• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

jets

u sound like u have a good head on ya shoulders mate, good luck with ur footy this year. PM me with ya name and club i will keep an eye out for u, maybe i could get ya playin at my club one day...lol
Not everyday you get a compliment hey!

I'm not a player mate, just a few years past my teenage years and being a very uncoordinated creature I'm just an interested observer.

warning signs for the team atm

what's going wrong?

lot of individual goal kickers in the north ballarat game

indicating a lack of midfield accountability?

lot of individual goal kickers in the north ballarat game

indicating a lack of midfield accountability?
Perhaps.

The worrying thing for mine on that issue would be that the Rebels kicked 7 goals in the final term and they were kicked by 7 different players. I've already addressed the interchange issue on the draft board but I think that was significant contributor to that happening (visit there for more but basically the Rebels were allowed to play with two extra players on the bench for some unknown reason).

The Jets kicked 5 goals on a dry, sunny and wind free day. And they kicked 5 goals a few weeks ago in similar conditions. I reckon the issue is the midfield, sloppy delivery going forward and then a lack of accountability the other way. Rebels got too many goals out of their midfielders and wingmen.

I personally think they have too many rotations, I try my hardest to keep tabs of match ups in TAC Cup games and the Jets games are difficult, there seems to be constant movement of players for seemingly little reason (to an outside observer anyway). Perhaps nobody ends up knowing who they're on and what their role is? I like to see a bit of stability.

Certainly today I thought there were too many players being drawn to the footy, at stages the ball was at a stoppage on a wing and there were two forwards inside the Jets fifty. The Rebels had three forwards inside theirs. And then in the midfield it was so congested with 22-24 players around the footy that it caused rushed kicks, and gave no space for anybody to run and carry the footy.

As much as a pressure-styled game might suit the Jets, it'll also hurt them cos average players will cough the ball up every day of the week if they play in a congested game like that. I reckon they should open it up a bit, get a couple of smalls inside fifty to crumb to Fitzpatrick, Halloran and Ball and those bottom end players that are ranked 12-22 on their list are more of a chance to targets if the game is a bit more open through the midfield. They don't have the skill to be pin pointing teammates, particularly under pressure and long bombs into the forward line don't seem to be working.

It's only early days, there is plenty of time for them to get things back on track.

Interesting to note the jets added U/16 player Kym Taylor to the training squad tonight.
Perhaps to solve the issue of crumbing and defensive pressure inside 50.
Saw him play in the state championships and is very silky and smooth. Indigenous boy i believe should add a bit of zip to the team.
He'll be adding further pressure to perform and wouldn't suprise me if he played in the next 1 or 2 weeks.
Just goes to show the Jets are looking to make alterations to the list at this point..

jordan mead shuld be in there hard worker deserves a go

and i say bring kim taylor up to 18ns

saun tigh is gonna sign for essendon rumor has it

sorry daics, but unless the AFL change their drafting rules dramatically a player outside the system can no longer be signed, they have to enter the draft.

so they may be interested in drafting him but theyl fighting a few others to draft him, but good luck to Sean, i wish him all the best.

2010 summer training squad announced today, dont think 3rd year players are finalised yet though:

http://www.sportingpulse.com/club_i...ask=DETAIL&articleID=10151039&sectionID=56112
Interesting....

By my count the 19 year olds on that list are -
Fortune
Sneddon
Gray
Giles
J Morris

I'm not sure how many 19 year olds the Jets are allowed anymore, this year they had three. I find that list a tad odd to tell you the truth, there are other names who are worthy of consideration. I'm sure they'll reassess it pre-christmas and particularly after the drafts.

Interesting....

By my count the 19 year olds on that list are -
Fortune
Sneddon
Gray
Giles
J Morris

I'm not sure how many 19 year olds the Jets are allowed anymore, this year they had three. I find that list a tad odd to tell you the truth, there are other names who are worthy of consideration. I'm sure they'll reassess it pre-christmas and particularly after the drafts.

u would think halloran would get a gig....very stif to injure himself in last game...was gettin interest from a couple of afl clubs i heard. from what i saw of him in the game he and daw played for vales they both have ready mad bodies for senoior footy.and they dominated that game i saw.
who from jets would get drafted if any do people reckon?

I'll chuck my two cents worth in here...

In my view, the Jets don't have many "probables" but have a long list of "possibles".

Going into the year you'd have thought they could have had three, maybe four, draft camp attendees. As it turned out Jack Fitzpatrick was the only one to go. Despite his injury issues during the second half of the year you'd expect he'll be taken. Tested well over 20m and repeat sprints at draft camp.

Then there is a long list of state screening players (the 'maybes')...Sean Tighe, Kyle Hartigan, Johnny Rayner, Jack Gray, Michael Fogarty, Majak Daw. Wouldn't be a surprise to see maybe three of them drafted, but it wouldn't be a surprise if the majority missed out either.

