KDFL - 2010

I think there a couple that certainly could and would make an impact. I reckon Jarrod Chapman,John Valentin,Lloyd O'brien and by season end probably 2-3 others depending on fitness would have an impact on the 2.00 pm game..

Good to see I'm not the only one that think that these guys and others aren't just good KDL 2's players! I think you'll find there's plenty of pressure coming from the seconds at Undera but you don't drop guys that are performing. Didn't ever say these blokes would dominate in seniors as some have made out. But they would hold their own easily.

Agree Wheres, All three of those boys would be playing seniors at most KDFL clubs and are unfortunate to not be in our side at the moment, although all three are coming back from injury. It is a credit to them and the club that blokes like them and Millsy etc have stuck around whether in seniors or not. Makes for a great club atmosphere. I was saying to someone the other day, it is the sign of a good club when there are blokes with low numbers on their backs running around in the twos.

Well said Hank (again) That does sound very Mohoney (ish);)

On another note:

Well done to Rusty Mac on his 500th sen/res match on the weekend:thumbsu::thumbsu:
Kicked :footy::footy::footy::footy::footy::footy::footy: goals (at 46 years old) with his 16 y.o son kicking :footy::footy::footy: - great day for him, his family and the club.
True legend of Country Footy in Australia.

Good stuff Lancastrine
Don't know the bloke or the history .. nor even the club he plays for (..yet I can guess!) but as Crawford borrowed from the Yanks .. Country Footy .. "That's what we're talkin' about!!"
Cheers
John Carrot:thumbsu:

Agree Wheres, All three of those boys would be playing seniors at most KDFL clubs and are unfortunate to not be in our side at the moment, although all three are coming back from injury. It is a credit to them and the club that blokes like them and Millsy etc have stuck around whether in seniors or not. Makes for a great club atmosphere. I was saying to someone the other day, it is the sign of a good club when there are blokes with low numbers on their backs running around in the twos.

For example- #14 Corey Turvey.
John & Marty forward back at the lions.

Frankie G back at the cats.

Depth in the 2's u say Alan:confused: Wouldnt think there would be to many 2's boys pushing for a spot at Senior selection, unless there was a forced change with injuries of corse. IMO they hav a very even 2's side of quality 2's players hence y they beat us:(
Talking to a reliable source, last nite that pepsi is heading back to the mainland and r also trying very very hard to get hanky panky back,but got to get the all clear from a certain person????

I’m surprised no one has made mention of the weekend’s results yet – notably Nagambie’s comprehensive win over the other form side Undera. Was it a case of Nagambie hitting their straps or were Undera poor?

You're obviously one of the 'young guns' from the WRFL being from Tarneit which is in the heart of the WRFL. Only if you where a regular senior footballer in one of the top 5 from the comp would you be considered a decent pick up, dont even bother mentioning the names if you where a div 2 player or one of the bottom 4 or 5. The top 2 from the KDFL would hold there own in the comp and the worst in the KDFL are alot better than the worst in the WRFL div 1, Div 2 is a disgrace.

I'll save my judgement on Girgaree until we play them but if results are to go by anything then I would doubt they would be pushing any of the top 4 or 5.

Anyhow looking forward to playing the benchmark of the league in Nagambie this weekend, have plenty of the family coming up and expect a pretty tight tussle. They are still my tip for the flag this year and will be almost impossible to beat at home this weekend, will be a great challenge.
Who do you play for????

I’m surprised no one has made mention of the weekend’s results yet – notably Nagambie’s comprehensive win over the other form side Undera. Was it a case of Nagambie hitting their straps or were Undera poor?

I was sort of hoping that Undera would either have had a tough close game that took a lot out of them, or had it's form slump a week later (preferably this this week:D).

Alas, it wasn't to be, but that being said I wait with interest to see how they come back after losing comfortably in the 1sts & drawing with Nagambie in the 2nds, and sadly for my team (Murchison), they will be the bones to which Undera will go to sharpen their teeth after such a pair of shock results.

I was wondering what is everyone's opinion on teams having to wear white shorts for away games in any upcoming seasons ?.

I know that I may have posted about this before, but I am of the opinion that the KDFL should initiate a gradual introduction of white shorts for players in 2011, because of the several colour clashes that occur now in our league.

I know that the main reason why we don't have this rule in the KDFL, is because of costs, but considering that a large % of our players would already have some spare white shorts from either playing in the GVFL, the MFL, the PDFL & the SDJFL, in their draws, surely that reason can be argued against.

Also you don't have to introduce strict rules about having white shorts with your club colours on the side immediately, as long as they are VCFL issue and they are white, surely some leeway can be arranged.

