Opinion Is this rock bottom?

We are going to lose 21 in a row and I can only imagine what the younger players and their families are thinking/saying right now about their careers.

We are very much at rock bottom but if we were to lose some younger players a la JHF then that would be another level of bottom.

No one would blame any young player and their families for wanting out of Arden St - unfortunately for us once the exodus starts it is very hard to stop.

It's very bad right now for us - and we only have ourselves to blame - but it has the potential to get alot worse from here unless off field leadership at the club comes out quickly to assure younger players that there is a successful future at Arden St at some point in their careers - and that is not a sell that will be easy or done with any degree of confidence.

Our 2018 & 2019 finishes were better than anything Carton (2002-2007/2014-2019) & Melbourne (2007-2014) did, but IMO our 2020, 2021, 2022 & 2023 is easily the worst stretch of the lot. Our 2017 was also bad but it felt closer to our 2001 or 2006 seasons. 2020-2023 is record setting disgraceful.
We're in Uk. I got up at 5 to watch. After game son said hes glad we're in England so he doesn't need to deal with North and that he is no longer interested in them.

As per the main board we are the first team in the modern era to have 4 bottom 2 finishes in a row

I’d love to see how the afl say we shouldn’t get our first ever first round priority pick and/or free nga access
The AFL are likely to be more amenable to giving us actual assistance now that a disgruntled former employee and future opposition coach isn’t in a decision making position over the request.

My boy (7) said to me at the game today - dad you’re lucky -> you got see North when they were good, but maybe it’s time we switch teams. Maybe the pies.

It’s so ******* sad.
Funny (or sad) thing is, if I switched to Collingwood (I'll give myself an uppercut for even saying it), guaranteed Daicos would do his ACL, Moore's chronic hammies would repeatedly tear, De Goey would be put in some Thai jail and fly would have a nervous breakdown :'(

2019 was awful save for some great wins over Richmond/Collingwood. We had gone from a 2-7 start, sacked Brad, to 7-8 and contention for finals but s**t the bed.

2018 was the best of the last 7 years, we were 7-4 and the best defensive team in the comp. Maj was killing it in the backline. Then we just fell away.
Jacobs got concussed against Brisbane. Haven't been anywhere near it since.

Every time I think we are at our lowest and it can’t get any worse, these bunch of peahearted soft *****, manage to remind me it can get worse.

I found myself singing nursery rhymes I was so bored and frustrated at todays game.

Luke McDonald Captains a Veggie Farm…… eeeiiiieeiiioooo!

And on that farm he grew some potatoes. Here a potato, they’re a potato, everywhere potatoes…… eeeiiiieeeiiioooo!

Sad thing is l won't be forking out $800 bucks 2024 for 7 games with a reserved seat. Been paying up for close to 50 years.

Min.3 game m'ship and Kayo at home.

I won't be the only one.
I’m getting to that stage too.

It’s a lot of money to pay to watch a bunch of peahearts not give a **** about the jumper they play in.

**** the Tassie deal and **** this playing group.

We're comfortably in the 4 worst sides over a sustained number of years that I've seen.

Melbourne 2007-2014

2007: 5-17 (14th)
2008: 3-19 (Wooden Spoon)
2009: 4-18 (Wooden Spoon)
2010: 8-13-1 (12th)
2011: 8-13-1 (13th)
2012: 4-18 (16th) - Avoid another spoon purely on GC and GWS entering comp
2013: 2-20 (17th) - See above
2014: 4-18 (17th) - See above

Carlton 2002-2007

2002: 3-19 (Wooden Spoon)
2003: 4-18 (15th)
2004: 10-12 (11th)
2005: 4-17-1 (Wooden Spoon)
2006: 3-18-1 (Wooden Spoon)
2007: 4-18 (15th)

Carlton (Again, lol) 2014-2019

2014: 7-14-1 (13th)
2015: 4-18 (Wooden Spoon)
2016: 7-15 (14th)
2017: 6-16 (16th)
2018: 2-20 (Wooden Spoon) - 5th Wooden Spoon in space of 16 years
2019: 7-15 (16th)

North 2017-present

2017: 6-16 (15th)
2018: 12-10 (9th)
2019: 10-12 (12th)
2020: 3-14 (17th)
2021: 4-17-1 (Wooden Spoon)
2022: 2-20 (Wooden Spoon)
2023: 2-15 (17th)
These two in the mix for worst sustained periods of poor performance as well:

