Is Walker the worse pick 2?

smthomson said:
Jarrad Waite, Andrew Walker, Brad Fisher, Kade Simpson, Eddie Betts, Brett Thornton, Adam Bentick, Andrew Carrazzo to name a few! Good luck ;)

hmm i agree with waite, simpson, and carazzo and fisher as being good. walker ahsnt done anything yet. Betts will be the enxt Marty McGrath,he is a front runner, that kicks goals only when the play is going blues way. thornton is useless. bentick is as slow as Joey Misiti.

We have

Brent Stanton , Ricky Dyson, Angus Monfries, Kepler Bradley, Jason Laycock, Jason Winderlich, Andrew Lovett, Nathan Lovett - Murray, Henry Slattery, David Hille, Adam McPhee, .....is that enough?

Tricky_Ricky2 said:
yeh, and he will be better than cooney aswell.........

No way! Tell me this......can walker win a game out of da centre like cooney, at least Cooney can change a game. Get A Life!!!

Tricky_Ricky2 said:
hmm i agree with waite, simpson, and carazzo and fisher as being good. walker ahsnt done anything yet. Betts will be the enxt Marty McGrath,he is a front runner, that kicks goals only when the play is going blues way. thornton is useless. bentick is as slow as Joey Misiti.

We have

Brent Stanton , Ricky Dyson, Angus Monfries, Kepler Bradley, Jason Laycock, Jason Winderlich, Andrew Lovett, Nathan Lovett - Murray, Henry Slattery, David Hille, Adam McPhee, .....is that enough?

As I said Walker is still only 19! What do you expect?? Betts is also 19 & you can compare him to Marty who? Ask Matthew Lloyd about Brett Thornton who has won every battle except the last one! Adam Bentick is a hard nut & I compare him to Jimmy Bartel more Misiti. I don't rate Winderlich, Laycock, Slattery or David Hille who is average at best. I do believe Stanton, Dyson, Monfries, Lovett all have a future but that where it ends.
We have 3 first round picks opposed to your one to consider as well. Oh well I guess time will tell but my money is on the Blues!

smthomson said:
As I said Walker is still only 19! What do you expect?? Betts is also 19 & you can compare him to Marty who? Ask Matthew Lloyd about Brett Thornton who has won every battle except the last one! Adam Bentick is a hard nut & I compare him to Jimmy Bartel more Misiti. I don't rate Winderlich, Laycock, Slattery or David Hille who is average at best. I do believe Stanton, Dyson, Monfries, Lovett all have a future but that where it ends.
We have 3 first round picks opposed to your one to consider as well. Oh well I guess time will tell but my money is on the Blues!

i reckon balga could give it a go but then again wiggafarra do have some good youth

Tricky_Ricky2 said:

We have

Rate McPhee and Bradley, Hille's ok and Laycock was promising at the beginning and I think he can do something but to be honest I think I prefer the Carlton group. Of course I'm not biased!!!!

Tricky_Ricky2 said:
We have Brent Stanton , Ricky Dyson, Angus Monfries, Kepler Bradley, Jason Laycock, Jason Winderlich, Andrew Lovett, Nathan Lovett - Murray, Henry Slattery, David Hille, Adam McPhee, .....is that enough?
Monfries, Slattery and Lovett-Murray haven't done anything compared to Russell, Blackwell and Houlihan from Carlton.

And how is Andrew Lovett a good young player when he's older than Bret Thornton?
Lovett isn't any better than Betts and Walker easily ran him down and tackled over the boundary line, only for Lovett to crack the ********s.

Tricky_Ricky2 said:
We have

LMAO.
someone tell this guy to get his hand off it.

only collingwood has less young talent than essendon.

RoK said:
Mate i'm sick of people on here putting down young kids who play the game.Why some people get so much pleasure out of putting down the new player's is beyond me.

Now now are we not here to talk about football?

This player was talked about as the next big thing, a lot of people said he was better then Cooney and others.

He is not a footballer, he is a runner.

Funny how the only pick that Carlton where able to keep, turns out to be a dud.

