Speculation Jedd Busslinger

Pick 8 and Busslinger would be massive overs. We don't really need the cap space and even then you can only do it for the years he's currently contracted.

I reckon we'd be trying to separate the deals and do Pick 8 for Barrass and change as a starting point.
Pick 8 is fair, but then you have to consider that Barrass is contracted, and he could easily be the piece you guys need to win a premiership.
If Barrass won you a grand final I dont think many would consider it overs.

If you guys got pick 12ish for Smith, then 12 and Buss is very close tbh

Hes worth a lot, theres been rumours the dogs are keen, and we have Harry Edwards who is honestly too good for WAFL, he should be playing AFL at this stage. We cant fit Barrass, Gov, Edwards and Buss in the same side, with Jamieson and Bazzo as depth
We are not the only club Collingwood are also Rumoured to have some interest in Barrass

Collingwood have 0 assets to afford Barrass, and I havent heard about Richmond. Richmond could get it done if they split their first rounder or split their F1 for sure.
I dunno why Richmond would pay a top 10 pick for a guy who is 29, unless they dont want to do a proper rebuild and just recruit whoever to top up.

Coming into this conversation late, but why talk of trading Barrass ?.

I’m looking at getting a replacement (apprentice) for McGovern. Bring Busslinger in, and train him up to play in tandem with Barrass.

Not too sure of what I would pay for Busslinger, but due to lack of senior exposure / VFL form, his value would have slid since his drafting.
Barrass has reportedly been offered a deal with Dogs. If he is interested, he creates a decent pick since he is under contract for another 3 years.

The value to Barrass is that he is under contract until end 2027 and not a large salary since it was done some years ago just after the Covid cuts and prior to the salary cap significant rise. He is effectively getting around $200k plus less pa than the top KPD's (exclude ridiculous deal to secure Ben McKay). Tom apparently wants to extend to get another dip at the improved salary cap and a couple of years longer.

West Coast hold all the levers in this one - if a club want to finish their list to compete, they will pay up. So far interest has been shown by Hawks, Dogs and Swans (still interested like they enquired in 2023).

Send him to the PSD! ka-kaw! ka-kaw! Eagle power!

Meanwhile Tom Barrass and his permanently compressed verterbrae will personally deliver the next flag.

Thread is up and about atm

What would work for both Dogs and Eagles?

• Dogs would be up there if they had Barrass at full back. For 3 years, they have been 1 KPD short of really competing.
  • Smith will be gone and is likely to get the club a R1 pick - be it Hawks at say 8 or Cats at 12.
  • Barrass has a contract through to the end of 2027 and is likely to be on around $750 to $800k. This was signed while still in the Covid cuts and without the Cap escalator. Tom could get another $250k for the next 3 years and another $800k for an additional 2 years post 2027. Is he interested in adding $2+ million in salary. Plus he gets to enjoy Melbourne and be with a contender. Minimal travel will help him prolong his career.
  • West Coast have the ability to pay a serious chunk of Tom's salary.
  • Busslinger is looking VFL solid but bringing in Barrass only pushes him further down the pecking order.
  • Something is not right at the Kennel with Busslinger. Too much noise and he has not signed on.
  • Busslinger could do a Jamie Cripps and just pack up house and drive home to Perth knowing the Eagles could do a PSD move. Not ideal and would be a bump in the road for relationships but it diminishes his trade value.
  • Dogs are flush with young talls - Jamara, Croft, and Darcy. Are their any more Darcy's due up?

If it is a pick in single digits, add Busslinger to the pick and Dogs get Barrass at a very cheap price (negotiation TBD of the salary paid by Eagles). If it is a mid teens pick, then less salary paid.

Hawks are said to be interested. They would be a better side with Barrass than by adding Smith.

Swans are still nibbling and they have 2 x R1 picks this year.

Tom would be a loss at West Coast but the club has another 2 years at least before it will be ready to climb up the ladder. There are other lesser options on the list but until the club move on from Simpson, Tom is going to be frustrated with the outdates game plan.

How smart did the Hawks look in getting Brian Lake? Over paid yes, but he won a Norm Smith medal!!!
Have you ever sold used cars ?
Certainly have the imagination for it

Collingwood have 0 assets to afford Barrass, and I havent heard about Richmond. Richmond could get it done if they split their first rounder or split their F1 for sure.
I dunno why Richmond would pay a top 10 pick for a guy who is 29, unless they dont want to do a proper rebuild and just recruit whoever to top up.
No chance Richmond give up any picks for a 29 year old defender with back problems

He is 1 solid hit away from retirement

Most likely scenario is the eagles and TB sit down and increase his remaining years by $200k a year and he stays a west coast eagle for life and the eagles can find another way to satisfy the doggies if they want Buss

The value to Barrass is that he is under contract until end 2027 and not a large salary since it was done some years ago just after the Covid cuts and prior to the salary cap significant rise. He is effectively getting around $200k plus less pa than the top KPD's (exclude ridiculous deal to secure Ben McKay). Tom apparently wants to extend to get another dip at the improved salary cap and a couple of years longer.

