Gym & Misc Irritating people/things that annoy you in the gym II

But it was the most ridiculous looking thing though, he was kind of hunching over punching downwards because of the height it was sitting at. :eek:
That reminds me of Bob Murphy talking about his first boxing session at the Bulldogs. His 67kg frame belts the bag a few times, the boxing coach just gives him a weird look and says "you planning on belting short people are you Murph?"

Always landed his punches a bit higher after that

That reminds me of Bob Murphy talking about his first boxing session at the Bulldogs. His 67kg frame belts the bag a few times, the boxing coach just gives him a weird look and says "you planning on belting short people are you Murph?"

Always landed his punches a bit higher after that

dont think he's gonna be a tank anytime soon mof. ya reckon he needs to change his diet?

Listening to some guy produce orgasmic noises with every rep at the moment. Honestly I don't mind a bit of grunting but it's clear as day he's doing it to make him look tougher.

There is a guy that does really heavy dumbell presses at the gym I go to - we call him vowel man because he exclaims in jet like decibels - "AAAAAAAAA" or "EEEEEEEEEEEEE" or "OOOOOOOOOOOOOOO"

I get weirded out, not so much annoyed or irritated when I see barely teenagers there who are like 13 attempting to do weights. Perhaps go through puberty first.

vonn that's not nice to think like that. they might be just trying to add bulk to gain attention of the fairer or same sex.

but if that annoys you then i respect that

vonn that's not nice to think like that. they might be just trying to add bulk to gain attention of the fairer or same sex.

but if that annoys you then i respect that

I was actually referring to girls... but either way it weirds me out, not annoys me. Mainly because I think at that age the body and bones are still growing, and the parents would discourage it. I'm talking weights, not like sports and activity. It's not like they're supervised by a PT either.
I'd want my kids to be playing sport and getting for via that, leave the gym until they are at least 16.

I was actually referring to girls... but either way it weirds me out, not annoys me. Mainly because I think at that age the body and bones are still growing, and the parents would discourage it. I'm talking weights, not like sports and activity. It's not like they're supervised by a PT either.
I'd want my kids to be playing sport and getting for via that, leave the gym until they are at least 16.

ok. a misunderstanding. no hard feelings.

My gym annoys me!

Since they opened over 18 months ago, they've had issues with the floor in the weights area. Way back when some clever dick decided to design the floor by battening out the concrete and then install ply board sheets on the battens then vinyl on the ply board, leaving a void under the ply board between the concrete. So that means when weights are dropped the floor is prone to cracking which it has done several times. So now they are replacing the entire floor, to do this they've removed some equipment relocated others and 80% of the weights is taken up by tradies replacing the floor (no probs it has to be done). This doesn't annoy me too much, but the fact its taken two weeks to do 60% of the total work annoys me. I work for a construction company and this work could get done a lot quicker, the gym is only open 6am to 10pm, they should have guys working at night to get the gym operational again.

Staggering - with the number of gyms in Australia, it's amazing that someone didn't have the foresight to design the floor properly. It's really not hard.
We had a problem about two years ago after a massive downpour of some of the floor at my gym warping and buckling, was fixed within two days. Since the place has been redone, there's a kind of rubber floor over the benches/power rack area now that seems to work very well.

As an aside, I did get "clouded" this morning. Leaving, a girl comes in wearing about 3.2 litres of purfume that she must have bought on the cheap from e-bay. Glad I was leaving when I was as I didn't have a gas mask with me.

Staggering - with the number of gyms in Australia, it's amazing that someone didn't have the foresight to design the floor properly. It's really not hard.
We had a problem about two years ago after a massive downpour of some of the floor at my gym warping and buckling, was fixed within two days. Since the place has been redone, there's a kind of rubber floor over the benches/power rack area now that seems to work very well.

As an aside, I did get "clouded" this morning. Leaving, a girl comes in wearing about 3.2 litres of purfume that she must have bought on the cheap from e-bay. Glad I was leaving when I was as I didn't have a gas mask with me.

Exactly, problems happen with gyms but get them fixed ASAP. I trained with a mate who lives in Sydney whilst on holidays last year. It was one of either genesis, fitness first can't remember but its weight area was rubber 4 inches thick nothing will break it. Luckily ive signed up to Anytime Fitness that is opening up "next door" to my current gym its $9.95 per week vs. $23 a week and will be a better gym too!

its weight area was rubber 4 inches thick nothing will break it.
I think that's similar to what we have - I admit I've been guilty of dropping 40kg dumbells on it from flat press and there's no issues whatsoever

Yeah we are all guilty of dropping weights on occasions, but it's the bros throwing around the weights at the end of every set to show how much weight they are lifting!

It can be pretty hard to get back up with heavy dumbells, most just drop them as it can't be good for your shoulders getting them all the way to the ground while lying down.

My gym just closed up shop for 2 days for reno's, been at work so it didn't bother me but it's also a large chain so everyone else would just have had to use another branch

It can be pretty hard to get back up with heavy dumbells, most just drop them as it can't be good for your shoulders getting them all the way to the ground while lying down.

My gym just closed up shop for 2 days for reno's, been at work so it didn't bother me but it's also a large chain so everyone else would just have had to use another branch

I don't have an issue with people dropping DB's and agree it is definitely safer to drop them when they are heavy, but not every time. More so im pissed off at my gym for completely stuffing up the design of the floor. Just frustrated at the moment because the floor area is around 60% roped off and makes it hard to do a continuous work out and the fact it has taken so long to fix it, 2-3 days of inconvenience no probs but it's been 2 weeks.

2 weeks is way too long - I'd ask for a fortnight refund in that case.

Had a real grunter in this morning - 90% of his sets seem to be a variation of bicep curls. Hard not to smirk

2 weeks is way too long - I'd ask for a fortnight refund in that case.

Had a real grunter in this morning - 90% of his sets seem to be a variation of bicep curls. Hard not to smirk

Smirk.gif

1/2 squats or even worse 1/4 squats.

I know they are beneficial somewhat, but I like seeing ass hit the grass ;)

Some people just can't go hammies to calves without injuring themself. I'm one of those people, stupid imbalances and lack of mobility/flexibility, I hate it.
These guys today were doing deep lunges straight after. They were fine.

I sometimes go parallel when sore, but not quarter squat ffs