KDFL - 2010

Obviously you were on that side of the fence crocket as your legs can,t handle the dog t***ies that you are carryin around on that chest of yours?? not to mention your bubble butt!! poor legs i would have gave way to:eek::eek::eek::eek::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::confused::confused::confused::):D:mad:

hahaha you're a ********...you're legs are almost as bad, have fun playing twos against Waaia in your comeback..

To take this another step further, I want to know from those that have played at Lanky this year?!?! When we (Murch) played there, at the northern end of the ground there was some young clowns with their car stereos absolutely blaring with techno during the whole game...it was like Earthcore at the footy..which was pretty annoying really, anyone else had that experience this year?

Didnt happen at Lanky, But at Ardy last wknd there was for the whole game:thumbsdown:

Think we've got Tally next week, so a reasonable chance to restore some pride.[/quote]

Well, we (Longwood) are coming up to Rushworth on Saturday, hope someone is going to be home....
Was wanting to head out to Longwood Sat to catch the game but the boy's really wanted to play the Auskick game at Euroa.
How are things traveling?
I see the scores are not great but is there the numbers?
Would like to hear Carrots thoughts.

Lancaster played at Longwood last Saturday, the reserves were very short, and a few doubled up.
I was really disappointed with Longwood, the reserves umpire was late (longwood supplied), and the Lancaster kids had to do the scoreboard.
I thought the crowd was very small, and wasnt many longwood supporters.

But the wosrt thing that Longwood need to address immediately is the ground, very uneven, and covered in cape weed. and to top it off they covered the concrete cricket pitch with some rolled out green matting!!

Would hate to see the outcome if a serious knee injury happened on the hard cricket pitch and the player took legal action.

On a positive note, the canteen was terrific, there rooms and facilities are terrific and I enjoyed a froffie at the local Pub on the way home

Lancaster played at Longwood last Saturday, the reserves were very short, and a few doubled up.
I was really disappointed with Longwood, the reserves umpire was late (longwood supplied), and the Lancaster kids had to do the scoreboard.

But the wosrt thing that Longwood need to address immediately is the ground, very uneven, and covered in cape weed. and to top it off they covered the concrete cricket pitch with some rolled out green matting!!

Would hate to see the outcome if a serious knee injury happened on the hard cricket pitch and the player took legal action.

On a positive note, the canteen was terrific, there rooms and facilities are terrific and I enjoyed a froffie at the local Pub on the way home

would u say for teams heading to the finals that it may be a game you have to rest your body and save chance of injury?? Been told by a few guys after games that have played there that the ground is in ordinary nic, couldn't see a reason why you would go into a match over there at full strength if the ground is as bad as being said.

....and to top it off they covered the concrete cricket pitch with some rolled out green matting!!

Didn't think any grounds that have senior football played on them would have the concrete pitches in the middle, sounds like it would be abit of an accident waiting to happen.

I think we played well for periods and dropped away in other periods, it was a solid win against an underated team. Thought murch had a good spread of solid talls and good ball winners, certainly they could push forva spot in the bottom of the 5 if they applied them selves the way they did against us. I just think we had another level or 2 to go up during the game but it was a decent effort in trying conditions.

I was ordinary against you, getting lazy and slow with age lol... Much like Beazer just with out the michelin tyre around my arse!

Good luck for the rest of the season.

Im not fat, just big boned :)

Didn't think any grounds that have senior football played on them would have the concrete pitches in the middle, sounds like it would be abit of an accident waiting to happen.
What's the likelihood of Longwood hosting one of the finals?

Surely no chance if they have a concrete pitch in the middle of the ground? Although I am sure the league would probably like to give them a kick start by allowing them to host a final in their first year.

Can some one give me info on how Cameron Beazley is going in his first year. I reckon he would be closer to the canteen lady than the coach.

Sorry gents for the long reply;

We have had quite a few players unavailable for the club over the last couple of weeks and our designated umpire was a no-show, therefore it was a last minute re-adjustment to actually find some-one as we were quiet short for numbers, in turn and to the clubs credit, we still managed to field two teams.

But the wosrt thing that Longwood need to address immediately is the ground, very uneven, and covered in cape weed. and to top it off they covered the concrete cricket pitch with some rolled out green matting!! Agree, the oval is uneven in patches, but from what I am told is in better nic, than previous years, but still a long way to go. I have played on plenty of grounds in worse condition. The cricket pitch covering was recommended to us apparently by a professional. It actually is lined undernearth and has small particules of rubber throughout, but agree could look better, and will with some more grass taking rootaround it.

