KDFL - 2010

I think there's always a few iffy ones. Undera round 1 win by 20 goals and a longwood bloke gets 2 votes. The first time we played Avenel, we won by 11 goals and young Duncan got 3 votes.... go figure??

Bodzy, I believe in that game (round 1) Brendan Hamill was awarded the 2 votes, correct me if I am wrong, I wasn't in attendance on the night. Brendan is Longwoods most courageous player by a mile, head over the footy, backs back/ flys back into packs and takes marks, real courageous stuff, and in round one was certainly doing his bit. Regardless if one side is belted by 20-30 goals as in Longwoods case for the majority, if their best player from the losing side continually beats his opponent and contributes well to the team then surely must be included in the votes if his contributioin is equal to or greater than the winning teams best 3 players.

Also from an umpiring view, which I have been whilst sidelined with injuries, each quarter the umpires get together and discuss the better players, in order to make a sound call on the best and fairest at the end of the game.

Longwood this year had 4x 5,4,3,2,1 vote cards for the home and away for those interested as in previous posts. Generally the non playing assistant coach did one and 3 others were chosen on the day.

So it was quite an extradorniary yday. Nagambie held sway for most of the match even leading by about 5 goals half way through the last qtr yet Undera somehow started to wrestle back the match and started playing it on there terms and with a minute or 2 pulled within 2 points, real spine tingling viewing. Fortunatley for the Naggers against all run of play Woods snagged one from the boundary to seal a well deserved win.

I've seen Naggers 3 or 4 times this season and yday was the best they had played all year, there defence was dominate for most part and they controlled the game through the midfield. I think they have peaked at the right time! I also thought Undera played a great match, when they move the ball quickly there almost unstopable but they just couldn't get any fluid play through the midfield to there forwards until really the last qtr.

Naggers on yday performance I believe will knock of Lancy next week and go straight in. As for Undera it's a huge mountain to climb, can't see them winning it from here but you never know.

Off to watch the VT and Mainland match, should be a cracker. With Gleeson and co in I can see the Towners running over the top of Stanhope.

Yes Sparra it was a good solid win, extended our lead each 1/4, did let VT back in it late in the 1st after a blistering start, but after 5mins into the 2nd 1/4 always seemed to be in control.
Was a top game of football on Saturday, Nagambie looked extremely good, Undera never gave in and could have pinched it in the last but Nagambie did look the better side all day. LaPorta was well held and young Sanderson played a great attacking role on Godsmark at CHB, kicked 2 himself and kept Godsmark to none.
Poor old Nagambie now have to front up to Lancy @ Lancy now after playing Undera @ Undera, ordinary from the league, Senior Finals should be at Neutral venues!. On Saturdays form would expect Nagambie to take care of Lancy though, I am sure the 2 weeks off will have freshened there older brigade and if its close going into the last it may be what gets them over the line with Nagambie playing in two tight contests in a bog at Undera. Nagambie's young stars may be the difference.
We take on Undera after they have come off two tight losses so hopefully we can turn around our H&A form against them and get over the line @ Mooroopna on Sunday and finish their season off with 3 straight losses. (After I annointed them the team to beat three weeks ago!)

I was speaking to one of the Undera players after the match and he said that Spiro Vourgaslis (Spelling?) wouldn't be fronting up for Undera this week due to soccer commitments on Sunday. If that's correct, that is a massive out for Undera given he's arguably one of their most dangerous players.

Yes Sparra it was a good solid win, extended our lead each 1/4, did let VT back in it late in the 1st after a blistering start, but after 5mins into the 2nd 1/4 always seemed to be in control.
Was a top game of football on Saturday, Nagambie looked extremely good, Undera never gave in and could have pinched it in the last but Nagambie did look the better side all day. LaPorta was well held and young Sanderson played a great attacking role on Godsmark at CHB, kicked 2 himself and kept Godsmark to none.
Poor old Nagambie now have to front up to Lancy @ Lancy now after playing Undera @ Undera, ordinary from the league, Senior Finals should be at Neutral venues!. On Saturdays form would expect Nagambie to take care of Lancy though, I am sure the 2 weeks off will have freshened there older brigade and if its close going into the last it may be what gets them over the line with Nagambie playing in two tight contests in a bog at Undera. Nagambie's young stars may be the difference.
We take on Undera after they have come off two tight losses so hopefully we can turn around our H&A form against them and get over the line @ Mooroopna on Sunday and finish their season off with 3 straight losses. (After I annointed them the team to beat three weeks ago!)

the Nagambie ground was an absolute bloody disgrace.

