Toast John Butcher

Re: "Power set to secure Butcher for next 2 seasons"

Every year no matter what youre gonna have 40-50% of your list coming out of contract. Unless you sign them on 10 year deals then theres no way to get around that. The quest is to get them to sign a contract extension early on in the piece.
Yeah but atm if true we have our midfielders out of contact one year followed by our KPs the following year.

Put some on 2, some on 3 and take a punt on some with longer contracts at the right time in their careers. Mix it up a bit. That is why people employed to do this sort of work get paid for it.

If we are just going to go standard all of the times we may as well just spend a couple of hundred bucks on a computer program.

It's not a matter of just putting them on contracts of the term that suits us - it's up to the player (and his manager giving advice) to decide what he wants in negotiation - who blinks first.

Every year no matter what youre gonna have 40-50% of your list coming out of contract. Unless you sign them on 10 year deals then theres no way to get around that. The quest is to get them to sign a contract extension early on in the piece.

That's the one, I guess with Moore, Butcher being untapped quality I guess we didn't know if wanted them as much as they may not have wanted to commit to us!

It's just part of the game now, but as I said in another thread, realistically not many players change clubs anyway.

It's not a matter of just putting them on contracts of the term that suits us - it's up to the player (and his manager giving advice) to decide what he wants in negotiation - who blinks first.
Yeah of course, that is why negotiations take time. However if you look at my previous post, that is where the frustration / fear comes from (Midfielders/KPPs). Surely part of a player manager's demands is not "Boak wants to come out of contract at he same time as Gray" etc.
However for all we know what is being reported wrt length of contacts is not necessarily the real situation.

EDIT: The fear this year was not about losing Trengove or Carlile, but about losing two out of our 3 KPBs at the same time. Same goes for last year wrt the midfield.

people talk about how bad it is to finish last this year (or second to last) because the draft is compromised. And its true and will cost us a great player who will go to GWS

BUT< if I had to choose between being last now, or being last when free agency kicks in, then I would choose now. Id rather be soaring back up the ladder than a sinking ship when it becomes time for players to move around freely

end of the day lets
A) Enjoy the fact they are signing
B) just avoid any media stories of departure from Herald Sun and Advertiser
C) Ignore BF trade talk because clearly it's 99% B.S

There's also going to be out of contract gun players at the other 17 clubs for GWS to look at
1000000% Spot on mate.

I reckon Port Adelaide Oval could be our saviour in more ways than one.

Hopefully the prosepct of playing there in 2014 helps keep the current group together...

Happy about the news, but NOT happy about the length of contracts our players are signing of late.
If what is being reported about the contracts is true, they will all come out of contract at the same time (again) and we will have to go though all this crap all over (again). :mad:

Its pretty normal that you have 13 to 17 players coming out of contract every year. So every year all the clubs go thru this crap because every club has 3 or 4 of their top 10 players come out of contracts together.

Agreed. Who can honestly remember a game other than West Coast in 2006 when Shaun the midfielder actually took a game by the balls and ripped it apart? A frustrating waste of talent that boy. Could have won Brownlows but wasn't prepared to work for it. Happy with what we got as compensation.

To be fair how many Port players have ripped games apart consistantly or even AFL players in general? The ones that do become greats, the rest become varying degrees of good players.

Personally, I still enjoy watching SB play (actually Hawks ATM are a team I enjoy watching with SB, Buddy, Rioli and Hodge) for his poise and execution. Overall, I was happy with his service to the club... of course I didn't want him to leave. No-one ever wants the good players to leave, but in reality is in every sport, at every level, you have players who change clubs. Not everyone wants to be a 1-club player. We received good solid service from SB. When he made the decision to leave IIRC he announced it promptly and attempted to get the best returns for Port.

As you said in the end we got pretty good compensation. :thumbsu:

Its pretty normal that you have 13 to 17 players coming out of contract every year. So every year all the clubs go thru this crap because every 3 or 4 of their top 10 players come out of contracts together.

Except the Vic clubs rumours are on a lesser scale because most boys are already home :)

Its pretty normal that you have 13 to 17 players coming out of contract every year. So every year all the clubs go thru this crap because every club has 3 or 4 of their top 10 players come out of contracts together.
Yes it is normal, but one year it is our best midfielders and the next our best KPPs. The mix or rather the lack of is what appears to be the issue.

It can't really be helped though. You can't force players to sign contacts longer than they want to.

I think it is only fair that JB's new contract is written up on some...

kraftrolls.jpg

Maybe I'm (relatively) too young to remember, but I can't ever remember fretting as much (if at all) about the re-signing of players. It used to be a non-issue and took care of itself up until last off-season. Sign of the times? Or just where we're at as a footy club at the moment?

It's the new age of footy contracts Bresh.

All clubs are going through it in some form of another. Melbourne with Scully, Bulldogs with Ward, Vic's talking about Gaff and Shuey wanting to come home as well :rolleyes:

We've just put ourselves in a bad spot with the media with our insistance on drafting Victorians.

The W.A. clubs love drafting local's and Sydney and Brisbane dont get much attention for some reason.

It's no different at other clubs.

You don't reckon Buddy and Roughie were on contacts together for 2006 and 2008 and the next year Hodge and Mitchell or Hodge and Lewis came out together??

Boak and Gray drafted 2006 resign 2008+2010
Butcher drafted 2009 contacted ends 2011.

Not much you can do about it especially given its Butchers first re-signing.

Really not all that worried about Hamish, he is an SA boy after all

Scully, Ward, Bock, Krakouer just to name a few, left for bigger contracts and they were all local lads from their clubs. These days I don't think it matters.

Also, don't forget that judas was an Adelaide boy as well

Scully, Ward, Bock, Krakouer just to name a few, left for bigger contracts and they were all local lads from their clubs. These days I don't think it matters.

Also, don't forget that judas was an Adelaide boy as well

Krak is from WA.

Maybe I'm (relatively) too young to remember, but I can't ever remember fretting as much (if at all) about the re-signing of players. It used to be a non-issue and took care of itself up until last off-season. Sign of the times? Or just where we're at as a footy club at the moment?
Its a few things.

1) Usually these sorts of players would've been signed up midseason in the pre-Rohde days, but that was when we offered finals and a premiership shot.
2) Since Shaun Burgoyne ****ed off, every Victorian side/fan/journo smells blood in the water and wants to go at everyone.
3) No better Port news to follow right now. We haven't had any arrogant bows, controversial tribunal appearances or choking gestures.