No Oppo Supporters Jack Watts - Traded to PA for pick 31, Thanks Jack

Jack Watts?

anyone who is saying that weideman was more effective than having watts in the side today is kidding themselves.

Watts is a great asset to the team, ice cold goal kicker when in front of it and makes exceptional decisions and has the skills to pull them off.
Yes his consistency of effort or attack is questioned. But he has improved massively year on year over the last 2 years. His tank is incredible now, we go every week and you regularly see watts making 100m runs and burning his opponent, something you cant see on tv.

Effort around the contest is the only thing that can ever be looked at for him...

I wasn't Saying was Wagner was Brownlow votes but he played up on the wing and kicked the ball far more often than handballed. He was on the outside of contests and I thought he did really well. Wasn't a defender.

If anything Brayshaw played more behind the ball and was marking it. I forgot how good he was

Weid ran in different patterns and crested a contest instead of watts who always looks for space. I thought it worked beautifully.

The way the footy media reacts to Watts's career highs and lows is no different to the way people around here react.

I suppose they should be held to higher standards, seeing as they get paid to dribble shit. But, meh.
Oh I agree completely mate and I've been guilty of it myself as have most of us but I don't do it for a job.

Is he getable? If so, what would he cost? Seems to have never really lived up to expectations and doesn't look interested at the dees anymore.

I think he could thrive at Sydney and he's really the type of player we are missing imo. Someone with good skills that can actually hit a chest pass to our forwards.

Is he getable? If so, what would he cost? Seems to have never really lived up to expectations and doesn't look interested at the dees anymore.

I think he could thrive at Sydney and he's really the type of player we are missing imo. Someone with good skills that can actually hit a chest pass to our forwards.

Pick 15-25 range imo

I just really, really hope Jack doesn't go. Love him so much. Once he returns to form all will be forgiven.
Just has something not many have at the Dee's which is exceptional ball use.
A great fit for the Swans and would cost a first round pick no doubt. Boy oh boy though, a foreword line with Reid, Franklin, Hayward, Papley, Rohan and Watts would be insane.
Swans already my second team but gee I'd follow them intently if they got Jack

I just really, really hope Jack doesn't go. Love him so much. Once he returns to form all will be forgiven.
Just has something not many have at the Dee's which is exceptional ball use.
A great fit for the Swans and would cost a first round pick no doubt. Boy oh boy though, a foreword line with Reid, Franklin, Hayward, Papley, Rohan and Watts would be insane.
Swans already my second team but gee I'd follow them intently if they got Jack

I don't think we'll trade him either, was just giving an estimation of his value.

Pick 15-25 range imo

Honestly and with all respect I thought his value was a little lower than that due to form although I'm not sure of his contract status which may drive the price back up, but I was thinking a second round pick 20-30. I suppose that's not that far off.

In any case I hope he turns his form around. A great player to watch when up and about!

Reckon all this talk is beat up rubbish. Pretty sure within the club relationships are fine, jacks happy but just struggled to regain form after his worst layoff with injury. May not make it back this year and if not, so be it. We'll see him back to his best in 2018. And Goody can give him his premiership medallion.

Honestly and with all respect I thought his value was a little lower than that due to form although I'm not sure of his contract status which may drive the price back up, but I was thinking a second round pick 20-30. I suppose that's not that far off.

In any case I hope he turns his form around. A great player to watch when up and about!

Contracted till end of 2019.

I wasn't Saying was Wagner was Brownlow votes but he played up on the wing and kicked the ball far more often than handballed. He was on the outside of contests and I thought he did really well. Wasn't a defender.

If anything Brayshaw played more behind the ball and was marking it. I forgot how good he was

Weid ran in different patterns and crested a contest instead of watts who always looks for space. I thought it worked beautifully.

I thought Wagner was pretty solid, hit targets by foot and turned nicely out traffic onto his left foot to give him time.

Gus' overhead marking and foot skills were sublime for a bloke who hasn't played afl for 4 months. As i said in another thread he's ability at half back will be a real feature for us.

Not a chance at all, he's played 3 poor games under extenuating circumstances, but for the 30-40 games before that was in great form ... not sure how that would drastically devalue him that much. Got another 2 years on his contract, and isn't going anywhere anyway.

A trade toSydney or GWS would be win win. Watts would get a fresh start in an environment where he would have a much lower profile. Plus more established team where he could be the icing on the cake. Dees could get a late first round pick or early second to use in a Lever or Kelly trade. I reckon it makes total sense and is a huge chance to happen if Watts isn't averse to the idea.

Not a chance at all, he's played 3 poor games under extenuating circumstances, but for the 30-40 games before that was in great form ... not sure how that would drastically devalue him that much. Got another 2 years on his contract, and isn't going anywhere anyway.

Not disputing your call on his form over the past couple of years, or his trade value, but I get the impression that Goodwin is not going to be very forgiving of "oh, that's just Jack". I don't know how many chances he's prepared to give him, but I think there will be a time when Goody decides that he's not wasting anymore time trying to get a 150+ game player to be self-sufficient with his intensity.

He's probably worth about what you think is fair for Sam Reid on the open market. Reids been down on form but I bet you wouldn't take pick 30

Not disputing your call on his form over the past couple of years, or his trade value, but I get the impression that Goodwin is not going to be very forgiving of "oh, that's just Jack". I don't know how many chances he's prepared to give him, but I think there will be a time when Goody decides that he's not wasting anymore time trying to get a 150+ game player to be self-sufficient with his intensity.

I get the feeling that despite Goodwin being a lad he's more of the Viney work hard play hard lad than the hippy style of Watts and I wouldn't be surprised if he did move him on because he won't conform. Just don't reckon Goody has the love for him Roos does and I reckon goody is hell bent on changing the fabric of this club

Yeah, I think what we've seen from Goody suggests that he won't just accept it, but I also don't think he's going to just punt him because he's been a bit off coming back from injury, while the entire team was playing horribly, particularly going inside 50 ... and he was inside 50.

If his form is up and down next year, then I think look at a trade, but not this year.

I get the feeling that despite Goodwin being a lad he's more of the Viney work hard play hard lad than the hippy style of Watts and I wouldn't be surprised if he did move him on because he won't conform. Just don't reckon Goody has the love for him Roos does and I reckon goody is hell bent on changing the fabric of this club

That's my feeling too.

He's probably worth about what you think is fair for Sam Reid on the open market. Reids been down on form but I bet you wouldn't take pick 30

That's a good comparison. And your right, 30 probably is a bit too low. I'd want around 15-20 for him. Probably all pointless talk anyway as it's been pointed out that he is contracted until 2019.

Yeah that's my point. In a hypothetical world I reckon it takes your first to get it done which at this stage is looking highly likely to be 18

Jack Watts will likely end up much better than pick 14-18 in this year's draft

Would be happy with that trade

Would have to be Watts pushing if this gains steam, he knows we can't pay top dollar so must really be personal and needing a change

Jack Watts will likely end up much better than pick 14-18 in this year's draft

Would be happy with that trade

Would have to be Watts pushing if this gains steam, he knows we can't pay top dollar so must really be personal and needing a change

Yeah like we've already said in earlier discussions on our board unless he is still playing VFL in round 23 and doesn't return for AFL finals (Should we make it) he won't be going anywhere.

If he's not back this week, then surely he's back next week, if for no other reason than to provide Collingwood with nightmares of QB.

Had three rubbish games after an injury layoff, was excellent for 18 months prior.