Roughie

Aug 15, 2005
Above The Clouds Where The Sounds Are Original
Seeing its the offseason and there is little to talk about, we have seen a couple threads about club expectations as a whole, but I was wondering what everyone thought on their individual player expectations in 2008. So over the next week, ill create 4 threads spread out consisting of our individual player expectations. Today is the list of 1 through to 10 (numbers), and then in a few days ill create the thread of 11-20, and then 21-30 and so on.

No.1 Max Bailey- Fresh off a knee reconstruction I expect Bailey to slog it out in the magoos for a while. You would think Bailey has to string together at least 4 or 5 solid games together before being able to knock on the door of senior selection. But after 07 with Taylor and Campbell becoming a solid duo, it will take a poor game from either of these players to be dropped. I feel that Bailey will spend around 12 or so rounds in the seconds finding form, and from there it depends on the form of Campbell and Taylor before we see Bailey in the seniors.

No.2 Jarryd Roughead- The question looming over 'Roughies' head at the moment is where will he be playing by the end of the 2008 season? Is it Full forward or full back. Well I believe Roughie will be playing Full Forward by the end of the season. Roughie began to fire against a weak Carlton defence by mid year, and didnt look back. As his confidence grew we began to see the big bustling full forward we drafted. Allbeit his kicking was off at times, Roughead proved he has the potential to grow into an AA fullforward. With my belief that Gilham will take the step to become our fullback, Roughead will continue his form and should improve to kicking 55-60 goals (improving by about 15 goals from 07).

No.3 Jordan Lewis- 08 Will be Lewis' year. Lewis finished 18th in the league for average disposals a game after coming out firing in the first 6 rounds. Still not at his maximum fitness Lewis should come in to 08 (barring injuries) at his ideal fitness level. After a massive improvement in 07, this hard working inside midfield should look to make more of an impact with his possesions next season. Being some what a handball machine for Hawthorn it would be nice to see Lewis use his good foot disposal as he rotates from the centre to the wing. I forsee Lewis finishing the season as our number 1 possesion getter as he slips under the radar for another season as Hodge, Mitchell and Crawf continue to take teams top taggers.

No. 4 Rick Ladson- 'Lado' was handy off the half back flank in 07. Sometimes being shapped up as the loose man in defence it did seem Ladson is still a level behind the elite HBF in the leagues (Fisher, McLeod, Kennelly etc.). Lado has hands down one of the best disposals by foot in the team, and I am hoping 08 is the year we see more of Ladson in the midfield. I expect Ladson to gain more game time on the Wing, and hopefully in the centre square as we see the likes of Ellis, Muston, and Tuck continue or begin to be groomed on the back flank.

No. 5 Sam Mitchell- 'Mitch' continues his great form year in and out finishing 10th in average disposals a season. Unfortunatly the Hawks finishede 15th in average clearances a game, and 13th in first disposals, so I do think the hit outs to advantage would have hindered Mitch's clearing abilities. Well in 08 for Sammy it will be buisness as usual, I cant see any drastic improvement, but we will see the hard working mid continue to play great footy in his first season as skipper.

No. 6 Mark Williams- Williams will be returning after a season ending knee injury. From all reports he is ahead of schedule so all is looking good for Willow. Its hard to tell when we will see him play again. My expectations for Williams is a slow start to the season as he becomes acustomed with the box formation, and gains form. If Williams can conjure up 30 goals in 08, I will be very happy with his season.

No. 7 Michael Osbourne- With Osbourne turning 26 next season, with no definate position, and only kicking 8 goals in 14 games from a forward pocket, its hard to see where Osbourne will line up. I cant see Osbourne starting on the field. With the box most likely consisting of Williams, Franklin, Boyle and Roughead, and I see Dew rotating in this formation off the bench, it seems Osbourne will be outed. I think Osbourne will have to continue to work hard in the off season on his disposal and push for McGlynns position on the flank. I see Osbourne slowly being pushed to the outter in 08.

No. 8 Danny Jacobs- 'DJ' finished up the year early being ravaged with injuries. After ham string, and back injuries DJ did seem a bit forgotten come seasons end. The question is, is DJ good enough to play one on one? And if not can he become damaging on the rebound if he is played as a loose man? It seems DJ definatly has the loose defensive skills to help out our defence but if you watch carefully over the 07 season many times you would see Campbell Brown leave his man to help out our defence in one on one contests. (see the Richmond game where N.Brown actually kicked to on Campbell because he flew to help out our defenders rather then stayin on the ground with N.Brown). This is why I think it will be hard to see DJ back into the side. Birch has proven he can handle him self as a defender ( if not matched up on stars), Ellis is the future at half back, Ladson was serviceable as a loose man (in some games starring), and Gilham has proven he can atleast take third talls (if not growing into a fullback). With Brown having an enormous season and Croad continuing to the be the key to our defenses success it looms hard to see DJ gain a spot.

