never been there. Few people from the north go south much, unless to visit family. There's nothing down there other than a few more shops. If you really want to shop in a capital city Melbourne is just 1 hour away from Launceston by plane and leaves Hobart for dead in every way.

Where the money goes is kind of irrelevant, the Devils franchise is part of the AFL, like Bunnings is part of Wesfarmers. And as for the ABC being biased it's probably because other than the Murdoc media there is no other reporting of what happens in this state. Though even they have published critical material of late, calling the Dr Gruen report 'damming'.

So you're suggesting that they should not be held accountable for a breach of contract that they agreed upon so that the club is actually viable?

Even though the penalty is a slap across the wrist with a wet lettuce leaf? And it could affect the club via the lack of revenue they make playing out of an inadequate stadium?

What motivation would there be to even build the stadium then and not just put it in the too hard basket once the club is playing in the afl?

Also news corp are traditionally afl haters, try reading news.com.au, it may as well be called nrlnews.com.au, their northern papers actively try and ridicule and belittle the afl clubs up there, the daily telegraph in particular is famous for it.

So you're suggesting that they should not be held accountable for a breach of contract that they agreed upon so that the club is actually viable?

Even though the penalty is a slap across the wrist with a wet lettuce leaf? And it could affect the club via the lack of revenue they make playing out of an inadequate stadium?

What motivation would there be to even build the stadium then and not just put it in the too hard basket once the club is playing in the afl?

Also news corp are traditionally afl haters, try reading news.com.au, it may as well be called nrlnews.com.au, their northern papers actively try and ridicule and belittle the afl clubs up there, the daily telegraph in particular is famous for it.

OK, if you say so.

If you fast forward 30 years I think Gc and GWS will be generating profits while Tasmania will be stuck around north Melbourne level and gradually get smaller as their population growth is much smaller than other states
I think the opposite but anyway no one will know until it all plays out.

If you fast forward 30 years I think Gc and GWS will be generating profits while Tasmania will be stuck around north Melbourne level and gradually get smaller as their population growth is much smaller than other states

This is true, Tasmania has a population growth rate of around 0.3% compared to the national average of 2%. Internal market growth is minimal (and that's how we like it to be honest).

I mean, why rely on a shit ton of research that predicated the Tassie decision when we have your general vibe on it?

Independent report into Hobart's proposed new stadium has found the costs of the project have been significantly underestimated