"It was the umpires!" - The collective Hawthorn bitch against the AFL

Is it just me, or is the B13/AFL board differences being reduced?

Why are Hawthorn victimised by umpires?

1. Holding the BallWe win the ball. We hold the ball. We dish it off.

If we can't do 3, we do 2 - the result is often HTB. Sometimes (like today ;)) even when we do dish it off, we are pinged. The biggest frustration in this is that opposition clubs (esp Cats) are good at the "ball was knocked out" rule - incorrect disposal isn't paid (or even a rule), so we get penalised for being good enough to hold onto it.

This leads to a flow-on effect where umpires are looking for us to hold onto the ball - obviously if you look for something (choosing not to dispose) you see it more often (bought a new car? notice how many are on the road now?).

Also, our gameplan relies on a LOT of pressure from behind - many of our tackles are "run-down" tackles. This leads to #2.

#2. Push-in-the-back

With so much tackling from behind, smart players drop at the knees and dive forward (Hi Fev! ;)) drawing the free.

Secondly, Franklin especially, doesn't watch his opponent, and uses his hands to protect the drop zone. Smart defenders back into him, and are 50/50 to win a free. (or look foolish).

Thirdly - combined with #1 above, most of our midfielders will keep/regain their feet at all costs - so we tend not to get many in-the-back frees.

#3 Downfield - we still give away 3-5 of these a game from stopping the run-on - though generally only one or two hurt us.

#4 Ruck infringements - Taylor hasn't learned to watch his opponent in the ruck. He watches the ball, and assumes his oppoenent will be attacking the ball also - when his opponent does something different, Taylor ends up jumping into air (instead of body), and giving away free either for high contact (if his legs are taken), or sheparding (if they aren't).

=====

So in summary, we don't play "smart" football in the sense that we gain benefit from the umpires.

The rest (as they say) is just bias.

but who's bias? Ours? Or the umpires, who were forced to live through the most dominant era in history when they grew up?

Lets face it, the AFL has been about screwing Hawthorn over since day 1.

Removal of zones, introduction of salary cap, draft restrictions, taking our best players away for no reward. Changing penalty and compensation claims. Selling our home base. Trying to force our club into merger. etc.

(You can choose whether it's above or below the ....) :eek: :D:D:D

Classic example of the Hawthorn whinge. Though well laid out and eliquently written. Thanks to Simon for giving the rest of us a grade A test case of the victim mentality of the Hawthorn Football Club.

If this has nothing to do with today's game, then you have terrible timing to start this thread Jonoman.

I sat behind the bench today, and as the umpires were coming off a Carlton fan was being restrained by a security guard as he let rip with one of the most disgraceful displays of language I've ever seen. Someone saying "I'm going to kill you" would have seemed pretty soft in comparison to what this guy was saying.
I thought it appropriate to let this guy know, that it was just a NAB cup game, but this feral piece of human excrement told me something similar as he walked up the aisle and eventually had to be subdued by a few embarassed fans. I wish I could say it was an isolated incident, but it's sad to say that Carlton have the most clueless, disrespectful fans I've ever seen.

Anyway back to the topic, whinging about the umpiring is what makes Australia great. I got plenty of it out of my system on GF day but it's fair to say I'm over it.

LOL, the hawks and the blues arguing over who cared less about the result, Hawks, " i heard a guy cheering for Eddie!!!one11!1 in a nab cup game! Rofl"

Carlton fan:" nah we dont it was a hawk fan cheering for roughhead we didnt even want to win!!!11!!eleven!!1"

seriously pathetic.

LOL, the hawks and the blues arguing over who cared less about the result, Hawks, " i heard a guy cheering for Eddie!!!one11!1 in a nab cup game! Rofl"

Carlton fan:" nah we dont it was a hawk fan cheering for roughhead we didnt even want to win!!!11!!eleven!!1"

seriously pathetic.

Yeah. Nearly as pathetic as pre season redemption.

your ON the Money Mentalo!

There is this underlying hatred you can sense, Our Games at The TD have brought some huge crowds-I remember the one in 2007 where they had to turn fans away!
I like it, Should be a tough season-Hopefuly I will be sitting next to the Same F-ckWit Blue supporter so I can do ....eddie.....eddie....lol.
but every other supporter that isn't hawks is a f-ckwit when your losing!!!

