Judd repays Carlton with Brownlow Medal numbers

He's clearly got some improvement left in him, in the speed department.

But even at his current level he's like a slightly better version of Luke Ball, which is pretty bloody good. If Carlton got 5 more years out of Judd at this level they'd be delighted.

And i happen to think he's got a bit of Jason Akermanis '07 about him. Give him another year and he'll be a lot better.

Exactly - Aker is a good example of how an injury, even a slight one, can take that edge off your game.

Aker's a gun this year.

I agree that he is still not 100% fit. 10-15% more will give him that break on the rest of the field. Don't forget what I said before about Cox, Kerr and Cuz.

Those 3 players helped him at every contest. Blocking, feeding and running for him. Once Murphy, Gibbs and Kreuzer put on some muscle, Judd will be at his awesome best.

Stenglien was recruited purely for a stopper and blocker role. Neither of these players were.

I certainly can't see any of them being happy to be playing this role for next 2-3 with the coach saying don't worry about getting the ball, just block for our best player. They all have too much talent.

By the way, the cruise missile must be good. Take the ruck knock and then block for Judd in the same action. Juddy's pace must really be down.

But do you really think he is the same player now compared to his time at West Coast.

no, i dont believe he is currently the same player he was, but with that said, he plays a different role for carlton than he did at the eagles

and i suspect just like it did aker, its going to take a proper pre-season to get his body right. i have no doubt whatsoever that he will again be the dashing player he was at west coast

but with that said, even performing how he is currently, he is an absolute superstar, will be in the AA team, and i love having him at carlton

By the way, the cruise missile must be good. Take the ruck knock and then block for Judd in the same action. Juddy's pace must really be down.

You must've jumped to the wrong conclusion there I reckon. Kreuz will be the ruckman, although if you've seen him play you'll know he so much more;).

As for Gibbs and Murph, we'll have 3 top line midfielders running around - the opposition won't want to play 3 taggers, so none of these guys will have to be full-time blockers, but I'm sure if we decide we need someone like Stenglein we could find him.

He's copping a revolving tag this year, when he was sharing taggers with Cousins and Kerr. He had a much better chance of running a tagger off his feet.

I think his fitness is incredible and if you'd seen all 12 Carlton games as I have, you'd know that by Q4 he's still running and his opponent is sucking in air.
Judd never ran taggers off their feet. He just ran away from them. It was Cousins who ran them off their feet. Judd just used his explosive pace, which seems to be missing right now.

You may think Judd's fitness is incredible but he was never our fastest, in fact, far from it. Maybe you just have different expectations of fitness? This may account for why a lot of Eagles supporters are saying he is currently unfit, but many Carlton supporters think he is fine. He should be unfit anyway, he missed most training from July 07 to Jan 08. The real test will be how he comes back next year!! Hopefully he gets back up towards his best, because he is great to watch in full flight.

Judd never ran taggers off their feet. He just ran away from them. It was Cousins who ran them off their feet. Judd just used his explosive pace, which seems to be missing right now.

You may think Judd's fitness is incredible but he was never our fastest, in fact, far from it. Maybe you just have different expectations of fitness? This may account for why a lot of Eagles supporters are saying he is currently unfit, but many Carlton supporters think he is fine. He should be unfit anyway, he missed most training from July 07 to Jan 08. The real test will be how he comes back next year!! Hopefully he gets back up towards his best, because he is great to watch in full flight.

Cousins had some help:rolleyes:.

Have you watched Carlton games this year? If you had, you'd see his most effective quarter is the last when the taggers have dropped off. I know he's still not at 100% but he won the game against Port/Collingwood twice/WC and Freo by burning off oponents.

He nearly single handedly beat Essendon in the 3rd Q.

This is the thread of a Carlton supporter trying to convince himself that his club didn't make a monumental error in judgement by spending 1/4 of its salary cap on a bloke who isn't at the level he was before.

