Injury to players that left then very good not elite

Nick Riewoldt. Hamstring and knee issues have seen him have a couple of good but not great seasons. Unsure if he will be remembered as the champion he once was.

Anybody with more than a passing interest in footy would consider riewoldt a champion I would think...

I can't see how Carlton or West Coast would have done it differently?

You argument is that we would not have sent Judd in for surgery and just made him start pre-season again. Nope. In the end he left anyway, no biggy, it has benefited everyone in the long term.

He is still an elite player and has adjusted his game now his explosiveness isn't with him as such. He is now a totally different player and still a very good one at that.

I can't imagine Kerr without injuries these days, he has been brilliant this season, but you just keep your fingers crossed each game for him. At his best though, he can be elite, no doubt.

Sorry, but you drove that bloke into the ground with no regard for his health. Watching him hobble through the Port Adelaide final when it was obvious he was knackered was painful bordering on negligent.

Pretty sure I read that the surgeon passed comment post op that he couldnt believe the bloke was walking let alone playing with damage that had built up, but they kept wheeling him out.

It was sickening.

Adam Ramanausakas

Was a very good young player who had the potential to be an elite player.

Then copped cancer, followed by a return of his cancer, followed by a knee reco.

Did well even to come back after that was nowhere near the player he could've been but was still handy as a small back.

I'd definately agree with this.

Rama was playing amazing football before he got the dreaded cancer. :mad:

Sorry, but you drove that bloke into the ground with no regard for his health. Watching him hobble through the Port Adelaide final when it was obvious he was knackered was painful bordering on negligent.

Pretty sure I read that the surgeon passed comment post op that he couldnt believe the bloke was walking let alone playing with damage that had built up, but they kept wheeling him out.

It was sickening.

If he didn't feel he was right to play he wouldn't have, I am certain.The club would have given him a choice, knowing he was a champion of our club. Think about it, if he was that bad, the only reason he would play is because he wanted to.

It's not like we forced him to play, it's just we didn't draw the line at saying 'No you shouldn't be playing regardless of what you say'

If he didn't feel he was right to play he wouldn't have, I am certain.The club would have given him a choice, knowing he was a champion of our club. Think about it, if he was that bad, the only reason he would play is because he wanted to.

It's not like we forced him to play, it's just we didn't draw the line at saying 'No you shouldn't be playing regardless of what you say'

I'm not sure if you're deliberately being naive to save face but do you seriously think the club acted correctly.

Regardless of what he said he should never have been playing.

It's like Joe Fraziers corner man doing the right thing by his man in the 15th of Manilla, that's knowing your mans spent and making the decision for him.

You can just imagine the "she'll be right" mentality at play as the eagles strived for back to back flags. Anyone with half a brain and an ounce of compassion knew he was spent, just like the Cousins and Gardiner debacle no one had the minerals to stand up and say enough was enough.

If you honestly think he was fit in that Port game, I take my hat of to you.

Warren Tredrea went from the best CHF in the competition (IMO, of course, but his achievements do a good job of backing me up) until getting injured in 2006 IIRC. He was then crap in '07, solid in '08, very good but not up to his old level in '09 and finally retired after another injury in '10.

AS211 said:

I was there and the poor bugger was stuck in a forward pocket and could barely run or kick more than 40 metres. He still managed to win his position against that hack Pettigrew though :mad:

I'm not sure if you're deliberately being naive to save face but do you seriously think the club acted correctly.

It's like Joe Fraziers corner man doing the right thing by his man in the 15th of Manilla, that's knowing your mans spent and making the decision for him.

You can just imagine the "she'll be right" mentality at play as the eagles strived for back to back flags. Anyone with half a brain and an ounce of compassion knew he was spent, just like the Cousins and Gardiner debacle no one had the minerals to stand up and say enough was enough.