In a draft devoid of height, the Jets had quite a few talls on offer but for whatever reason some didn't shine, and others finished the year with a question mark on just exactly where their height is going to be best used.

It'd be great to see them get the three of four draftees, and perhaps a couple more as rookies.

As for next year I'm with you listenup, all depending on the draft of course but I'd have thought Halloran would make an ideal 19 year old returning player. I'm also a little surprised Michael Fogarty isn't on that training list based on the fact he went to state screening, and has only played 11 TAC Cup games ever. The rule is really designed for that type of player - who appeals to an AFL club(s) but hasn't had much exposure. Same goes for Majak Daw, yeah there has been a lot of hype but you never know. There have been plenty of players talked up in the past through the media or on Bigfooty that end up nowhere on draft day.

I'll chuck my two cents worth in here...

In my view, the Jets don't have many "probables" but have a long list of "possibles".

Going into the year you'd have thought they could have had three, maybe four, draft camp attendees. As it turned out Jack Fitzpatrick was the only one to go. Despite his injury issues during the second half of the year you'd expect he'll be taken. Tested well over 20m and repeat sprints at draft camp.

Then there is a long list of state screening players (the 'maybes')...Sean Tighe, Kyle Hartigan, Johnny Rayner, Jack Gray, Michael Fogarty, Majak Daw. Wouldn't be a surprise to see maybe three of them drafted, but it wouldn't be a surprise if the majority missed out either.

In a draft devoid of height, the Jets had quite a few talls on offer but for whatever reason some didn't shine, and others finished the year with a question mark on just exactly where their height is going to be best used.

It'd be great to see them get the three of four draftees, and perhaps a couple more as rookies.

As for next year I'm with you listenup, all depending on the draft of course but I'd have thought Halloran would make an ideal 19 year old returning player. I'm also a little surprised Michael Fogarty isn't on that training list based on the fact he went to state screening, and has only played 11 TAC Cup games ever. The rule is really designed for that type of player - who appeals to an AFL club(s) but hasn't had much exposure. Same goes for Majak Daw, yeah there has been a lot of hype but you never know. There have been plenty of players talked up in the past through the media or on Bigfooty that end up nowhere on draft day.

great post...good opinion.
i think the jets players really struggled this year to grasp to a lengthy and posibly complicated game style.....and when the preasure was off at the back end of the year the players just started playin footy and proved that they CAN play.
i think they have maybe 4 main real draft or rookie lisyt prospects...
jack fitzpatrick has all but been gaureented to be drafted and at 206cm he will be given the 3 - 5 yearsto develop and perform....well done Jack.
joey halloran would have been a big chance for a late rouynd pick before he hurt his shoulder... he was gaining interest from 2 clubs from what i can gather...may be rookied but i think a year dominating in the vfl will see him drafted in 2010 draft.
sean tighe is a chance as he is very fit and can find the footy and alot of clubs are starting to gop back to pure footballers to draft.wopuld be great for the jets if he could get drafted but rookie list at nth melbourne looks likely
big majak dawe is the unknown....has got alot of clubs inquiring and has so much un tapped talent. tested very well in all aspects of the draft camp as well as recording the biggest standing leap of all draft camp or screening attendees (93cm). would be a great story if he was to be drafted and knowing the kid i think he would really do well in an afl system...he works really hard he has the raw ability but more importantly he listens and learns and hopefully he gets a chance.....my insider says if he doesnt get drafted willi have told the dogies they will put up all costs for rookie listing....good luck majak

great to see 3 of these players are from my club the wyndhamvale falcons.....good luck gto all jets boys and more importantly good luck to the boys from the falcons hahahahah

jack fitzpatrick has all but been gaureented to be drafted and at 206cm he will be given the 3 - 5 yearsto develop and perform....well done Jack.
He's not quite 206cm mate. 199cm at draft camp. I'm not sure players can have 5 years to develop on an AFL list anymore, perhaps 3 years is reasonable.

One thing about your Wyndhamvale boys is they seem to have a fair degree of scope/upside. Tall, developing players with untapped ability. I don't think we've seen the best of any of them yet.

You have plenty of inside mail evo...

He's not quite 206cm mate. 199cm at draft camp. I'm not sure players can have 5 years to develop on an AFL list anymore, perhaps 3 years is reasonable.

One thing about your Wyndhamvale boys is they seem to have a fair degree of scope/upside. Tall, developing players with untapped ability. I don't think we've seen the best of any of them yet.

You have plenty of inside mail evo...

The big fellas do usually get quite a bit of time to develop, Laycock at Essendon and even Hille come to mind. The big fellas 6 foot 5 and over usually do need that time as well.

jets