Oppo Camp Jack Ginnivan (Traded to Hawks 2023)

That was the stupidest 50m penalty I think I’ve ever seen paid against someone too. He must feel like he’s playing a different sport to everyone else.

Disgraceful call to isolate it for a 50m penalty. When was the last time someone got pinged for something like that?

Thought the 50m against Noble was also extremely harsh. It was next to no time after the umpires call and he barely grazed the footy with his hand.

Doesn’t matter which player is on Buddy when the ball is coming in that quick, but Darcy should’ve been the move after the 1st qtr. You could see in the 1st qtr he was trying to zone off Reid and be the helper.

I don't think it would have mattered. Moore to Buddy keeps Buddy quiet, lets Reid off the leash.

Just highlights we were playing 1 down in the genuine KPD stakes. It's a shame Roughy decided to retire, and Dean or Kelly didn't come on this year.

He stopped exactly on the mark to my eye. Besides, don’t they normally give a little “2 steps back” or “one metre back” warning usually when they initially man the mark?

Commentators suggested the 50m was for crossing the 9m to get to what was the nominal mark. Normally players get the obligatory "back to the 9" but it seems Ginni doesn't get that latitude.

Disgraceful call to isolate it for a 50m penalty. When was the last time someone got pinged for something like that?

Thought the 50m against Noble was also extremely harsh. It was next to no time after the umpires call and he barely grazed the footy with his hand.

I agree, that was also completely over the top. He paddled it along on the ground; hardly handballing or kicking it away.

Commentators suggested the 50m was for crossing the 9m to get to what was the nominal mark. Normally players get the obligatory "back to the 9" but it seems Ginni doesn't get that latitude.

One last taking of the piss by the green maggots towards the Prince of Castlemaine.

Surely they can’t be this vindictive next season?

It was paid the week before against pickett. It’s harsh but it’s a correct call. When you play on the edge you gotta live with your consequences of your actions.

How close to the goal square was Pickett when he infringed? If I recall correctly, he was pretty adjacent. Bit different on the outer extremities.

We produced a massive effort against a great side in full flight and just felt short.
The inability to convert and constant nervous finals jitters through thought the game was what cost us.
Stop the *ing sooking about umpiring, it's pathetic.
Who the **** are you to call people pathetic? People are free to vent however they like, it's not up to you to decide what's ok and what's not. Some might call you pathetic for spending your life on footy forums insulting people and peddling unsubstantiated trade rumours, but no one needs to be judged.

Incoming lol reaction imminent.

One last taking of the piss by the green maggots towards the Prince of Castlemaine.

Surely they can’t be this vindictive next season?
Hopefully some of the umps won't make it next year.

F
I am interested in the idea of professional full time umpires. Dwayne champions it on SEN. I think it would do the opposite he does. The umpires currently devote 15-25 hours per week and make $75-175K. They study and know the rules at a level far beyond what I do and I suspect what people on BF do. They have other careers, just doing a bit of a search finds teachers, accountants, investment advisors, barristers etc. Strikes a balance that say a David Parkin would see as beneficial. Provides a career after umpiring. Umpiring doesnt last that long for most.

So if we change that, make it full time, increase the spend without any increase in games umpired (unless you have less umpires doing more games, probably burn them out) I reckon a lot of the people doing it now would opt out to pursue their primary career that may have longevity and maybe more interest, satisfaction and renumeration. Maybe you end up with less skilled, less able umpires. I reckon the group doing it now are probably better than the group you would get if it was full time. Its not that attractive that you would pursue it as a career that maybe is over when you are in your 30's at the expense of what may be better career paths.

Below is an article that gives a good behind the scenes look. I dont reckon the current group are monkeys or inept

P.S except sideswipe, he had an umpiring career where he was more protagonist than adjudicator and deserved to be chased out of carparks while hurling abuse at his pursuers.
**** the umpires.
If they want to mitigate abuse stop being useless campaigners.
Lets see some penalty for them constantly ****ing up.

That was the stupidest 50m penalty I think I’ve ever seen paid against someone too. He must feel like he’s playing a different sport to everyone else.

Did you like how they warned Franklin and gave him time to come back to the 9 in the last? About 6:30 left on the clock for anyone wanting to check. Kid totally gets a different set of rules.

Who the * are you to call people pathetic? People are free to vent however they like, it's not up to you to decide what's ok and what's not. Some might call you pathetic for spending your life on footy forums insulting people and peddling unsubstantiated trade rumours, but no one needs to be judged.

Incoming lol reaction imminent.

The lack of self awareness is glorious.

Did you like how they warned Franklin and gave him time to come back to the 9 in the last? About 6:30 left on the clock for anyone wanting to check. Kid totally gets a different set of rules.
Also made no attempt to get Buddy to get on with the kick either.

The umpires as group have umpired Ginnivan differently than any other player, under the direction of the AFL.
At best they are weak campaigners for not refusing to and at worst all of them a re match fixing campaigners..

Zero respect for any of them.

Just thought id put the information out there, Jack Ginnivan (1.68) is currently at a high goals per game rate than Buddy Franklin (1.52) was at the same point in his career (after 2 seasons) Arguably more impressive as scoring is down compared to Buddy's first two seasons

Can't wait for Ginnivan to kick 100 goals in the 2024 season

Just thought id put the information out there, Jack Ginnivan (1.68) is currently at a high goals per game rate than Buddy Franklin (1.52) was at the same point in his career (after 2 seasons) Arguably more impressive as scoring is down compared to Buddy's first two seasons

Can't wait for Ginnivan to kick 100 goals in the 2024 season
Can you imagine the mayhem if Ginnivan somehow became a centurion? Something neither Daicos nor Lethal could do?

130 just to beat his dad's record would be fitting

I guess that’s what you get with three field umpires… glaring inconsistency.

I really, really dislike the coordination we have with the multiple field umpires. Especially because despite having so many we still miss blatant off-ball holding (on star mids) and shit like that. Amateurs!

There is undeniably a campaign against the kid, it's widespread and it's members are recalcitrant which can only happen with support from the highest level.

Hopefully this offseason the umpires have a reality check and realize they're trying to snuff out one of the brightest sparks (that sometimes burns too bright) the AFL has had in a long time.

I really, really dislike the coordination we have with the multiple field umpires. Especially because despite having so many we still miss blatant off-ball holding (on star mids) and s**t like that. Amateurs!

And because if the out of zone umpire award, a free kick, then there can’t be advantage paid…

Oppo Camp Jack Ginnivan (Traded to Hawks 2023)