KDFL - 2010

Sorry about the text talk. I just beleive that girgarre have been underestimated this because of the last five years have been terrible but this year they have recruited better and more importantly the locals who once made girgarre a successful club are know returned to the club i think avenal will have there work cut out this weekend if girgarre move the ball quikly and use the pace of thier young guns.

You're obviously one of the 'young guns' from the WRFL being from Tarneit which is in the heart of the WRFL. Only if you where a regular senior footballer in one of the top 5 from the comp would you be considered a decent pick up, dont even bother mentioning the names if you where a div 2 player or one of the bottom 4 or 5. The top 2 from the KDFL would hold there own in the comp and the worst in the KDFL are alot better than the worst in the WRFL div 1, Div 2 is a disgrace.

I'll save my judgement on Girgaree until we play them but if results are to go by anything then I would doubt they would be pushing any of the top 4 or 5.

Anyhow looking forward to playing the benchmark of the league in Nagambie this weekend, have plenty of the family coming up and expect a pretty tight tussle. They are still my tip for the flag this year and will be almost impossible to beat at home this weekend, will be a great challenge.

Nice downplaying there Tige19, has Mooroopna Man had a word to you about not talking up the Undera Lions too much. Not to sure why you would tip an opposition team for the flag when your side is undefeated and destined for another finals series:confused:. As Undera are premiers and undefeated I'm pretty sure until you get beat you will still be the benchmark of the league.

Well said Hank (again) That does sound very Mohoney (ish);)

On another note:

Well done to Rusty Mac on his 500th sen/res match on the weekend:thumbsu::thumbsu:
Kicked :footy::footy::footy::footy::footy::footy::footy: goals (at 46 years old) with his 16 y.o son kicking :footy::footy::footy: - great day for him, his family and the club.
True legend of Country Footy in Australia.

Well I think TM and the boys will be the first to admit that they probably were not the best team through 09 but like Hawthorn back in 08 they played a style of footy on the day that caught Nagambie out, they are still the benchmark and consdiered by most as the best team in the comp. From a nuetrals pov I would have them as flag favs, thats what I meant when saying my tip for the flag! of course though id back us in a game, why would I bother playing otherwise.

We are going to there ground where they have been unbeatable and facing a team over recent times have been in the best in the comp, they will be super keen to get a win. The pressue to win at your home ground is always higher compared to when travelling, I know if we were facing them at home and got beat there would be doubts as to if we could knock them off at all, I'm positive that the natural thought process of footballers would have them feeling the same.

Cant wait.

On another note:

Well done to Rusty Mac on his 500th sen/res match on the weekend:thumbsu::thumbsu:
Kicked :footy::footy::footy::footy::footy::footy::footy: goals (at 46 years old) with his 16 y.o son kicking :footy::footy::footy: - great day for him, his family and the club.

No arguments from anyone in the GVL or KDL there lanky man. :thumbsu:

Well I think TM and the boys will be the first to admit that they probably were not the best team through 09 but like Hawthorn back in 08 they played a style of footy on the day that caught Nagambie out, they are still the benchmark and consdiered by most as the best team in the comp. From a nuetrals pov I would have them as flag favs, thats what I meant when saying my tip for the flag! of course though id back us in a game, why would I bother playing otherwise.

We are going to there ground where they have been unbeatable and facing a team over recent times have been in the best in the comp, they will be super keen to get a win. The pressue to win at your home ground is always higher compared to when travelling, I know if we were facing them at home and got beat there would be doubts as to if we could knock them off at all, I'm positive that the natural thought process of footballers would have them feeling the same.

Cant wait.

Sheesh!! Spoken about as straight as Nathan Buckley on the footy show in his playing days. Big Footys not a press conference champ!!

I still believe Nagambie are the bench mark this year the hurt from grand final day will hold them in good stead as the year rolls on(use it for motivation).Undera this year have played teams that in my opinion will finish from 6th to bottom depending if Stanhope recruit anyone between now and the finish line.Whereas Nagambie have played a bit of a mixed bag and rolled them all farily easily,including Lancy.So MM is pretty smart by playing it down as we are only in May and he has been around long enough to know that saying anything now can come back to bite you in the ass.

On another note:

Yes Lancy, it has been a great effort by Rusty and very well deserved for every accolade he receives.

Cant wait.

From another nuetral point of view Undera were last year and are still this year clearly the flag favourites.

Sheesh!! Spoken about as straight as Nathan Buckley on the footy show in his playing days. Big Footys not a press conference champ!!

I'm on the road and bored, at least there is some decent discussion on here today.

From another nuetral point of view Undera were last year and are still this year clearly the flag favourites.
I don't know about last year, I think most people felt that Undera were really going to have to lift a gear to match Nagambie in the Grand Final, I don't think the majority of people expected Undera to win.

This year however, I think most people would feel that Undera have definitely been the most impressive team.

So your saying going into last years grand final you thought Undera were favourites ? I can see this year where your coming from but last year hmmmm... not so sure , remembering they lost to your mob in one of the latter rounds !!! and dont under estimate the hurt of losing a GF..