Brisbane 2010-2018
2010: 7-15 (13th/16)
2011: 4-18 (15th/17)
2012: 10-12 (13th)
2013: 10-12 (12th)
2014: 7-15 (15th)
2015: 4-18 (17th)
2016: 3-19 (17th)
2017: 5-17 (wooden spoon)
2018: 5-17 (15th)

Gold Coast 2011-present
2011: 3-19 (wooden spoon)
2012: 3-19 (17th)
2013: 8-14 (14th)
2014: 10-12 (12th)
2015: 4-17-1 (16th)
2016: 6-16 (15th)
2017: 6-16 (17th)
2018: 4-18 (17th)
2019: 3-19 (wooden spoon)
2020: 5-11-1 (14th)
2021: 7-15 (16th)
2022: 10-12 (12th)
2023: 8-9 (12th)

But I agree with Elite Master - 2020 onwards from us has been comfortably worse than any of those other clubs' low ebbs. Nearly four seasons and, barring a brief patch in the third quarter of 2021, we've been consistently on the same level of a 2013 Melbourne or a 2018 Carlton in terms of sheer inability to compete - not sure any other clubs has had such a sustained deep low period in the last 30+ years, and there's not much to bank on in terms of feeling like this is the last of the crushingly bad seasons in this downswing...

Now feels like rock bottom will be in the off season this year of next
Either a 1st round draftee devastated to be drafted to north or a few of our only decent young players ask to be traded

Went to the toilet in the last qtr washing my hands and Daniel Howe walks in . “Mate what they’re putting out there today is a disgrace “ I agree he says . “ Where do we go from here I said ? “ His reply - “I have no idea “

It’s like he was in shock at what he was seeing . The standards at our footy are at an all time low and until this addressed these results will
continue .

Went to the toilet in the last qtr washing my hands and Daniel Howe walks in . “Mate what they’re putting out there today is a disgrace “ I agree he says . “ Where do we go from here I said ? “ His reply - “I have no idea “

It’s like he was in shock at what he was seeing . The standards at our footy are at an all time low and until this addressed these results will
continue .
These guys don’t care about losing anymore, that’s why when it gets a little bit hard they just give up and let the opposition run riot.

It was sickening watching Hawthorn players take off to become a link up option while our blokes slowly jogged behind them.

It doesn’t take skill or talent to run, but it does take willpower, something this group has very little of.

We are going to lose 21 in a row and I can only imagine what the younger players and their families are thinking/saying right now about their careers.

We are very much at rock bottom but if we were to lose some younger players a la JHF then that would be another level of bottom.

No one would blame any young player and their families for wanting out of Arden St - unfortunately for us once the exodus starts it is very hard to stop.

It's very bad right now for us - and we only have ourselves to blame - but it has the potential to get alot worse from here unless off field leadership at the club comes out quickly to assure younger players that there is a successful future at Arden St at some point in their careers - and that is not a sell that will be easy or done with any degree of confidence.

JHF is in a different category. A young, immature interstate player with challenging personal circumstances.

We're crap on the field. We've got crap senior players who are finally being phased out. Finally.

These young players are going to be given an opportunity ahead of time - they're going to be handed over the responsibility.

Every Club has had dark years. Been more than 50 years at Arden Street.

These results will have massive effects even when we are remotely competitive. In 30 years time we will have 10k attending our games as all young supporters will jump ship because of this ****
And holy **** we may even have the off springs of lmac running around

I spoke to Patrick Cripps at a work function in the week leading up to the Gold Coast game.
He told me all the issues they had at the time wasn’t due to Vossy or the coaches but was due to the playing group simply being out of sync and not performing. The off field stuff is nonsense about the board and members abusing them. Means nothing to them.
So they all went away as a playing group that week for a night or two to gel and have looked like world beaters since.

Now I know context is everything and being a reactive football club like North was before we turned into losers it’s hard to make a link, but I just wonder what the mood is like with the playing group right now. What they all really think.
From the outside looking in I see a team who know they’re no good and have simply accepted it. This is toxic.

The only conclusion to make is we have poor leaders and the side plays as well as the leaders do. 15 losses in a row sounds about right for us. In fact it seems spot on.

These results will have massive effects even when we are remotely competitive. In 30 years time we will have 10k attending our games as all young supporters will jump ship because of this ****
And holy **** we may even have the off springs of lmac running around

We don't have to worry about 30 years time lol. No one under the age of 25 remembers the 90s. Gen Z already remembers us as being shit.

Opinion Is this rock bottom?