Considering that a number of colour clashes that exist at least from the shorts down (Longwood with Tally, Violet Town & Avenel, Murchison with Rushworth & Lancaster, Lancaster with Merrigum, Girgarre & Murchison, Violet Town with Avenel, Longwood & Undera, Stanhope with Undera, etc.).

And taking into account those who are colour blind, those who have a degree of colour blindness, and the elderly who watch our games, anything that we can do to make it easier on the players & spectators would be welcome.

And that's my two cents:D.

I was wondering what is everyone's opinion on teams having to wear white shorts for away games in any upcoming seasons ?.

I know that I may have posted about this before, but I am of the opinion that the KDFL should initiate a gradual introduction of white shorts for players in 2011, because of the several colour clashes that occur now in our league.

I know that the main reason why we don't have this rule in the KDFL, is because of costs, but considering that a large % of our players would already have some spare white shorts from either playing in the GVFL, the MFL, the PDFL & the SDJFL, in their draws, surely that reason can be argued against.

Also you don't have to introduce strict rules about having white shorts with your club colours on the side immediately, as long as they are VCFL issue and they are white, surely some leeway can be arranged.

Considering that a number of colour clashes that exist at least from the shorts down (Longwood with Tally, Violet Town & Avenel, Murchison with Rushworth & Lancaster, Lancaster with Merrigum, Girgarre & Murchison, Violet Town with Avenel, Longwood & Undera, Stanhope with Undera, etc.).

And taking into account those who are colour blind, those who have a degree of colour blindness, and the elderly who watch our games, anything that we can do to make it easier on the players & spectators would be welcome.

Fair point there Cletus, that was about 8 bucks worth:D, as i'm new to the league I haven't been in a league with so many clashes and only 6 rounds in, I play with a mate who has a big issue with color blindness and he has struggled big time:thumbsdown:. I'm sure blokes can sacrifice a few pots of beer to buy a pair of white shorts to make it easier for all conserned.:thumbsu:

Now you are starting to make a bit of sense.

I know VT and the Undies are hard to decipher but I could imagine Stanhope and Rushy being worse.

I’m a big fan of the white shorts idea. Even further, a clash jumper would also be good although much more costly.:thumbsu:
I know at Lanky a heap of the guys wear a “Reverse” Jumper to training. By this I mean the Colours on the jumper are switched – Blue sash on a yellow jumper. They look pretty good and would be great when worn against Merrigum, Girgarre & Murchison.
Again, I know they are costly so at the least, white shorts should be worn where clashes arise.
How many Lions teams do we have in our league!! May as well be in Africa! :p

I’m a big fan of the white shorts idea. Even further, a clash jumper would also be good although much more costly.:thumbsu:
I know at Lanky a heap of the guys wear a “Reverse” Jumper to training. By this I mean the Colours on the jumper are switched – Blue sash on a yellow jumper. They look pretty good and would be great when worn against Merrigum, Girgarre & Murchison.
Again, I know they are costly so at the least, white shorts should be worn where clashes arise.
How many Lions teams do we have in our league!! May as well be in Africa! :p

I hate white shorts. It makes my arse look even bigger than it already is and I dont need that.................. Nah pretty good idea. It has been confusing at times this year.

listen mate ive played both kdfl and wrfl mate and i agree with u kdfl is better man there is a lot of shit wrfl clubs and kdfl is more even. no im not one of the young guns from tarniet ive played 4 gig in the past and decided to come back this year and think its great no one rates us because we are happy too go about our buisiness and be quite acheivers. Big game this week for the kangas will show alot

Been quiet since the wknd Wigs, bad day at the office old mate? :confused:

I don't think there's a clash with Avenel and Violet Town (red shorts and blue shorts), however I watched a Stanhope - Violet Town game a couple of years ago and it was hard work following who was on which side.

But I agree with your proposal, it's about time the KDFL made the move to having white away shorts, for $20 I don't think money can be the major issue. Although, I'm still unsure why the KDFL admitted Violet Town with their jumper as is. Why did they make Yea change theirs and let Violet Town keep theirs, even though there were already two clubs wearing 'Lions' jumpers?

I don't think there's a clash with Avenel and Violet Town (red shorts and blue shorts), however I watched a Stanhope - Violet Town game a couple of years ago and it was hard work following who was on which side.

But I agree with your proposal, it's about time the KDFL made the move to having white away shorts, for $20 I don't think money can be the major issue. Although, I'm still unsure why the KDFL admitted Violet Town with their jumper as is. Why did they make Yea change theirs and let Violet Town keep theirs, even though there were already two clubs wearing 'Lions' jumpers?

There is (Avenel & Violet Town) with the socks because one is red and the other is mainly red with a blue top, the rest is fine.

