Opinion Jeff Kennett News, Media etc.

We can thank Jeff for the closure of the Fairfield Infectious Diseases Hospital in 1996. What a premier he was!
Local residents? lol it was in yarra bend!
Nice spin though 👍

Gold standard decision I feel .... but unfortunately Jeff has less brain cells these days with what he said as HFC president.

it’s been no secret that Tasmania have been lobbying for their own team for a long time and that the Hawk sponsorship has been a political hot potato for some time with taxpayers resenting the sponsorship. One would therefore have thought that the club would of been actively planning an exit for some time - some in hindsight would say that during the power years would of been that time - now there is no bargaining power at all and Jeff running his big mouth has not only infuriated members but by the sounds of it annoyed the major sponsor.

I thought that i read somewhere that due to our poor attendances at the MCG that there was a concerted push by the AFL to play more and more games at Marvel and Essendon getting more at the MCG and with the lucrative tassie deal coming to an end, one could suggest that the AFL may use this vulnerable time to twist the screws and get us out.

I’m not sure what the legality of that is but contrary to what some think, I just don’t see us as being as powerful and have the clout that some believe we have and all of this coming together at a time when clubs are vulnerable could see us not relocated to Tassie but to marvel instead

it’s been no secret that Tasmania have been lobbying for their own team for a long time and that the Hawk sponsorship has been a political hot potato for some time with taxpayers resenting the sponsorship. One would therefore have thought that the club would of been actively planning an exit for some time - some in hindsight would say that during the power years would of been that time - now there is no bargaining power at all and Jeff running his big mouth has not only infuriated members but by the sounds of it annoyed the major sponsor.

I thought that i read somewhere that due to our poor attendances at the MCG that there was a concerted push by the AFL to play more and more games at Marvel and Essendon getting more at the MCG and with the lucrative tassie deal coming to an end, one could suggest that the AFL may use this vulnerable time to twist the screws and get us out.

I’m not sure what the legality of that is but contrary to what some think, I just don’t see us as being as powerful and have the clout that some believe we have and all of this coming together at a time when clubs are vulnerable could see us not relocated to Tassie but to marvel instead

I can get to more games with the fam on a Friday night, Sat arvo or Sat night then on a Sun. The fixture hasn’t helped in recent times.

Round 22 2019 at marvel was excellent. No reason it couldn’t work. My main issue with marvel is the extra train trave. Metro trains just cant make it run smoothly

I can get to more games with the fam on a Friday night, Sat arvo or Sat night then on a Sun. The fixture hasn’t helped in recent times.

And that poor time fixturing is apparently as a result of “poor” crowd turnout at the MCG and a push for them to move to Marvel.

I hear quite often from Hawk posters and supporters - Friday night games are hard to get to, Saturday is kids sports day, it’s raining, it’s freezing, etc etc - seems that’s always been a hawks “thing” and living interstate I don’t get to make a call on that, but I can’t see that fixturing improving anytime soon with our current form so as I said, it’s the perfect time for the afl to force a relocation

And that poor time fixturing is apparently as a result of “poor” crowd turnout at the MCG and a push for them to move to Marvel.

I hear quite often from Hawk posters and supporters - Friday night games are hard to get to, Saturday is kids sports day, it’s raining, it’s freezing, etc etc - seems that’s always been a hawks “thing” and living interstate I don’t get to make a call on that, but I can’t see that fixturing improving anytime soon with our current form so as I said, it’s the perfect time for the afl to force a relocation

According to?

From 2010 until 2017 the Hawthorn FC attracted an average or 54,000 to all home and away games at the MCG.

I can’t find any reference specifically to poor attendances at the MCG garnering a poor commercial draw.

What has contributed to our poorer draw is the 4 Tasmanian home games which have been largely played on Sunday afternoons resulting in sequencing issues before and after.

