Jumper clash fails

Why the fascination with white? White is not an Essendon colour.

Other teams Sydney and StKilda have Red and White in their kits.

Essendon could go insert any colour with red sash to uphold the 'constitution' and still don the sash in an away jumper.

Neon green
Baby Blue
Yellow
Pink
Teal (Port dont use it anyway)
Red (as they currently do) but add red shorts

Even if we did use teal there shouldn’t be any restrictions on it (or any other colour) for other clubs. Identity is not an important element of a clash guernsey, it just has to be functional. In fact the further away the design is from your Club’s identity the better it will probably work.

Personally (and i know ive banged on about it before)

White is just the easiest from a contrast POV and most visually appealing to institute.

Currently the best clash jumpers are Dogs, Collingwood and Freo and Port, Saints, Melbourne, Hawks, Carlton, GWS, Brisbane, GC, West Coast, Adelaide, North have all done versions of a white clash that worked really well.

Richmonds yellow is good but as soon as you let that happen you wind up with stupid s**t like Essendons and the whole "light/dark" fiasco.

In short, because this problem is so persistent and so stupid we need to give it the simplest possible solution until the teams and the AFL prove they can actually manage it, thus, EVERY team must have a predominantly white clash jumper. Essendons is actually one of the easiest, they keep the red sash, give it a thin black outline and the rest of the jumper is white. Richmond do the same. Every team wears the white when they are away unless they play Sydney and possibly Geelong and North (who have more white in their base).

Its a simple, solution and the only "issue" i can really see would be Sydney/GC, in which case you keep the current third strip rule and note it must be a different color to the home and white (GC keeps blue, GWS can have the orange peril or the charcoal etc etc).

IMO, its not the only solution (of course Richmonds yellow works) but its the simplest cause what we have now is stupid.
You're a fair bit out of the loop, sorry. Saints, Melbourne, Hawks, GWS, Brisbane, GC, West Coast and Adelaide no longer have white clash jumpers, most of them haven't for quite a few years actually.

Indeed, less than half the comp have a white based jumper of any kind.

Home jumpers
Geelong and North

Clash jumpers
Carlton, Collingwood, Fremantle, Port, Sydney and the Bulldogs.

Even if we did use teal there shouldn’t be any restrictions on it (or any other colour) for other clubs. Identity is not an important element of a clash guernsey, it just has to be functional. In fact the further away the design is from your Club’s identity the better it will probably work.
Agree.

I also echo phatom's comment that an obvious solution is all clubs have a colour/black based kit and then a white based kit.

The home team picks which they want - ie Cats might make white kit there home and then the away team knows what they must play in.

That way will never be a clash as will be a colour/black kit up against a white based kit.

You're a fair bit out of the loop, sorry. Saints, Melbourne, Hawks, GWS, Brisbane, GC, West Coast and Adelaide no longer have white clash jumpers, most of them haven't for quite a few years actually.

Indeed, less than half the comp have a white based jumper of any kind.

Home jumpers
Geelong and North

Clash jumpers
Carlton, Collingwood, Fremantle, Port, Sydney and the Bulldogs.
Ahhhh, try again mate

Port, Saints, Melbourne, Hawks, Carlton, GWS, Brisbane, GC, West Coast, Adelaide, North HAVE all done versions of a white clash that worked really well.

Key word, HAVE, im aware they dont anymore, im pointing out they all HAVE had them and they worked.

As for the rest of your post, yeh im well aware of that fact, its exactly why it would work.

Agree.

I also echo phatom's comment that an obvious solution is all clubs have a colour/black based kit and then a white based kit.

The home team picks which they want - ie Cats might make white kit there home and then the away team knows what they must play in.

That way will never be a clash as will be a colour/black kit up against a white based kit.
I actually think the simplest solution would be to make all teams have a color based home kit (EG Geelong has to wear navy shorts and the jumper should have a navy back) but i realise that would upset alot of purists.

Either way, white truly is the simplest solution, its not the ONLY solution before someone jumps down my throat about how Richmonds clash jumper works, its just the easiest.

We all know who clashes with who, so it's time to offer incentives to those willing to wear alternative uniforms.

For example, over a 5 year period, guarantee more home games to the team using their alternate to alleviate clashes.

