Is Choco the first coach to admit his team is actually tanking?

Ah Port Adelaide, the only team with players playing injured...

Yes, because Salopek can really take the field with a busted achilles. Maybe Pinocchio Burton should stop being so soft and take the field with his knee injury :rolleyes:

He has been found out that the free flowing netball style of play he prefers wont win games now. The recruting of the club, geared towards that style is now flawed and Port now have few repalcements for the players they lost in 05-06, and fewer replacements for the players they will lose in 09-10. Finishing as low as 15th will only get them one kid. Its not like Richmond and Carlton who have been bottome for half a decade and have had ample chances to rebuild a list via the draft.

Don't be daft. They're in the squad, but they just haven't been selected in the 22 until recently. What is so 'netball' about Lower, Thomas, Farmer, Thomson e.t.c.? They were all recruited by Williams. Now let's see some games get given to them at last.

Announcing to the world the season was over after round 14 will do more harm than a 3rd draft pick will gain.

It will? Thank you unbiased internet stranger.

Add to that Chaplains comments re the the Showdown, and performances on the field we can see the players mindsets. I wonder if anyone will go to the remaining two home games, and how many will sign up as members next year. Their publicity department is going into "damage mode" ie asking the members for input, when in essence PAFC would be the easiest club in the world to market. A club built on success and a history of winning against all elements. Yet Chocko in his comments to the media this year has turned against this ethos.

What planet do you live on? Either were you born after 1990, or only knew about football after 1997.

After losing a grand final in such a humiliating fashion, the world was supposed to cave in on us as well. This season started horribly, and membership still went up. Is a 20-goal grand final defeat better or worse than "announcing to the world" that the season is over after round 14? I guess you have measured that? The Crows and their "winning" culture (winning minor round games at least) managed to see membership drop and 14,000 no-shows to McLeod's 300th.

We are a very soft target right now, so everyone is piling on. Last year we were called "lucky", having a soft draw and winning every close game. This year we have a tougher draw and lose every close game - but it's not bad luck, all of a sudden, it's the truth. No, the truth is probably somewhere in between. We'll take that top-three pick, which is in fact a top-three pick in every subsequent round, and rebuild the team properly this time.

Neil Craig in finals: 33%
Mark Williams in finals: 47%
Since Neil Craig has been a coach, Choco is 75% in finals. But you enjoy that "winning" culture that's being developed. After all, being ace in the minor round got us a lot of respect.

No, thats your definition of tanking. For mine if there are 22 players out on the field going their hardest then no worries.

There has NEVER been any question about the players wanting to win.

Players DON'T TANK (not that we know of anyway)! CLUB ADMIN's and COACHES TANK!

I am sick of debating if TANKING is deliberately throwing a game, or not putting the best side out on the park, or trying out youngsters, or WHO is tanking etc........if the WHOLE CLUB is not going out to win 100% (players, admin, coaching staff, doctors etc), then the club is TANKING....for whatever reason that may be.....even to put players out for ops thant could be done post season!!!!

Fans who pay their hard earnt deserve better than a team that has sent their stars off for surgery that could be done post season, or who are trying out youngsters, or who want to lose for a higher draft pick:mad:

All I'm saying is if they are tanking now they are real dumb tankers.. They do not qualify for a priority pick even if they keep losing as they have had 5 wins already, so I can't see why they would bother tanking now... I reckon honestly they are just playing a lot of kids to see who can play but not deliberately tanking games like the scum that is and always will be Carlton!

As you said, we are testing the list to see who we should bother going forward with. Guys like Lonie, Thurstans, Bentley, Williams, Deluca, Salter and White are playing for their futures...and to a lesser extent, guys like Thomson, Surjan, Pettigrew, P Burgoyne and Lower are doing the same thing. They dont perform, they dont get a contract, simple as that. Do people reckon these guys will be deliberately going out on the park to play bad so Port lose so they get an earlier draft pick?

And in any case, if we really wanted to 'tank', we wouldnt be bringing the guys in good form in, we'd be playing guys like Willits, Boyle, M Motlop, Lobbe, Giles who are playing SANFL reserves and are either not ready or arent good enough.

:D Very good.

To determine whether or not Port are tanking you need to define tanking. Is it not selecting your best 22? Is it putting players away to surgery early? If yes then sure, Port are tanking.

but to suggest Port are deliberately losing games once the ball is bounced down (my definition of tanking) is preposterous.

