Yes, it's totally fair.Is it fair to make north/eagles/richmond show up every week and get smashed by 50pts?
That's why we have equalisation measures in place that are NOT fair but make for a more interesting season.
AFLW 2024 - Round 9 - Indigenous Round - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Yes, it's totally fair.Is it fair to make north/eagles/richmond show up every week and get smashed by 50pts?
Will never happen. Could you imagine Carlton and Collingwood not playing a single H&A against each other, ditto derbies etc and the AFL being okay with that?Is it fair to make north/eagles/richmond show up every week and get smashed by 50pts?
A second division allows for more competitive games overall.
If each division started with 10 teams and expanded to 12 eventually, having 3-4 teams relegated or promoted each year should aim to minimise entrenchment at either end.
That doesn't make sense....if we had 22 we wouldn't need conferences. 21 games plus maybe 1 double up.Will never happen. Could you imagine Carlton and Collingwood not playing a single H&A against each other, ditto derbies etc and the AFL being okay with that?
The competition will stay single tier at 20, but if it ever goes beyond 20, I think we’ll see NBA style conferences.
I don't know why you think more than 20 teams makes conferences a good idea. When Tasmania enter, we'll likely move to a 24 game season. With that length, you could go to 25 teams (which will probably never happen anyway) and have a basically even draw with everyone playing everyone else once.The competition will stay single tier at 20, but if it ever goes beyond 20, I think we’ll see NBA style conferences.
I don't know why you think more than 20 teams makes conferences a good idea.
That doesn't make sense....if we had 22 we wouldn't need conferences. 21 games plus maybe 1 double up.
Conferences are about draw integrity, not a lot of point to them outside that. Not that the AFL gives a stuff about integrity much anyway.
Yeah, I understand the math, but at a certain point, being 23rd on the ladder in a 24 team comp is just a bridge too far.I don't know why you think more than 20 teams makes conferences a good idea. When Tasmania enter, we'll likely move to a 24 game season. With that length, you could go to 25 teams (which will probably never happen anyway) and have a basically even draw with everyone playing everyone else once.
Conferences aren't going to happen. There's no need for them.
Ideally, reckon conferences will only take place once 24+ teams are in the competition but your proposal has merit and would help fixturing if conferences were implemented once Tasmania and possibly Canberra's entry in the big league.IMO it would be very hard for Australians to adopt the NFL style conferences but if you accept equalistion measures then the first step is quite minor.
If we accept that each team has to play every other team at least once (unlike the NFL) then with 20 teams then that's 19 games plus another 3 for 4 team conference or another 4 games with 5 team conference.
Four team conferences ensure more derbies.
Western conference - W.A. and S.A.
Northern conference - Qld and N.S.W.
Big conference - Collingwood, Essendon, Richmond, Carlton
Eastern conference - Hawthorn, St. Kilda, Melbourne, North Melbourne
Southern conference - Tasmania, Geelong, Bulldogs, Canberra
I hate wildcard round.I think the Wildcard round is a way of the footy public being conditioned to playing slightly less footy in the regular season.
Here is what i think will occur moving forward.
20 teams - Tassie and Canberra or NT (toss of coin)
Play everyone once
Play gather round
= Every team plays 20 games
Total 200 Games
Plus
2 x wildcard games
9 x finals
= 211 Games
At the moment we are at 216 games. (23 x 9 + 9 finals)
TV deals aren't slowing down off losing 5 games, whilst increasing the number of eyes on the wildcard games, compared to the dead rubbers.
You will also see demand for tickets increase when clubs go from hosting 11 home games down to 9 or 10 depending on the season.
I hate wildcard round.
What they should do is have gather round and wildcard round be one in the same.
1 v 2, 3 v 4, 5 v 6, 7 v 10 (loser eliminated), 8 v 9 (loser eliminated), the rest.
Highest ranked teams get the AO games, lower ranked get the smaller grounds. Or whatever state it’s played.