The Tasmanian games were detrimental to our commercial draw even when we were drawing peak Hawthorn MCG attendances (55k, 73k, 63k, 61k v Swans, 50k, 43k v Eagles, 44k v Dockers, 46k and 39k v Crows etc)

Even during those times we were drawn to play ‘home’ games at Docklands v West Coast (2013), Port (2015) and the Dogs (2017) which is probably a red flag for the future.

Save a miracle I can’t see us getting 8 or more home games at the MCG again

Email just sent to Jeff:

Hi Jeff,

I just read and heard about your latest comments in an interview you did with 5AA and the subsequent reporting in various news articles.
It’s after midnight, but what I heard and read, has made me incensed.
And for the first time in my life has led me to take the action of composing an email to the president of the footy club I am a member of.

As a 22 year member (unfortunately I missed one year otherwise would be a bit longer) of the HAWTHORN Hawks, and someone whom attended the Camberwell town hall on the night of the merger vote, and as a HAWTHORN member proudly voted NO.
I must say I couldn’t find your words of us being the Tasmanian Hawks more abhorrent, and quite frankly more disgusting, in the respect that you show us faithful members of the HAWTHORN Hawks.

You might want to pander to a sponsor for $$$ reason, and we hope that all you are attempting is some poorly thought out negotiation tactic to appease Peter Gutwein.
However, what I think you have clearly misjudged is the hurt that you have just inflicted on the most important aspect of any footy clubs basic survival, and that is its members.

This footy club went through the throws of a merger, and ultimately come out the other side bigger, stronger and ultimately having the most success in premiership victories of any club in the last 50 years.
The fact that you can even suggest a relocation to another state and then call ourselves the Tassie Hawks (and we don’t call ourselves the Tassie Hawks) for any reason, to me, shows that you now have a disconnect with us, the membership base.

Also the last time I checked the theme song we all sing when we win (and that includes when we win in Tasmania) goes “ We’re a happy team at HAWTHORN. We’re the mighty fighting Hawks”.
Maybe whilst cloistered up drinking chardonnay with MCC members you might be signing “We’re a happy team at Tasmania. We’re the might fighting Hawks”!

The complete contempt and disconnect you have just shown us members of this great club should have you reviewing your position as the president.
How does any president, suggest that as its leader, the best course of action is to give up, and change our history, under any circumstance?

As a Hawthorn member I would like it noted that any suggestion of us being the Tasmanian Hawks is met extreme disgust and disagreement.
I believe your comments have tarnished this club and furthermore embarrassed the members, players, coaches and all those that hold HAWTHORN close to their hearts, and made us look stupid.

If you continue to reference us as anything other than the HAWTHORN Hawks I would like to move a motion of no confidence in you, our supposed leader and president.

I am a HAWTHORN Hawk.

Sorry to quote myself but I received an email back from Jeff today:

Wow that was a tirade.

We have not started negotiations yet

The initial issue is between the AFL and Tasmania

Once we know that outcome we will start our discussions.

Until then we keep all options open. As we would in any negotiations. To do otherwise might reduce our opportunities.

So do not dispare. Very early days

Jeff

Wow that was a tirade.

Until then we keep all options open. As we would in any negotiations. To do otherwise might reduce our opportunities.

Jeff

And my response:

Hi Jeff,

Thank you for the response but yet again you are missing the feeling and mood of the membership base you are supposed to be representing.
Additionally referring to my email as a tirade is also showing clearly you are not grasping the message.

It has been noted the North Melbourne football club have come out and stated they would not consider relocation.

Yet you still stubbornly refuse to acknowledge that the concept of relocation and renaming to Tasmanian (no matter how slim and minute, and for whatever motive that might be driving this misplaced notion), and directly to Hawthorn members no less, is waiving a red rag to your bullish membership base.