No whinging, But I hope blues dont get too cocky beating our 2nds+mitchell/sewell/roughy!

Mate.
Sensible supporters from both sides no this means nothing win or lose.
One positive i take out of it is a loss tonight would have seen us playing in Berri Sth Australia i believe next weekend.
Less travel the better as far as i'm concerned.

Except the Hawk supporters sitting near me who were celebrating every goal like you had just won the 08 GF again.
Quite embarrassing really.

Lighten up toolbox, they were having fun watching their team for the first time this year. See any tears on the way out?

Is it just me, or is the B13/AFL board differences being reduced?

Why are Hawthorn victimised by umpires?

1. Holding the BallWe win the ball. We hold the ball. We dish it off.

If we can't do 3, we do 2 - the result is often HTB. Sometimes (like today ;)) even when we do dish it off, we are pinged. The biggest frustration in this is that opposition clubs (esp Cats) are good at the "ball was knocked out" rule - incorrect disposal isn't paid (or even a rule), so we get penalised for being good enough to hold onto it.

This leads to a flow-on effect where umpires are looking for us to hold onto the ball - obviously if you look for something (choosing not to dispose) you see it more often (bought a new car? notice how many are on the road now?).

Also, our gameplan relies on a LOT of pressure from behind - many of our tackles are "run-down" tackles. This leads to #2.

#2. Push-in-the-back

With so much tackling from behind, smart players drop at the knees and dive forward (Hi Fev! ;)) drawing the free.

Secondly, Franklin especially, doesn't watch his opponent, and uses his hands to protect the drop zone. Smart defenders back into him, and are 50/50 to win a free. (or look foolish).

Thirdly - combined with #1 above, most of our midfielders will keep/regain their feet at all costs - so we tend not to get many in-the-back frees.

#3 Downfield - we still give away 3-5 of these a game from stopping the run-on - though generally only one or two hurt us.

#4 Ruck infringements - Taylor hasn't learned to watch his opponent in the ruck. He watches the ball, and assumes his oppoenent will be attacking the ball also - when his opponent does something different, Taylor ends up jumping into air (instead of body), and giving away free either for high contact (if his legs are taken), or sheparding (if they aren't).

=====

So in summary, we don't play "smart" football in the sense that we gain benefit from the umpires.

The rest (as they say) is just bias.

but who's bias? Ours? Or the umpires, who were forced to live through the most dominant era in history when they grew up?

Lets face it, the AFL has been about screwing Hawthorn over since day 1.

Removal of zones, introduction of salary cap, draft restrictions, taking our best players away for no reward. Changing penalty and compensation claims. Selling our home base. Trying to force our club into merger. etc.

(You can choose whether it's above or below the ....) :eek: :D:D:D

Holy crap...paranoid???....much??

Only because you lost.

Well obviously winning would have been better, coz then I could be paying out Blues supporters for their team having lost to my team inspite of the fact that their team was trying their hearts out and my team were just playing a loosener.
That would've heaps fun.

I've noticed that this thread is full of Carlton and Geelong supporters doing their utmost to get under the Hawthorn supporters skin, but it is quiet obvious that the Hawks have gotten under thier skins instead.

Geelong is still deeply scared by last years grand final lost to the Hawks and are keen to avenge that lost whilst Carlton have been thumped in their last two serious meetings against the Hawks.

Get over it guys or else it will consume you. Let your teams footy do the talking.

I've noticed that this thread is full of Carlton and Geelong supporters doing their utmost to get under the Hawthorn supporters skin, but it is quiet obvious that the Hawks have gotten under thier skins instead.

Geelong is still deeply scared by last years grand final lost to the Hawks and are keen to avenge that lost whilst Carlton have been thumped in their last two serious meetings against the Hawks.

Get over it guys or else it will consume you. Let your teams footy do the talking.

Sssshhhhhh.........FFS, don't tell them we are just taking the piss or else a 3 year old laugh fest will be exposed and then we might have to explain this whole Bay 13 concept to a lot of people.

