Scandal Joel Smith (Melbourne): Cocaine trafficking accusation

Trafficking Accusation:

MFC and AFL Statements:

Melbourne Football Club Media Statement – Joel Smith

The Melbourne Football Club has been advised by the AFL that further Anti-Doping Rule Violations have been asserted against Joel Smith by Sport Integrity Australia.

The Melbourne Football Club is not authorised to make public comment while this is an ongoing matter that is being investigated by Sport Integrity Australia.

It should be noted since the article has been published on the Herald Sun website, Joel’s management has contacted the Club on his behalf to advise that the comments made by the source within the article are not reflective of Joel’s views and the source is not speaking on any authority from Joel.

Joel has made it very clear that he has no issues or concerns with anyone at the Melbourne Football Club.

As the Club has previously stated, we will wait for the investigation to be completed before we update our supporters further.

AFL STATEMENT – JOEL SMITH

The AFL confirms that further Anti-Doping Rule Violations (ADRVs) have been asserted against Joel Smith of the Melbourne Football Club under the Australian Football Anti-Doping Code.

Sport Integrity Australia (SIA) has notified Smith that three ADRVs for “Trafficking or Attempted Trafficking” of Cocaine to third parties are asserted against him.

Under the Code, Trafficking in an anti-doping context is relevantly defined to be “Selling, giving, transporting, sending, delivering or distributing a Prohibited Substance, by an Athlete … to any third party [but] shall not include actions involving Prohibited Substances which are not prohibited in Out-of-Competition Testing unless the circumstances as a whole demonstrate such Prohibited Substances are not intended for genuine and legal therapeutic purposes or are intended to enhance sport performance” (Article 1 of the Code).

Further, SIA has notified Smith that an ADRV for Possession of a Prohibited Substance (Cocaine) on 9 September 2022 is asserted against him.

These ADRVs are in addition to that previously asserted against him (in connection with a sample provided by him after the match between Melbourne and Hawthorn on 20 August 2023 which tested positive to Cocaine and its metabolite, Benzoylecgonine).

Smith will continue to be provisionally suspended pending the finalisation of all of these matters, meaning he is not permitted to be part of Melbourne’s football program, including Melbourne’s pre-season training that is currently underway.

Under the Code, the new asserted ADRVs will be further investigated by SIA and these matters may ultimately be heard by an AFL Anti-Doping Tribunal in the coming months.

Due to the ongoing nature of the anti-doping process, the AFL and SIA are unable to make any further comment at this time.

Joel Smith was actually a really good player

His leap was insane and took some strong marks up forward.

He's a far superior player than Melksham or McAdam and Smith would easily get a game at any club

Melksham can kick them from either pocket and did so against the saints. Melkie can take a consistent mark and has sublime field kicking.

How can the AFL be taken seriously, unless they fully investigate the Melbourne drug situation? I do not blame Smiths dad for saying what he did about his son's drug addiction. That his son was drug-free before he joined the club and picked it up because of the culture there.

In a statement handed to federal MP Andrew Wilkie earlier this year – assessed by SIA – former Demons doctor Zeeshan Arain estimated two thirds of the club’s squad were either “frequent” drug users or “occasionally” used illicit drugs.
Mr Wilkie also exposed a secret “off the books” illicit drug testing regime operating within the AFL, which helps players evade detection for breaches of the world anti-doping code.

How can the AFL ignore this? It's time for the AFL to get real and make its guidelines transparent. If they are going to police it do so.
Couldnt agree more, but will Geelong open its doors and be investigated as well.....Ahhhhh Tyson S. Atishooo.

So, are the usual suspects calling this woke? He was doing it at a private event, so all good? Right to disconnect and all that?

Spell me

Melksham is solid and kudos to him for maximising his talent

But Joel Smith had enormous talent.
He had a great 2023 and played well in the finals
I think you’re overrating Joel
smith here. Melksham has been a far better player for Melbourne. I do think smith had some great athletic attributes. And a good mark and kick for goal. But never got the chance. His body let him down a few times. Had he been for most of the time you never know.

Is Shaun Smith running the line "oh he wasn't on coke when he was a kid, how did this happen?"

He was trafficking to his teammates. If I understand it correctly he was using the group chat to flog his product. Coke is listed as a performance enhancer and it was in him on a day when he played. Petty crook and moron.

Is Shaun Smith running the line "oh he wasn't on coke when he was a kid, how did this happen?"