I see DJ unfortunatly playing many games at Box Hill. (You got me Cradle Of Filth)

No. 9 Shane Crawford- Crawf seems revitalised with the recent success of the club, and the new youth begining to fire. Crawf though continues to have brain fades, and at times his disposal is suspect, but regardless of this Crawf is hands down an important player at the club. Whether he adds pace starting in the square, or is lined up on the wing, this crafty veteran continues to work hard. I see Crawf playing every game for the club and finishing top8 in the B & F.

No. 10 Chance Bateman- 'Changa' will become our first indigenous player to play 100 games for Hawthorn in 08 which is a great achievement. Unfortuantly for Bateman his disposal averages has declined over the past two seasons after his career best 2005 season. I chose Bateman as my man last season in the belief that Chance could become a highly rated midfielder in the AFL. Though he let me down, Bateman will hold his spot in 08. Bateman needs to look to improve back to his 2005 form and average at least 20 disposals to continue to hold his spot in the future. 08 will leave Changa as a shoe in selection, but he has to look to improve.

That is my expectations of players numbered 1-10, I hope everyone can add their own expectations into this thread. I will add further threads of players during the week as putting them all into one will probably generate less conversation in comparison to spreading these threads out over a week or two.

Very well written roughie top job. i'll delete your inserts and add my thoughts.

No.1 Max Bailey- Whilst fresh off a knee reconstruction, big max was set to hit the senior team in season 2007 with pre season rave reviews. FROM ALL REPORTS max has add more muscle to his height and has a full pre-season behind him. Full of hope and i believe we will see him early in the first half of the season.

No.2 Jarryd Roughead- Roughie will be at FF, just doesnt have the head or pace for defence. I reckon he will improve this year and double his goal tally.

No.3 Jordan Lewis- 08 Will be Lewis' year. Should be at his maximum fitness by season end 2008. Lewis should come in to 08 (barring injuries) by season end be at his ideal fitness level. I can see Lewis having a season in 2008 just as hodge did when he first took control of games.

No. 4 Rick Ladson- 'Lado' under 18 GF still stays in my head like it was yesterday, cool under pressure in the midfeild. From the ruck bounce lado grab the ball and got it to a forward or went for goals on the run and did an amazing job at nailing them. I like (roughie) can see him spending more time in the mid feild.

No. 5 Sam Mitchell- 'Mitch' 2008 will be his first as captain, i suspect mitchell will let his actions lead the way for our FC. Tough in and under and skillful on the run. Not too much will change in his gam for season 08

No. 6 Mark Williams- I don't think willo will have to much trouble slotting back into a forward line he helped build only a year earlier, may take a few games to find his feet and the goals again. but suspect we will see him fire in 08 before the half way mark to the season.

No. 7 Michael Osbourne- ossie has pace and toughness and determination which is an asset to our team. He can play with these asset in defence or attack. Our attack lacks pressure, especially now that dixon retired. Could go either way for ossie, its up to him how his career goes beyond 2008.

No. 8 Danny Jacobs- 'DJ' finished up the year early being ravaged with injuries. After ham string, and back injuries DJ did seem a bit forgotten and appeared to had fallen out with hawk management. Can still add to our team and we need experience, after all thats why we got stuart Dew.

No. 9 Shane Crawford- Crawf appears as thou father hood is agreeing with him and our as our youth get younger, crawf seems to be getting younger, in attitude if not age. Can see our champ starring as our younsters take on more of the work load.

No. 10 Chance Bateman- 'Changa' what a champ, his disposal lets him down under pressure at times. It is really his only down fall and if he can improve that area of his game this year, really would turn into an A grade player. One the hawks very much need.

Top post Roughie! I've always enjoyed your work.

Theres a fair bit of "me too" in regards to most of the summaries but I do feel you have been a bit harsh on Ossie.

His defensive forward pressure is great and he plays like an oversized pinball (or really small cannonball!). Good 1%ers and reliable kick at goal. He also fits the tough guy mantra we seem to be building into the team. ie take no prisoners! I also recall alot of posters missing his 'grunt' when he was out with internal injuries after the Collingwood game.