I meant to say to Chitta at half time when I was having a few free frothies, with Fritz mind you, why didn't they move the game to Murch or Avenel and give Nagambie a final next year. Even if for health reasons as the whole bloody ground stunk and it did have a type of mould sitting on top. I hope the poor bugger that had the bone in his hand protruding doesn't get an infection.

Yeah congrats Harro, better team won on the day and by a fair whack! You guys blew our heads off in the first five minutes of the match. Stanhope players were everywhere and none of your players started where we thought they would (which is funny, because we had a player go and take notes at your Tally game and we watched our last game against you guys on video on Saturday).
We were rattled and we weren't accountable. After the first five minutes the lead only extended by 10pts by the final siren but as you said from halfway through the 2nd you never lost control.
I thought Robbie Montgomery was clearly our best and I thought his direct opponent (R. Patten) was clearly your best. Gibbs was doing really well until he broke a bone through his skin in a finger. No. 9 seemed to always be on his own for you guys and No. 20 took some rippa contested grabs in the forward line. No. 5 the bald fella at CHB was a general down there and held up the fort on numerous ocassions. You guys as a team opened up the centre corridor time and time again and were able to hurt us every time. I wouldn't be surprised if you get over the line this week at all.

I watched the Nagambie vs Undera game. Thought Josh Sanderson had a field day on Godsmark especially in the first half (a fair effort!). Simon Potts and Ant Haysom were good across the middle and Brian Morris did all the damage up forward. I reckon the scoreline was probably flattering at the end of the match to Undera, but it just goes to show you're never out of it. They stayed positive and rolled the dice in the last and nearly pulled it off with the 'Big Show' and Breeny sitting in the forward 50. Choppa and Downey were probably Undera's best on the day. A few of the bigger names were a little quieter than what I expected. Will be a huge contest between Undera and Stanhope this week.

I reckon Nagambie will beat Lanky and I can't pick a winner out of Stanhope and Undera.

Avenel best and fairest count:

1) Nick Goodwin 57 votes
2) Paul Arandt 39 votes
3) Matt Coomans 34 votes

Avenel have 3 cards of 3-2-1.

Just wondering where this weekends finals are played and what days? Also which teams play where?

Lancaster v Nagambie @ Lancaster Saturday

Undera v Stanhope @ Mooroopna Sunday.

Had a look at Mooroopna's ground tonight, not in bad nick, walked from the goal square to the centre wickets in thongs and didnt get any mud on my feet so that is obviously telling everyone that seen the two finals on the weekend that the ground is in much better condition than them.

Stanhope impressive on Sunday, when they have momentum they are a hard side to beat. Thought Gibbs was there best until he went down and Hank I thought you started to find some form again.

Thought that Sundays game was a cog below the Saturday match, conditions were pretty poor though so that would have a bit to do with it.

My tip for thos Saturday will be Naggers, think with the hard 2 weeks they have had will hold them in good stead facing a Lancy team that hasn't be challenged in a while. As long as Rattray and Morris continue to be dangerous I think they will get the chocolates.

On Sunday I think Undera will have to much fire power up forward for Stanhope. Laporta is due for a bag and on the big open space at Mooroopna that could spell danger for the mainland.

Naggers by 10 points
Undera by 25 points

Lancaster v Nagambie @ Lancaster Saturday

Undera v Stanhope @ Mooroopna Sunday.

Had a look at Mooroopna's ground tonight, not in bad nick, walked from the goal square to the centre wickets in thongs and didnt get any mud on my feet so that is obviously telling everyone that seen the two finals on the weekend that the ground is in much better condition than them.

Big day at the office today I take it Hank!!

Apparently there's gonna be a good inch of rain this Friday and a little bit less on the Saturday, have to get some modified gumboots with stops screwed into them if these grounds get any muddier, lucky your not playing Mainland or we'd have tether you so we wouldn'd loose ya in the bog there Midgit, hopefully Mooroopna has got good drainage and the Lanky ground as well.

Excellent week of KDFL footy this weekend, all 4 sides IMO would be as competitive as Shepp Bears and Benalla if not more so in the GV.