Let's use Essendon and Carlton. They might play each other 7 or 8 times in 5 years, but because Essendon wear their predominantly red outfit, they'll host 5 games and Carlton host 2 or 3. In all meetings, Essendon wear red and Carlton keep blue. Finals are treated the same during this 5 year period. Consistency is underrated. Let teams do their own deals and if no agreement can be reached, the AFL comes over the top and decide for them.

Never stand in the way of a footy club and a bucket of cash. Might be surprised how quickly history gets tossed aside for short term financial rewards.

It’s not as bad as it was when Collingwood used to wear the white shorts away but it’s still a clash.
Is it? I'm pretty big on avoiding clashes but never find Geelong Collingwood games a problem at all (except the 2019 QF insanity of Geelong in blue and Collingwood in white shorts). If this was the worst clash in the league I feel like the problem would be solved:

We all know who clashes with who, so it's time to offer incentives to those willing to wear alternative uniforms.

For example, over a 5 year period, guarantee more home games to the team using their alternate to alleviate clashes.
This is crazy - the AFL just needs to grow a backbone and direct clubs what to wear.

Is it? I'm pretty big on avoiding clashes but never find Geelong Collingwood games a problem at all (except the 2019 QF insanity of Geelong in blue and Collingwood in white shorts). If this was the worst clash in the league I feel like the problem would be solved:

Yeah the Cats-Pies is always fine - Geelong wear white base guernsey/white shorts and we were black base/black shorts; only in that 2019 QF was it an issue.

Tuesday was IMO a bit ridiculous and Essendon need to look further afield for a solution on ANZAC Day when they're the away team. Collingwood almost always guarantee contrast as the away team themselves every other year, time for the Bombers to step up.

Yeah the Cats-Pies is always fine - Geelong wear white base guernsey/white shorts and we were black base/black shorts; only in that 2019 QF was it an issue.

Tuesday was IMO a bit ridiculous and Essendon need to look further afield for a solution on ANZAC Day when they're the away team. Collingwood almost always guarantee contrast as the away team themselves every other year, time for the Bombers to step up.
I'd say there's room for improvement with Collingwood v Geelong, but you're right: in the current landscape, it's adequate, provided Geelong always wears white shorts for this game.

Ideally, I'd say it would be good to avoid clash guernseys that are essentially half/half with two colours on the front (I believe Geelong's clash is identical to its home on the front, which is silly), but there's a lot of things that we should be tidying up in this area before we get to stuff like that.

I'd say there's room for improvement with Collingwood v Geelong, but you're right: in the current landscape, it's adequate, provided Geelong always wears white shorts for this game.

Ideally, I'd say it would be good to avoid clash guernseys that are essentially half/half with two colours on the front (I believe Geelong's clash is identical to its home on the front, which is silly), but there's a lot of things that we should be tidying up in this area before we get to stuff like that.
1. End the ridiculous notion that clubs with dark base guernseys can get away with wearing them against each other simply by changing to white sorts "because tradition" / "because big Melbourne club"

Another thing, the ridiculous argument that "its always been like that" or "its never been a problem before" is ludicrous at best IMO - There has undoubtedly always been people who struggle to watch games due to varying levels of visual or intellectual disability. As an entertainment product (which is what pro sport is now), it should be as easy as possible for ALL viewers to identify opposite teams.

#rantover

Its weird in some instances cause the pies literally do black on white and white on black. It shouldnt work but it does.

Geelong could probably do the same (navy on white or white on navy)

Essendon could go insert any colour with red sash to uphold the 'constitution' and still don the sash in an away jumper.

Neon green
Baby Blue
Yellow
Pink
White is good for a clash jumper because it is neutral and inoffensive

Solution AFL gets serious about this as an issue and enforces clash strips to be worn by the away team as required, away shorts in a secondary team colour (if no white in the club's official colours) with white shorts as a third option to increase distinction where white isn't an official colour of either team (e.g. Brisbane v Richmond).

Encourage teams to give strong consideration to clash/third strips that depart from the team's traditional/official colours. It really opens up a world of possibilities to improve the spectacle. I think most supporters could just look at their team's merchandise shop for a few ideas, chances are one of the training jumpers is some left-field colour (as below), precisely so they can split into teams at training.

