Preview JLT1: Brisbane Lions v Sydney Swans

People have been focusing on Bell because he has actually got a few disposals but my favourite whipping Lester has wisely decided to not trouble the stats counters as he has only got one disposal that I can remember. Hard to comment on an invisible player.

I have opened a bottle of Penfolds Bin 28 2008 and I will have a glass every time Lester gets a kick. I have a few bottles in the cellar so I could have a promise to have a bottle if he kicks a goal.

Yeah I pointed this out in the pre-season thread, he'll have games like this, then play one decent game and get labeled as a "Clubman" and retain his spot.

But hey, its a pre-season game!

Nah Diz and Witho have been shocking today with the ball. Many easy unpressured turnovers.

Skills the difference between the teams. No point winning contested ball if you are going to turn it straight over. We are horrible with our skills, kicking, handball, marks. Just fumble after fumble. Sydney are clean, disposals go to a target and hit them.

*All comments below come with the notation that it is only 1 pre-season game

Positives

• Stef Martin
  • contested possession
  • Jack Payne reasonable
  • Jacob Allison solid when he came on
  • more minutes for Robinson and Christensen
  • Berry solid without being spectacular

Negatives
  • Disposal of any form the entire game (Fugly)
  • Robertson, Mayes, Gardner were pretty poor and a few others very rusty (all hopefully better next week)
  • Bell still missing tackles despite size (noting likely rusty)
  • Witherden looks like his kicking needs to be recalibrated
  • Definite lack of composure without Beams, Zorko and Hodge
  • Poor kicking at goal

To me it seems like way too much focus has been on contested footy at the expense of other things. For instance, we just hospital hand pass or bomb long after knowing a congested possession is in the stat sheets. Zero composure amongst a large portion of our list still, and certainly no run to create an option

People have been focusing on Bell because he has actually got a few disposals but my favourite whipping Lester has wisely decided to not trouble the stats counters as he has only got one disposal that I can remember. Hard to comment on an invisible player.

I have opened a bottle of Penfolds Bin 28 2008 and I will have a glass every time Lester gets a kick. I have a few bottles in the cellar so I could have a promise to have a bottle if he kicks a goal.
Not only that,his apalling lack of run and defensive pressure, contributes significantly to pressure downfield.He is gifted games,its a joke....so called leadership no longer needed if we are fair dinkum.
Sack Davis!!!!
I said that two years ago !

Yeah I pointed this out in the pre-season thread, he'll have games like this, then play one decent game and get labeled as a "Clubman" and retain his spot.

But hey, its a pre-season game!
Tell Richmond and the Doggies that !

I think Witherden illustrates the broader issue perfectly. He is an excellent kick but his skills today were woeful. He didn’t miraculously lose the skill; he was rusty. I’m sure we’ll look better next week.

That said, reckon it may take us longer than we’d like to balance the more contested side of the game and effective ball movement, but I’m still confident we’ll get there. If nothing else, it’s reassuring that we’ve got better at the thing we’ve focussed on.

Could Witho's kicking woes be in part due to his low match fitness level?

He clearly looked well in need of the run today.

Could Witho's kicking woes be in part due to his low match fitness level?

He clearly looked well in need of the run today.
Kicking under fatigue is something they do practice but realistically it's difficult to replicate proper match conditions so you would imagine that is part of it

Preview JLT1: Brisbane Lions v Sydney Swans