iPod Touch

got an ipod touch for christmas and love it.

looking to get a fm transmitter for it for the car.

Been looking at the Belkin tunebase with clear scan and also the griffin itrip. Does anyone have either of these or something else that works fine with the touch. Looking for one with charger and also craddle. Live in country vic but don't know if that makes a difference. Thanks

Wanted to add in have a BF falcon with standard six stacker cd player

I got my Touch last week and I'm loving it more each day. Where I'm staying in NY there are quite a few free wi-fi areas so I can connect most of the time with no problems.

The only negative is the battery life, it seems to die fast when I'm browsing or watching videos, but it's not a big deal in the end.

Get an adaptor so you can put it on to charge easily whenever you get the chance.

Turn off wifi in Settings when you aren't using the net to conserve battery, lower the brightness of the screen when you don't need it to be.. turn off all apps properly before putting it to sleep.

It connects over Wi-Fi mate, like your W-LAN home network

Your home one is easy, if that's encrypted, it's not hard to open up for the ipod.

What i really meant by open wireless connection, is when you're out and about, its surprising how many open, unencrypted wireless networks you'll find.

If you're in range of any of those, free net;)

Not as many as a few years ago, early on only 1 in about 5 was secured.

I reckon a major factor, is that the start up CD's for the new Bigpond wireless ADSL modems have a step that automatically secures the network with a key. Set one up for a family member the other week (i had no part in selecting bigpond as an ISP of course)

Seeing as most internet noobs use bigpond, and they were the ones most likely to leave their connection unsecured in the past...makes a lot of sense that there's less around.

Always try the password administrator first...:) It's amazing how many people don't change it. If they're stupid enough to use BigPond then they probably don't change their password.

I seem to find an open connection wherever I go around here, but in the expensive areas the people are much smarter and you're lucky if you find 1-2 open connections (I'm in the US)

I'd think that it is done on purpose, since the US plans are light years better than the crap we get here in Oz. The generous rich offering their bandwidth to the rest of us plebs.

Is there anyone here from Kensington and Footscray or around there? I want to know some wireless connections. I think the maccas up the road does but haven't tried. I am scared I am gonna get rolled, especially in Footscray. :p

I tried the mcdonalds and you know how it goes to their website and you have to agree to the terms and conditions, how do I log in?? I ticked the box but I couldn't click log in. Can you only do it with a computer?

Shazam is one of my favourites from the App store, doesn't get many underground Aussie songs but is very reliable for just about everything else

I find it impossible to get a free wireless connection in the Melbourne CBD. Fed Square is incredibly slow and I cant even go onto Google. :(

Is there any good hotspots in Melbourne that I should know about?

I got my iPod Touch in the US and will be taking it home with me in a few weeks, meaning I'll lose the apps I've downloaded over here. (correct?)

Does the Australian store have most of the apps that the US store has? I downloaded the longer battery life app, crash bandicoot, free wi-fi locator and a radio app. Are these all available in the Aus store?

My iPhone is awesome. I have had it for 4 months and just love it. Have airport extreme at home and my environment being all mac helps and bloody hell love it.

My fav app is beatmaker and love playing monopoly and simcity. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

I got my iPod Touch in the US and will be taking it home with me in a few weeks, meaning I'll lose the apps I've downloaded over here. (correct?)

Does the Australian store have most of the apps that the US store has? I downloaded the longer battery life app, crash bandicoot, free wi-fi locator and a radio app. Are these all available in the Aus store?

I just searched for the longer battery life app and it's definitely not on there. Which sucks because my iPhone needs to be charged a lot

I got Baseball Superstars yesterday because it was on sale, and it's quite a good game. for $2.50 you get a fairly simple fun game, good buy.

Tap Tap Revenge 2 is very good, a must for the iPod. Might have a look at the Baseball one, hope its better than 'Cricket game'.

Yeah, but there's a very big difference in music and apps. Depends on what size the app is, but as a general rule, it takes a lot of battery. Try to turn of any apps you may have on at the same time, turn down the brightness, turn off wifi, etc. Saves a considerable amount of battery life.

iPod Touch