Coach James Hird - is it time to give him a second chance at coaching an AFL club? Gil says yes!

Should James Hird be given a second chance at coaching an AFL club?

ABC radio replying an interview with Hird from back after the verdict. Really brings home how much of a narcisst he is. I am not a victim, two minutes later wahhh, wahh, my reputation was trashed by evil media. I knew nothing, next minute he allegedly supported Dr Reid to try move on Dank but the CEO over rode him amd then a few minutes claims he never knew anything again. He said it wasn't an experimental or pharmaceutical program but when the ABC questioned that, he said he can't answer as he isn't a scientist.

Still amazing how light he got off. Should have been banned from any association with football at any level for life.
Let's never forget either that Hird got his old mate Shane Charters to procure the raw materials for the peptides from China.

That's how they got caught. The feds already had Charters under surveillance because he'd been illegally importing steroids into the country

James Hird and I had poolside 'talks', biochemist Shane Charter says​

ESSENDON coach James Hird twice discussed peptides with biochemist Shane Charter by the pool of a Gold Coast hotel, Charter has claimed.

Hird & Charters working out a decade earlier
cbe1b639e734d950ad3de9660462a8d56d4a94bf

Here's Charters with posters on his wall of past clients... Various athletes he'd given "dietary advice" to.
44usLCAEmeU_asaff6MNOj2GWxwfkfY7cbxKQDkzynQ.png

From watching footy since the start of the AFL era I’d go:
GAJ
Carey
GAS
Lockett
Diesel
Hird/Dusty

So I’d have him 6 or 7.

But

In retrospect I reckon he was most likely a drug cheat, so massive asterisk next to his whole career
I'd add Buddy, Buckley, Voss, Judd, Rance, Scarlett, Nick Riewoldt ,Dunstall and Goodes ahead of him as well

Let's never forget either that Hird got his old mate Shane Charters to procure the raw materials for the peptides from China.

That's how they got caught. The feds already had Charters under surveillance because he'd been illegally importing steroids into the country

ESSENDON coach James Hird twice discussed peptides with biochemist Shane Charter by the pool of a Gold Coast hotel, Charter has claimed.

Here's Charters with posters on his wall of past clients... Various athletes he'd given "dietary advice" to.
Dodgy as. He also frequented that bikie gym.

For them to finally move on, they should never let Hird have any role in the club ever again.

But they will. Sheedy and the coterie will ensure us that they won’t be able to move on for at least another decade.

Hird & Chartres..the urban myth story

It's funny to see comments from Essendon fans along the lines of "I hope we get Hirdy back as coach, mainly for the melts from opposition fans"

I thought most of them (the sane ones) acknowledge there won't be any melts, but universal ridicule.

I actually fear for my health if it happens. I don't know how my body will respond to three consecutive days of laughter.

For them to finally move on, they should never let Hird have any role in the club ever again.

But they will. Sheedy and the coterie will ensure us that they won’t be able to move on for at least another decade.
It will be an Essendon old boy - Solomon, McVeigh, Caracella with James assistant

Non Essendon people nil.chance as they don't fully appreciate the circumstances

I'd add Buddy, Buckley, Voss, Judd, Rance, Scarlett, Nick Riewoldt ,Dunstall and Goodes ahead of him as well
Yeah a few of those guys had better careers than Hird, in the sense that they had more All-Australian level years or whatever.

But for mine, Hird could influence the flow of a game like maybe no one I've ever seen. He was a true match winner. If I was taking players at age 18 with their whole career ahead of them (and a roughly equal chance of getting injuries), I'd personally take Hird before all those guys.

As a conflicted Carlton/Swans person-

Since 1970....

Matthews
Williams
Ablett Jr
Carey
Voss

Special mentions..

Goodes
Martin
Judd
Kernahan
Peter Matera
Lockett
Hird
G Abllett Snr
Kelly
Harvey
Franklin

Less special

Buckley
Swan
Aker
Black
Mercuri
Dangerfield
Selwood
Petraka
Parker
Nick Riewaldt
Pendlebury
Fyfe
Pavlich
Bontempelli......(just)

Mercuri.cost you blokes a flag
From a under pressure frantic shot at goal missing by a bee’s penis ?

Yeah nah.

Meanwhile…12 months later…he’s one of the main architects of brilliance in a side that will forever be known for as the greatest premiership season ever played with an average winning margin for the year of 7 goals.

While the injectors and their media sycophants are wailing about injustice, cover ups and the truth will eventually come out. The club in the middle picture be like!

backing up homer simpson GIF

I think anyone who thinks he's top 5 is a clueless moron.
He came 9th in best players of the last 20 years in this article so he's probably in the top 50 of all time.
Top 5 of all time? No way.

that list is terrible.
Goodes & Pendles are better than Riewoldt
Fyfe is not better than Black
Scarlett ahead of McLeod and Ricciutto
Yeah a few of those guys had better careers than Hird, in the sense that they had more All-Australian level years or whatever.

But for mine, Hird could influence the flow of a game like maybe no one I've ever seen. He was a true match winner. If I was taking players at age 18 with their whole career ahead of them (and a roughly equal chance of getting injuries), I'd personally take Hird before all those guys.
Carey still the best for mine. For similar reasons, he would just make it happen and you couldn't stop him at his best.

Did you ever see his actual career, like through the 90s and early 00s?
i cant imagine if the likes of Riewoldt (im assuming Nick), Rance & Scarlett are in the conversation.

Carey, Voss, Hird, Bucks, Buddy, Judd and GAJ are class of their own imo in the AFL era.

Coach James Hird - is it time to give him a second chance at coaching an AFL club? Gil says yes!