I must admit my views may be skewed as I only watched the Haw v Coll games 2 days ago and it was one of Oz's better efforts. ;)

DJ I think is gawn. I believe premiership teams do not need his style of play. Redundant.

One of the better threads this time of year - good work.

No.1 Max Bailey - be surprised if he cements a spot before 2010 tbh, when he'll be 23/24 and a pretty solid unit. Until then he should just work on his craft and become that dominant ruck the club is after in a couple of years.

No.2 Jarryd Roughead- creates a bigger headache for opposition coaches playing fwd as he is a stronger leading/mark than Buddy and now demands the 1st or 2nd best defender. Unless there's an injury to Croad and/or Gilly he'll reamin a Buddy Box regular.

No.3 Jordan Lewis- is playing more and more like Hodgey each season - tough, silky, and knows how to use it. Probably our most important "under the radar" type player. Like Hodge he also added goalkicking to his game in 07.

No. 4 Rick Ladson- fits into the side nicely as a cretive link man - just needs to polish up on the handball receives and defensive skills (by this I mean strength over the ball, tackling and speed off the mark) - I thought he was exposed in these areas in our last final.

No. 5 Sam Mitchell- has done a ton of work on his strength and fitness over the last few summers and should be in his prime next season - would like to see him floating fwd and snagging more goals/give us another avenue on the run as Hodge, McGlynn and Lewis are now doing.

No. 6 Mark Williams- no rush for Willo, just needs time to find his feet and adjust to the changes since 05/06. is good enough to slot straight back into the team but I'd like to see him eased into it next year with a view to have him firing by July/August.

No. 7 Michael Osbourne- Can still improve and be in our starting 22 as a versatile small tagger/fwd. No doubt Clarko loves this type of player, just need him fit and angry - but not too angry..

No. 8 Danny Jacobs- Comes across as being too laconic at times in a position that demands focus and accountability - will give him the benefit of the doubt given injuries but definitely a cut throat year for him. Even if he's playing well, as a medium defender, who does he replace?

No. 9 Shane Crawford- Should have enough rotating options to preserve the great man. Is professional and fit enough to rotate or play majority of game time but the club needs to bank him for the latter part of the season. A vital September player...if we make it.

No. 10 Chance Bateman- might have seen the best of Changa but his workrate and experience is what the club will look for in '08. With an improving fwd line and more options it gives players like chance, ladson, young & co less of a need to hold the ball and be forced into stop/start negative style of play. Changa's best footy is played gut running up the wing, ball in hand and delivering inside 50 - expect more of this in '08.

Top post Roughie! I've always enjoyed your work.

Theres a fair bit of "me too" in regards to most of the summaries but I do feel you have been a bit harsh on Ossie.

His defensive forward pressure is great and he plays like an oversized pinball (or really small cannonball!). Good 1%ers and reliable kick at goal. He also fits the tough guy mantra we seem to be building into the team. ie take no prisoners! I also recall alot of posters missing his 'grunt' when he was out with internal injuries after the Collingwood game.

I must admit my views may be skewed as I only watched the Haw v Coll games 2 days ago and it was one of Oz's better efforts. ;)

DJ I think is gawn. I believe premiership teams do not need his style of play. Redundant.

Cheers mate, and I agree everyone loves Ossie's hard work. But you have to wonder with the drafting of Cyril Rioli, maybe Ossies defensive pressure is the only thing he has going for him at that position. I personally think Ossie will have to start gunning for McGlynns spot in the team and play that dashing sort of HFF role to stay in the team as it seems certain Rioli will get some games during the year.

Top effort roughie!!!

Max Bailey: Will be in our starting line up by the end of the year. The only doubt I have is how his injury holds up and what confidence it has taken out of him. Just remember end of 2006 Bailey had pushed taylor out of the team. I love taylor but Max is our rucking future no doubt. The only thing I could sugest is robbie can play a backman role which will allow taylor and max in the one team but I doubt that will happen.

No.1 Max Bailey - I have no doubt that as long as he has fully recovered from injury, he will eventually become one of our starting ruckman. It depends on how fast he finds his confidence and form in the reserves.
Would expect to see him get an opportunity around the middle of the season - from there on it is up to him. From a few games I have seen of him he seems to provide an option of doubling up as a tall, tall (205cm) marking forward option when he isn't being used in the ruck. Has the ability to kick 1-2 goals which would provide something different to what Campbell and Taylor provide the team.

