Kdfl - 2009

I have heard on the grapevine he has had a boom year. Getting in the best nearly every week, and kicking close to 70 goals, is that right?

Nick's been in stellar form up forward and he probably could've reached the 70 goal milestone this Saturday but he has unselfishly put his hand up for a spot in the back line to make way for one our regluar backmen to move up forward in a repeat of a pivotal move that was made when we played Girgarre.......;)

I hear Wazza was a bit disappointed with Jackie's choice of husband after he saw him play footy for the first time, doesn't display that Ross hardness that is so famous up Violet Town way.

I noticed that Tim has been in the best 12 times in 17 games this year. He must be having a good year.

That would means the big man James will come back to stanny????

our mob (Broadford) played Kilmore two weeks ago and a couple of their executive members believe they're a big big chance of getting Aaron to play for them in 2010 . . . or so they told us.

Alot of their player are confident is gaining his services. Doesnt want to travel anymore.

How are things going at Ardmona?

With Perry coaching the Swans in 2010, Mark Young & Cosi Cirillo having a run there over the last few weeks... on top of the players that left at the start of this season, no thirds.

What does the future hold for this unique club?

Mooroopna have lots of junior sides in the Shepp comp.

Ardmona could get a little more inventive, Lancaster did a few years back with the Kyabram Bombers and Kyabram Wombats thing.

Ardmona as a club could build stronger ties with the Mooroopna town and I would go as far as saying they become a partner of the Mooroopna FC, playing all their games using the Mooroopna facilities (obviously the KD & GV draws would have to mesh), as they tried in 2008. The clubs (Mooroopna & Ardmona) could work together across the three competitions

This could help create a real flow on for the Mooroopna Juniors, Ardmona FC and Mooroopna FC. They all wear Cats jumpers and are all representing the same area.

What could be the possible issues?

On the subject of Mooroopna, how long is the league going to persist with the Grand Final in Mooroopna experiment?

I was just exploring the league website and found something interesting. In 2006, the KDFL Grand Final was held at Murchison, and 2,366 rocked up. In 2007 it was held at Mooroopna, and 2,681 people turned out.

The Mooroopna surface isn’t that great, there wasn’t any jump in the number of people attending, why don’t the KDFL just keep the GF within the league rather than providing Mooroopna FC with one of their best fundraisers each year?

There's not many Grand Final quality ovals in the league. I know it's a biased opinion, but Murch has a beautiful oval, as I'm sure quite a few would agree. One of the problems I see is if Murch make the finals you can't really use the ground then, due to the home ground advantage.

On the subject of Mooroopna, how long is the league going to persist with the Grand Final in Mooroopna experiment?

I was just exploring the league website and found something interesting. In 2006, the KDFL Grand Final was held at Murchison, and 2,366 rocked up. In 2007 it was held at Mooroopna, and 2,681 people turned out.

The Mooroopna surface isn’t that great, there wasn’t any jump in the number of people attending, why don’t the KDFL just keep the GF within the league rather than providing Mooroopna FC with one of their best fundraisers each year?

That attendance for the 2007 final in Mooroopna sounds very short of what was actually there on the day, it was definitely more like 5,000.

There's not many Grand Final quality ovals in the league. I know it's a biased opinion, but Murch has a beautiful oval, as I'm sure quite a few would agree. One of the problems I see is if Murch make the finals you can't really use the ground then, due to the home ground advantage.

Haven't seen Tally's ground for a couple of years but it was as good as I've seen in the district at that stage and the new rooms as well, not far out of Shepp either so the location would be similar to Mooroopna for the supposed extra crowd numbers.

I would feel a little disadvantaged if I were the team with the away rooms on grand final day at Murch. I'm not sure what the home rooms are like but the away rooms are tiny and in need of a definite up grade in my opinion.
The best facilities by far in the our league would have to be Tally's. The rooms are spacious and the ground has been in superb condition every time i've been there. I reckon they leave the rest of us for dead in that respect including Murch's ground (which i've never thought to be outstanding, rather just another stock standard KDFL ground)

I am with you on this one mate, Murch is by far the best ground in the comp, the only thing that lets them down is there rooms. If they could work the rooms out the KDFL should lock into a 10 year contract to play the grand final at Murch. It happens in the HDFL i think, Colbo had the grand final for years, each club were given jobs to do on the day and the coin was split. As for the home ground advantage i am not sure that it would get you over the line on the last day in September but if Murch were good enough to make the grand final in the years that it was contracted to there ground then so be it

Haha don't worry Bodzy, the home rooms are just as bad as the away rooms at Murch. I'm all for an upgrade, which I hope to see one day. As for Tally, the rooms are good, but I see the ground at Murch being better (probably just my biased eyes). I'd rather see a GF at Tally than Mooroopna though. It's a KDFL Grand Final, so play it on a KDFL ground.