Naggers vs Lancy:

key here is can Lancy get enough clean footy to Casey to kick enough goals to win the game. Both Casey and Busch need to be in top form and make the most of there chances, I don't think the Lancy fwd line is as dangerous or heavy scoring as Underas and the Naggers made life almost impossible for the Lions. If Lancy are allowed to run and create through the midfield they will win, if the Naggers play as they did against Undera on Saturday and limit the effectiveness of Lancys good Mids it will be tough for them. I think Naggers will win, playing great footy.

Undera vs Stanhope:

Can the mainland kick more goals than Undera? That's were my doubt sits with them. Midfield they break even if not shade the Lions, Gray is all class and Hank us finding form but with Gibbs going down it's going to weaken there back half. Undera can be a dynamic team in the forward 50 and I just can't see Laporta being held again. Undera will kick more goals but if it's a bog heap it's a toss of a coin.

What are thoughts of all supporters and players for this weekends matches?

Excellent week of KDFL footy this weekend, all 4 sides IMO would be as competitive as Shepp Bears and Benalla if not more so in the GV.

Naggers vs Lancy:

key here is can Lancy get enough clean footy to Casey to kick enough goals to win the game. Both Casey and Busch need to be in top form and make the most of there chances, I don't think the Lancy fwd line is as dangerous or heavy scoring as Underas and the Naggers made life almost impossible for the Lions. If Lancy are allowed to run and create through the midfield they will win, if the Naggers play as they did against Undera on Saturday and limit the effectiveness of Lancys good Mids it will be tough for them. I think Naggers will win, playing great footy.

Undera vs Stanhope:

Can the mainland kick more goals than Undera? That's were my doubt sits with them. Midfield they break even if not shade the Lions, Gray is all class and Hank us finding form but with Gibbs going down it's going to weaken there back half. Undera can be a dynamic team in the forward 50 and I just can't see Laporta being held again. Undera will kick more goals but if it's a bog heap it's a toss of a coin.

What are thoughts of all supporters and players for this weekends matches?[/QUOTE]

I don't care anymore:(

the Nagambie ground was an absolute bloody disgrace.

I meant to say to Chitta at half time when I was having a few free frothies, with Fritz mind you, why didn't they move the game to Murch or Avenel and give Nagambie a final next year. Even if for health reasons as the whole bloody ground stunk and it did have a type of mould sitting on top. I hope the poor bugger that had the bone in his hand protruding doesn't get an infection.

There was a rumour that Nagambie wanted the game moved so they could rest the ground for their three teams for the finals (considering that they have been off it training wise for a while) and they offered it to Avenel, but they declined.

Really, the league should've done what they did for Ardmona (moved to Mooroopna with them running it) and have the game moved to Murchison and the hosting club (Nagambie) still gets to run the bar/canteen/BBQ etc.

Although the Ardmona game was moved because of the netball courts (and Murchison's courts would struggle to pass muster regardless of the ground), surely the precedent has been set and this would've been a better option.

Saturday seemed like it was a solid finals game with both sides playing well, and I'm looking forward to see how Nagambie fare against Lanky Saturday (I think Lanky with the fresher legs, solid defense & talented mid-field should get up at home).

Stanhope could be a dark horse in the twos after most people thinking it would be Undera's to lose, and have a good chance to knock them over.

The 3rds, Stanhope look like being the main contender for Murchison after knocking off Tally (Tally should beat Avenel at Mooroopna due to their pace) , but I think it will be a close game and it will go down to who will be able to bite their tongue the most and I think that Murchison should progress to the Grand Final as they have been the best team all season and have the talent to win it all.

Undera after just missing out against Stanhope should progress to the Preliminary Final given that they did beat them easily barely a month ago, despite Stanhope's uncanny ability to win vital games especially in finals.

Lancaster I think will knock Nagambie out in straight sets, after comparing the two sides I think that Lanky have more depth & talent despite a tough game against Murch (where Murch blew some big chances to draw level in the second half, and really let themselves down against a side that was beatable).

And Tally should beat Avenel because they've got speedier players which should be enough to overcome Avenel's height.

I know that we all thinking about the finals I would like to give my thoughts about the sides that didn't make it.

6th Murchison 9/9
A season of what if's really, after a terrible start where Murch were 0/4 and where they played poorly against sides that they should beat (Avenel away & losing to Rushworth twice), Murch proved that they could at least match up against tough opposition (beating Nagambie & getting pipped at the post by Lancaster), but really, Violet Town deserved to finish 5th even though they did finish their season badly.