Then just have a normal top 8 finals series after that with the pre finals bye.
But if they really want to expand the finals series, then just go to conferences and be done with it.
20 teams, 4 conferences, 5 teams each conference.
Conference winner = top four, week off.
8 best of the rest playoff for spot in finals.
Then finals series is straight knockout, 8 down to 4 down to 2.
There’s gonna be more than 20 teams one day so I think conferences will eventually happen whether people like it or not
I hate wildcard round.
What they should do is have gather round and wildcard round be one in the same.
1 v 2, 3 v 4, 5 v 6, 7 v 10 (loser eliminated), 8 v 9 (loser eliminated), the rest.
Highest ranked teams get the AO games, lower ranked get the smaller grounds. Or whatever state it’s played.
Then just have a normal top 8 finals series after that with the pre finals bye.
But if they really want to expand the finals series, then just go to conferences and be done with it.
20 teams, 4 conferences, 5 teams each conference.
Conference winner = top four, week off.
8 best of the rest playoff for spot in finals.
Then finals series is straight knockout, 8 down to 4 down to 2.
There’s gonna be more than 20 teams one day so I think conferences will eventually happen whether people like it or not
That is wildly convoluted.
Fair call. Wouldn’t have a problem with them keeping the top 8 as is.
Why should 1, 3, and 5 play higher-ranked teams?I don't see the need for two conferences for the home and away season. I doubt the competition will move much beyond 20 teams, so have 19 home and away rounds where every team plays each other once. Even with 22 teams have a 21 round home and away.
Having said that, for the finals I'd prefer to top ten teams to be divided into two finals conferences where two final 5s to play off. One final five to be ladder positions 1,3,5,7,9 and the other 2,4,6,8 and 10.
Soemthing like this, and for clarity, I'm going to assume the higher placed team wins every final.
Week 1
1 bye, and 2 bye
Qualifying Final 3 vs. 5 and 4 vs. 6 (Winner to play 1 and 2. Loser to play winners of elimination final)
Elimination Final 7 vs. 9, 8 vs. 10 (Loser to be eliminated, winners to play losers of Qualifying final. (more often Teams 9 and 10 would be eliminated)
Week 2
First Semi: 5 vs. 7, 6 vs. 8 (Losers eliminated)
Second Semi: 1 vs 3, 2 vs. 4 (winners through to the Final and have another bye, losers play winners of First semi final in Preliminary.)
Week 3
1st Preliminary final: 3 vs. 5 (loser eliminated, winner through to final)
2nd Preliminary final: 4 vs. 6 (loser eliminated, winner through to final)
Week 4: Final 1 vs. 3, 2 vs. 4 (winners through to Grand Final and losers eliminated
Week 5: Grand Final 1 vs. 2 (Winner is season premier)
13 finals matches. Currently the final eight has nine games.
That could happen to give the first placed team a greater advantage than the second placed team.I like your finals system but flip it around: 1 gets 4,6,8,10, 2 gets 3,5,7,9.
Don't have to have NZ etc.
Auckland and Newcastle would be good targets for expansion after Canberra. Biggest untapped populations that aren’t too far away from Australia that could work. I’ve often said a 3rd WA and 2nd Brisbane for 21-22 but like you said, WA3 would be consolation and Brisbane kinda would be too since they already have a team. I mean some places like GC aren’t going to have more than one team.Consolidation Vs expansion ?
Canberra is consolidation with a good opportunity for growth.
WA3, SA3 even NT are consolidation, so I'm not interested.
The AFL was well under way in N.Z. and in fact the statistics for N.Z. were much better than GWS w.r.t. participation.
GWS is the hardest sell because of the amount of negative activity (and GWS has to be applauded for their effort)
New Zealanders may follow rugby but at worst indifferent to the Aussie game not derogatory as in some places.
The AFL hasn't started on theoretical target population centres like Newcastle, Wollongong, Townsville etc.