It will turn, stick fat

I observe that there seems to be a direct ratio between the improvement in JZ and the deterioration in Luke. Perhaps it’s got on top of Luke.

Being Captain of a team is a hard gig. Jack no longer carries that burden and is playing with the freedom that the lifting of that burden brings. It is especially hard I think for Luke playing in defence. Jy is handling it much better because he is a midfielder, without quite the pressure that comes from the ball constantly entering the zone that Luke plays in.

I was at most of these games, including the one at the top. Fourteen straight losses to this team (the game prior to the streak was a draw), including the game in 1993 when Dunstall kicked the last goal either after the siren or in the final minute. It looked like we'd never beat them. When we did, it was a glorious 21 goal win.

Once the streak was broken, we won 13 of the next 14 while winning two premierships. The OP is right, it does turn.

1994R3North Melbourne6.8 12.13 19.17 25.23 (173)dftdHawthorn2.1 3.3 3.6 6.10 (46)Melbourne Cricket GroundApr 8 (Fri)
1993R13North Melbourne2.3 7.6 8.10 11.14 (80)lost toHawthorn3.3 4.4 8.8 12.11 (83)Melbourne Cricket GroundJun 25 (Fri)
1992R18Hawthorn6.2 15.8 17.11 20.13 (133)dftdNorth Melbourne2.3 3.3 9.9 14.12 (96)AFL ParkJul 18 (Sat)
1992R3North Melbourne3.6 6.9 7.12 10.15 (75)lost toHawthorn2.2 4.8 12.12 14.17 (101)Melbourne Cricket GroundApr 4 (Sat)
1991R15North Melbourne6.1 10.4 14.6 18.7 (115)lost toHawthorn4.4 10.11 18.12 27.17 (179)Melbourne Cricket GroundJun 28 (Fri)
1990R18North Melbourne3.4 7.7 10.10 14.14 (98)lost toHawthorn5.3 10.9 13.13 15.18 (108)Melbourne Cricket GroundAug 3 (Fri)
1990R5Hawthorn5.4 9.7 11.10 16.12 (108)dftdNorth Melbourne1.3 3.8 6.10 10.18 (78)Princes ParkApr 28 (Sat)
1989R17Hawthorn7.4 16.7 20.13 23.16 (154)dftdNorth Melbourne2.6 4.8 6.14 9.24 (78)Waverley ParkJul 29 (Sat)
1989R2Hawthorn3.0 10.2 14.7 21.15 (141)dftdNorth Melbourne4.1 8.2 8.5 11.6 (72)Waverley ParkApr 8 (Sat)
1988R22Hawthorn5.7 13.10 22.12 28.16 (184)dftdNorth Melbourne4.2 7.5 10.9 13.11 (89)Princes ParkAug 27 (Sat)
1988R5North Melbourne3.2 7.8 12.11 19.14 (128)lost toHawthorn7.3 14.7 25.14 31.19 (205)Melbourne Cricket GroundApr 30 (Sat)
1987R11Hawthorn1.1 8.5 13.7 17.11 (113)dftdNorth Melbourne7.2 10.5 11.6 14.7 (91)Waverley ParkJun 6 (Sat)
1986R13Hawthorn8.9 12.11 19.20 21.26 (152)dftdNorth Melbourne1.2 4.6 8.8 13.14 (92)Princes ParkJun 21 (Sat)
1986R2North Melbourne4.1 8.3 12.9 16.12 (108)lost toHawthorn3.1 5.5 10.7 17.9 (111)Melbourne Cricket GroundApr 4 (Fri)
1985R22Hawthorn8.7 13.12 19.15 23.21 (159)dftdNorth Melbourne2.4 5.6 9.8 14.11 (95)Princes ParkAug 31 (Sat)

My brother is a farmer and he always says every dry day brings the day the drought breaks one day closer.

Unfortunately we deal in footy seasons which take a year. It's going to be years before we are playing in finals.

However keep incurring no debt and we are masters of our own destiny.

Are we sure that LMac wasn't listening or more that he couldn't comprehend what was being asked lol? Not the sharpest LMac.
Will take a bit of time for them to break the previous habits. Maybe that's why the younger guys might adapt quicker.