You can get a player to run faster, get fitter but you can not give some one a Football brain.

Sad attempt at a troll.

Walker has had one dominant game and probably 2-3 decent all round games as well with 15-17 possessions with time on the pine. On top of that he has had another 3 good tagging games where he carried out a roll asked of him. He has presented but been ignored many times particularly by a Bomber bound Blue. He had an interrupted preseason before his first season which makes his debut quite extraordinary.

As for the contention he can't mark, the guy fairly launches himself over packs and will drag down mark of the year one day. He can mark, he just needs to learn when to go and when not to. Not surprising if he can't take pack marks or contested marks very well at the moment given his size. He will fill out and gain strength.

As always, half of the knockers go missing after a few of their trolls backfire so bookmarking the thread probably serves no purpose. Carry on, but do so in the knowledge most reasonable posters think you foolish.

What_The? said:
One game wonder, useless, can not kick and can not Mark.

Yes he is fast, but all it means is that he gets to where the ba.........him.

Probably the best way to describe Andrew Walker, is to think about the best young player on the Don’s list, multiple their ability by about 25, and you’ve got someone half as good as 1AW. Blues are absolutely wrapped to have him. :)

parrot said:
Probably the best way to describe Andrew Walker, is to think about the best young player on the Don’s list, multiple their ability by about 25, and you’ve got someone half as good as 1AW. Blues are absolutely wrapped to have him. :)
Monfries>>>Walker

Not even a comparison Parrot.

parrot said:

Essendon one bad year in past 4, how about the Blues :)

What_The? said:
Essendon one bad year in past 4, how about the Blues :)

hold on to that,there are rocks ahead BIG ONE'S real big.Mr Sheedy isn't going to make them any smaller by drafting the like of Campo,he's just treding water till payout day.Then the ship will smash hard into the rocks.

WHAT THE ...............rove called he wants you to think of your own name frigen loser.

I won't by into the Walker debate. I think he'll be a top shelf footballer.
Some players develop at difference stages, Walker (commitment and attitude permitting) has all the raw tools to develop into a very good player.

But there is some crap in this thread. I'll highlight 3 that amused me the most.

deluxeman said:
I can live in peace knowing that you are about to gain the services of another old Carlton player who you will play instead of your youngsters and thus drill yourself into a similar rut that Carlton did.

Games played in 2005 by players from 2001 draft onwards (career total in brackets)

Welsh 21 (80)
Lovett 20 (20)
Bradley 19 (24)
Stanton 19 (34)
Lovett-Murray 17 (37)
Laycock 13 (17)
Monfries 12 (12)
Winderlich 12 (21)
Richards 10 (33)
Dyson 10 (21)
Thomas 8 (8)
Watson 5 (13)
Slattery 4 (2)
Cartledge 4 (4)
Johns 3 (4)
Nash 2 (2)
Reynolds 1 (27)

Waite 21 (50)
Carazzo 20 (22)
Betts 19 (19)
Walker 18 (33)
Thornton 16 (69)
Simpson 15 (21)
Bryan 11 (11)
Deluca 11 (33)
Davies 10 (41)
Bentick 9 (14)
Fisher 7 (38)
Bannister 5 (36)
Russell 1 (1)
O'hAilpin 1 (1)

Our youngsters got plenty of opportunities this season. We played 17 kids from the past 4 drafts for a total of 180 games. Carlton played 14 for a total of 146. This theory that Sheedy is robbing games by playing blokes like Murphy or next year Campo is crap. Our young blokes played plenty of footy this season. I'd be happier for a player like Campo to run around in our midfield, keeping a kid out than someone like, lets say David Clarke.

Apologies if I missed anyone.

parrot said:
Um…not even Sheedy would agree with you on that one. :)

That's interesting parrot.

2005 -
Kicks: Monfries 4.9, Walker 6.8
H/Balls: Monfries 4.8, Walker 3.0
Disposals: Monfries 9.8, Walker 9.8
Marks: Monfries 2.6, Walker 2.4
Goals: Monfries 0.9, Walker 0.3
Behinds: Monfries 0.6, Walker 0.1
Tackles: Monfries 1.8, Walker 2.1

Doesn't look like much between them to me.

cypher said:
Monfries, Slattery and Lovett-Murray haven't done anything compared to Russell, Blackwell and Houlihan from Carlton.

