Universal Love James Sicily

Worth noting that when Sicily came over to hand out his footy after the match he looked utterly cooked. Did a lot of running that final 10 mins and the rush of that goal on top of that had the eyes rolling in his head.

That's called being determined to win. He just wanted it that bad and was desperate to see us in front at the end of the game. You can't teach that. Good to see he finally has the belief in himself to take those types of marks rather than almost marking it and being satisfied in merely making the effort.

Oh, and there was never any doubt he would kick the goal at the end. I'd have had more doubts with any other forward other than Gunners.

That's called being determined to win. He just wanted it that bad and was desperate to see us in front at the end of the game. You can't teach that. Good to see he finally has the belief in himself to take those types of marks rather than almost marking it and being satisfied in merely making the effort.

Oh, and there was never any doubt he would kick the goal at the end. I'd have had more doubts with any other forward other than Gunners.
Would've been just as good if Breust had taken the shot. I recall someone saying a year or two back that Breust never kicks the goal from a set shot when the scores are that close late in a game. Which was a bit harsh given those circumstances (Breust taking a set shot at goal, scores being within a goal with a minute or less left) have probably only happened once or twice in his career.

Greetings Hawk fans. I don't usually come over to other team's boards, but I was wondering if anyone knew if Sicily is in any way connected to John (Jack) Sicily, who played with North Melbourne in the 1890s.
Sicily (this one was called "Sisso") was one of North's leading ruck-rovers. He went to Western Australia in 1896 with team mate Tommy O'Dea to seek his fortune and played for the original Fremantle club, helping to make them into a power. He was back at North in 1898 and played until at least 1900. He died in 1927 aged just 52.
The surname is not a really common one and James may be a descendant or distant relative. Anyone know?

It's kinda funny that people have no idea where Sicily came from. I remember in the 2014 VFL Grand Final where he was probably BOG for you guys as our defenders couldn't stop him.

I was at that game. Sicily was the only Box Hill forward who gave a yelp for four quarters. Showed a glimpse of his talent that afternoon.

Sicily is actually 156cm tall. The shortest player ever to play the game. However, both his arms are 2metres long, hence his reach. Science tells us the reason we can't see any of this is because of the relfecting light off his hair camouflaging his oddly shaped, but effective, body.

"The Don". Spectacular idea. If it can stick in this forum it will stick in the world. I hope it does.

I for one will never call him 'The Don'. The competition will be full of ex-Essendon players running around called 'The Don' carrying all their drug stigma. He doesn't need or deserve any association.

Personally of all the names mentioned here 'The Kid' fits well. Reminds many of our last 'Kid' and looks about 16yo to me.

Would've been just as good if Breust had taken the shot. I recall someone saying a year or two back that Breust never kicks the goal from a set shot when the scores are that close late in a game. Which was a bit harsh given those circumstances (Breust taking a set shot at goal, scores being within a goal with a minute or less left) have probably only happened once or twice in his career.
Breust would have missed.

Thank god it wasn't Shiels or Ceglar
Cegs would have started his walk into goal from our defensive goalsquare...ridiculous how far he goes back...then tries to guide it in with a little dinky kick

Is he going to chop off Travis Cloke's head?

I'd like to watch that.
Ew!

Who'd want to watch Travis Cloke's anything?
First of all, I have no confidence that Cloke has the current form to even make up the ground to the area at which his head would be cut off - his positioning at the moment is terrible - his head would be in the Forward Pocket when the guillotine would be squared up in the Goal Square.

Further, I think Cloke's neck is a fair chance to simply drop his head if slightly pressured or out of position.

I'd give Cloke a good couple of weeks without a head & see how he goes - see if he can regain some head-form...

tige19 said that Sicily is his step father's name, so he's got no blood ties if that's the case, which in some ways makes it more interesting.

Yup, his stepfather is a Sicily.. I went to the footy with his under 18 coach Sunday. James started at Melton juniors, moved across to Sunbury juniors and then went to Keilor as he was entering the Jets. I would say that most of his junior development ( outside of TAC cup ) would have been at Sunbury.

I actually played my junior career at Melton south with James was always going to be a star

My younger cousin was toe to toe with him in the league medal each year and they became good mates and he came over to sunbury to play with him, funny as we know the rivalry the 2 clubs have. He was a very good junior, played a lot as a mid and used to rack them up, but he could always kick a goal. I didn't know if he was legit AFL standard but happy to say he is now, he's a ripper.

Usually, when a young player has these 'great' moments,cue an awful game the next week! Let's hope Sis doesn't get too ahead of himself but at the same time the kid deserves a fair bit of kudos after the last two weeks against very strong opponents.

I for one will never call him 'The Don'. The competition will be full of ex-Essendon players running around called 'The Don' carrying all their drug stigma. He doesn't need or deserve any association.

Personally of all the names mentioned here 'The Kid' fits well. Reminds many of our last 'Kid' and looks about 16yo to me.
I've heard him called "Cisco Kid"

Usually, when a young player has these 'great' moments,cue an awful game the next week! Let's hope Sis doesn't get too ahead of himself but at the same time the kid deserves a fair bit of kudos after the last two weeks against very strong opponents.

Interesting Sam Mitchell in an interview this week possibly alluded to this being the case, but it was made clear to him there was a lot of things he needed to improve from the game and that Clubs are very good at bringing people back down to earth.

Sicily is his mothers maiden name and defianately is related to Jack Sicily

Universal Love James Sicily