jonty12

May 23, 2002
Chelsea FC
Now we're talking - that's where the money is, maybe we can be sponsored by Warner Brothers or Fox Studios in Hollywood! The Harry Potter Kangaroos!

LA next stop for game

15 June 2005 Herald Sun
Damian Barrett
A MATCH scheduled to be played in Los Angeles early next year may become the second international game of the official 2006 pre-season competition.

The Kangaroos are pushing to play the match, tentatively booked for January 22, against the Sydney Swans at University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA).

LA-based businessman Alan Johnson, a former North Melbourne director, will underwrite part of the venture and will meet with Roos and AFL officials during the next week.

Johnson, who runs the Ramada Plaza Hotel in West Hollywood, wants the game to be a feature of next year's Australia Week festivities in Los Angeles.

It is understood Qantas is considering official involvement in the AFL match, with other private enterprises expected to cover most of the competing clubs' costs.

Essendon coach Kevin Sheedy was impressed with the UCLA facilities when he inspected them last year. The Swans would prefer to play Essendon in the match, but Johnson says a Kangaroos-Sydney Swans match is the best-fit for the LA market.

The Kangaroos will ask the AFL to give the game official pre-season competition status.

The AFL has already provisionally scheduled an official 2006 pre-season match in Dubai, between Collingwood and Adelaide.

It will not decide whether to raise the status of the Los Angeles game from exhibition to official until next month.

Some of the project's logistics, including costs associated with broadcasting it back to Australia and the January 22 scheduling, may prove difficult to overcome.

Next year's official pre-season competition will begin in late February.

AFL football projects officer Dean Moore inspected the UCLA facilities this year.

An exhibition AFL match will be played between West Coast and Fremantle at The Oval in London in October.

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,15619512%5E19768,00.html

GoNorth said:
The Swans would prefer to play Essendon in the match, but Johnson says a Kangaroos-Sydney Swans match is the best-fit for the LA market.

Why???????? :mad:
Because Essendon are ********.

They don't want to look bad. ;).

GoNorth said:
The Swans would prefer to play Essendon in the match, but Johnson says a Kangaroos-Sydney Swans match is the best-fit for the LA market.

Kangaroos and Sydney are about the only 2 things Yanks know about Australia.

Besides that, Bombers is not the best name to attract Yanks, they might see them as a terrorist threat.

mav said:
Kangaroos and Sydney are about the only 2 things Yanks know about Australia.

Besides that, Bombers is not the best name to attract Yanks, they might see them as a terrorist threat.

Spot on - very good comment ;)

Also each year in mid January, they have G'day LA week celebrating all things Australian. I happened to be there this year at that time and didn't notice anything 'Aussie' happening.

I am sure a team called the Kangaroos would be a fairly good drawcard though.

This will be the third year running that AJ has tried to get this thing up and running. I love the idea of it being a fully sanctioned NAB pre season game and hope this time it gets up.

The Swans deserve a belting for what they've said about preferring the Bummers............especially, like always, it was and IS our idea, not theirs......F'WITS!

T'toes

Mr Reliable said:
Devil Fish has a photo of Andrew Demetriou discussing the Roos with some LA locals. Can you post it here DF?
Mr Reliable, it was me who initially posted the pic. Here it is mate.

Rico-Suave_1.jpg

Mr Reliable said:
Devil Fish has a photo of Andrew Demetriou discussing the Roos with some LA locals. Can you post it here DF?

As Zondor pointed out Mr Reliable, it was he who posted the photo. I think you may have associated me with the photo simply because I appreciate fashion when I see it. There's no doubting the AFL gravy train. Zondor, that photo is Universe Class!
You don't have a rear shot do you Zondor? I'm intrigued.

Devil Fish said:
As Zondor pointed out Mr Reliable, it was he who posted the photo. I think you may have associated me with the photo simply because I appreciate fashion when I see it. There's no doubting the AFL gravy train. Zondor, that photo is Universe Class!
You don't have a rear shot do you Zondor? I'm intrigued.
Yep, watt the hell is Andy thinking?

Hell_Naw.jpg

Devil Fish said:
Yeah, that's made my day Zondor. Kapil would need a pair of pliers to rid himself of that wedgey. I have it on good authority that it's Mike Sheahan under the umbrella in `drag'.

Mike's not a bad "looker" ;). He must wear those glasses as a disguise, like Superman.

GoNorth said:

If the bloody Swan would prefer to play Essendon, then they had better find an underwriter for the game, as Johnson is a former North Melbourne Director and still has ties with North.

Michele said:
If the bloody Swan would prefer to play Essendon, then they had better find an underwriter for the game, as Johnson is a former North Melbourne Director and still has ties with North.
How about the AFL? They have been underwriting Sydney ever since South moved North of the border.

Kangaroos wanting to play in Los Angeles