No.2 Jarryd Roughead- I don't believe how much talk there has been about him playing in defence. I understand why people may suggest that with the need for another big bodied defender. However, you need some big bodied forwards as well. The fact that he kicked 40 goals in only his 3rd season at the club would suggest that Roughead and Franklin will be the cornerstone of the Hawks forward line for the next decade. Can kick goals from outside the 50m perimeter which is a handy attribute. Also, he consistently outmarked Rutten on the lead in the first half of the Adelaide finals match. If Roughead isn't a forward - I have never seen one!
Just needs to improve on his kicking conversion at goal.
I think a target of 50 goals would be expected.

No.3 Jordan Lewis- Added a second string to his bow by playing as a forward when rotating off the ball. Liked what I saw! Reads the play well, so he often gets to the ball first at ground level near goal, and is a strong mark for a midfielder which makes him an akward proposition for opposition defenders. Is rapidly developing into an 'A' class midfielder, but expect to see him playing more in the forward line when he is rotated off the ball.

No. 4 Rick Ladson - I noticed alot of people didn't have Lado in the best 22. But Clarko loves playing Lado behind the ball where he can utilise his efficient disposal of the ball. Will rotate on/off the ball from defence.
However, Clarkson will definately find a spot for Ladson in the best 22.
Definately noticed some improvement in his strength over the ball and in a marking contest. Should continue to improve in those areas to remove any doubts about his position in the team.

No. 5 Sam Mitchell- hasn't reached his prime just yet, so he will continue to improve. But realistically he cannot improve too much more on what he currently brings to the table. Hard to improve on mid-20 posessions per game, with clean hands and good skills on both sides of his body. Not to mention his hard work at extracting the pill from clearances, his leadership etc. Would be happy if he kept his '07 form. Anything more would be a bonus.

No. 6 Mark Williams- The injury he suffered may have been a blessing in disguise. With Franklin and Roughead stepping up in '07, Williams can now expect to get the 3rd best defender. He will still provide a (fast) leading target from the forward line, and may play up around the half forward line.
It wouldn't matter where Clarko played Willams, Willo would still find a way to venture up forward and kick a goal. Silky skilled forward who will still kick around 40 goals for the season.

No. 7 Michael Osbourne- Provides the team with pace and aggression at the ball, so Clarko will probably rotate him on the ball from the interchange bench. At times he looked dangerous as a forward, but doesn't consistently hurt the opposition from playing in this position. He will find opportunities to cement a position early on in the season with the suspensions to Crawford, Hodge and Lewis. He still gives away too many uneccessary free kicks away to the opposition, and lacks some polish with his disposal around goal. The progress of Junior and McGlynn may dictate how many games he plays.

No. 8 Danny Jacobs- I agree about the laconic tag placed on him. He is the Mark Waugh of the Hawthorn football club. But I still think if he had
of been available to play against Port Adelaide in Tasmania, Ebert would not have taken that mark! Jacobs has a knack of being in the right place at the right time as a defender. Just hope he gets a good run with injury.
People often forget he is a good decision maker in defence and doesn't turn the ball over from defence. Matthew Lloyd said he had to virtually learn how to walk again after recovering from the hamstring tear off the bone injury. I think this year will determine how much football is left in Jacobs.

No. 9 Shane Crawford- Still an A grade midfielder option in my opinion, although his role in the team has differed in the past couple of years. He will still rack up 23-24 possesions per game. Adds pace to the team and still breaks the lines, by taking on and running around the opposition players. Still uses the ball well (although I did notice him make a few poor disposal errors). Would expect him to play as well as he performed in '07. Missing the first three rounds might be a bit of a wake up call! He won't want to miss out on any surprises in store in September!

No. 10 Chance Bateman- There will always be spot for Changa in the best 22. Runs hard both ways - offensively and defensively (with pace!). One of the midfielders who continually breaks the lines with his pace.
Has good work ethic. Has a tendancy to kick too high with his long range kicks (rather than send the football in fast and flat!), which plays into the hands of defenders. But generally pretty good with his disposal. Would like to see him consistently average 20 posession per game, but at this stage I cannot see the younger midfield players like Muston etc overtaking him. At the very least he will be used off the bench and rotated into the midfield. Looked dangerous as a small forward in the Adelaide final match!

