Official Club Stuff Introducing Yartapuulti Football Club

I will never understand the bet each way on this stuff.

If you truly respect the traditional owners of the land and truly believe everything you are saying here then why go back to 'Port Adelaide' the week after?

For the record, the 'Adelaide' in our football club's name is taken from the Queen Consort of King William IV who was part of a long line of colonial oppressors who systemically crushed the very Indigenous population we are apparently so respectful of. But it's easier to ignore that bit because that conversation is a little too hard.
^ Yep.

Look if it makes people happy then go for it, but it's such tokenistic stuff.

LnezqZolkpOVWeIcV4HNlMfzaBOAZ2zXjWHqZEqJTQtngZu51x62ywdVpg1RjEmxhdAqMBQO-I3I8088B3QsraIvKY_0rLqlVunT0pr7BiYhWQaucdpgXAQHv0V7KLj3NSfoHSEqyDXBnnYbhX1odDrZ8-wUXQ=s0-d-e1-ft

what happen Yartapuulti?

**** off. We are Port Adelaide. I cannot even pronounce it.

Plus helps keep a language alive.

On SM-G975F using BigFooty.com mobile app
This is a really important part of all these sorts of things I reckon. Having language visible is a good way to keep it going - I know a few years back there was very little of the Kaurna language written down and very few who could speak it fluently and teach it to others. Stuff like this are tiny steps in keeping things alive and you never know, could inspire someone to become invested in learning the language.

As a very non suppressed, very majority white man, I'm not really the authority on any of this, but it would seem to me even little things like this raise awareness and keep culture alive. Perhaps I'm wrong, but at an absolute worst I don't see how it hurts.

As expected the social media around this is a ****ing cesspool though, which probably furthers the point of all this but you can't expect troglodytes to pick up on that.

Chasing Wokeness™
Yep, cut this shit out, put them all on the back of the bus/plane and give them their own waterbottles and changerooms :drunk::thumbsu:

Seriously, there's wokeness, and there's recognition. I don't necessarily agree with or give a shit about a lot of the woke BS that giving every moron a public voice on social media has created, but a recognition round doesn't really count as that kind of thing.

Yep, cut this s**t out, put them all on the back of the bus/plane and give them their own waterbottles and changerooms :drunk::thumbsu:

Seriously, there's wokeness, and there's recognition. I don't necessarily agree with or give a s**t about a lot of the woke BS that giving every moron a public voice on social media has created, but a recognition round doesn't really count as that kind of thing.

It is not about an indigenous or a recognition round most people are fine with that, it is about changing the name of the Port Adelaide Football Club. We trade on the theme that 'We Are Port Adelaide' then change our club name for a round. So from now on it is, 'We are Port Adelaide except when we want to be know as something else' ? Fine way to build tradition.

This shite has David Koch written all over it. I would not be surprised if we saw Koch on Sunrise beating his chest and telling the world how sensitive and new age the PAFC is.

"On Friday 19th May The Yartapuulti Football Club will host Narrm – the Indigenous name of the Melbourne Football Club – who pioneered the rebranding idea in 2022."

In Kaurna, ‘Yarta’ means place or land and ‘Puulti’ means sleep or death, which is the name the Kaurna people gave the land around the Port River. A definition which troubles me deeply in the context of a footy game.

Yes and it means "our F50" or "emerging rucks" in Hinkley's traditional language.

It doesn't hurt anyone it's just tryhard & works to the assumption that this means a lot to most indigenous people, I'll tell you a home truth it doesn't.

These decisions are made by white people & the biggest applause is from white people swinging their inclusive johnsons for people they never interact with for the most part.

It is not about an indigenous or a recognition round most people are fine with that, it is about changing the name of the Port Adelaide Football Club. We trade on the theme that 'We Are Port Adelaide' then change our club name for a round. So from now on it is, 'We are Port Adelaide except when we want to be know as something else' ? Fine way to build tradition.
I will still refer to the club as the Port Adelaide Football Club as that is the TRUE name.

If anyones upset by that well good luck trying to cancel culture me! I dont own a facebook or twitter. they can get stuffed!

Yep, cut this s**t out, put them all on the back of the bus/plane and give them their own waterbottles and changerooms :drunk::thumbsu:

Seriously, there's wokeness, and there's recognition. I don't necessarily agree with or give a s**t about a lot of the woke BS that giving every moron a public voice on social media has created, but a recognition round doesn't really count as that kind of thing.
We should recognise that the name of the football club is Port Adelaide and leave politics out of sport.

Way to overreact, brosef.

Here is the opening quote from an article from last year.

"MICHAEL O'BRIEN is Yartapuulti (Port Adelaide) through and through."

To be honest I could not give a stuff what Michael O'Brien thinks. If he is so keen on changing the name of the Port Adelaide Football Club maybe he should give some thought to changing his own name from Michael O'Brien? Michael O'Brien is hardly a traditional Kaurna name.

Way to overreact, brosef.
Sorry, maybe the "drunk" emoticon at the end of that line was a little lost on you, maybe smiley faces are getting a little woke for you too :$

campaigners here are sooking that using a different name for a round or two while recognising the contribution of indigenous Australians to the sport is going to suddenly destroy the fabric of the club, instead of seeing it for what it is which is celebrating those who helped make the club what it is.

It doesn't hurt anyone it's just tryhard & works to the assumption that this means a lot to most indigenous people, I'll tell you a home truth it doesn't.

These decisions are made by white people & the biggest applause is from white people swinging their inclusive johnsons for people they never interact with for the most part.

Great post, and exactly right, it is patronising bullshit as Warren Mundine might put it.

Sorry, maybe the "drunk" emoticon at the end of that line was a little lost on you, maybe smiley faces are getting a little woke for you too :$

campaigners here are sooking that using a different name for a round or two while recognising the contribution of indigenous Australians to the sport is going to suddenly destroy the fabric of the club, instead of seeing it for what it is which is celebrating those who helped make the club what it is.

I'm guessing my support for the indigenous round has been lost on you? I know it involves reading and comprehension without the aid of little faces so it can be difficult for some.

Perhaps you're just confused by a flippant little joke at the club's current admin's expense.
You could try reading more and reacting less.

Peace out.

Official Club Stuff Introducing Yartapuulti Football Club