Russell and Blackwell have played one game between them and a lot of Carlton supporters want Houlihan gone.
Monfries has made an impact at AFL and Slattery tagged Dal Santo out of a match and kicked a goal himself. That is doing something. Lovett-Murray has played 30+ games.
That is doing something, compared to playing 1 game. Russell and Blackwell will be good players, but don't write off Monfries, Slattery and Lovett-Murray as doing nothing, when the Carlton blokes you are comparing them too haven't made it onto the field.

cypher said:
And how is Andrew Lovett a good young player when he's older than Bret Thornton?

They're both good young players. Lovett was in his first year of football, much like Bryan they are both late developers.

cypher said:
Lovett isn't any better than Betts

Well that is just crap and I suspect you know that.
14 disposals per game to 6, 4 marks per game to 1, 25 goals to 19.

Longy413 said:
Well that is just crap and I suspect you know that.
14 disposals per game to 6, 4 marks per game to 1, 25 goals to 19.
It's not crap since Eddie Betts plays out of starvation corner in the pocket, whilst Lovett is more a wingman or a half-forward flanker.Quoting disposals is misleading since they play in different parts of the ground.

Eddie is better than Lovett at the same age who wasn't even good enough to be rookie listed at Carlton.Walker also averaged less disposals per game, so I guess he's another player who isn't as talented as the 23 year old Lovett.

Walker just looks disinterested out there, a talent but in the end does not have the intensity to make it at AFL level ie. McDougall.

Thats the difference between players you are drawing comparisons too Cooney Judd and co and Walker. With Walker it just doesnt look like he is trying his hardest and that he ever will, the others you knew were doing there best..

cypher said:
Walker also averaged less disposals per game, so I guess he's another player who isn't as talented as the 23 year old Lovett.

yes that's correct

well done cypher, your not as dumb as you look

Blackwell...... your next great hope....... AHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHHAHAHAHHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAH

That is the funniest thing I ever heard, I seen this guy play alot of times, if he makes it then next year im heading to draft camp, cos i would go pick 1. I knew things at Carltong were bad but not this bad.....

cypher said:
It's not crap since Eddie Betts plays out of starvation corner in the pocket, whilst Lovett is more a wingman or a half-forward flanker.Quoting disposals is misleading since they play in different parts of the ground.

So he's a forward who kicks less goals than a midfielder?
You can deny stats all you like, but a player that can only find the ball 6 times a game, regardless of position is not a great commodity. Quoting disposals may be misleading, but goals aren't.

I'd rather have a midfielder and proven goal kicker over a one-trick pony. Lovett is better than Betts in every aspect of the game. Betts biggest strength is his ability to kick goals and he is good at it but Lovett is better at that too.

cypher said:
Eddie is better than Lovett at the same age who wasn't even good enough to be rookie listed at Carlton.

When you compare Bryan to the other young ruckman in the game, do you compare him to Cox, Sandilands, Charman, Jolley, blokes who have been in the system 5 and 6 years but are his age?
Or do you compare him to Cartledge, Wood, Fanning etc? Blokes who are just starting out in AFL football.

We don't know how good Lovett was at Betts' age, because he wasn't in the system. He wasn't interested. It wasn't his ability that stopped him from getting on an AFL list sooner. It is experience and time in the professional environment that makes a player better. Not his birth certificate. Although interesting to see you have moved from your original statement of Lovett isn't any better than Betts, to Eddie is better than Lovett at the same age.

If Sheedy offered Lovett for Betts at trade week, you would take the deal that quickly it isn't funny.

cypher said:
Walker also averaged less disposals per game, so I guess he's another player who isn't as talented as the 23 year old Lovett.

You tell me.

