Premiers: Nagambie
R/up: Undera
Smokey: Lancaster (it's a 3 horse race)
Medal: Scott Paulke
R/up: Ben Stoertebaker
Goals: Patty Rattray
R/UP: Troy Mitchell
Rookie: Brenton Campbell
R/up: Anthony Haysom (does he still qualify?)
Spoon: Girgarre
Headline of the year: Aaron James to North Bendigo, back again? No
Biggest disappointment: Stanhope
Biggest surprise: Murchison
All Star side:

Did something like this earlier this year....maybe time for an update:

Premiers: Undera
R/up:Nagambie
Smokey: Murchison (I know I'm biased, but :eek:)
Medal:paul Burnett (Lancaster)
R/up: Daniel Freeman (Murchison)
Goals: Troy Mitchell (Lancaster)
R/UP: Pat Rattray (Nagambie)
Rookie: Brenton Campbell (Undera)
R/up: Tom Kerrins (Murchison)
Spoon:Girgarre
Headline of the year:Undera Premiers & Champions
Biggest disappointment: Stanhope (But, they are rebuilding so they will challenge next year)
Biggest surprise:Murchison & Merrigum's resurgence
All Star side:

Good luck...

And that is that

Yes, Nagambie did it in 2000 I believe.

C'mon Skut17, Stanhope won it in 2000. Nagambie won it in 1998 & 99.
Believe the premiers & champions tag is for a side going through the season undefeated so a draw would still mean you were undefeated, just my opinion though.

C'mon Skut17, Stanhope won it in 2000. Nagambie won it in 1998 & 99.
Believe the premiers & champions tag is for a side going through the season undefeated so a draw would still mean you were undefeated, just my opinion though.

Yeah sorry mate. I knew I would stuff up the Year. I heard someone ask the other day & I heard Junior mention it. 99 or 98 u are right. They drew with the Mainland.

Match report for VT vs. Murch:

Very even 1st half both sides went goal for goal. Bradley made some very good leads with his pace out of full forward. Murch blew us away in the 3rd quarter using the wind to kick 4 goals to zip. Corrigan kicked 2 handy goals through sneaking away from the contest and murch winning the ball to find him on his own within strikin' range.
The last quater we had the wind and used it well more than doubling our 3 quarter time score for the 2nd week in a row, but to Murch's credit they always had an answer and dug deep to kick 5 goals themselves and hold on to a 15pt lead.
I thought Trapani was a clear best on ground and should've got the 3 votes off the umps, he smashed us from start to finish.

Premiers: Nagambie by 5 goals
R/up: Undera
Smokey: Lancy (can’t see any of the rest of us getting near the top 3)
Medal: Andrew Clarke (Rushy, he is a very underated player)
R/up: Brett Scarcella (Merrigum)
Goals: Mitchell
R/UP: Rattray
Rookie: Cullum (Tally)
R/up: Zoch (Avenel)
Spoon: Gig
Headline of the year: Stanhope miss finals action with disappointing 2nd half of season
Biggest disappointment: Ardmona losing their pride ‘n’ joy (PEZ)
Biggest surprise: VT ‘n’ Merrigum play off in elimination final

Medal: Andrew Clarke (Rushy, he is a very underated player)

Would agree with you there, but he didn't play early in the year and was out last week, and the next two as well. Wouldn't think he'd get it this year, maybe if he played all year though and add to his two inch medals.

biggest waste of talent from what i have seen
could have went any where

Was talking to a Stanhope player the other day(cant remember the name) and we were talking about the year they have had so far and whether it was expected and it lead to an interesting fact which i wasnt aware of. He made mention that there has been roughly around 20 players aged 20 and under that have played senior football in 2009 so far. Fairly interesting to see all these kids getting blooded as if to seem as they are rebuilding and yet they are still in the top five

What are everyone’s opinions on Longwood coming into The KDFL, they’ve been on the end of 45-goal hidings in the Benalla DFL, how could they possibly cut it in the KDFL? Are the VCFL making sacrificial lambs of them?

Yeh no good, Got nothing against Longwood and i'd love it if they could get enough players for 3 teams and enough quality on the field to match it with the bottom half of teams in the KDFL, but i just can't see that happening. Especially when you take into account that VT, Euroa and Avenel all nearby towns don't exactly have huge numbers floating around for all 3 grades of footy and aren't dominating in any grade either.....

On the Country Footy Show with Pickers and Frawley last Thursday night after the Footy Show one segment showed a letter sent in from a disgruntled member of the Benalla and District League bagging out the 4 VCFL reps conducting the league review. Apparently the 4 reps had said that so far they believe from what they've seen that not only will the league fold but none of its 5 teams are capable of joining another nearby league. It was also stated that the first part of the review is still yet to be completed......