He was trafficking to his teammates. If I understand it correctly he was using the group chat to flog his product. Coke is listed as a performance enhancer and it was in him on a day when he played. Petty crook and moron.
Performance enhancing for the mascot or supporters

that's an interesting way to frame the situation. not saying he doesn't deserve punishment, but this is effectively positioning smith as imposing on them. i see it conceptually the same way as getting a round of beers for your mates at the bar. Smith Sr appears to be heavily implying there is more to the situation, rather than the 'nothing to see here' mantra that seems to be going around....
A round of banned beers? Which he used on match day? And allegedly was openly shopping around? So not actually a shout, more drug retailing?

Not really positioning Smith as anything, he's been banned for being a drug cheat and a trafficker.

I don't think he's denying it, and despite the gymnastics neither is his dad. Just trying to blame someone else. For his son being a cocaine retailer. Because he didn't learn that at home.

Now allegedly Goodwin abuses illegal drugs, at least according to a former Melbourne person. Maybe Smith wants Goodwin to pay too? That's another story, I don't think there's any reason to have sympathy for Joel "too stupid to keep his job" Smith.

If I got on the phone to my workmates ordering drugs I'd be sacked and rightly so. Still not sure how this bloke isn't in court for this.

A round of banned beers? Which he used on match day? And allegedly was openly shopping around? So not actually a shout, more drug retailing?

Not really positioning Smith as anything, he's been banned for being a drug cheat and a trafficker.

I don't think he's denying it, and despite the gymnastics neither is his dad. Just trying to blame someone else. For his son being a cocaine retailer. Because he didn't learn that at home.

Now allegedly Goodwin abuses illegal drugs, at least according to a former Melbourne person. Maybe Smith wants Goodwin to pay too? That's another story, I don't think there's any reason to have sympathy for Joel "too stupid to keep his job" Smith.

If I got on the phone to my workmates ordering drugs I'd be sacked and rightly so. Still not sure how this bloke isn't in court for this.
you're deliberately misrepresenting my point. nowhere have i disagreed with you about smith being banned/sacked. my point is you're framing smith as if his one rung below a cartel street dealer. you can use terms like 'retailer' all you want, but it pretty clear general public purchasers likely have a 'mate' or 'mate of a mate' who they get their stuff off. all im saying is, that like a mate organising a round of beers, he's doing the equivalent. unless you have evidence that he's an active OC member. it's pretty clear there is a few people at MF sweating on this. again, i think you're missing the subtleties/double messaging of what Smith Sr is saying - its pretty clear the additional inference he's making.

So Smith is being done for being a cheat, who retailed a cheat drug to unnamed teammates.

I'm not framing him as a cartel member, he's been done for being a cheat. I'm surprised he hadn't been charged, there's a little mystery for you.

There's nothing subtle in what Shaun Smith is doing, he's trying to frame his son as a lost lamb led stay by whoever. Joel Smith is 28. Stupid yes, innocent no.

Now if you want to nudge the narrative toward Goodwin good for you, there's a thread for that.

This thread is about a dumbarse who lost one of the best jobs in the world because he used a cheat drug on match day, and he was openly hawking his goods to his team mates.

None of what I'm saying is misrepresenting events. Are you sticking with "selling banned (not to mention illegal) substances to team mates=buying a round of beers"? or can we take that one of the table?

So Smith is being done for being a cheat, who retailed a cheat drug to unnamed teammates.

I'm not framing him as a cartel member, he's been done for being a cheat. I'm surprised he hadn't been charged, there's a little mystery for you.

There's nothing subtle in what Shaun Smith is doing, he's trying to frame his son as a lost lamb led stay by whoever. Joel Smith is 28. Stupid yes, innocent no.

Now if you want to nudge the narrative toward Goodwin good for you, there's a thread for that.

This thread is about a dumbarse who lost one of the best jobs in the world because he used a cheat drug on match day, and he was openly hawking his goods to his team mates.

None of what I'm saying is misrepresenting events. Are you sticking with "selling banned (not to mention illegal) substances to team mates=buying a round of beers"? or can we take that one of the table?
I think we can all agree with Smith being a dumbarse of epic proportions but your insistence on using the word "cheat" is taking the literal SIA interpretation of drug use to the nth degree. Cocaine found in the system on match day is considered "performance enhancing" but it's highly arguable it should be considered this. Even more arguable when the testing these days is highly sensitive so picks up metabolites in the system days after ingestion when the effects of cocaine would have well and truly worn off.

Extremely hard to prove that Joel Smith ingested coke days ahead of match day with the specific intent of using it to enhance his performance in-game. Which would align with your view of him as a cheat.

The much more likely explanation is he was a complete and utter idiot who just wanted to get on the bags on a night out in-season.

I don't know your experience hanging around 20-something males, particularly footballers, but it's very common nowadays for a bloke to throw up a "anyone want a bag?" when out on the piss with a group of other like-minded individuals.

Scandal Joel Smith (Melbourne): Cocaine trafficking accusation