That is why you are seeing things like this as of today:

https://www.change.org/p/hawthorn-f...ion=psf_petitions_controller&from_guest_psf=1

Hello Hawkers,

The title of this petition has been changed because it has become about more than Jeff Kennett's political bias being imposed upon the Hawthorn Football Club. His comments about Tasmania were disgraceful. The idea that the very notion of becoming the Tassie Hawks would even be considered, means that he cares nothing about tradition, culture or pride. The fact that he would even say this out loud is reason enough to have him removed as president. It proves, unequivocally that he doesn't care about HAWTHORN. Remember that this is the same man that was once in favour of the Hawks merging with Melbourne. This same man, is president of our club. It's a disgrace and he must be removed. NOW!

Let Tasmania have their own club. We'll keep the Hawks at Hawthorn, thanks!

It must be noted this petition was not started by myself but quite clearly demonstrates the heartfelt feeling I represent in my initial email are not unique.

Until you come out and state that Hawthorn will not be moving to Tasmanian, like the North Melbourne football club has done, you are on ground that you are not noticing is moving beneath your very feet.

Kind Regards

I encourage you all to send him emails direct and let your feelings be known, the more he receives the more he gets the message:
jeffk@hawthornfc.com.au

I heard about Jeff’s relocation comments and couldn’t help but not take him serious, nor should anyone. It’s just Jeff using political bullshit spin.

As for being known as the ‘Tassie Hawks’ I have travelled to Tassie to watch games many times over the past 10 years and I see Tassie Hawks branded everywhere..even promo ads on tv...

And my response:

Hi Jeff,

Thank you for the response but yet again you are missing the feeling and mood of the membership base you are supposed to be representing.
Additionally referring to my email as a tirade is also showing clearly you are not grasping the message.

It has been noted the North Melbourne football club have come out and stated they would not consider relocation.

Yet you still stubbornly refuse to acknowledge that the concept of relocation and renaming to Tasmanian (no matter how slim and minute, and for whatever motive that might be driving this misplaced notion), and directly to Hawthorn members no less, is waiving a red rag to your bullish membership base.

That is why you are seeing things like this as of today:

https://www.change.org/p/hawthorn-f...ion=psf_petitions_controller&from_guest_psf=1

Hello Hawkers,

The title of this petition has been changed because it has become about more than Jeff Kennett's political bias being imposed upon the Hawthorn Football Club. His comments about Tasmania were disgraceful. The idea that the very notion of becoming the Tassie Hawks would even be considered, means that he cares nothing about tradition, culture or pride. The fact that he would even say this out loud is reason enough to have him removed as president. It proves, unequivocally that he doesn't care about HAWTHORN. Remember that this is the same man that was once in favour of the Hawks merging with Melbourne. This same man, is president of our club. It's a disgrace and he must be removed. NOW!

Let Tasmania have their own club. We'll keep the Hawks at Hawthorn, thanks!

It must be noted this petition was not started by myself but quite clearly demonstrates the heartfelt feeling I represent in my initial email are not unique.

Until you come out and state that Hawthorn will not be moving to Tasmanian, like the North Melbourne football club has done, you are on ground that you are not noticing is moving beneath your very feet.

Kind Regards

I encourage you all to send him emails direct and let your feelings be known, the more he receives the more he gets the message:
jeffk@hawthornfc.com.au

Ok he keeps emailing back and we are in an email converstaion now:

You are entitled to.your view, and I hear what you are saying. But good governance of any organisation should be the top priority.

No one I know enterting negotions for a new multi year contract would start those negotiations without an open mind and without keeping all options open.

I am surprised as a financial advisor you would take such an approach with a new client.

Stay well

Jeff

My Response:

Hi Jeff,

As a financial adviser some options for clients are closed off just from their induvial position, and options are not apparent until an in depth review of that person/s circumstances are undertaken and the recommendations then become apparent.

And I would hardly call the Tasmanian Government sponsorship a new client.

I do understand that good governance demands keeping an open mind.

What I am clearly demonstrating is that this open mind policy is causing sever ire and angst within your own membership by not taking relocation off the table.
Sometimes taking options off the table for clients is in their benefit.