I am sick of debating if TANKING is deliberately throwing a game, or not putting the best side out on the park, or trying out youngsters, or WHO is tanking etc........if the WHOLE CLUB is not going out to win 100% (players, admin, coaching staff, doctors etc), then the club is TANKING....for whatever reason that may be.....even to put players out for ops thant could be done post season!!!!

Fans who pay their hard earnt deserve better than a team that has sent their stars off for surgery that could be done post season, or who are trying out youngsters, or who want to lose for a higher draft pick:mad:

Were you even watching Chad Cornes' last few games? He was f***ed. A liability who was put in to surgery three years after just one of his injuries first flared.
Tredrea and Salopek went down in round 17. They were never coming back.
Boak may come back, but he has been in and out with injury all year. Should the club compromise next year to save face from tanking this year?

Tell me who the "best 22" players are, who are being omitted right now, to prove that the club is trying to lose games.

So on this basis, trading older players for early draft picks, knowing that this will result in short term pain for long term gain, is tanking.... Because your more experienced players have a better chance of winning than your younger ones....

Because this is what Hawthorn did a few years ago......

And what about players who have operations in the post season, but as a result, can't do a full pre-season and have a slow start. Is this evidence of tanking prior to the start of the season ?? :eek::eek::eek:

What is wrong with you people?:confused: Are you slow, confused or just an eternal optimist?

IF you are NOT trying 100% to WIN every game for whatever reason, it is TANKING!

Thats not right, very poor definition of tanking.

Plenty of teams want to win games but end up only playing to 80-90% and lose. For whatever reason teams sometimes don't try at 100% to win, it sure doesn't mean their tanking.

Port are only an expansion team no one in Victoria really bothers with whereas what Carlton were doing was fatally damaging the reputation of what was prior to the obvious tank arguably the greatest club in the game.

There is a difference.

So one member club of the AFL is more important to the structure of the AFL than others.
Port are just fillers in the competition that have done a fairly decent job. Is that what you are saying ?
Your hatred of Carlton just shows up in the childish dribble you just posted.
Last year Carlton blooded kids & also sent players off for early surgery.
Williams wants to do the same thing but carlton are tanking & Port are not.
Either both clubs tanked or both clubs did not.

I think that the issue with Carlton was receiving the first pick last season (especially considering it was the third time in a row), when the team was clearly better than that. The first pick should have gone to Richmond who were clearly the bottom team and it made a mockery of the system.

Mind you, I believe that Carlton did the right thing for their club, they were very smart and now have the best midfielder to show for it.
Blame the AFL not the clubs.

Carlton won early games while they still hasd Stevens. As soon as Stevens got injured we seemed to go to water & struggled.
Pagan obviously wasn't popular & desire to play good footy wasn't there.
As soon as ratten took over the beltings stopped bar one or two games. All the others we we competative but simply were not good enough.
There are other clubs that have sent players off for early surgery or played kids when the season looks finished.
Because carlton got #1 picks it seems that they are labelled as the only tankers.
I think Choco is at least opening peoples eyes to see that there are plenty of other clubs that do what carlton did last year when they sent players off to early surgery & played kids.

Don't be daft. They're in the squad, but they just haven't been selected in the 22 until recently. What is so 'netball' about Lower, Thomas, Farmer, Thomson e.t.c.? They were all recruited by Williams. Now let's see some games get given to them at last.

What planet do you live on? Either were you born after 1990, or only knew about football after 1997.

After losing a grand final in such a humiliating fashion, the world was supposed to cave in on us as well. This season started horribly, and membership still went up. Is a 20-goal grand final defeat better or worse than "announcing to the world" that the season is over after round 14? I guess you have measured that? The Crows and their "winning" culture (winning minor round games at least) managed to see membership drop and 14,000 no-shows to McLeod's 300th.

We are a very soft target right now, so everyone is piling on. Last year we were called "lucky", having a soft draw and winning every close game. This year we have a tougher draw and lose every close game - but it's not bad luck, all of a sudden, it's the truth. No, the truth is probably somewhere in between. We'll take that top-three pick, which is in fact a top-three pick in every subsequent round, and rebuild the team properly this time.

Neil Craig in finals: 33%
Mark Williams in finals: 47%
Since Neil Craig has been a coach, Choco is 75% in finals. But you enjoy that "winning" culture that's being developed. After all, being ace in the minor round got us a lot of respect.
I agree 37k at Maccas game was no good, and to have a ticket and not go for a champion or get someone who really wanted to go is a disgrace. I had four people ask to use my fiances ticket, but she wanted to go.

