Coach Justin Longmuir Pt 2

On the line coaches I'm not sure we have the very group of best line coaches in the league but I do believe that we've had some very good names in there over the last 4-5 years when Longmuir has been in the seat.

It seems that Carr, Graham and Boyd are very highly rated in the AFL industry.

Of course you always look to improve but line coaches certainly can't be used as an excuse for Longmuir.

Every piece of the puzzle needs to fit

yes we live in hope.

But for JL a bad year is a good bye year.

If not in finals contention late in year he may not even last the year

So we cann all hope.

But i jsut dont know where the change is going to come from that we need so quickly

Tracey has devloped but still not at peak. Amiss got a long way to go unless preseason he bulked up.

WE jsut lacking that one or two plyers who can drag the game by the scruff of the throat and lead by example .

I always loved Pavlich as he seemed to do that. be the big time player.
maybe it just felt like he did.

Bring back some one willing to take those risks. but hopefully succeeding more often
A Clive Waterhouse type player who doesnt make so many mistakes

A Scott Chishom setting the crowd alive but again one that doesnt caught so often

LOL oh the good old days were good when we won. but sucked when we didnt lol

yes we live in hope.

But for JL a bad year is a good bye year.

If not in finals contention late in year he may not even last the year

So we cann all hope.

But i jsut dont know where the change is going to come from that we need so quickly

Tracey has devloped but still not at peak. Amiss got a long way to go unless preseason he bulked up.

WE jsut lacking that one or two plyers who can drag the game by the scruff of the throat and lead by example .

I always loved Pavlich as he seemed to do that. be the big time player.
maybe it just felt like he did.

Bring back some one willing to take those risks. but hopefully succeeding more often
A Clive Waterhouse type player who doesnt make so many mistakes

A Scott Chishom setting the crowd alive but again one that doesnt caught so often

LOL oh the good old days were good when we won. but sucked when we didnt lol
I think you are way off the mark for what we need, but regardless, the likes of Bolton and Jackson have dragged the game by the scruff of the throat (to use your wording). In fact it is what they are best known for.

I don't think we need change, we need development. And we don't even need massive development. A couple of goals a game will do it.

Bolton doesn't need to be the Messiah for us to achieve it either. You seem to highlight that Treacy and Amiss have development potential in them while also saying you can't see where change is going to come from.

Personally I'd be amazed if two of the best emerging KPPs and one of the games very best small forwards can't improve our forward work.

And I'll also throw in that our defence is looking like beginning the year fully fit and with the best depth we have ever seen.

I'm certainly not looking for novelty players like Waterhouse or Chisolm. As entertaining as they were, the last thing we need is flash in the pan types.

So we have the players

But we don't have the head coach. Who should we have as head coach instead because the best ones are contracted? And it's not just head coach it's the line coaches also. Who do you suggest if JLO doesn't get the team deep into finals?

It's not just about sacking the head coach it's about developing a strong club and after speaking with Brierty at a conference I.was at the club is driven to succeed with the mindset of creating a powerful club that will be strong for years. I can see this happen

If 2025 is a failure then it's clear that JLo isn't the man for the job and he gets the sack. His replacement will take care of itself.

Just like Ross Lyon, Adam Simpson, etc their place became untenable and they were replaced by the person determined to be the best available candidate.

I think you are way off the mark for what we need, but regardless, the likes of Bolton and Jackson have dragged the game by the scruff of the throat (to use your wording). In fact it is what they are best known for.

I don't think we need change, we need development. And we don't even need massive development. A couple of goals a game will do it.

Bolton doesn't need to be the Messiah for us to achieve it either. You seem to highlight that Treacy and Amiss have development potential in them while also saying you can't see where change is going to come from.

Personally I'd be amazed if two of the best emerging KPPs and one of the games very best small forwards can't improve our forward work.

And I'll also throw in that our defence is looking like beginning the year fully fit and with the best depth we have ever seen.

I'm certainly not looking for novelty players like Waterhouse or Chisolm. As entertaining as they were, the last thing we need is flash in the pan types.
The change people are talking about is for 2025. The development of AMiss especially is long term. prob get his body sorted by early 2027. Treacy also can continue to build but he too will go through 2025 with more devlopment to come

As to Jackson,. have not seen him turn a game around by his efforts . perhaps he is doing it subtely.

Iv been following Fremantle for over 30 years now and i hear the DEVELOPMENT line often. Yes it will come , sadly a lot of the time we develop the players and they move on to other clubs to win Grandfinals.

Bolton will add something to the forward line , quite likely. but we will hope and see. But as you say he isnt the missing ingredient

The Freo world is not all Doom and Gloom. But it also isnt a short term premiership window. WE need to develop our current players. not lose any of those developed ones and then wait and see of some luck goes the teams wy.

I hope we win soon. but i dont see any big finals wins this year. maybe a solid top 8 by next year. then 2027/28 is our last grasp of getting our first piece of silver ware.

If that is true. Justin wont be with us.

The fans . the board are expecting a huger turnaround.