I was at most of these games, including the one at the top. Fourteen straight losses to this team (the game prior to the streak was a draw), including the game in 1993 when Dunstall kicked the last goal either after the siren or in the final minute. It looked like we'd never beat them. When we did, it was a glorious 21 goal win.

Once the streak was broken, we won 13 of the next 14 while winning two premierships. The OP is right, it does turn.

1994R3North Melbourne6.812.1319.1725.23(173)dftdHawthorn2.13.33.66.10(46)Melbourne Cricket GroundApr 8 (Fri)
1993R13North Melbourne2.37.68.1011.14(80)lost toHawthorn3.34.48.812.11(83)Melbourne Cricket GroundJun 25 (Fri)
1992R18Hawthorn6.215.817.1120.13(133)dftdNorth Melbourne2.33.39.914.12(96)AFL ParkJul 18 (Sat)
1992R3North Melbourne3.66.97.1210.15(75)lost toHawthorn2.24.812.1214.17(101)Melbourne Cricket GroundApr 4 (Sat)
1991R15North Melbourne6.110.414.618.7(115)lost toHawthorn4.410.1118.1227.17(179)Melbourne Cricket GroundJun 28 (Fri)
1990R18North Melbourne3.47.710.1014.14(98)lost toHawthorn5.310.913.1315.18(108)Melbourne Cricket GroundAug 3 (Fri)
1990R5Hawthorn5.49.711.1016.12(108)dftdNorth Melbourne1.33.86.1010.18(78)Princes ParkApr 28 (Sat)
1989R17Hawthorn7.416.720.1323.16(154)dftdNorth Melbourne2.64.86.149.24(78)Waverley ParkJul 29 (Sat)
1989R2Hawthorn3.010.214.721.15(141)dftdNorth Melbourne4.18.28.511.6(72)Waverley ParkApr 8 (Sat)
1988R22Hawthorn5.713.1022.1228.16(184)dftdNorth Melbourne4.27.510.913.11(89)Princes ParkAug 27 (Sat)
1988R5North Melbourne3.27.812.1119.14(128)lost toHawthorn7.314.725.1431.19(205)Melbourne Cricket GroundApr 30 (Sat)
1987R11Hawthorn1.18.513.717.11(113)dftdNorth Melbourne7.210.511.614.7(91)Waverley ParkJun 6 (Sat)
1986R13Hawthorn8.912.1119.2021.26(152)dftdNorth Melbourne1.24.68.813.14(92)Princes ParkJun 21 (Sat)
1986R2North Melbourne4.18.312.916.12(108)lost toHawthorn3.15.510.717.9(111)Melbourne Cricket GroundApr 4 (Fri)
1985R22Hawthorn8.713.1219.1523.21(159)dftdNorth Melbourne2.45.69.814.11(95)Princes ParkAug 31 (Sat)
And that was back before the system was designed for things to turn. Lots of things will be sooooo good.

Are we sure that LMac wasn't listening or more that he couldn't comprehend what was being asked lol? Not the sharpest LMac.
Will take a bit of time for them to break the previous habits. Maybe that's why the younger guys might adapt quicker.
Yeah i reckon that'll happen.

Just saw the thread and wanted to offer a word of encouragement. Things right now are depressing for you guys but you have to just keep getting games into the good youngsters on your list and keep drafting high end talent. The silver lining to the cloud of a bottom finish if it happens is Harley Reid - a guy that with Wardlaw, Phillips, Powell etc will have you all forgetting these dark days in a couple of years time. Why am I here on an oppo teams board? - I felt for you guys after the JHF trade saga and genuinely hope after that rubbish that your club can build a good side and play a good brand of footy as your list profile age wise and ours is not too dissimilar so it might be meeting in finals in the latter half of this decade.

Anyway, like us in 2020, we were just looking for improvement in our kids and hoping we could keep drafting top end talent - the worm will turn soon enough for North

Just saw the thread and wanted to offer a word of encouragement. Things right now are depressing for you guys but you have to just keep getting games into the good youngsters on your list and keep drafting high end talent. The silver lining to the cloud of a bottom finish if it happens is Harley Reid - a guy that with Wardlaw, Phillips, Powell etc will have you all forgetting these dark days in a couple of years time. Why am I here on an oppo teams board? - I felt for you guys after the JHF trade saga and genuinely hope after that rubbish that your club can build a good side and play a good brand of footy as your list profile age wise and ours is not too dissimilar so it might be meeting in finals in the latter half of this decade.