No.1 Max Bailey - I have no doubt that as long as he has fully recovered from injury, he will eventually become one of our starting ruckman. It depends on how fast he finds his confidence and form in the reserves.
Would expect to see him get an opportunity around the middle of the season - from there on it is up to him. From a few games I have seen of him he seems to provide an option of doubling up as a tall, tall (205cm) marking forward option when he isn't being used in the ruck. Has the ability to kick 1-2 goals which would provide something different to what Campbell and Taylor provide the team.

No.2 Jarryd Roughead- I don't believe how much talk there has been about him playing in defence. I understand why people may suggest that with the need for another big bodied defender. However, you need some big bodied forwards as well. The fact that he kicked 40 goals in only his 3rd season at the club would suggest that Roughead and Franklin will be the cornerstone of the Hawks forward line for the next decade. Can kick goals from outside the 50m perimeter which is a handy attribute. Also, he consistently outmarked Rutten on the lead in the first half of the Adelaide finals match. If Roughead isn't a forward - I have never seen one!
Just needs to improve on his kicking conversion at goal.
I think a target of 50 goals would be expected.

No.3 Jordan Lewis- Added a second string to his bow by playing as a forward when rotating off the ball. Liked what I saw! Reads the play well, so he often gets to the ball first at ground level near goal, and is a strong mark for a midfielder which makes him an akward proposition for opposition defenders. Is rapidly developing into an 'A' class midfielder, but expect to see him playing more in the forward line when he is rotated off the ball.

No. 4 Rick Ladson - I noticed alot of people didn't have Lado in the best 22. But Clarko loves playing Lado behind the ball where he can utilise his efficient disposal of the ball. Will rotate on/off the ball from defence.
However, Clarkson will definately find a spot for Ladson in the best 22.
Definately noticed some improvement in his strength over the ball and in a marking contest. Should continue to improve in those areas to remove any doubts about his position in the team.

No. 5 Sam Mitchell- hasn't reached his prime just yet, so he will continue to improve. But realistically he cannot improve too much more on what he currently brings to the table. Hard to improve on mid-20 posessions per game, with clean hands and good skills on both sides of his body. Not to mention his hard work at extracting the pill from clearances, his leadership etc. Would be happy if he kept his '07 form. Anything more would be a bonus.

No. 6 Mark Williams- The injury he suffered may have been a blessing in disguise. With Franklin and Roughead stepping up in '07, Williams can now expect to get the 3rd best defender. He will still provide a (fast) leading target from the forward line, and may play up around the half forward line.
It wouldn't matter where Clarko played Willams, Willo would still find a way to venture up forward and kick a goal. Silky skilled forward who will still kick around 40 goals for the season.

No. 7 Michael Osbourne- Provides the team with pace and aggression at the ball, so Clarko will probably rotate him on the ball from the interchange bench. At times he looked dangerous as a forward, but doesn't consistently hurt the opposition from playing in this position. He will find opportunities to cement a position early on in the season with the suspensions to Crawford, Hodge and Lewis. He still gives away too many uneccessary free kicks away to the opposition, and lacks some polish with his disposal around goal. The progress of Junior and McGlynn may dictate how many games he plays.

No. 8 Danny Jacobs- I agree about the laconic tag placed on him. He is the Mark Waugh of the Hawthorn football club. But I still think if he had
of been available to play against Port Adelaide in Tasmania, Ebert would not have taken that mark! Jacobs has a knack of being in the right place at the right time as a defender. Just hope he gets a good run with injury.
People often forget he is a good decision maker in defence and doesn't turn the ball over from defence. Matthew Lloyd said he had to virtually learn how to walk again after recovering from the hamstring tear off the bone injury. I think this year will determine how much football is left in Jacobs.

No. 9 Shane Crawford- Still an A grade midfielder option in my opinion, although his role in the team has differed in the past couple of years. He will still rack up 23-24 possesions per game. Adds pace to the team and still breaks the lines, by taking on and running around the opposition players. Still uses the ball well (although I did notice him make a few poor disposal errors). Would expect him to play as well as he performed in '07. Missing the first three rounds might be a bit of a wake up call! He won't want to miss out on any surprises in store in September!

No. 10 Chance Bateman- There will always be spot for Changa in the best 22. Runs hard both ways - offensively and defensively (with pace!). One of the midfielders who continually breaks the lines with his pace.
Has good work ethic. Has a tendancy to kick too high with his long range kicks (rather than send the football in fast and flat!), which plays into the hands of defenders. But generally pretty good with his disposal. Would like to see him consistently average 20 posession per game, but at this stage I cannot see the younger midfield players like Muston etc overtaking him. At the very least he will be used off the bench and rotated into the midfield. Looked dangerous as a small forward in the Adelaide final match!

