Coach John Longmire - Part IV has resigned

A sad day but also the right decision. Horse is a great clubman through and through.

Has there been a coach who has left his team in such good nick since Horse started coaching?

Has there been a coach who has given as much to his club since Horse started coaching?

I’m tempted to call him a giant of the club, but that is not Horse. His impact has been giant and will continue to be giant, but his personality is humble.

You would be insane to keep most coaches around in another role. Horse though will transition seamlessly, never stick his beak where it is not welcome, while always being there if someone needs him.

Regularly the second best coach in a 16 club competition that is designed to make you fail as much as you succeed. And one year the best. Not a bad return, as Horse might say.

Go well Horse, and thanks for giving your all.

Despite the last couple months, loved what Horse has done for us generally. Been a great coach, our best ever let's be real, but the GF record does hurt it a little and hope that's how he's not remembered...would've loved for him to get the 2nd flag to leave the legacy he really deserves.
Really selfless call to step away too, probably takes the pressure back off the club a little and maybe could be the circuit breaker that changes things (but we'll see on that). Felt like the end was nigh though and he didn't leave us in a shit heap or run a list into the ground trying to extent his own career as others have done. Class act, wish him all the best.

Lol imagine if Longmire does a Hardwick :grin:
Think the situations are somewhat incomparable.

Hardwick was staring down the barrel of potentially the worst list in the comp, and for the foreseeable future as well, before he conveniently felt "burnt out."

Horse was staring at one of the best lists in the comp, as good a list as any coach in the comp could want. That he walked away from that says a lot about where he's at.

As I said earlier though, I do hope he reconsiders and goes to another club, especially an embattled one. He is just the right guy to turn such a team into a powerhouse and boost his legacy further.

Man not that I'm a Swans supporter but I thought he drew the short end of the stick if he got pushed out. Club has been pretty damn good under his era. Coaches that don't make finals get much less harsh treatment.

But at the same time I think Dean Cox will be great coach. Proper hard nut. And was a great player. Doubt he'll make a grand final in his first year though.

Think the situations are somewhat incomparable.

Hardwick was staring down the barrel of potentially the worst list in the comp, and for the foreseeable future as well, before he conveniently felt "burnt out."

Horse was staring at one of the best lists in the comp, as good a list as any coach in the comp could want. That he walked away from that says a lot about where he's at.

As I said earlier though, I do hope he reconsiders and goes to another club, especially an embattled one. He is just the right guy to turn such a team into a powerhouse and boost his legacy further.
I just don't think he wants a boost to his legacy. He put his heart and soul into the Swans. The speech to the players showed how invested in them and the club to the detriment of his family he was.
The retirement job they gave him to earn the last year of his contract will enable him to have some coffees and kick back. But I don't think that is him. He is a driven man you have to be to be the coach of an AFL team. But he mentioned his daughter I think being in the last year of school. His wife being the best wife an AFL coach could ever want. He mentioned only seeing 3 games of his kids sporting life over a year.

Maybe he wants to repay his family. Maybe he wants to join his brother at the farm and kick back a little more and enjoy his family.

Man not that I'm a Swans supporter but I thought he drew the short end of the stick if he got pushed out. Club has been pretty damn good under his era. Coaches that don't make finals get much less harsh treatment.

But at the same time I think Dean Cox will be great coach. Proper hard nut. And was a great player. Doubt he'll make a grand final in his first year though.
Nah. Not pushed out. Ran out of gas.

I just don't think he wants a boost to his legacy. He put his heart and soul into the Swans. The speech to the players showed how invested in them and the club to the detriment of his family he was.
The retirement job they gave him to earn the last year of his contract will enable him to have some coffees and kick back. But I don't think that is him. He is a driven man you have to be to be the coach of an AFL team. But he mentioned his daughter I think being in the last year of school. His wife being the best wife an AFL coach could ever want. He mentioned only seeing 3 games of his kids sporting life over a year.

Maybe he wants to repay his family. Maybe he wants to join his brother at the farm and kick back a little more and enjoy his family.
When I say boost his legacy, I'm talking selfishly rusty.

I might've had my issues with Horse, but I think he deserves better, and is better, than being a coach remembered for a disastrous grand final record.

