Is anybody really worried about Brisbane.

I rate them as a threat but they will need a great run injury-wise to do damage in the finals. I just don't think they have the depth of a Geelong or Hawthorn at this stage.

Coincidentally, I think Bradshaw's form has been incredible this year coming off a knee reco. Many players struggle for a season afterwards but he's been on fire. Maybe it's easier for a key forward to return at their best rather than a midfielder because he can run a lot more straight lines? Whatever the reason, my hat is off to the guy.

You'd expect a mid season fade out after they get through their nice Gabba run at the moment. Typical patterns in AFL would see Bradshaw drop off after the knee, and the support crew in the middle outside of the established players to have form fluctuations.

And Luke Power, how's his form this year, he's not quite getting me enough value in supercoach.

They are a good side but not sure if they have the consistency required to be a contender. If we can roll them with out depleted lineup it will be a significant victory.

In all of our losses we were right in the game, no thrashings, not even a convincing loss. If we can continue to improve, those losses can become wins in the latter part of the season. Thats why the rest of the comp should be worried.

yer good call...quick question i noticed we are playing you guys down at tassie soon, have you played there before and how did you go?

Hmmm...interesting...i think the Rooboys are concerned this week and you would be considering its practically a home game for the Lions...it is true that they havent been flogged yet this year - worst loss 38 pts? against the cats...when they are hot they are a dangerous, well oiled machine, never really out of the contest, but can't see them beating the Hawks or Collingwood or Crows again this year - though they will probably be the reason STKilda or PTAdelaide miss the finals.....not many would have picked that at the start of the season.:eek:

yer good call...quick question i noticed we are playing you guys down at tassie soon, have you played there before and how did you go?

We play you in Tasmania in round 19. No we haven't played there before (I think several years a go in a NAB or Wizard Cup game though). Aurora is a lot like Carrara in the dynamics of the ground, we go ok at Carrara, I guess everyone will just have to wait and see.

I think we can finish 5th-7th. We got a good young defence which is doing a darn great job, a classy midfield (with Black, Power, Lappin [when he is on the park], Johnstone and Adcock) and the best forward/half forward combination we are always within a chance.

who have they beaten...

they lost to the hawks, swans,WC,geelong...

they beat, blues,saints,melb,port, and the pies are the only good win they had...

Exactly. Massively overrated. Got out of jail against Port and Pies.

Guns: Black, Brown & Bradshaw

Charman and Merrett doing excellent jobs.

Power and Johnstone (Possibly Drummond):Outside receivers with good skills

Lappin:Still very good but age is catching up fast.

The Rest:Battlers who have a go.

Rely more on a few key players then any other team in the comp.

I think we can finish 5th-7th. We got a good young defence which is doing a darn great job, a classy midfield (with Black, Power, Lappin [when he is on the park], Johnstone and Adcock) and the best forward/half forward combination we are always within a chance.[/quote]

l think you loins could give the final 8 a real shake up come finals time you guys have a great FF/CHF como and also great midfield and are coached well also

I'm not worried about them, but i knew they'd do well. I believe they will top out before we do, it's a natural circle.

I picked them to do well more than a season ago. Very well coached, very tough....straight down the line footy team

Expect them to be a threat for a flag in a year or two.

Carlton should've beaten Brisbane. If only they had played the first quarter and like they played the other 3.

Quite the contrary we could have beaten Carlton by 100+ if we wanted to. But instead they took the foot off the pedal and settled for a cruisy 30 point win. Same thing happened when we played the Saints.

The only team I can see who are clearly better are Geelong. With all the silky talent at our disposal I think top 4 is definately possible though a flag is probably a couple of years away.

I wonder how many of you with teams in the top 8 and with teams that should finish in the top 8 are actually concerned about Brisbane or see them as a threat this year. I haven't heard much talk about them and they seem to be travelling under the radar- even after they flogged STK, most just went on to give the Saints a spray seeing as so many ludicrously had STK in the top 8 this year....so, are the Lions a team to be concerned about come finals time, will they even make the top8, does anybody know who this team is?

Before round 1, I tipped Brisbane to finish 5th.

Seriously, they were underrated before the season started, and they still are to this day.

Don't know if they can be a threat to the premiership, but they can definitely make the finals and they can definitely make their mark.

