News Josh Lai - Line breaking Victorian speedster has medical and trains with Power with a view to SSP spot

So here’s the list of the candidates for that SSP spot

Josh Lai - if not selected will go home to Melbourne?
Kyle Marshall - also signed with the Magpies
Ollie Francou - also signed with the Magpies
Rome Burgoyne - also signed with the Magpies
Jack Watkins- Zak’s mate, not sure about the Magpies
Jez McLennan - also signed with the Magpies, plus
the bloke coming off the street and asking for a kick & a catch
Hinkley’s nephew
May the best man win!
That’s way better for the Magpies next season , glad to see some sort of effort being made

It's an elusive unique blend.
Josh Lai is around 186cm I feel, super quick with solid endurance, at AFL level would be an asset at half back or outside mid, cracks in always, good skills and smart footy IQ. East Sandringham Junior, loves to work hard and if given time will be a real acquisition to any club. His Twin Bro is also a great player so watch this space.

Thanks for that as we know nothing about him!

Lets hope we choose the right brother this time. When given free access to the Frederick boys we chose Martin instead of Michael Frederick.

Lets hope we choose the right brother this time.
Why Dont We Have Both GIF

If they are as good as what people from other boards are saying then both in the Magpies or
1 in the AFL squad the other in the SANFL?

Club Confirms Josh Lai is training for SSP spot

“I’m really keen to get started at Port Adelaide, and to give it my best shot at playing AFL football,” Lai said.

“It’s all happened so fast. I did a training session last week with the group and just a few days later, I’ve moved over and I’m training full time.

“I’m really excited for the chance to learn and train at Port Adelaide and will give it my all.”

It can't work out for everyone, but having the spot open creates a bit of excitement with some different players getting a chance.

I like the big bloke saying Here let me be your step-ladder

447310128_956903419775498_9064764626948132280_n.jpg

Noticed he is signed for Richmonds VFL side next year.

Richmond will get first crack in the midseason draft so I guess they want him somewhere they can keep an eye on him if he's worth a shot but we go over him

It can't work out for everyone, but having the spot open creates a bit of excitement with some different players getting a chance.

I like the big bloke saying Here let me be your step-ladder

447310128_956903419775498_9064764626948132280_n.jpg
The big bloke in the is Matt rendells son and his brother is a punter for Notre dame

I like this approach, although I still think we go into 2025 with a list that has at least one developing and/or depth key defender short.

Lai sounds like he could have a high ceiling and is a good size for a wing/mid-forward type player.

Lai sounds really interesting if he is 186cm with that pace and leap. And he can obviously play.

TSW from the Tiser mentioned Watkins needs to tidy his kicking up a bit which gives me Kane Mitchell vibes, but I haven't seen him so will reserve judgement.

what happened to crerar.

looked like he was gunna be a player and disappeared

Had some knee problems then seemed to lose interest. The ammo players sometimes had problems with dedication, I thought Chenoweth could have been a good player but he dropped away after a little while. He was fun, didn't mind a blue.

Geelong have been excellent in nailing obscure left field picks over the years, hopefully we’ve found one in Lai & Moss.
Not sure what you mean by left field, but Geelong are good at picking 23 year old types from state leagues or strong local leagues who are smart solid footballers.

Blicavs is the only real "gamble" they have taken on a non footballer. As I wrote in the Moss thread recently, he was taken in 2011 and if he was taken in 2012, he would have been taken as a category B. Since 2012 introduction to category B, I reckon only the Irish guys and Mason Cox have succeeded as Cat B rookies.

Plenty of good NGA players have been taken via the draft and matching bids, but I can't think of an NGA kid taken as a Cat B who has come on and been a very good player ie plays 15 to 20 games a year, year in year out.

So looking at their history post their 2011 flag and the introduction of Category B in 2012 these are some of their gets.

Sam Menagola was taken as a 23 year old from the WAFL and so was 23 year old Tim Kelly. Tom Stewart was taken as a 23 year old from a strong Geelong league. Tom Atkins 23 year old from Geelong's VFL side. Brad Close 21 was picked up from Glenelg.

Then the one that stands out like dog's balls at the moment, because he towelled us up in the QF is 26 year old Shaun Mannagh but he has only played 12 games so far. Lawson Humphries was 20 and picked up from WAFL and he had a brilliant first half against us in the QF and pretty decent PF but he is only 11 games into his career.

They took Darcy Fort as a 25 year old from Centrals, he didn't work out for them but he did for Brisbane and has a Premiership medal. But he did play for the Geelong Falcons U/18 team so they would have studied him closely as a junior.

They have had their failures as well. Probably more mature aged picks have failed than have have succeeded. Their drafting has been solid, but their trading has been outstanding.

I do wonder whether the selection of mature agers from local leagues will ramp up a bit with the Tasmania compromised drafts.

As i've said, so much about what gets a guy drafted, especially in Victoria, is the means/connections/scholarship to go to an elite private school. There are plenty of guys who are talented enough to play AFL who don't get on that runway and miss out.

I do wonder whether the selection of mature agers from local leagues will ramp up a bit with the Tasmania compromised drafts.

As i've said, so much about what gets a guy drafted, especially in Victoria, is the means/connections/scholarship to go to an elite private school. There are plenty of guys who are talented enough to play AFL who don't get on that runway and miss out.
Yep Tassie would be foolish to not look at state league talent for some mature bodies and not blow up their cap, to go with all the kids they are going to get with their concessions.

And as a big pool of player gets sucked out of 2 drafts - if they get the 10/12 under 17 concessions that GC and GWS got, the year before their first full draft, other clubs would be foolish not to increase their watch on state league players.

News Josh Lai - Line breaking Victorian speedster has medical and trains with Power with a view to SSP spot