Many articles I'd see about Horse prior to today were accompanied by a barrage of comments reducing Horse to a failed grand final coach. That sort of a reputation may not bother Horse, he probably doesn't even buy into it. But it bothers me, so I would like him to continue his career as a successful coach as an up-yours to those harshest critics.

Of course he can do whatever he wants with his life.

Yer i reckon he will take 18-24months off if he comes back to coaching at all.
From what I've read, this position they have created for him sounds perfect for a man of his intellect and curiosity. I hope it's an ongoing thing and not just to see our his contract.

Would like to see Horse become CEO someday. It was impressive from all parties how they managed all of this. It’s given me renewed hope.
I'm with you Goatie, it has revitalized me and my interest, love and hope for the team next season. I couldn't be more proud of how this has all been handled - with class, the way we always handle things.
Let's hope Big Cox brings back the Bloods spirit, it was sadly lacking in the last game we played.

I think if Carlton struggle again next season then maybe Horse would go for that.

Imagine the legacy if he takes Carlton to a GF at least, he could get a statue for that alone. Something they wished they got out of Mick. Which would be ughhh for us but the hype would be through the roof. Apologies if I made you guys imagine things.

From what I've read, this position they have created for him sounds perfect for a man of his intellect and curiosity. I hope it's an ongoing thing and not just to see our his contract.
It sounded to me like something they have negotiated to either move the final year of his contract out of the soft cap (i doubt the AFL would allow this) or to reduce it significantly and he gets a fully funded gap year travelling overseas.

I'd be really surprised if Longmire was still at the club this time next year.

I think if Carlton struggle again next season then maybe Horse would go for that.

Imagine the legacy if he takes Carlton to a GF at least, he could get a statue for that alone. Something they wished they got out of Mick. Which would be ughhh for us but the hype would be through the roof. Apologies if I made you guys imagine things.
Any number of teams would be checking with his manager and Carlton would be pretty much top of the list, but I think Longmire and the Devils would be a match made in heaven. He would be a magnificent inaugural coach with his wonderful man management skills.

The playing group must certainly bear a lot of responsibility for '22 ... and '24 in particular.

But from the ground at the '24 GF .... it was clear that the zone structure was coaching. It failed abysmally, as the opposition absolutely sliced it to ribbons.

So whilst I think Horse is a good coach, a terrific man-manager, a measured public speaker and a steady, stable influence at the club .... there'll always be (in my mind at least) some head-scratching failures that will continue to nag away until our next flag ... whenever that may be.
I agree. Horse is very good at many, many things but lacks game day and in the tactical/strategic area. The game moves so quickly these days, even within a season. You have to open to constantly evolving. Hopefully Cox can bring this to the team. The drafting of 2 small forwards did point to this for me.

Would not be surprised to see North go after him, if they burn through Clarkson
Will be too late. There should be teams pulling the trigger right now. If i were Carlton i'd be asking him to name his price beyond next year and put Voss on the first plane home after round 23. I'd be doing the same if I were Freo, Port, Adelaide, North, Richmond, Melbourne, Tassie, Dogs, essendon

So you've got basically nothing then in terms of off field elements that demonstrate a clear need for the absolute clean out you suggest is necessary, beyond something that is primarily the purview of the coaches room.

Sure - one can argue that there should be more focus on winning grand finals. But you don't get anywhere near grand finals if your club is a basket case off the field - and that we are certainly not.

Happy to be convinced otherwise if there can be demonstrated significant failings off the field. By most of the key metrics, we are in very good health off the park.

Of course there should be turnover over time - don't disagree. But that is different to throwing everything out with the bath water like you are suggesting we should.

If you're happy getting pantsed over and over again when it really matters, good on you. :rainbow:

I’d put my house on him coaching again . He said that he knew his time was done at the SWANS and he needs to recharge.

AFL will be making him offers he can’t refuse to go down to Tassie
Did no one read the parts where he stated he wants to go into admin and take a different course in footy?

He hasn't stated he wants to step away entirely; he just wants to go into a different part of footy management. Like, not coaching.

Coach John Longmire - Part IV has resigned