Anyway, like us in 2020, we were just looking for improvement in our kids and hoping we could keep drafting top end talent - the worm will turn soon enough for North

Yeah, yeah, yeah... just knock Port Adelaide out of finals. We want their first-rounder to be as high as possible.

I have something to admit. I watched almost every game of 2020 and 2022 (but didn't watch the second halves of blowouts that year) and most certainly watched every game of 2021. Amongst this time I realised something. I owe this club nothing and there is 0 consequences for me to turn off the TV at any point and do literally anything else. I did that on Satruday night, after half-time just switched the TV off and played video games. It was nice and soothing.

Listen I get the whole, stay loyal to your club attitude but realistically we all have some sort of relationship with the NMFC and relationships are two-way streets, I gave this club loyalty for 2 years of shit and they still tune out blowouts on a regular basis. Why should I care if the result is already in?

Will the wheel turn, probably, do I know when, of course not.

My point is, don't put your eggs in this basket or at least try not to because at the end of the day, it's just footy, try something esle.

I have something to admit. I watched almost every game of 2020 and 2022 (but didn't watch the second halves of blowouts that year) and most certainly watched every game of 2021. Amongst this time I realised something. I owe this club nothing and there is 0 consequences for me to turn off the TV at any point and do literally anything else. I did that on Satruday night, after half-time just switched the TV off and played video games. It was nice and soothing.

Listen I get the whole, stay loyal to your club attitude but realistically we all have some sort of relationship with the NMFC and relationships are two-way streets, I gave this club loyalty for 2 years of s**t and they still tune out blowouts on a regular basis. Why should I care if the result is already in?

Will the wheel turn, probably, do I know when, of course not.

My point is, don't put your eggs in this basket or at least try not to because at the end of the day, it's just footy, try something esle.
I 100% agree that it’s healthy to invest emotion in other things that won’t hurt this much, and that you have more influence over. I had no qualms about leaving at half time last Saturday night, and I won’t beat myself up if there are any games I don’t get to. You can step back any time, because it’s not fun, because you’ve got more pressing and important things to do, whatever, it’s not compulsory to support by anyone else’s rules.

I talk to people who catch the buses to interstate games and that’s not me. I talk to people who catch up on tv and only get to games occasionally, and that’s not me either.

On the relationship being a two-way street, I only moved here and got interested in football in the early 1990s, so I got a lot more back than I’d contributed in my first decade as a supporter and member. There have been a number of seasons since, especially the last few, where I’ve probably put in more than I got back.

When the wheel turns and this club is on top again, I won’t be looking around wondering who “deserves” to be celebrating. It will be wonderful for all of us.

On the relationship being a two-way street, I only moved here and got interested in football in the early 1990s, so I got a lot more back than I’d contributed in my first decade as a supporter and member.

Can relate, really got into it from the same period onwards - enjoying almost "instant" success from 1994-1999. Just figured we always win.

But my Lord, how I've been paying my kharmic dues ever since..

If there was ever a time to be poo it is now. When Tassie come into the AFL in a few years the teams mid table or worse ….Richimond and Freo will struggle. We have an opportunity to get another 6-8 guns in before then which will see us play finals and deep. I want picks for 3 years and then some gun free agents.

It will turn, I have more confidence knowing Clarko and Viney have been through this before.
We're probably in for 3-5 years of bottom 8 finishes as the list is rebuilt and time is given getting games into those drafted.
Development will be important, do any of those drafted pre-Clarko become AFL players? That would help the build be more competitive.
Drafting will make all the difference in the speed of improvement. We need to also see the key pillars of the team coming together.
Next year we'd want to be more competitive in games and ideally get 5-7 wins to show the players that improvement but that might be a bit early.
It's very hard to predict how quick the rise happens. Nobody expected OKC Thunder to make the play-in that early.
But one identity that OKC team had was they competed, even when they looked out of the game, they would fight.
I want to see that identity built in us. That comes down to the character of the players and how much they hate losing and love competiting.

Spot on . I think most felt that way . I remember looking at a centre bounce in the second quarter with wardlaw , Sheezel and I think Phillips and thought , we’re on the way
See Gr's pic in the play the kids thread - those three in the middle then CCj in the ruck and Scott on one wing Ford on the other.

It will turn, stick fat