Zip it.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

If this has nothing to do with today's game, then you have terrible timing to start this thread Jonoman.

I sat behind the bench today, and as the umpires were coming off a Carlton fan was being restrained by a security guard as he let rip with one of the most disgraceful displays of language I've ever seen. Someone saying "I'm going to kill you" would have seemed pretty soft in comparison to what this guy was saying.
I thought it appropriate to let this guy know, that it was just a NAB cup game, but this feral piece of human excrement told me something similar as he walked up the aisle and eventually had to be subdued by a few embarassed fans. I wish I could say it was an isolated incident, but it's sad to say that Carlton have the most clueless, disrespectful fans I've ever seen.

Anyway back to the topic, whinging about the umpiring is what makes Australia great. I got plenty of it out of my system on GF day but it's fair to say I'm over it.

Don't agree with disrespectful....but I've encountered quite a feel clueless blues fans. Usually have the blinkers, I guess you could call it passion though? lol

Lighten up toolbox, they were having fun watching their team for the first time this year. See any tears on the way out?

Lighten up?
Its the Hawk supporters who apparently don't care starting all the threads.
Were you one of the knobs yelling out "ROUGHIE!" every time the ball went forward.:eek:

FWIW supporters of both teams appeared not to be giving a shit on the way out.

I laugh that every single Hawks supporter in this thread has mentioned todays game.

It's almost like English is their second language.

Why would Geelong be scared? :confused:

Lighten up? Its the Hawk supporters who apparently don't care starting all the threads.
You aren't one for that fancypants "countin'" show-offery, are you?
And besides our involvement in said threads, it's the Blues fans taking them seriously. So yeah, LTFU.

Were you one of the knobs yelling out "ROUGHIE!" every time the ball went forward.:eek:
Woulda been if I was there. Y'know, for fun'n that.
"Barracking", I think I've heard it called...

FWIW supporters of both teams appeared not to be giving a shit on the way out.
I'd say it's worth an apology.

I'm waiiting...

the hawks losing really means bugger all when you consider the team the blues put out on sunday. had the blues lost it would have meant a lot more considering the team the hawks had.

So were told, thousands of times, by Hawthorn supporters during the week leading up to the game.

Hey Zucker, were you one of those clowns who was jumping around like you'd won the Grand Final?

You should keep a lid on it. There is still one more game to go before the Grand Final.

So were told, thousands of times, by Hawthorn supporters during the week leading up to the game.

But you wouldn't be bloodywell told would you? Coz that wouldn't be a part of Carlton's modus operandi would it? To forgo a chance to swan about bragging like you're the lord's of all creation at the slightest piece of encouragement, no matter how unimpressive?

Case in Point:
2008=Carlton 11th
2009=
Copy%20image%20cycler%20316x246.jpg

:rolleyes:

so what can blues fans take out of the game barry. what did you get out of it. i know plenty of hawk fans were pretty happy with the performance, so would like to read your point of view. did you expect to win.
btw not trolling here.

so what can blues fans take out of the game barry. what did you get out of it. i know plenty of hawk fans were pretty happy with the performance, so would like to read your point of view. did you expect to win.
btw not trolling here.

Blues fans are step closer to getting their holy grail, the NAB Cup.

But unfortunately Carltank will get smashed by the cats next week.

Hey Zucker, were you one of those clowns who was jumping around like you'd won the Grand Final?

You should keep a lid on it. There is still one more game to go before the Grand Final.

I was jumping around like I just dont care.

What gave you the impression that I wasnt keeping a lid on it anyway? I was just referring to all the "get in early excuses" from the Hawthorn faithful.

I was jumping around like I just dont care.

What gave you the impression that I wasnt keeping a lid on it anyway? I was just referring to all the "get in early excuses" from the Hawthorn faithful.

Hahahahaha - Barry, I love you champ, but already you talk about keeping a lid on it,

Your hopes are safely hidden away in a bunker that's under a bunker, that's under a bunker, that's under a bunker, that's under a bunker, that's under a bunker, that's under a bunker, that's under a bunker, that's under a bunker, that's under a bunker that's under Area 51.

And that doesn't excist.

"It was the umpires!" - The collective Hawthorn bitch against the AFL