Freo supporter being a dick. Every club plays injured players on occasion. In that final series we were killed by injuries, Judd wanted to play. Last year you did the same thing with Mundy and Sandi. It's the reality of AFL football. Stop making this about the Eagles

What the club did was act in the interests of everybody, they wanted Judd to play and Judd wanted to play. Whether or not you think that is correct is up to you, however clearly inside the club walls they felt that was the correct decision at the time.

Typical, can always get this reaction from a Freo supporter. West Coast wouldn't risk future legal issues by playing him against his will, that would be stupid and naive.

As Mastenator said, players play with injuries all the time, to the extent where it can come back to haunt them, however none of these players play against their own will. Do you think Freo played Nat Fyfe after his shoulder injury without making sure he thought he was fine to play, knowing full well he probably required more surgery on it?

No? Didn't think so either.

Nick Riewoldt. Hamstring and knee issues have seen him have a couple of good but not great seasons. Unsure if he will be remembered as the champion he once was.

His 2009 and start to 2010 was immense. Hasn't returned in the same way at all.

Oh please, of course every player wants to play every game, they will never play against their will, their will always be to get on the ground.

What takes real guts is telling one of these blokes to pull up and have a spell.

I think Judd injured his groins in round 12 or something and West Coast nursed him through his last 5 or so games in that season. It was painfully obvious he was knackered in each game he played.

He could barely get out of an old mans jog.

It was absolutely negligent to play him. It was a serious injury which deteriorated with each game played.

Fyfe shouldnt have played the moment he popped his shoulder out again this year, thankfully after one painful match and another training mishap sanity prevailed.

I'll never forget that game against Port. Made you question that clubs priorities.

Settle down you goose, what a stupid analogy. People die in the boxing ring. Frazier was in real trouble and fighting blind due to his eyes.

Judd was aggravating a footy stress injury from which he made a full recovery as soon as it got the chance to rest out of season.

As others have mentioned, I can assure you (via a couple of WCE players at the time) that Judd absolutely insisted on playing out that season. Reckon he still contributed even though he was extremely hampered.

Oh please, of course every player wants to play every game, they will never play against their will, their will always be to get on the ground.

What takes real guys is telling one of these blokes to pull up and have a spell.

I think Judd injured his groins in round 12 or something and West Coast nursed him through his last 5 or so games in that season. It was painfully obvious he was knackered in each game he played.

It was absolutely negligent to play him. It was a serious injury which deteriorated with each game played.

Fyfe shouldnt have played the moment he popped his shoulder out again this year, thankfully after one painful match and another training mishap sanity prevailed.

I'll never forget that game against Port. Made you question that clubs priorities.

If you are going to attack the Eagles over playing Judd, I can't see how the Fyfe issue is that much different. Freo were willing to play him as much as West Coast were willing to play Judd, differing injuries, although future consequences of recurring injury is the same. It's just that Fyfe got the secondary hit which completely halted him.

You can't blame West Coast for not trying to win, we needed our stars on the park, he wanted to play so he played, yes in pain, but that was his choice. I'm sure club doctors would have told the selection committee where he was at... but try telling a captain of a finals contender to not play.

I see it more as a tribute to the character of Chris Judd then I do an indictment on the club.

I'm not happy with how the club handled Fyfe, but the reasoning was apparently it couldn't get any worse. I horrible excuse.

In regards to Judd, the injury deteriorated every time he played to the point he couldnt lift himself out of his own car.

That seem normal?

Anyway, said my piece. Proceed.

What takes real guts is telling one of these blokes to pull up and have a spell.

I don't even get where you're trying to come from with this.

Given the lack of other options and given that it was a final, you roll the dice. Its the hard part of the six-figure salaries.

Peter Hudson. On the back of season of 146 (with no goals in the finals) and 150, does his knee in Round 1, 1972. Returns properly in 1977, not quite the same player. Still put away 110 goals though.

Luke Ball should be up there with Judd - not bias, I would have said that if he was still at Saints. He was an elite sprinter and runner when he was drafted. He is very good, but if his OP didn't screw his body he would be elite.

Injury to players that left then very good not elite