Welcome to the forum and a great run down on your expectations mate! It was a good read!

I like it:thumbsu:

I cant see bailey having a major impact in 08, will only come in thru injury or lack of form.

Roughead will stay forward unless croad gets injured, or multiple injuries to players like gilham and dj

ladson, mitchell, lewis, crawf all easily in the best 22. should all play mainly as mids. i do find it strange tho to see mitch go forward at times. if we continue to get improvement from the younger ones, ie. lewis and lado then look out!

Williams - interesting to see how he comes back, will be a huge bonus if he maintains his goal kicking form of 06&05. his straight kicking will add to the forward line-up regardless.

Osborne - can he switch back to the backline where he started? he was serviceable there and could possibly free up brown to continue taking on a taller player.

dj is much maligned but he is serviceable and adds depth to the list. handy player to have on the list even when he is not in the best 22, but needs to regain his intensity.

Bateman - elite runner and great overhead for his size. needs to stay injury free. we should start to see some greater returns from him with the experience he has gained the last few years.

No.1 Max Bailey - I really like our current rucks, but the fact remains that with possibly the best inside midfield combination in the competition we were last, or close to it, in clearances for the season. The previous season, with Everitt, we were close to first. The games we really dominated (like the Bulldogs and Carlton) were games where we won the hitouts easily. Then you have games like the Adelaide final where Hudson carved us up at the start of the game and we were being beaten only for Robbie to claw back and the game turns around. With that said I don't know that Max will be the answer this year, a knee is getting to be a two year injury in the AFL, plus he is still very young for a ruckman. Hopefully he is pushing for the number 2 ruck spot by later in the season. (I still think there is a lot of improvement left in Taylor by the way, it will be interesting watching how this develops).

No.2 Jarryd Roughead - Will play forward, doesn't have the pace to play back. For all the talk of him being a "gorilla" I'd like to see him balance his size with mobility. I actually think he is better up the ground with the ball in hand than Franklin. Happy to use his size to dive under a pack and more likely to hit a leading target with a pass or a runner with a handball. He could easily play the roll Cloke plays at Collingwood with a bit more motor. That said, if he doesn't stop missing easy shots at goal there is no point in him playing forward. Croad could be one of the top forwards in the game if he could kick, but he can't. I hope Roughead doesn't go the same way.

No.3 Jordan Lewis - One of my favourite players at the club and he's going to have a huge year, simple as that. Could tidy up his kicking a little.

No. 4 Rick Ladson - Comfortably in the 22, good player with beautiful disposal. If he can get the motor required and a bit more size he'll get some time in the middle.

No. 5 Sam Mitchell - More of the same.

No. 6 Mark Williams - Won't kick 60 with the other targets around him but will be a nightmare to cover for the opposition.

No. 7 Michael Osbourne - I really like Ossie, and I was one who thought we missed him when he was injured late in the season. If you're picking on current ability he's in the 22, but he might miss out if we decide to get games in to some of our youngsters (which I think we should).

No. 8 Danny Jacobs - I think we look more solid in defence when Jacobs is back there, but I start to wonder if his position is disappearing from the game. If you aren't big enough to cover a KPP forward, quick and mobile enough to cover someone like Didak, or have the talent and disposal to play quarter back like Hodge/McLeod then do you have a place in a modern back line? Murphy is in the same situation.

No. 9 Shane Crawford - More of the same.

No. 10 Chance Bateman - Adds genuine pace and running capacity to our midfield. Has improved his disposal but hopefully will continue to work on it.

No. 5 Sam Mitchell- 'Mitch' 2008 will be his first as captain, i suspect mitchell will let his actions lead the way for our FC. Tough in and under and skillful on the run. Not too much will change in his game for season 08

For 2008 I would like to see him not get lost in some games ... if he can do this he will win the Brownlow!!

From this lot I'm hoping to see:
  • continued improvement from Roughie on the same trajectory he took through the 07 season (remember he spent a bit of time at BH early last year);
  • better forward work and endurance from Lewis (making him the biggest improver in this lot);
  • Ladson maturing and getting forward a bit more to increase his hurt factor; and
  • Bateman to overtake Crawf as our hardest running player to create options.

Excellent post Roughie and I agreed with most, however I will add that Bateman had a great start to the year and was playing career best footy imo.

I agree too with Waverly Flyer that Mitchell must aim to not go missing in games under a tag.

Individual Player Expectations (1-10)