I hope it comes

Spot on. We lost our last 3 games after leading at 3/4 time against very good teams. Natural progression and maturity should see us win those games this year.

If 2025 is a failure then it's clear that JLo isn't the man for the job and he gets the sack. His replacement will take care of itself.

Just like Ross Lyon, Adam Simpson, etc their place became untenable and they were replaced by the person determined to be the best available candidate.

But most likely still not good enough or even no better than JLO. Just like we must improve our list we need to have the best coaching staff. But it's not as cut and dry as people think.

The change people are talking about is for 2025. The development of AMiss especially is long term. prob get his body sorted by early 2027. Treacy also can continue to build but he too will go through 2025 with more devlopment to come

As to Jackson,. have not seen him turn a game around by his efforts . perhaps he is doing it subtely.

Iv been following Fremantle for over 30 years now and i hear the DEVELOPMENT line often. Yes it will come , sadly a lot of the time we develop the players and they move on to other clubs to win Grandfinals.

Bolton will add something to the forward line , quite likely. but we will hope and see. But as you say he isnt the missing ingredient

The Freo world is not all Doom and Gloom. But it also isnt a short term premiership window. WE need to develop our current players. not lose any of those developed ones and then wait and see of some luck goes the teams wy.

I hope we win soon. but i dont see any big finals wins this year. maybe a solid top 8 by next year. then 2027/28 is our last grasp of getting our first piece of silver ware.

If that is true. Justin wont be with us.

The fans . the board are expecting a huger turnaround.

I hope it comes
Regarding Bolton, I said he isn't the Messiah. The missing ingredient is exactly what he is though.

He can make every player in that forward line better. He doesn't have to do it himself. But he is the perfect foil for our 3 tall forwards structure, and he will make life for Sturt, Frederick and Switkowski significantly easier. In addition, he's the guy to rotate midfield, and I'm thinking he brings a big point of difference there as well.

You seem fairly low key in your expectations for Amiss and Treacy. Their current trajectory stands alongside the best forwards of the modern game. The days of 100 goals a season seem to be gone, but their current output is seriously impressive.

Regarding Bolton, I said he isn't the Messiah. The missing ingredient is exactly what he is though.
Yes i did repeat your line .
He can make every player in that forward line better. He doesn't have to do it himself. But he is the perfect foil for our 3 tall forwards structure, and he will make life for Sturt, Frederick and Switkowski significantly easier. In addition, he's the guy to rotate midfield, and I'm thinking he brings a big point of difference there as well.
We wil lget a few good years our of him he is 25 i think now. so should be good until 27/8 as a running midfeilder and then perhasp twighlight years as a forwards only . bit like they tried with Fyfe but fyfe just isnot a reliable forward for kickign goals

You seem fairly low key in your expectations for Amiss and Treacy. Their current trajectory stands alongside the best forwards of the modern game. The days of 100 goals a season seem to be gone, but their current output is seriously impressive.
50 goals a season would be a start. not one current Fremantle player has kicked 50 in a season GWS has three. But a good spread of goal kickers is ok if you are winning.

Amiss and Treacy are young so we should never place high expercations on them, i am sure they will put effort in and exceed many expecations

As with all things in life. ensure expectations are low so you dont get disappointed. Sadly this year i expected finals and they blew it.

Next year I am only hoping for finals. No expectations.

WE have a very young team and will develop slowly, not fast. so that is why i think 2025 is not our year.

but we can always hope

Would 5-8 and a finals win be more of a success or finishing top 4 and going out in straight sets
Depends on the situation.

That 2022 season is memorable ro me. We needed that finals win in that 2022 season. We had that 2016-21 rebuild of no finals. We turned over the list .

19 of those 23 blokes that night got their 1st ever finals win

We wil lget a few good years our of him he is 25 i think now. so should be good until 27/8 as a running midfeilder and then perhasp twighlight years as a forwards only . bit like they tried with Fyfe but fyfe just isnot a reliable forward for kickign goals

50 goals a season would be a start. not one current Fremantle player has kicked 50 in a season GWS has three. But a good spread of goal kickers is ok if you are winning.

Amiss and Treacy are young so we should never place high expercations on them, i am sure they will put effort in and exceed many expecations

As with all things in life. ensure expectations are low so you dont get disappointed. Sadly this year i expected finals and they blew it.

WE have a very young team and will develop slowly, not fast. so that is why i think 2025 is not our year.

but we can always hope
An interesting exercise is to look at Treacy and compare his stats at the same age to Curnow, Cameron or MacKay. Our boy is tracking brilliantly. He's ahead of Jamarra Ugle-Hagan who the footy world gushes over.

Your welcome to stick with your low expectations. But your comment was that you can't see where change is going to come.