I would feel a little disadvantaged if I were the team with the away rooms on grand final day at Murch. I'm not sure what the home rooms are like but the away rooms are tiny and in need of a definite up grade in my opinion.
The best facilities by far in the our league would have to be Tally's. The rooms are spacious and the ground has been in superb condition every time i've been there. I reckon they leave the rest of us for dead in that respect including Murch's ground (which i've never thought to be outstanding, rather just another stock standard KDFL ground)

Home rooms are pretty much the same Bodzy, not sure if there is a trainers room in the away rooms though? I don't think they would hold a full GF crowd plus players very well? While there is a lot of character in the Murch rooms, there isn't the quality that you'd expect come GF day.
Having played at both Tally and Murch (currently), i'd say that Tally has much better facility's than Murch and the ground, when right, is much better also. Last year the Tally ground looked ordinary but the finals of 2007 it looked like the MCG. Murch is a good sized ground, and good to play on...I wouldn't say it was a stock standard KDL ground but I wouldn't rate it with Tally either.
The Merrigum ground is always a good one to play on also, other than that, most of them are ordinary.

Murch and Tally are both standout grounds and would be in many comps. Murch stands up particularly well to wear and tear and has an even surface. As for 5000 at the GF at Mooroopna, were you counting heads or bodies???:p Mooroopna doesn't have much room around the boundary making a smattering of people look like a big crowd. The only bad thing about the Tally ground come finals is that their septic tank in never big enough!!!:eek:

That attendance for the 2007 final in Mooroopna sounds very short of what was actually there on the day, it was definitely more like 5,000.

Where were they ?, because they weren't at the ground because out of all the finals that I've been to at Mooroopna, they have only got marginally more people than when Undera, Murchison, Stanhope & Lancaster held the Grand Final.

But, I can't blame Mooroopna for wanting to take the KDFL to the cleaners, because they need to look at ways raise money, even if it's virtually taking the bread from the mouths of the likes of Murchison, Lancaster, Stanhope & Undera.

And what's the most galling about this is that our league allowed them to do this, men who have worked hard to make this league strong (both within their own clubs and the league), have resorted to selling the family silver (our Grand Final), for the benefit of standing at the Cricket Club Pavilion, and to give a pittance for the 12 clubs.

I've always been of the opinion that in order to be the best, you have to study the best and improve on what they do (Like the Japanese and their car industry, who initially copied the British & the French), and the question has to be asked, Do the best run country leagues give away their Grand Finals to already wealthy Major League clubs ?.

I am with you on this one mate, Murch is by far the best ground in the comp, the only thing that lets them down is there rooms. If they could work the rooms out the KDFL should lock into a 10 year contract to play the grand final at Murch. It happens in the HDFL i think, Colbo had the grand final for years, each club were given jobs to do on the day and the coin was split. As for the home ground advantage i am not sure that it would get you over the line on the last day in September but if Murch were good enough to make the grand final in the years that it was contracted to there ground then so be it

You're right qwerty, the quality our rooms doesn't match the quality of our ground, and although I'm reluctant to make excuses, sadly when you're on the arse end of Local, State & Federal Government seats & plus not having the inside running with the machinations of decision making , Murchison as a town is at a big disadvantage when it comes to government assistance (something that Tally had in it's favour).

We do have plans drawn up to extend the rooms out towards the Netball Courts (which will have more showers, seperate toilets & urinals for both the home team and the visitors, Trainers rooms for both sides and more room for the players), but I don't think that this will come to pass for quite some time yet.

Your suggestion about the Grand Final has some merit (the Picola League do the same thing in regards to Catering, etc.), but I still would still share it around like before (which is what the PDFL do) to make it fairer.

And even a plan to host the Grand Final at Mooroopna, but they only get a % of the gate and the KDFL clubs gets the catering, raffles & can bar (this should be given to those clubs who had a poor year in the Seniors, like Girgarre, Ardmona & Avenel), would be better than what is the case now, but only marginally so.

Anyway, I hope that this exercise in taking from the poor and giving to the rich ends ASAP.

Mooroopna have lots of junior sides in the Shepp comp.

Ardmona could get a little more inventive, Lancaster did a few years back with the Kyabram Bombers and Kyabram Wombats thing.

Ardmona as a club could build stronger ties with the Mooroopna town and I would go as far as saying they become a partner of the Mooroopna FC, playing all their games using the Mooroopna facilities (obviously the KD & GV draws would have to mesh), as they tried in 2008. The clubs (Mooroopna & Ardmona) could work together across the three competitions

This could help create a real flow on for the Mooroopna Juniors, Ardmona FC and Mooroopna FC. They all wear Cats jumpers and are all representing the same area.

What could be the possible issues?

When Ardmona played games at Mooroopna last year, I believe that they didn't get all of the catering & Bar Sales, and I think that they were paying rent to Mooroopna to play there (Can anyone from Ardy confirm this ?), if they could get a better deal out of playing at Mooroopna they should consider doing this again 2-3 games a year.

Firstly, Juniors (for both Football & Netball), should be their 1st priority (as it should be for all clubs), and then form links with Mooroopna FNC & JFC with joint training nights & junior events.

And lastly, they need to copy what Lancaster has done and provide a professional, family friendly environment with a strong culture & values (and that starts with the top down, and spreads throughout).

I hope that they do field an Under 18's side, and more Netball teams because it's a pretty lousy day when you have heaps of people missing out on games because of a lack of sides.

Any tips for the medal
D.Freeman from murch for the macca medal
S.LaPorter goal kicking
Undera for the flag........