What was Chockos finals recored in his first four years coaching? 1999-2002 1/5 or 20%. Its a compliment to Craigy that you compare his recored with one of the AFL's better coaches. But as a supporter the 05/06/07 season all ended disapointingly. But for a coach to make two Prelims in his first two full years coaching is a fair effort.

From a marketing prospective ( I aint an expert) Port would be a an easy club to market. When you think Port Adelaide you think success and winning premierships. Maybe if the club understood it identity and went for the tradition angle, they could come up with some emotion stirring ads and slogans. Chad running away from his shadow was pathetic. But showing Premiership cups being lifted and players kicking goals gets the footy public excited. As does a positive slogan. It works for the Crows....

Funny how Chocko only plays these guys Thomson and Lower when he has conceded the season. Thomson and Lower could of comanded a spot after the first four losses, with no team changes. Thomas seems to be in his starting 22 (injuries keeping him out), as he should be. Farmer should work his way in and is younger than the other three. Chockos preferred game plan is based around fast free flowing movement of the ball and minimal contests. It make S Burger and Pearce look good. Every goal you kicked last week was when Carlton allowed this to happen. It is Entertaining and is what the club has determined will get the kids in to watch the team.
Port wont come back to the finals till they play, tough physical footy like they did in 01-04. As well as play the players capable of it. Every team that has won a flag this century has played that way. I dont rate Port as a rabble, far from it, a few tinkers here and there and you guys will be back up there, as long as those changes occur.

I understand thats your position, and you're entitled to your opinion.

All I'm saying is WHOLE CLUBS, if you want to use that terminology, have done this regularly in the past, before the draft came in, in the name of list management.

So if thats the case, surely the only real measure we have is if there are 22 players going their hardest out on the ground on any given day or not - something that as you rightly point out has never been in question. So for me its not a big issue, certainly not as big as alot make it out to be.

Its just more of a problem now coz of the way the draft is structured. While its definately not perfect, I still haven't heard a better idea.

Maybe if the club understood it identity and went for the tradition angle, they could come up with some emotion stirring ads and slogans. Chad running away from his shadow was pathetic.

Yeah, it's like the Mr Plow ad. Still, better than the kid who "needs more power!"

Funny how Chocko only plays these guys Thomson and Lower when he has conceded the season. Thomson and Lower could of comanded a spot after the first four losses, with no team changes. Thomas seems to be in his starting 22 (injuries keeping him out), as he should be. Farmer should work his way in and is younger than the other three. Chockos preferred game plan is based around fast free flowing movement of the ball and minimal contests. It make S Burger and Pearce look good. Every goal you kicked last week was when Carlton allowed this to happen. It is Entertaining and is what the club has determined will get the kids in to watch the team.
Port wont come back to the finals till they play, tough physical footy like they did in 01-04. As well as play the players capable of it. Every team that has won a flag this century has played that way. I dont rate Port as a rabble, far from it, a few tinkers here and there and you guys will be back up there, as long as those changes occur.

I generally agree with all of that - so recruiting isn't the problem (well, the forward line is another matter).

Back to the main point - the starting 22 wasn't balanced at the beginning of the year, and besides injuries, the latest selections have actually started to redress that balance. That's tanking? If Senior Burger was dropped again, tanking talk would intensify, even though if you asked most Port supporters, that would be akin to manna from Heaven!

They led a charmed life, continually winning close games against teams that had their best players out at the end of the season. West Coast got crippled by injury and fell over, and then the Kangaroos forgot to turn up to the prelim.

They did well to get to the granny, but they got an incredibly soft run there.

Yep 15 wins, 2nd on the ladder, defeat the 3rd and 4th place teams in finals... incredibly soft....

I wonder if 13 wins to a premiership is soft?

I'm amazed by the sheer hypocrisy of it all ...

What Carlton did last year, we were slammed from pillar to post (and we never publicly admitted it either) whereas Mark Williams has all but admitted that winning isn't really high on Port's agenda, and the Power want to improve their 'draft position' ...

I fail to see the difference, in fact what Port/Mark Williams has said is worse then anything said last year by Carlton.

It's not about what you say, but how you perform.