Yeh no good, Got nothing against Longwood and i'd love it if they could get enough players for 3 teams and enough quality on the field to match it with the bottom half of teams in the KDFL, but i just can't see that happening. Especially when you take into account that VT, Euroa and Avenel all nearby towns don't exactly have huge numbers floating around for all 3 grades of footy and aren't dominating in any grade either.....

On the Country Footy Show with Pickers and Frawley last Thursday night after the Footy Show one segment showed a letter sent in from a disgruntled member of the Benalla and District League bagging out the 4 VCFL reps conducting the league review. Apparently the 4 reps had said that so far they believe from what they've seen that not only will the league fold but none of its 5 teams are capable of joining another nearby league. It was also stated that the first part of the review is still yet to be completed......
Yeah, the thing I'm trying to get my head around is why the VCFL doesn't just leave the Benalla league alone, and let them keep keeping on. The small clubs in the BDFL are always going to struggle to make the transition to bigger leagues. From what I've seen of the Longwood scores lately, their inclusion in the KDL would be akin to sending Girgarre into the GV. Although I would love to see how Girgarre would fare against Rochester... :rolleyes:

The other thing I wonder is, how long will it be until Longwood and co. realise they're out of their depth and have to fold or merge with another club? I can't imagine any of Violet Town, Nagambie or Avenel would be stoked with this prospect...

Interesting subject there. Would be a good morale booster for some of the clubs closer to the bottom of the ladder, but for the good of the KDFL altogether, maybe it's not such a good idea. It doesn't look good in my opinion when the top 3-5 teams slaughter almost everyone else in the league, and this would just be adding more fodder for the top teams to demolish. I'm all for adding some more teams to the KDFL, but maybe teams a little more accomplished.

My two cents anyway...

Yeah, the thing I'm trying to get my head around is why the VCFL doesn't just leave the Benalla league alone, and let them keep keeping on. The small clubs in the BDFL are always going to struggle to make the transition to bigger leagues. From what I've seen of the Longwood scores lately, their inclusion in the KDL would be akin to sending Girgarre into the GV. Although I would love to see how Girgarre would fare against Rochester... :rolleyes:

The other thing I wonder is, how long will it be until Longwood and co. realise they're out of their depth and have to fold or merge with another club? I can't imagine any of Violet Town, Nagambie or Avenel would be stoked with this prospect...

I think you hit the nail on the head with the first sentence.

The B&D has served football communities for a lot of years and would probably keep doing the same if left alone.

Clubs have come and gone over the years and even though this year the league is probably at it's lowest ebb, if given backing by the VCFL, I am sure they can bounce back.

Dividing the Picola league into two divisions seems to have worked ok, so to increase the discussion, why not absorb most of the BFL clubs and look at doing something similar with the KDL.

East - Tatong, Swanpool, Goorambat, Longwood, Murchison, Nagambie, Avenal, Violet Town.

West - Ardmona, Tally, Lancaster, Merrigum, Girgarre, Stanhope, Rushworth, Undera

Two divisions of eight teams.

As for the BDL clubs not having thirds, the day is coming when the KDL wont have them either.

Dividing the Picola league into two divisions seems to have worked ok, so to increase the discussion, why not absorb most of the BFL clubs and look at doing something similar with the KDL.

East - Tatong, Swanpool, Goorambat, Longwood, Murchison, Nagambie, Avenal, Violet Town.

West - Ardmona, Tally, Lancaster, Merrigum, Girgarre, Stanhope, Rushworth, Undera

Two divisions of eight teams.

As for the BDL clubs not having thirds, the day is coming when the KDL wont have them either.

Very unfortunate statement, but it seems to be heading that way....

As for the east and west division the numbers are nice and the travel times would be very ideal from a VT perspective, however their is still a huge difference in the bottom half teams of kdfl and the bdfl top teams. And Tatong will be lucky to push on next year at all in my opinion.
I reckon just leave it how it is....

Very unfortunate statement, but it seems to be heading that way....

As for the east and west division the numbers are nice and the travel times would be very ideal from a VT perspective, however their is still a huge difference in the bottom half teams of kdfl and the bdfl top teams. And Tatong will be lucky to push on next year at all in my opinion.
I reckon just leave it how it is....

Are clubs doing enough to try and sustain thirds teams or do some clubs not care at all? I know at Murch the thirds struggled for numbers a bit last year but this year we've had full sides to pick from each game and a lot of "under age" kids that will be around next year, which makes me think that we're on the up in the thirds comp....where are other clubs situated? Would be unfortunate if we were to be headed for no thirds...how would we get talented local kids to our clubs?