I've seen white shorts sold for $25-$27, and you're right about the jumpers, I don't know why the KDFL didn't put a stop to Girgarre (old Nth. Melb. with hooped socks) & Stanhope (Old Shepparton) changing their jumpers & Violet Town altering their jumper.

And when we played Rushy, I had a hell of a time picking the two apart (especially as it was a miserable day), and I know the players did as well.

But, white shorts would be easier than having clash jumpers (even though that training jumper of Lanky's sounds nice) because of the point that I made earlier.

Thanks for the replies everyone, I'm glad I'm not the only one who has a problem with this.

There is (Avenel & Violet Town) with the socks because one is red and the other is mainly red with a blue top, the rest is fine.

I've seen white shorts sold for $25-$27, and you're right about the jumpers, I don't know why the KDFL didn't put a stop to Girgarre (old Nth. Melb. with hooped socks) & Stanhope (Old Shepparton) changing their jumpers & Violet Town altering their jumper.

And when we played Rushy, I had a hell of a time picking the two apart (especially as it was a miserable day), and I know the players did as well.

But, white shorts would be easier than having clash jumpers (even though that training jumper of Lanky's sounds nice) because of the point that I made earlier.

Thanks for the replies everyone, I'm glad I'm not the only one who has a problem with this.

PDFL has had white and coloured shorts for at least the last 15 years, but for some reason this year clubs were asked to choose one colour. I personally don't understand why they did that.

Having 3 'Lions' is very odd. I understand that when clubs change leagues they like to keep with tradition but some poor calls have been made, Undera changing to the Bris Lions, Stanhope being admitted to league with Shepp jumpers then snuck back into old style ones and Violet Town coming in without any change. And I miss the Red and Green of Tally!

PDFL has had white and coloured shorts for at least the last 15 years, but for some reason this year clubs were asked to choose one colour. I personally don't understand why they did that.

Having 3 'Lions' is very odd. I understand that when clubs change leagues they like to keep with tradition but some poor calls have been made, Undera changing to the Bris Lions, Stanhope being admitted to league with Shepp jumpers then snuck back into old style ones and Violet Town coming in without any change. And I miss the Red and Green of Tally!

But then you still would've had a small clash with murch because Tally wore a dark green that Murchison wear now (that's why we used to have a brighter green in the past), but with the white (or red) shorts and the red socks, it would've been O.K, but you're right it is a shame that Tally went for laziness and availability with their uniforms instead of originality (the same goes for Undera as well).

You're right about the 3 lions in the KDFL, being strange but 15 years ago we only had one team called the Lions, and I don't think that this is a major problem, but you're right, Stanhope should have never been allowed to go back to their old jumpers, if they wanted a change they could've just gone for a gold jumper with a maroon V, trim & numbers, with Maroon shorts & hooped socks.

But then you still would've had a small clash with murch because Tally wore a dark green that Murchison wear now (that's why we used to have a brighter green in the past), but with the white (or red) shorts and the red socks, it would've been O.K, but you're right it is a shame that Tally went for laziness and availability with their uniforms instead of originality (the same goes for Undera as well).

You're right about the 3 lions in the KDFL, being strange but 15 years ago we only had one team called the Lions, and I don't think that this is a major problem, but you're right, Stanhope should have never been allowed to go back to their old jumpers, if they wanted a change they could've just gone for a gold jumper with a maroon V, trim & numbers, with Maroon shorts & hooped socks.

Count VT out of the Lions name as that is only the insignia that goes with the jumper. Never heard any locals call them the Lions it is just simply "Towners".

Maybe we should get rid of the Lions label and use the T inside the V as is on the front of the jumpers.

Or we could revert back to the old violet crumbles as in years gone by.

Count VT out of the Lions name as that is only the insignia that goes with the jumper. Never heard any locals call them the Lions it is just simply "Towners".

Maybe we should get rid of the Lions label and use the T inside the V as is on the front of the jumpers.

Or we could revert back to the old violet crumbles as in years gone by.

No Sparra .. Violet Crumbles sounds a bit soft.
Maybe Violent Town?
Cheers
John Carrot:thumbsu:;)

one too 4get thats for shore

Mate you've been asked before to cut out the text talk. If you're struggling go buy a dictionary. As for the shorts debate, the sooner the kdfl enforce white shorts the better. I've seen players tackled by teammates and kick to the opposition because of the similar jumper colours. Anything to make it easier for both players and spectators can only be a good thing.

Expected a good contest up there between the top two sides in the competition. Nagambie must be pretty good, they've easily rolled an unbeaten side who had won by 112, 135, 177, 160 and 77 points in its first five games of the year.