Is Nick Riewoldt deliberately favoured by umpires?

Obviously, it's the umpires who should cop it for decisions like the Grundy holding onto him free. But the one where he baited Grundy and then did the double movement forward and then laughed after the free was given to him, is what drives people nuts. I like him as a player but he makes it hard to completely respect him. Not that he could care less what opposition supporters think of him.

It was a poor free, but there was abundance of poor decisions tonight.

Understand my annoyance though that there is two threads in high rotation at the moment, which is excessive IMO.

You would probably feel the same.

Congratulations to McBurney who made himself the star of the show in the final quarter.
The umpire's dept had no hesitation in dumping Shane McInernay from last year's GF after his appalling performance in the prelim, so no doubt McBurney will be having a few sleepless nights this week.

Does insulting other people make you feel better or something? What was the point of that.

he started on me but either

a) he got bored
b) he thinks he got his point across
c) or like my mrs, when im right im met with deadly silence

he ripped into all the supporters of 15 other clubs earlier although i was stating that nick reiwoldt is a class player and doesnt need to do the diving shite

I hope you're right but there is no way Hall would get a free like that. I think it is double standard umpiring the pisses people off so much. If it's good enough for Riewoldt, Judd or Ablett then it's good enough for someone like Ty Zantuck, Jason Wild or Clinton Wolf in the same situation.

I used to be a big NBA fan but the double standard officiating that goes on in that league is awful and is really off putting. Sadly the AFL is following suit in a big way. Pathetic little men are overawed around all the marquee players.

I think its important to remember that the umps get paid, they are professionals (I'm sure some will disagree) but if they do a crap job, and constantly make the wrong decisions, they may not get the chance to umpire in a grand final. I doubt the men in white would show favouritism, cos their job would be in jeapordy.

I think the real issue here is frustrated fans. My take on it is a dangerous forward is more likely to be targeted by the defence than most other players. And possibly is the reason players like Riewoldt get the free kicks.

I was in Tassie a few years ago watching Franklin get free kick after free kick. I have to be honest, we had two guys on him and were doing what we could to stop him.

Thats my take on it. How many times do you see a Didak, or a Stevie Johnsnon dive or play for a free and dont get it. Teh umps aren't stupid, they know whats going on, but obviously they don't always get it right. They know your Riewoldts, Browns, Franklins play for frees, but they also know when defenders are giving away frees.

Obviously, it's the umpires who should cop it for decisions like the Grundy holding onto him free. But the one where he baited Grundy and then did the double movement forward and then laughed after the free was given to him, is what drives people nuts. I like him as a player but he makes it hard to completely respect him. Not that he could care less what opposition supporters think of him.

Normally I like your posts AG but in what way did Riewoldt bait Grundy? Grundy pushed him, he pushed Grundy back.

Yes there's no doubt that Riewoldt is favoured unfarily by the umpires.

The only question is to what extent is this coincidental or is there bribing and corruption involved?

I laughed.

There was already enough hate, paranoia and jealousy in this thread for it to have the potential to become a BF classic but I think you may have sent it to a level that guarantees it.

Congrats. :thumbsu::D

He extends the dukes, hard to stop a man that fast, that big with arms extended.

The only question is to what extent is this coincidental or is there bribing and corruption involved?

I think this forum is getting a little bit hysterical. And concerning Riewoldt, boring. Can we merge the 5 or 6 threads about him into one?

Did Riewoldt take a dive? Yeah I think he made it look bad but the free was there whether he exaggerated it or not.

I think this forum is getting a little bit hysterical. And concerning Riewoldt, boring. Can we merge the 5 or 6 threads about him into one?

Did Riewoldt take a dive? Yeah I think he made it look bad but the free was there whether he exaggerated it or not.

the crux of why people are not happy. he dived to accentuate his chances in the umpires eyes of getting a free.

I think it's a bit unfair to call Roo a cheat, a diver yes but a cheat no.

It's the umpires that could be called the cheats, blame them, they're the ones blowing the whistle and giving him the soft free kicks when he keeps on diving.

He'll just keep diving week in week out until the umpires finally wake up to themselves, so get used to it because nothings going to change.

the crux of why people are not happy. he dived to accentuate his chances in the umpires eyes of getting a free.

I get it mate we are up to post 2,161.

Seriously, this is thread number 4 I think on Riewoldt and umpires. Merge them into one at the very least or move them to Bay 13. They are just hysterical pot shots anyway, not serious football discussion.

I get it mate we are up to post 2,161.

Seriously, this is thread number 4 I think on Riewoldt and umpires. Merge them into one at the very least or move them to Bay 13. They are just hysterical pot shots anyway, not serious football discussion.

except, they are really. The AFL felt so strongly about diving being a blight on the spirit of the game, they introduced a new rule in the off season.

IMO it will be interesting to see how this all pans out.

So if people are concerned about diving why not talk about Goodes?

Personally I'm more concerned about the umpires willingness to allow Sydney to throw the ball than I am about players who are stupid enough to be goaded into a giving away a stupid free kick - one that is in the laws of the game.

Oh, it's probably worth pointing out too how bitter and ignorant Luke Darcy is. No doubt this discussion has been fuelled by his completely biased & bitter interpretation of the rules. Would seem he has a few equally ignorant (&bitter) fans here on BF.

Last night it was amazing - if the AFL is fair dinkum about fining divers, Nick would be top of the list.

Diving is one thing but when the umpires constantly reward you for it, no wonder he keeps doing it. The umpires have all the power - players can dive all they want, but don't reward it. That is what frustrates people.

The AFL felt so strongly about diving being a blight on the spirit of the game, they introduced a new rule in the off season.

IMO it will be interesting to see how this all pans out.

Yes it will. And if this thread was about that....fine.

But you have absolute tossers talking about cheating and bribery and corruption....I mean come on....it's like having a chat with my 8 year old, the discussion bears no relationship with the real world.

The umpires have all the power - players can dive all they want, but don't reward it. That is what frustrates people.

The free was obvious mate. Yes he dived but the free was there before that. I don't like that fact that he exaggerated it but there was no problem with the free.

Yes it will. And if this thread was about that....fine.

But you have absolute tossers talking about cheating and bribery and corruption....I mean come on....it's like having a chat with my 8 year old, the discussion bears no relationship with the real world.

I think people are frustrated that HE is still doing it, and the umpires are rewarding him for it......even though they are not supposed to be. SO, thats maybe why people think theres more to it than meets the ye.