But, the Under 18's & an improved 2nds team has been a blessing for the club, with a number of older age thirds kids already holding their own at senior level.

7th Tallygaroopna 8/10
Considering they had some unfortunate news before the season, and with the list they had, Tally should be pretty happy with the season, and if they can hang onto their thirds players, should be thereabouts again.

8th Girgarre 7/10/1
Well Scott Hanson & Troy Snelson should be congratulated with the job they did this season, all things aside, they have some good players in McDonald and the like, hopefully Gig can build from this and make a charge in 2011.

9th Rushworth 7/11
A big highlight for Rushy would have to be knocking off Murch twice, they do have a solid core of young players (Damon, Martin, Clarke, etc.) that should hit their peak within 2-3 years, and could be dangerous as they play a lot better at home, basically they're a bit like Melbourne.

10th Avenel 7/11
Avenel beat Murchison in Round two which was a great result for the Swans, but just like Gig & Rushy are probably 5 or so players away from climbing higher up on the ladder, but they should be able to do it sooner as their junior set-up is stronger.

11th Merrigum 3/14/1
In a word a disappointment considering that a lot of people (including me) predicted that they would be a lot more competitive this season, a low light would have to be losing to Longwood, but they did win a 2nds League B&F, but they do have a fair way to go before becoming competitive again.

12th Longwood 2/16
I thought that Longwood wouldn't have won a game all season, and they did 2 games better than I thought they would.

This was always going to be a hard year for the 'Legs, but just like J.C (no, not that J.C, but our version of J.C) said, if they can get a few more ex-players back and get a good idea of what needs to be done at KDFL level, then they should be able to make a good fist of it in 2011, and I hope that they do :thumbsu:.

13th Ardmona 1/17
Tough year for the club that seems to be lacking personnel both on and off the field, but a big positive them fielding an Under 18's side for the first time in several seasons, where they have found some handy players for the future (Andrew Ralph being the most prominent), if they can hang onto them.

Well that's it, I can't be stuffed writing a better & longer post season review, but that covers the main points O.K.

Naggers vs Lancy:

Undera vs Stanhope:

What are thoughts of all supporters and players for this weekends matches?

G'day Epee Squatter!!;)

It is all quiet on the western front!!

Is this the time when army guys in battle say ..”Just hurry up and wait”!
More news from the final four teams requested .. please.

I haven’t much to say. ‘Cept to say that the Leggers didn’t win the wooden spoon (as per Cletus Delroy. Good post cobber) – but we might use wooden chopsticks for the entrée at the Longwood Redlegs and Blue presentation night on Satd’y 11 September. Just to prove that we give a fork about our life in the KDFNL!! Good stuff.

Starts 6.30pm. $25 for meal and entry .. call Pres Shorty on 0438 528 257 to make your reservation for dinner and catering purposes.
If you want to get there a bit later it’s ten bucks for a top night dancin’ to Poddy’s disco. That’s Stuart Holmes ... the one that Lancy seconds called a cheating buzzard when he stepped in late to umpire the magoos game! The Lancy lads didn’t say that all .. but I thought I’d shite stir!

So this round of finals ..
Carrot’s Tips (with a royal phone to Cletus’ J.C!) :

Nagas go through. Nothing to do with Lancas three weeks off but Nagambie have a lot to prove after 2009. Plus they have a lot of ex Longwood players who have yet to climb the mountain!

Undera climbed that mountain last year. In 2010 they have been amazing against sides below .. but have struggled with sides equal or above. From my observations of both Clubs I think the Lions are on a roll!

Now doesn’t that tip confuse the hell out of you!!

I think Stanhope Lions will claim the bone in the den from the Undera Lions. But they will both chew the fat until the final siren!!

Cheers
John Carrot:thumbsu:

All good in the Stanhope Lions den JC, 7 sides in this week, with 4 having the opportunity to go straight into the big dance.
Senior side looking forward to taking it up to the Undera Lions on Sunday and turning the tables from the 1st Semi last year.

Hey guys is there anywhere that we can see the vote count on the internet? I couldn't find it on the website.

KDL website is hopeless, just checked the GV, Murray, Loddon Valley & Heathcote League results for today and they are all done, KDL hasnt even got the thirds results from this morning let alone the seniors. So no chance of getting the Vote Count results on there:thumbsdown:

Cheers mate. I thought it would be pretty easy to have the count on the website within a week