Should you appease the Tasmanian government as a sponsor to what ultimately could turn out to be no sponsorship at all, and with such a high profile club such as the Hawthorn Hawks I am sure we would be able to find a number of new ones. As we have always done in the past.
Or should you listen to the Hawthorn membership base, to which I believe should have a greater voice than some sponsor and their requirement for appeasement for negotiations.

Kind Regards

To those who keep being so flippant about this - I’m sure there were those who didn’t take merger rumours seriously before shit got real in 1996. If someone shows you who they are - believe them.

Any club President who says ‘let’s keep all options on the table’ when at present we’re a successful, profitable club with a high membership base is utterly negligent in his duties. Cut it any way you want, spin it any way you want - be a fan of his politics - it’s not a justifiable action from a club president. North Melbourne have far more to gain commercially from any of this and they shut relocation talk down as quick as they could. That’s what I expect from the leadership of my football club - to not play fast and loose with the identity of the club. To even pretend the identity of the club is up for grabs to make a quick buck on a sponsorship deal is cravenly.

25 years ago this year the club survived when the AFL threw everything at us hoping we would die and our identity would become nothing more than a Velcro hawk and gold stripe on navy blue shorts. After all that people are happy for the head of our club to just flippantly talk about renaming and relocating the club. No motives can excuse that. He’s lost any right to represent the club in any fashion and a challenger needs to come forward because his position now as it stands is completely and utterly untenable.

To those who keep being so flippant about this - I’m sure there were those who didn’t take merger rumours seriously before sh*t got real in 1996. If someone shows you who they are - believe them.

Any club President who says ‘let’s keep all options on the table’ when at presently we’re a successful, profitable club with a high membership base is utterly negligent in his duties. Cut it any way you want, spin it any way you want - be a fan of his politics - it’s not a justifiable action from a club president. North Melbourne have far more to gain commercially from any of this and they shut relocation talk down as quick as they could. That’s what I expect from the leadership of my football club - to not play fast and loose with the identity of the club.

25 years ago this year the club survived when the AFL threw everything at us hoping we would die and our identity would become nothing more than a Velcro hawk and gold stripe on navy blue shorts. After all that people are happy for the head of our club to just flippantly talk about renaming and relocating the club. No motives can excuse that. He’s lost any right to represent the club in any fashion and a challenger needs to come forward because his position now as it stands is completely and utterly untenable.
I’m equally perplexed by the “this is fine” mentality of those who are ok with the HFC president publicly suggesting relocation of this club is a consideration.

Not to mention all the ‘nothing wrong with calling us the Tassie Hawks’ - except that was the whole point articulated by a member at the merger vote in ‘96. He asked one of the pro merger folk who we beat the week before and they replied ‘Melbourne’. His point being it wouldn’t mean a single thing for them to be called the Melbourne Hawks - they’d be the Melbourne Football Club. When people ask me who I follow I tell them ‘Hawthorn’ not ‘Hawks’.

It’s bizarre - I’ve seen people here get apoplectic when our club polos are navy - but our president calls us the ‘Tassie’ Hawks and people are like ¯\_(ツ)_/¯.

Email him guys, make your voice heard loud and clear towards him, he can't get away with the contempt he's shown the membership base here. Its our right as stakeholders, to demand a whole lot better and an apology or retraction from our 'elected' leader. Leaders don't undermine and bring into question the existence of the very club they represent, yet Jeff has just done that...

On the Rob McCartney appointment, posters were worried that there were too many "yes men" around Clarko

Given Kennett's COVID comments and now Tassie debacle has passed with no correction or statement by other members of the Board, i'm more worried there are too many "yes men" in the Boardroom

Wow that was a tirade.

Jeff

Where’s the grammar police. Wasted private education

Given Kennett's COVID comments and now Tassie debacle has passed with no correction or statement by other members of the Board, i'm more worried there are too many "yes men" in the Boardroom
It’s a major concern.

Opinion Jeff Kennett News, Media etc.