Longy413 said:
So he's a forward who kicks less goals than a midfielder?
You can deny stats all you like, but a player that can only find the ball 6 times a game, regardless of position is not a great commodity. Quoting disposals may be misleading, but goals aren't.
Is it easier to kick goals roving from the pocket in a wooden spoon side or as an outside receiver?
Longy413 said:
I'd rather have a midfielder and proven goal kicker over a one-trick pony. Lovett is better than Betts in every aspect of the game. Betts biggest strength is his ability to kick goals and he is good at it but Lovett is better at that too.
I doubt Lovett's any better than Betts at snapping goals or on the run, and Lovett has only had one good year.You need more than that to be a proven goalkicker.
Longy413 said:
When you compare Bryan to the other young ruckman in the game, do you compare him to Cox, Sandilands, Charman, Jolley, blokes who have been in the system 5 and 6 years but are his age?
Or do you compare him to Cartledge, Wood, Fanning etc? Blokes who are just starting out in AFL football.
Bryan isn't even comparable to Cox as a ruckman so I don't why you brought him up, but Eddie can kicks goals as well as Lovett.
Longy413 said:
We don't know how good Lovett was at Betts' age, because he wasn't in the system. He wasn't interested. It wasn't his ability that stopped him from getting on an AFL list sooner.It is experience and time in the professional environment that makes a player better. Not his birth certificate.
He wasn't interested in football yet he played games as a top-up player at Carlton? :confused: Are you his agent?
Longy413 said:
Although interesting to see you have moved from your original statement of Lovett isn't any better than Betts, to Eddie is better than Lovett at the same age.
I haven't.
Longy413 said:
If Sheedy offered Lovett for Betts at trade week, you would take the deal that quickly it isn't funny.
Why would Carlton chase another skinny, outside player when Betts is our only forward pocket? We needs a Betts more than Lovett who won't be a patch on Walker as a player.

cypher said:
Is it easier to kick goals roving from the pocket in a wooden spoon side or as an outside receiver?

The fact that Lovett has the ability to play high contradicts your own arguement. Lovett has kicked 5 goals playing out of the square, he has kicked 3 goals in a match from the wing. Carlton need midfield depth (like Essendon) more than they need a forward pocket. Betts is a one position player (he's good at it) but Lovett is has more to his game than that.

cypher said:
I doubt Lovett's any better than Betts at snapping goals or on the run, and Lovett has only had one good year.You need more than that to be a proven goalkicker.

Why? He averaged more than a goal a game. Isn't that proving he can kick goals?

cypher said:
Bryan isn't even comparable to Cox as a ruckman so I don't why you brought him up, but Eddie can kicks goals as well as Lovett.

Exactly right. Bryan is a first year player. Just like Lovett.
I brought it up because you used age as a barometer for success and development. When infact it has very little to do with it.
It's experience and games that increase development.

cypher said:
He wasn't interested in football yet he played games as a top-up player at Carlton? :confused: Are you his agent?

He has said himself he didn't have the application to make it as a top line footballer. I never said he wasn't interested in football. He wasn't interested in doing what it takes to make the top. A move to Perth seems to have fixed that.

cypher said:
I haven't.

You have.
You've gone from saying Lovett isn't any better to Betts. To saying Lovett plays as a midfielder and Betts only plays in a forward pocket. To saying Betts kicks goals (no mention of the other facets of the game Betts is behind in) as well as Lovett.

cypher said:
Why would Carlton chase another skinny, outside player when Betts is our only forward pocket? We needs a Betts more than Lovett who won't be a patch on Walker as a player.

That isn't what I said. I said if Sheedy said to Pagan, we'll swap Lovett for Betts, Carlton would do it in a second. Pagan would have that many paper cuts on his hand from trying to jam it in the fax as quick as possible that amputation would be necessary. If Eddie Betts was reading this, he'd be embarrassed that you think he's as good as Lovett.

You need a player who finds less of the footy and kicks less goals more than you need Lovett? Clever, I see the reasons for Carlton's failure.

cypher said:
who won't be a patch on Walker as a player.

Perhaps not. but we didn't draft Walker at pick 2 overall. He came in the rookie draft. Lovett had the better 2005, so Andrew has some catching up to do.

Is Walker the worse pick 2?