Finally, give the clubs very strong encouragement to avoid diluting the purpose of the clash guernsey. A solid colour, number and sponsor logo(s) on the back: avoid stripes, hoops etc. Avoid side panels. Long sleeved versions of the guernsey to be a single colour...etc...etc... it's pretty basic stuff and people would barely notice it, but it would help.

Go through every possible team match up and have someone with a bit of common sense look at the proposed kits for both teams. If any match-ups are problematic no matter what combination of guernsey/shorts/socks is used by the away team, it's back to the drawing board for them.

Then enforce clash strips either by:

Option 1: Major fines. $50,000 for a first breach; double that for the second strike; and you lose premiership points for a third and subsequent strikes.

Option 2: Make the clash strip the default away option UNLESS it will obviously make things worse than both teams being in their home guernseys.

You don’t need new fines or penalties. They already exist. The club is fined $5000 for every player that is not in the approved strip in an AFL game. That’s $115k per game for 23 players on a matchday.

No club has ever refused to wear the directed uniform.

The problem at the moment isn’t the clubs, it’s the AFL. They have absolutely no idea what they’re doing when it comes to clash strips. 90% of the current issues actually don’t even require new designs, they could be solved with current strips and some changes of shorts to match the guernsey colour. But the AFL just don’t get it.

For example, Anzac Day - Essendon should have been in a red jumper (which we already have) and red shorts. Fixed.

They could’ve told Essendon this and (some fans sooking aside) it would’ve happened.

The AFL just can’t do this. It’s freaking laughable.

Neon green
Baby Blue
Yellow
Pink

The Essendon constitution requires us to wear black with a red sash whenever we're able to (ie unless the AFL direct us otherwise)

The AFL have directed us otherwise and that's why we've worn clash jumpers.

But the constitution has no requirements on the clash strip at all - it doesn't need to be any particular colour, it doesn't have to have a sash.

I actually really like Collingwood in the white jumpers. Wish they went back to that as their home kit.

34128e65db2f4ea1db258d9735702a4b

The Essendon constitution requires us to wear black with a red sash whenever we're able to (ie unless the AFL direct us otherwise)

The AFL have directed us otherwise and that's why we've worn clash jumpers.

But the constitution has no requirements on the clash strip at all - it doesn't need to be any particular colour, it doesn't have to have a sash.
Essendon fans keep falling back to this but honestly it's ridiculous.

A club's constitution shouldn't be able to fly in the face of a watchable game of sport.

When the home team is mostly wearing a dark colour like black or navy, Essendon should be directed to wear a different guernsey. End of.

Essendon fans keep falling back to this but honestly it's ridiculous.

A club's constitution shouldn't be able to fly in the face of a watchable game of sport.

When the home team is mostly wearing a dark colour like black or navy, Essendon should be directed to wear a different guernsey. End of.

The point of my post was that the constitution specifically doesn’t prevent a clash jumper nor does it dictate what the clash jumper should be.

It’s a myth.

The point of my post was that the constitution specifically doesn’t prevent a clash jumper nor does it dictate what the clash jumper should be.

It’s a myth.
Whilst you’re absolutely right and I appreciate that was the point of your post a lot of bombers fans do roll this line out like yanks pull out the second amendment. Given it means absolutely nothing you’d be better off just removing it altogether.

Sorry, it doesn't mean nothing... what it says is we will always wear black with a red sash where we're able to ("subject to the direction of the AFL").

Which is fair enough.

Where the AFL directs us we can't wear that, there's no constitution rule. We can wear fluro pink.

It's just a lot of people make the mistake that it says "all your jumpers have to have a red sash". That's just something the club has chosen to do on clash jumpers.

Which, personally, I don't mind.

Sorry, it doesn't mean nothing... what it says is we will always wear black with a red sash where we're able to ("subject to the direction of the AFL").

Which is fair enough.

Where the AFL directs us we can't wear that, there's no constitution rule. We can wear fluro pink.

It's just a lot of people make the mistake that it says "all your jumpers have to have a red sash". That's just something the club has chosen to do on clash jumpers.

Which, personally, I don't mind.
… so it means nothing in the context of a clash jumper.

Honestly when one of your idiot supporters screams in everyone’s face about it you may as well scrap it, it means nothing.

Jumper clash fails