Judd post injury will never be the player he once was... though he will still be in the top-5 players in the competition, but that is different to being a once in a generation talent which is what he was at the Eagles.

Judd without pace is like Tony Lockett without strength, he's like Michael Jordan without the leap. Still would of been a champion... but no-where near as good as what he once was.

I am glad he didn't choose Melbourne to be honest... maybe he knew his groins were shot, and didn't wanna hurt the club that he supported as a kid. LoL

Have you watched Carlton games this year? If you had, you'd see his most effective quarter is the last when the taggers have dropped off. I know he's still not at 100% but he won the game against Port/Collingwood twice/WC and Freo by burning off oponents.

Who hasn't single handedly beaten Essendon.

The numbers may be equal to 2004, but 2006 was a better season by Judd and statistics don't tell the full story. He's still underdone, although Judd has very high expectations on him and is still having a pretty good season.

just out of curiosity, with judd on a reported $1m per year, and fev asking for a reported 600k, what's gonna happen when murphy, kreuzer, gibbs start asking for more money??

i'm sensing some salary cap trouble for the blues in the near future

Reported in the sun the other day that fev's third year of the new contract will be on the veterans list, so only 1/2 of that goes on the salary cap.

I have also heard Swann say we have plenty of room in the salary cap. Not sure how but thats what he reckons.

Plus when we get rid of Ackland, who is on some coin, will also help.

I would also hope Judd's is front end loaded, but who knows.

Judd will always be valuable to a team just because of his smarts...which he has in spades. He'll always have great awareness, skills by hand and a deadly short kick. The older he gets the craftier he'll become as well.

But you'd have to say on current form, his old ways of busting the lines, running down the wing and slotting it from 50 are a fair way off. His short kicking is deadly, but it has to be because it still looks like he can't do anything more atm.

Those stats don't show that fact.

Still a gun.

Judd will always be valuable to a team just because of his smarts...which he has in spades. He'll always have great awareness, skills by hand and a deadly short kick. The older he gets the craftier he'll become as well.

But you'd have to say on current form, his old ways of busting the lines, running down the wing and slotting it from 50 are a fair way off. His short kicking is deadly, but it has to be because it still looks like he can't do anything more atm.

Those stats don't show that fact.

Still a gun.

Agree.

just out of curiosity, with judd on a reported $1m per year, and fev asking for a reported 600k, what's gonna happen when murphy, kreuzer, gibbs start asking for more money??

i'm sensing some salary cap trouble for the blues in the near future

have a think before you type mate

Chris Judd's contract is heavily front loaded, which means that most of the payments will be done within the next 3 years and then it will decrease as the years go on. Fev on the other hand will be the reverse, as in 3 years time his contract $$$, half will go to the verterans list...

St Kilda's list from 2005 - 2007 consisted of

Ball - 400,000 per year - FACT
Kosi - 350,000 you would think
Riewoldt - 450,000 you would think
Dal Santo - 400,000 min you would think
Hamill - 450,000
Hayes - 350,000
Gehrig - 350,000
Maguire - 250,000 you would think
Montagna - 230,000 - FACT

Schmurf, I have it on pretty good authority that we offered Kosi $700 per year for 4 or 5 years plus captaincy. Sydney had an equally impressive crack.

The Saints couldn't match it, but they came close enough to make it worth his while staying.

Pheeeeeuw!

Schmurf, I have it on pretty good authority that we offered Kosi $700 per year for 4 or 5 years plus captaincy. Sydney had an equally impressive crack.

The Saints couldn't match it, but they came close enough to make it worth his while staying.

Pheeeeeuw!
yeah that was last year. I heard the same thinkg. Thank god it didnt happen. I was also told that Dal Santo had a $1,000,000 per year carrot on his head from Carlton which he refused. Like i mentioned though those figures were from the period 2005 - 07 :thumbsu:

No - I'm pretty sure Kosi signed a 3 year deal which is still in play. Maybe it ends this year :confused:.

i love the attention juddy gets

next year he could win the brownlow by a record margin, lead carlton to a flag... but miss on norm smith and people would still say "hes not the player he was at west coast"

Not a problem, Judd wont win a Brownlow and Carlton wont be premiers. Call me Nostradamus :D

Post a positive Carlton piece and just watch the negative types come out of the woodwork. Hawthorn, Richmond and Collingwood supporters flock to these posts, can't help themselves.