You don't rate Adcock - Notting - Patfull just to name a few others,Bay Pie? - Your club missed seeing Roe's talent when on your Rookie list - we are very pleased about that

You obviously don't watch Lion's games much, except maybe with one big black and white eye

And you certainly don't know the Lion's best and fairest results for the last 2 years

I completely disagree with the rely on a few stars theory with the proviso that every club needs their stars playing as much as possible

I think we're a sneaky sort of outside chance if we have luck and one or two other sides cop a few key injuries. Certainly not without a chance but realistically I think Geelong, Hawthorn, Collingwood and perhaps Sydney are more serious winning chances at this stage.

We are having some luck with injuries this year and we're basically at full strength at the moment bar Lappin and perhaps Begley and that certainly helps. No doubt we're improving though and you can see the difference in the side as the Black's, Power's and Brown's start to get more consistent support from the likes of Adcock, Rischitelli, McDonald. Merritt, Corrie, Hooper etc. I think this is where the improvement is coming from - those younger players are getting stronger, more confident and more polished with their skills and with that sort of team depth to support the 5-6 really high quality players we have we are entering the "premiership window" again and will be a real threat for the 2-3 years after this I believe.

Its interesting to read this thread and note that one set of supporters are consistently the one's to be saying Brisbane are overrated and/or have beaten nobody yet (except them of course). Will Collingwood people ever get over 2002 & 2003?? How ironic if we prove to be their nemesis again over the next couple of years. It could happen and that 90 point flogging at the MCG last year obviously has a few Magpies waking up in a cold sweat in the middle of the night.

Still holding a grudge over 2002/2003 board.

Hmmm...interesting...i think the Rooboys are concerned this week and you would be considering its practically a home game for the Lions...

Out of interest, by what criteria could it not be considered a home game for the Lions?

Carlton should've beaten Brisbane. If only they had played the first quarter and like they played the other 3.

Ridiculous post. We were close to 10 goals in front and put the Cue in the Rack.

Not really worried about them.

They have a poor backline.

Good midfield though.......

Its too bad you admitted it later - I knew this was an attempt to get a rise out of a Lions poster :D

Bitter Collingwood supporters board. Rely on contributions from alot of players.

There defense is vulnerable if the ball coming in is quality.

Well I'll be..... a defense vulnerable to quality ball. Shocking news.

If I were a top 3 or 4 side I wouldn't be scared of us, but teams would know to expect us to fight which is something.

I would be a lot more confident if our forwards and mids improved.

Our defence is killing it. Big Sauce, Patfull, JMac, Roey, Drummo. :thumbsu:

You can tell who watches Brisbane play and who reads names on a piece of paper by how they rate our defence.

Why don't you just make that line your signature Warwick? It seems to be at the bottom of every post you make anyway :p

Just educating the peasants MF.

It's the same for those who don't watch Sydney play - you play a massive flood every game don't you?

It's just lazy. We don't mind constructive criticism of our list. We find it very tiresome when people read through names and see Black, Power, Adcock, Charman, Lappin, Notting - "yep, awesome midfield", and then see Merrett - "red headed spaz", Patfull - "who?", Drummond - "who?", Joel Macdonald - "who?", Jason Roe - "who?" - "they must be crap".

G. Lyon is one of the worst offenders.

A lot of ignorance in this thread. Pushed Hawthorn all the way when we were playing patchy footy at the start of the year. We were beating Geelong for 3 quarters @ KP without 5-6 of our best players. I think we'll be a huge threat over 2009-2011.

Just educating the peasants MF.

It's the same for those who don't watch Sydney play - you play a massive flood every game don't you?

It's just lazy. We don't mind constructive criticism of our list. We find it very tiresome when people read through names and see Black, Power, Adcock, Charman, Lappin, Notting - "yep, awesome midfield", and then see Merrett - "red headed spaz", Patfull - "who?", Drummond - "who?", Joel Macdonald - "who?", Jason Roe - "who?" - "they must be crap".

G. Lyon is one of the worst offenders.

Yeah, I know what you mean mate.... It usually takes the media an extra 6 months to catch onto the good form of non-vic players and then another 6 months on top of that for all the sheep to be spoon fed the information. I expect by this time next season your boys will be getting the recognition they deserve. ;)

Is anybody really worried about Brisbane.