Rumour John Anthony

God I wasn't suggesting we pick the crab up...i was pointing it out as it now gives them a pick in the PSD

Doubt we'd target Anthony though - especially now with Lycett and Darling

Another champion bites the dust.

Never has man seen a bigger turning circle.

I've seen triple road trains with less.

Less what? premiership medals?

N. Ablett would seem to be a lock for GC's pick, if you believe there website.

http://goldcoastfc.com.au/the-team/player-profiles/

I'm not sure how spot on this article is but according to the HSun, Gold Coast can prelist Nathan Ablett as player prior to end of the month and thus the PSD/Rookie Draft as he was a previously listed player. I thought this date had passed during the trade week but....

From the HSun:
"Because Ablett was previously on Geelong's senior list, the Suns can activate the new AFL rule and sign him without him entering the draft. That deadline is approaching at the end of this month."

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...n-abletts-future/story-e6frf9jf-1225955013317

Alternatively if this is incorrect then he would have to be a chance for the PSD because I read another article recently about N Ablett stating that he had presented to Pre-Season training in good shape and was looking good ont he track.

I actually wonder if Cameron Bruce is also a target for Gold Coast:
"A midfield comprising Ablett, Rischitelli, Swallow, teenage prodigy Josh Toy (signed as a 17-year-old last year) and possibly Jared Brennan (Brisbane Lions) and Cameron Bruce (Melbourne) is a great start."

http://www.couriermail.com.au/sport/afl/brown-confirms-gold-coast-move/story-e6frepf6-1225922492979

"Gold Coast is unlikely to take on a host of out-of-contract recycled players who would only stifle the development of the club's young talent. It means players such as Melbourne veteran Cameron Bruce are more likely to be taken than a 25-year-old short on opportunities at his current club."

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...ouer-nathan-bock/story-e6frexx0-1225912648441

From the Paper yesterday:

GOLD Coast coach Guy McKenna has confirmed an interest in recruiting disgruntled Collingwood forward John Anthony.
“John we’ve spoken about,” McKenna said.
“He’s a talent and someone we certainly need to look at for a pick later on in the year, that’s for sure.”

http://www.sportsnewsfirst.com.au/articles/2010/11/20/suns-burn-hot-for-jack/

I like this bit from the above article:

Anthony is already training with Fremantle in the west, where he has been unimpressive in early fitness endurance tests.

Maybe we asked Anthony to tank the time trial :D We could always pick up Hanson if GC take Anthony. Lol!

Nah, but seriously, what are our other options if Anthony is gone?

If going for a KPP - Chalwell, Menagola, Gordon or Hamp or Fitzgerald?

If going for a forward - Matt Little?

If going for a mid/defender - Sewell, Curnow, Wilson, Monaco, ?

If the GC are going to pick up Anthony(or any player) in the PSD why haven't they told them. Surely it'd be in their and the players best interest to be traing with them as soon as possible.

If they haven't made up their mind yet, why? What information are they going to get at this time of year that is likely to change their decision

From the Paper yesterday:

http://www.sportsnewsfirst.com.au/articles/2010/11/20/suns-burn-hot-for-jack/

I like this bit from the above article:

Maybe we asked Anthony to tank the time trial :D We could always pick up Hanson if GC take Anthony. Lol!

Nah, but seriously, what are our other options if Anthony is gone?

If going for a KPP - Chalwell, Menagola, Gordon or Hamp or Fitzgerald?

If going for a forward - Matt Little?

If going for a mid/defender - Sewell, Curnow, Wilson, Monaco, ?

Not another bloody forward:eek:

Essendon have declared they won't be chasing Anthony in the pre-season draft.

cheers, i really think the only teams who would go for him are us GC and carlton. but the other clubs have kept quiet, there is no advantage for them to keep quiet just to get our hopes up. and why would they want a guy who doesnt want to be there? im sure we are concerned about nothing

I'm not sure but I think I've heard it on the radio this morning that GC is looking to take Hansen [kids wreaking havoc, I need a digital radio ala Fox IQ to rewind the damn thing].