Not having the same impact on games??? He's single handedly got us across the line in at least three.

His perfomance on the field is beyond what any Carlton supporter would have hoped for, the development in other players (that he has been the catalyst for) is well beyond what any Carlton supporter could have hoped for, and the off field benefits are beyond our wildest dreams.

The acquisition of Chris Judd has proven to be, and will continue to be a masterstroke by the Carlton Football Club. All you other jealous bottom feeders can line up and take pot shots, but its been a long time now, you need to move on from the fact that he didn't choose you.

Bottom feeders? Two of those clubs are above you on the ladder and have been for ten years. We don't mind Carlton fans, we struggle with people who make things up for the sake of an argument.

This is the thread of a Carlton supporter trying to convince himself that his club didn't make a monumental error in judgement by spending 1/4 of its salary cap on a bloke who isn't at the level he was before.

Judd post injury will never be the player he once was... though he will still be in the top-5 players in the competition, but that is different to being a once in a generation talent which is what he was at the Eagles.

Judd without pace is like Tony Lockett without strength, he's like Michael Jordan without the leap. Still would of been a champion... but no-where near as good as what he once was.

I am glad he didn't choose Melbourne to be honest... maybe he knew his groins were shot, and didn't wanna hurt the club that he supported as a kid. LoL

Huge error

- More wins
- More sponsors
- More members

Complete disater... dees lucky to not have him

For those that forget, watch some of the youtube footage of him at his peak in the videos made by Eagles supporters. I don't care what the stats say, he isn't playing to that level at Carlton and potentially may never do so.

Still got a bit to go and by next year, if not earlier, the Old Judd will be back, have no doubt. He is however doing bloody well without his explosiveness and that just highlights what an elite footballer he is.

Exactly right. Can't see him gaining that explosiveness this year, but with a full preseason under his belt, he'll be back to his brilliant best.

Hahaha post of the week! watch much footy?

lol, glad he didn't choose your club, now I've heard the lot! And you reckon the OP is trying to convince himself of something..

I am 100% serious... I was on the bandwagon and hoping he came to our club when he was on the market (but so was everyone else). Fact is, I would not want our club to fork out 1/4 of its salary cap on any player... let alone one who has O.P.

If he was capable of reaching the level he was at before, then it's worth a punt... but I have seen numerous blokes 'recover' from O.P, only for it to flare up again in the future. He is the sort of player who relies on his speed-bursts as well, and if that is shot... then he will never reach the heights that he once did.

That said... he is still a star even without that pace, but not worth 25% of the salary cap.

What do you mean Cousins had some help?

I have watched many Carlton games this year. For almost all players who are tagged, their last quarter is the most effective. This is not always because they use their superior fitness, there are many reasons for that. Judd still wouldn't be regarded as the kind of player who runs his opponent into the ground. He never was at the Eagles and I doubt he ever will be. Do you honestly think he covers that much ground? Judd jogs around the ground most of the time! He saves his pace for when he needs it. He is not like a Cousins/Cross/Harvey type who will run 80m to one side of the ground to present and then 100m back the other way to make a spoil. They are the players who run their opponents into the ground. Judd may seem to use superior fitness, however it is normally just his great timing and acceleration that gets him that 5 yards ahead. I think Judd just seems to have more space in the last because he finds an extra gear when the chips are down, that is what he has always done. That is why he is such a great finals player.

I am sure after watching Judd a little bit closer for the next few years you will come to realise this too. Anyway, we are splitting hairs here.

Judd repays Carlton with Brownlow Medal numbers