West Coast hold all the levers in this one - if a club want to finish their list to compete, they will pay up. So far interest has been shown by Hawks, Dogs and Swans (still interested like they enquired in 2023).

According to Twomey, Dogs the only other team interested, offering $3M over 5-6 years. Collingwood out of the running. No suggestion Sydney or Hawks are interested.

Also said Busslinger likely to stay.

According to Twomey, Dogs the only other team interested, offering $3M over 5-6 years. Collingwood out of the running. No suggestion Sydney or Hawks are interested.

He’s already on about 800-850k a year so you’re suggesting TB moves for an extra 2-3 years at 150-225k a year for those years which works out at 500-600k a year for the life of the 5-6 year contract? You must realise how ridiculous that sounds.

He didn’t say for 5-6 years, he said “over a long period of time” you’ve completely made that up.

It’s already been reported that he’s seeking a two year extension from the Eagles. How long do you think the “long period of time” is. 12 years? Or do you think it’s highly likely to be $3m over 5 years, being the 3 he has the extra 2 he wants? Use your brain mate.

His salary has also been reported at $750k not your $850k.

It’s already been reported that he’s seeking a two year extension from the Eagles. How long do you think the “long period of time” is. 12 years? Or do you think it’s highly likely to be $3m over 5 years, being the 3 he has the extra 2 he wants? Use your brain mate.

His salary has also been reported at $750k not your $850k.
I said it’s 800-850k and haven’t seen it reported at 750k anywhere reputable. Even going on your low estimate of his contract you think Barrass is going to take his young family to Melbourne to play for what he’s on anyway plus 250-375k a year for the final 2-3 years of his contract?

Rocks in your head mate.

Probably best to create a Tom Barrass thread and take the discussion over their

I said it’s 800-850k and haven’t seen it reported at 750k anywhere reputable. Even going on your low estimate of his contract you think Barrass is going to take his young family to Melbourne to play for what he’s on anyway plus 250-375k a year for the final 2-3 years of his contract?

Rocks in your head mate.

There are multiple articles across the Herald Sun, Fox Footy, Code Sports, etc, all quoting $750,000…

Where does your figure come from?

If you think a 29 year old player with a permanent spine injury wouldn’t move for an extra $750,000 there’s only one of us with rocks in their head. He either gets those extra years and dollars from the Eagles or us.

IMG_1547.jpeg

There are multiple articles across the Herald Sun, Fox Footy, Code Sports, etc, all quoting $750,000…

Where does your figure come from?

If you think a 29 year old player with a permanent spine injury wouldn’t move for an extra $750,000 there’s only one of us with rocks in their head. He either gets those extra years and dollars from the Eagles or us.

View attachment 2037496
If you knew our cap you’d also know that contract is back ended so it’s 800-850k for the years in question after the big contracts of Gaff, Darling, Gov and Kelly expire this year and next.

Now you’re comparing the $$ of a 6 year contract to a 3 year contract so there’s obviously no point to continuing this discussion unless you actually think Barrass is going to play the last 3 years of his career for 250k a year. If you can get your head around the difference feel free to PM me and we can continue the discussion.

If you knew our cap you’d also know that contract is back ended so it’s 800-850k for the years in question after the big contracts of Gaff, Darling, Gov and Kelly expire this year and next.

Now you’re comparing the $$ of a 6 year contract to a 3 year contract so there’s obviously no point to continuing this discussion unless you actually think Barrass is going to play the last 3 years of his career for 250k a year. If you can get your head around the difference feel free to PM me and we can continue the discussion.

$3m - $2.25M (3x $750k) = $750k difference

Take a breath mate. And while you do that go and find an article that says his contract is back ended to $850k and I’ll believe you.

Mate you’re proposing $3m over 6 years vs. $2.25m over 3 years. I’ll leave you to do the maths.

The Dogs offer is a set figure of $3m, against the Eagles contract of $2.25m. The difference is $750k. What are you getting blue in the face about here exactly?

There’s a Barrass thread now for you to work through this.

$3m over 5 years is $600k per year. He's already getting more than that at the Eagles. Around $750k.

Why would he move to get less money?

The Dogs offer is a set figure of $3m, against the Eagles contract of $2.25m. The difference is $750k. What are you getting blue in the face about here exactly?

There’s a Barrass thread now for you to work through this.
Because according to you the Dogs offer is $3 over 6 years. The Eagles contract has 3 years to run at what you say is $2.25m.