Spot the difference
Carlton 2002-2007 H&A 16th, 15th, 11th, 16th, 16th, 15th
Port Adelaide 2002-2007 H&A 1st, 1st, 1st, 8th, 12th, 2nd

Carlton won early games while they still hasd Stevens. As soon as Stevens got injured we seemed to go to water & struggled.
Pagan obviously wasn't popular & desire to play good footy wasn't there.
As soon as ratten took over the beltings stopped bar one or two games. All the others we we competative but simply were not good enough.
There are other clubs that have sent players off for early surgery or played kids when the season looks finished.
Because carlton got #1 picks it seems that they are labelled as the only tankers.
I think Choco is at least opening peoples eyes to see that there are plenty of other clubs that do what carlton did last year when they sent players off to early surgery & played kids.

As I said earlier Carlton were smart. Ratten was given the nod for the job so there was no pressure pn him to perform, he could afford to develop the kids without any fear and winning became irrelevant.

It wasn't so much a 1st pick, it was three 1st picks in a row that led the to the whole 'carltank' trolling.

There were also other side issues as well, for example Gibbs. At first I didn't really care that he wasn't going to go to Adelaide as a father/son selection but then when someone here explained to me the rules changes that effectively ruled it out I realised how completely unfair it was to the Crows. Carlton were in the right place at the right time to benefit from their misfortune which probably added to the venom directed at you guys.

I love how Crows supporters stomp their feet and feign indignance and become holier than thou in threads like this.

The odd tantrum from Carlton supporters is pretty funny also.

Maybe you guys should meet at Flinders Street station, paint up some banners and march to AFL house spouting on about the evils of those wharfie feral scum.

Comedy gold :thumbsu:

Please keep going.

I love how Crows supporters stomp their feet and feign indignance and become holier than thou in threads like this.

The odd tantrum from Carlton supporters is pretty funny also.

Maybe you guys should meet at Flinders Street station, paint up some banners and march to AFL house spouting on about the evils of those wharfie feral scum.

Comedy gold :thumbsu:

Please keep going.

I'm not sure you of all people should be pointing the finger at anyone for the quality of their contributions.

My definition of tanking would be making selection choices that you would not otherwise make if there were no draft picks on offer. Anything other than that is not tanking, it is developing the list. Sending players off for surgery so that they are cherry ripe for next year and getting some game time into developing players is not tanking.

Selecting Toby Thurstans and Nathan Lonie comes close but unfortunately chocco selects them because he genuinely thinks they might make it.

Port are picking a team to give them the best chance of developing their list, not a team to give them a better chance of losing.

p.s. I know that picking the team that gives them the best chance of developing their list also gives them a greater chance of losing but as that isnt the reasoning behind it it isnt tanking.

I'm amazed by the sheer hypocrisy of it all ...

What Carlton did last year, we were slammed from pillar to post (and we never publicly admitted it either) whereas Mark Williams has all but admitted that winning isn't really high on Port's agenda, and the Power want to improve their 'draft position' ...

I fail to see the difference, in fact what Port/Mark Williams has said is worse then anything said last year by Carlton.

Correct me if i am wrong, but wasn't there a situation last year against melbourne, where carlton were a couple pts up at 3/4 time or something against melbourne, then left Fev off for the whole last 1/4 (when he was dominating).
Or was i misinformed (i didnt see the game in question), if this is the case, that is way Carlton were bagged for tanking, if not the case, then, yes perhaps Carlton were unfairly treated last year.

Either way the AFL needs to fix this problem, i believe they need to somehow go back to zones, which will encourage clubs to actually really put money into the development of grassroots football.

I hate this current system.

I agree 37k at Maccas game was no good, and to have a ticket and not go for a champion or get someone who really wanted to go is a disgrace. I had four people ask to use my fiances ticket, but she wanted to go.

What was Chockos finals recored in his first four years coaching? 1999-2002 1/5 or 20%. Its a compliment to Craigy that you compare his recored with one of the AFL's better coaches. But as a supporter the 05/06/07 season all ended disapointingly. But for a coach to make two Prelims in his first two full years coaching is a fair effort.

From a marketing prospective ( I aint an expert) Port would be a an easy club to market. When you think Port Adelaide you think success and winning premierships. Maybe if the club understood it identity and went for the tradition angle, they could come up with some emotion stirring ads and slogans. Chad running away from his shadow was pathetic. But showing Premiership cups being lifted and players kicking goals gets the footy public excited. As does a positive slogan. It works for the Crows....

Whenever we refer to being an old club with tradition, we get slammed in the media, and are constantly told that we are alienating the possible now supporters that grew up disliking Port. Even though that is the reason we got in the AFL, and we should market us that way!!

What is the slogan that works for the crows???

Is Choco the first coach to admit his team is actually tanking?