I have a mate who laughed when i read some of the comments about Longmuir. He said he felt the same at the end of the 2016 season about Dimmer. The Tigers finished 13th. Dimmer had been there for 7 years. Everyone was calling for his head but the players were with him and the club stuck by him..

sometimes its about the coach growing and sometimes its the coach and the team growing. I saw heaps of growth and development both individually and as a team. The connections between players were stronger and overall it was a positive year (except for the last 3 matches). I dont think there is anything to be gained by sitting in the cheap seats and threatening to fire the coach.. it just gives talking heads like Cornes oxygen.
I respect loyalty a lot more than dummy splits.

but we can always hope
When you set your expectations this low, it is inevitable that you'll be happy regardless of how things turn out.

Interesting strategy.

I have a mate who laughed when i read some of the comments about Longmuir. He said he felt the same at the end of the 2016 season about Dimmer. The Tigers finished 13th. Dimmer had been there for 7 years. Everyone was calling for his head but the players were with him and the club stuck by him..

sometimes its about the coach growing and sometimes its the coach and the team growing. I saw heaps of growth and development both individually and as a team. The connections between players were stronger and overall it was a positive year (except for the last 3 matches). I dont think there is anything to be gained by sitting in the cheap seats and threatening to fire the coach.. it just gives talking heads like Cornes oxygen.
I respect loyalty a lot more than dummy splits.
Probably worth remembering that last off-season was the first in some time that we didn't lose a B22 player to a trade request.

The noise coming out of the club all points to the sort of culture that offers the foundation for success. Even the tidbits we get from pundits like Hamish Brayshaw supports that.

How we deal with JL will all depend on results. If we have another stinker then I'm sure he'll get the chop. Personally I think I saw enough from him last year to believe that he can have our boys playing some really excellent footy - he's certainly not limiting them. I also think many of our challenges last year stemmed from on-field decision making and mentality. Watch our leaders (no longer young leaders) demand execution this year.

When you set your expectations this low, it is inevitable that you'll be happy regardless of how things turn out.

Interesting strategy.
better to be happy than disappointed.

could set them lower though and pick us for wooden spoon.

but i think they should not fall that low.

The new west coast will be interesting to see if we have improved.

We’re going to win one of the next three premierships. I’m historically pretty pessimistic about our fortunes, but we’re on the verge of getting it done. I have no doubt JLO will get us into finals this year. None. Only bad luck/injuries will stop is going deep. We want for almost nothing on field. The group is maturing together, both on and off field. The boys are becoming men. Adding size and strength. This group will get it done.

Meme Reaction GIF by Robert E Blackmon

better to be happy than disappointed.

could set them lower though and pick us for wooden spoon.

but i think they should not fall that low.

The new west coast will be interesting to see if we have improved.
Not sure what WC has to do with us these days.

They are so far behind in a multitude of areas they're barely sighted in our rear view mirror.

How we compare against the teams like Hawthorn, Brisbane and GWS is more relevant.

Not sure what WC has to do with us these days.

They are so far behind in a multitude of areas they're barely sighted in our rear view mirror.

How we compare against the teams like Hawthorn, Brisbane and GWS is more relevant.
Beating west coast even last year was a challenge or did you forget

Mental toughness is an issue as welll

Beating west coast even last year was a challenge or did you forget

Mental toughness is an issue as welll
In this comp, any team can essentially beat any other team on any given day, and that happened that day against WC.

I'm not here to paint rainbows on your glass half empty outlook, everyone is entitled to their perspective.

But surely, any long suffering Freo supporter would be ecstatic at the list we have developed and would be excited by the journey ahead of ourselves over the next 5-6 years.

If the current state of play doesn't put some lead in your 4B pencil, nothing will.

In this comp, any team can essentially beat any other team on any given day, and that happened that day against WC.

I'm not here to paint rainbows on your glass half empty outlook, everyone is entitled to their perspective.

But surely, any long suffering Freo supporter would be ecstatic at the list we have developed and would be excited by the journey ahead of ourselves over the next 5-6 years.

If the current state of play doesn't put some lead in your 4B pencil, nothing will.
Any long sufferinf Freo supported (3 decades) who doesnt do STATS and Check weights and heights and running speed etc etc. just your normal everyday fan who just cheers the team and hopes they win. will think we have had many great teams since 1995. but i will leave the decision of best ever team to the EXPERTS. So far we had one GF appearance and one Minor premiership . That by my definition is the hallmark of a great team. So those were the greatest Fremantle ever had.

So due to past experience of not winning when the club tells us we have recruited / developed our best team then we get to have less expectations and just more hope

rememember a glass is half full it is is filling, or half empty if it is being emptied. So the truth of the level in the glass has less to do with Optimism or Pessimissim. but more to do with PErcerption of which way the glass level is going. UP or DOWN

As we didnt reach finals last year but did the previous year, then by definition the GLASS is HALF EMPTY.
If we win a final this year our Glass will be Half full. But it wont be empty until we win wooden spoon and wont be full until we win the FLAG.

West coast threw their very best at us. It was their best effort all season. We won by 6 goals in the end due to not giving up.
Round 6 We lost 68 to their 105

That is why WC matters.

they have recruited well. So we will see if we have improved or not .

If we that much better than them. we win by 100 pts. PLUS
if we more even then perhaps 5-6 goals.

A loss shows we have not moved on

Coach Justin Longmuir Pt 2