You're obviously one of the 'young guns' from the WRFL being from Tarneit which is in the heart of the WRFL. Only if you where a regular senior footballer in one of the top 5 from the comp would you be considered a decent pick up, dont even bother mentioning the names if you where a div 2 player or one of the bottom 4 or 5. The top 2 from the KDFL would hold there own in the comp and the worst in the KDFL are alot better than the worst in the WRFL div 1, Div 2 is a disgrace.

I'll save my judgement on Girgaree until we play them but if results are to go by anything then I would doubt they would be pushing any of the top 4 or 5.

listen mate ive played both kdfl and wrfl mate and i agree with u kdfl is better man there is a lot of shit wrfl clubs and kdfl is more even. no im not one of the young guns from tarniet ive played 4 gig in the past and decided to come back this year and think its great no one rates us because we are happy too go about our buisiness and be quite acheivers. Big game this week for the kangas will show alot

So your saying going into last years grand final you thought Undera were favourites ? I can see this year where your coming from but last year hmmmm... not so sure , remembering they lost to your mob in one of the latter rounds !!! and dont under estimate the hurt of losing a GF..

I tipped the Undies early in the year and stuck by it, I don't know if they were favourites but I expected them to win.

And the hurt of a grand final loss only goes as far as the strength of the side you put on the ground the following year.

I'm on the road and bored, at least there is some decent discussion on here today.

Very true. I just think that it's irrelevant whatever the "favoritism" was in 2009, we we're wrong! I don't believe Undera can claim underdog status, after winning the flag and their strength so far this season. No matter who they played, they have been impressive.

They have added Kellett to an already strong foward line. Matt McDonald is a gun if they can keep him on the field. The list is stronger and fitter than in '09, and the quality of the guys in the seconds is testament to how deep Underas list goes this year. It will be a great game and I haven't seen Nagambie yet to be fair. However on the added recruits to Undera and what I have seen I think Undera will get up by 4 goals.

Very true. I just think that it's irrelevant whatever the "favoritism" was in 2009, we we're wrong! I don't believe Undera can claim underdog status, after winning the flag and their strength so far this season. No matter who they played, they have been impressive.

They have added Kellett to an already strong foward line. Matt McDonald is a gun if they can keep him on the field. The list is stronger and fitter than in '09, and the quality of the guys in the seconds is testament to how deep Underas list goes this year. It will be a great game and I haven't seen Nagambie yet to be fair. However on the added recruits to Undera and what I have seen I think Undera will get up by 4 goals.

Depth in the 2's u say Alan:confused: Wouldnt think there would be to many 2's boys pushing for a spot at Senior selection, unless there was a forced change with injuries of corse. IMO they hav a very even 2's side of quality 2's players hence y they beat us:(

I Saw Undera play the Anzac game at Taly and i didn't rate their seconds that highly, while they got up on the day i wouldn't pick them to make it as far in the finals this year. And none of the players really stood out as players that will step up and make a difference at the business end in the senior finals.

I think most clubs at local level don't have an abundance of quality players able to step up and play seniors, I do think though that the boys in the 2s for us are very capable of doing there role and contributing to the teams success. As long as the blokes promoted play there role and put there head over the footy and have a crack then that's all you can ask for and that's one thing all the boys at the club do and it's a credit to there approach to the game.

Yes for sure they are capable at playing senior football, but i was adressing the fact that I doubt they will make an impact to change the fortunes of the team in relation to Nagambie. We may be addressing different points here though.

When are the Shiels boys expected to be back playing for Nagambie?

Mick could be back as soon as next week, Jason I am not sure about but he told me last night he will be back this year. They will be a big boost to Nagambie in the 2nd half of the year.

Yes for sure they are capable at playing senior football, but i was adressing the fact that I doubt they will make an impact to change the fortunes of the team in relation to Nagambie. We may be addressing different points here though.

I think there a couple that certainly could and would make an impact. I reckon Jarrod Chapman,John Valentin,Lloyd O'brien and by season end probably 2-3 others depending on fitness would have an impact on the 2.00 pm game..

On same line of thought I would think Aaron Waters, Luke Anderson, Ben Stoertebecker, Brad Moon and Luke O'Brien would make an impact at senior level and young fellows like Jarrod Zerbarto could be very good at senior level.. However you have Mick and Jason Shiels, Leigh Fox, Kyle Clydesdale, Saun Finnigan and others at Nagamabie and the likes of Chris Eddie and others at Lancy that could come in to those 3 sides and improve seniors and reserves. I am sure most other teams have similar names that could improve their depth.

A good talking point but at the end of the day the boys that enter the park on the day, are the ones that play the game of football and we get judged on that.

Disappointed that I couldn't get to the game last week to watch Rudda for his 500th. Fair effort that, let alone the fact that the majority of those games were played at Ky when the team was dominant.
I can still remember going to Ky rec as a little tacker and watching this bloke with the big red mullet streaming down the wing.
And some may remember 'that' barrel in the 96 GVFL prelim.
A monster, to get Ky over the line while running through the guts.
What was it Rusty, 70 metres?

Would be a shoe in for the Legends game you'd think....would certainly fit the criteria.
Lancastralia, get it done.