Can someone verify that?

cheers, i really think the only teams who would go for him are us GC and carlton. but the other clubs have kept quiet, there is no advantage for them to keep quiet just to get our hopes up. and why would they want a guy who doesnt want to be there? im sure we are concerned about nothing

I'm not sure but I think I've heard it on the radio this morning that GC is looking to take Hansen [kids wreaking havoc, I need a digital radio ala Fox IQ to rewind the damn thing].

Can someone verify that?

KPR - according to this link - Carlton don't have a spot left for the PSD. So it's pretty much GC or Freo for Anthony.

http://www.afl.com.au/tabid/208/default.aspx?newsid=104876

Gold Coast have confirmed (though no direct quite) they are taking a player with senior experience in the PSD - given they have no one up forward with experience - it would make sense that they would pick a forward - and one that wasn't available in the ND - otherwise they'd already have him. So Anthony, Hahn and Hansen would be options you'd think.

The Gold Coast can pick anyone, including Anthony, but the Suns last night would not be drawn on their leanings, except to confirm that it would be a player with AFL experience.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/suns-dons-undecided-on-draft-20101121-182lz.html

I might just add to the above - that if GC had already decided on Anthony - you'd think it would have come out already - as they will need to get permission from Collingwood.

Now Collingwood would absolutely give permission as they would then be compensated - however, a secret like that doesn't stay around for long.

Similar story for Hahn

You would think that an older player like Hansen would be a better target for GC since he wont be around long enough to impede the development of their youngsters - but experienced enough to help fast-track. He's a year older than Ablett yeh?

In calendar years he is.

In age of body - it would be about 5/6 years older.

I hope like hell they take him - we would get salary cap relief, a compensation pick and ash gets to play footy again. You guys would then have Anthony.

^^^ Would you get a compensation pick though? I don't know the rules exactly, but Hansen isn't/wasn't "out of contract", so that makes me think you wouldn't be compensated.

KPR - according to this link - Carlton don't have a spot left for the PSD. So it's pretty much GC or Freo for Anthony.

http://www.afl.com.au/tabid/208/default.aspx?newsid=104876

Gold Coast have confirmed (though no direct quite) they are taking a player with senior experience in the PSD - given they have no one up forward with experience - it would make sense that they would pick a forward - and one that wasn't available in the ND - otherwise they'd already have him. So Anthony, Hahn and Hansen would be options you'd think.

The Gold Coast can pick anyone, including Anthony, but the Suns last night would not be drawn on their leanings, except to confirm that it would be a player with AFL experience.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/suns-dons-undecided-on-draft-20101121-182lz.html

thanks for the info TFS

i like the cut of your jib :thumbsu:

KPR ,Anthony (just my opinion,so please dont shoot the messenger) trained poor to average and showed a distinct lack of pace this morning so if he didnt fall to us I wouldnt be crying tears of blood.

^^^ Would you get a compensation pick though? I don't know the rules exactly, but Hansen isn't/wasn't "out of contract", so that makes me think you wouldn't be compensated.

Yup - we'd get a 3rd round pick for him (lowest band)

Ryan Murphy would be another long shot like Hansen

their player with AFL experience will be nathan ablett.
Gabju would of made it known he wants him to be given another opportunity.

An from what ive seen of anthony i still think if he comes to us an gets a game it will be as a defender not a forward.
Hes a younger small upgrade on Murphy as a forward option.

KPR ,Anthony (just my opinion,so please dont shoot the messenger) trained poor to average and showed a distinct lack of pace this morning so if he didnt fall to us I wouldnt be crying tears of blood.

no shooting of the messenger here :), i have heard the reports, i still think he will be a valuable commodity. i think it comes with the territory of being a PSD player (unless your 18 ;))..

Thanks mate appreciated your efforts.

I dont reckon he's huge loss if we miss out on him. If his training is average already. Is he carrying an injury or is he just unfit or lazy??

I reckon a young player like Chalwell, Hamp, Menagola or Monaco might be better who is busting his guts for a chance.

Yup - we'd get a 3rd round pick for him (lowest band)

Ryan Murphy would be another long shot like Hansen

Good lord! Well there you go. We should be talking up Murph like there's no tomorrow then. Where are those Souths fans when you need 'em??? Murph is the next Plugga.....:eek::D

Rumour John Anthony