Toast Jamie freaking Elliott!

The kid has taken the hard road, but the rewards are paying off now. There is nothing better than when you see him at the back of a pack when a high ball is coming in. He's done it so many times now I just expect it.

Billy Elliott the dancing man! Get around him!!!

Surprised to see no love for Elliott on here. Was a standout with an equal career high 5 goals (and NO BEHINDS!) and nearly won the match for us. He also took what could be Mark of the Year for two years running. Absolutely stood on Bartel's head - and whilst running backwards too!:eek:
759552-859e4ccc-bcc1-11e3-8789-ebc1372b1494.jpg

That mark was our first goal for the match and was the spark that lifted us after a poor first quarter.

This kid is an absolute freak! Fast becoming my replacement favourite player after Daisy's defection, and I can see some similarities between the two. It's a contest between him, Grundy and Fasolo for me I reckon.

Jamie is my new Maxy, when Maxie stops supplying the :hearts::footy: moments.
Til then he's my new Doug Barwick. (Thumps chest...)

This kid keeps on keeping on, I love him, I look at my Mrs every week and say F@@@ he is a good player, keep going mate you're on the right track.

Could be our Paul Chapman

Mate the sky is the limit for this young guy, just watched the footage of the club and read the Age article, he seems like a cracking young man to boot. Saw him shopping with his mum in town last Christmas, now i know why, he is a credit to himself and his family, would love to meet him.

Did anyone read Dermott Brereton's article on Friday where he cast doubts on Elliot's long term AFL future? Has he actually watched him play more than a couple of times, some of the claims he was making about Elliot's game were so of the mark it was not funny.

I actually didn't think Dermott's comments were that unfounded, personally. Basically said that as a small guy Jamie doesn't do a lot of the small man stuff, rather he takes marks on the lead and the occasional hanger, and if he's going to have a long AFL career he needs to become more rounded as a player. I pretty much agreed with that.

How does that not equal a long career though? He kicks his fair share of goals, and that's ultimately what counts.

Did anyone read Dermott Brereton's article on Friday where he cast doubts on Elliot's long term AFL future? Has he actually watched him play more than a couple of times, some of the claims he was making about Elliot's game were so of the mark it was not funny.

Dermot only cares about himself

How does that not equal a long career though? He kicks his fair share of goals, and that's ultimately what counts.
Sporadically, yes. Dermie compared him to Mark Williams, who IIRC and honestly can't be bothered checking up, went close to winning a Coleman one year. The point is that the side will need a player who can crumb to Cloke and White, and potentially Reid, and while kicking bags on occasion is great and might win us a game or two, he will need to find ways to contribute when he doesn't have the ball in hand.

Fair point, and to be honest he's got quite a bit better in that area at the very least - I remember one textbook front-and-square he got against the Cats and snapped the goal, and he's not flying for the mark from deep in the pack anymore

He's a great asset in the air, so long as he doesn't go up against our talls. If he manages to get front and centre to take the crumb that will make him super formidable. He's a terrific kick I reckon and getting further up the ground is great.

Fair point, and to be honest he's got quite a bit better in that area at the very least - I remember one textbook front-and-square he got against the Cats and snapped the goal, and he's not flying for the mark from deep in the pack anymore
Yeah I've been watching to see whether he's been coached to do this, and he HAS definitely picked up a few front-and-centres in the last few weeks and been very effective too. Kicked a goal from one against the Swans, for instance.

He went along the lines of one trick pony Mark Williams, also claimed Elliot offers no defensive pressure and can't play as a half high forward. Both of which is rubbish.

Defensive pressure is something he needs to improve on, but I certainly wouldn't say it's absent... but Mark Williams played in an era when defensive pressure for forwards was not seen as being as essential as it is today.

Toast Jamie freaking Elliott!