Would hate to see the outcome if a serious knee injury happened on the hard cricket pitch and the player took legal action. Having trained on it weekly and played a couple of games there, it has been serviceable with no injuries, touch wood and hopefully continues too.

On a positive note, the canteen was terrific, there rooms and facilities are terrific and I enjoyed a froffie at the local Pub on the way home. The club has really good facilities and we are getting some very positive feedback, not only do we boost a great canteen, but we also have netball change rooms for the girls and the club runs a Kidz Club also for the away team to utilise.

would u say for teams heading to the finals that it may be a game you have to rest your body and save chance of injury?? Been told by a few guys after games that have played there that the ground is in ordinary nic, couldn't see a reason why you would go into a match over there at full strength if the ground is as bad as being said. Definantly, all should be resting there senior players to save their bodies for the following week. Couldn't recommend it enough actually. :)

Can some one give me info on how Cameron Beazley is going in his first year. I reckon he would be closer to the canteen lady than the coach.
According to a previous post about Beazley, he must be carrying a bit of excess around the dangler region, perhaps he ate the canteen lady. If my memory serves me correctly,l think her name was Yoko Hama

Sorry gents for the long reply;

I thought the crowd was very small, and wasnt many longwood supporters. We have had quite a few players unavailable for the club over the last couple of weeks and our designated umpire was a no-show, therefore it was a last minute re-adjustment to actually find some-one as we were quiet short for numbers, in turn and to the clubs credit, we still managed to field two teams.

But the wosrt thing that Longwood need to address immediately is the ground, very uneven, and covered in cape weed. and to top it off they covered the concrete cricket pitch with some rolled out green matting!! Agree, the oval is uneven in patches, but from what I am told is in better nic, than previous years, but still a long way to go. I have played on plenty of grounds in worse condition. The cricket pitch covering was recommended to us apparently by a professional. It actually is lined undernearth and has small particules of rubber throughout, but agree could look better, and will with some more grass taking rootaround it.

Would hate to see the outcome if a serious knee injury happened on the hard cricket pitch and the player took legal action. Having trained on it weekly and played a couple of games there, it has been serviceable with no injuries, touch wood and hopefully continues too.

On a positive note, the canteen was terrific, there rooms and facilities are terrific and I enjoyed a froffie at the local Pub on the way home. The club has really good facilities and we are getting some very positive feedback, not only do we boost a great canteen, but we also have netball change rooms for the girls and the club runs a Kidz Club also for the away team to utilise.

would u say for teams heading to the finals that it may be a game you have to rest your body and save chance of injury?? Been told by a few guys after games that have played there that the ground is in ordinary nic, couldn't see a reason why you would go into a match over there at full strength if the ground is as bad as being said. Definantly, all should be resting there senior players to save their bodies for the following week. Couldn't recommend it enough actually. :)

Like your work Bourke .. especially the comment that as most clubs now regard playing the Leggers as having a bye .. “Definantly, all should be resting there senior players to save their bodies for the following week. Couldn't recommend it enough actually. :)
Now to DUCKJR23’s comments. Mate are you the younger brother of the original whingeing Duck from North Melbourne and his subsequent implosions?
For a start .. have you realised that we are recovering from a drought that has been on since the last century? Not the draught you enjoyed at the White Hart!
Get an OH&S expert to inspect the concrete pitch at Longwood and you will find that it has a foot of earth under the fixed rubber covering over the top. Even someone like yourself would have trouble getting brain damage from a rugby spear tackle on the pitch, let alone ankle or knee injury!! I reckon you have been reading too much of Jeffie’s crap about the surface at Empty Head Stadium!
The ground doesn’t have the advantage of the Goulburn River nearby, like many other Clubs. But it is recovering and yes.. come September, with those magnificent facilities for footballers, netballers and supporters, the Redlegs Stadium would be a suitable place for an early final.
And agreed .. late no-shows of support from the home field umpire and scoreboard attendants is not acceptable from the Longwood Club. But it also reflects the pathetic “WIIFM” mentality of today’s losers who say one thing then try to deny responsibility!
The committee man, ex-player who stepped into the breach at the last minute for the field umpiring job in the twos had half his leg removed last summer from playing footy on HARD grounds over the last twenty years. I thought he did a bloody good job!
Keep the comments coming Duckie .. but whether they are positive or negative .. get your facts right!
Cheers
John Carrot:):thumbsu:
Ps Phew! I must have been a bit passionate this time .. 10 exclamation marks .. counting these two !!

so what facts did I get wrong JC, was just stating a opinion, the whole idea of the forum, and like assholes we all have one.

The 1 fact I know is that green matting or not, the ground is in terrible shape, covered in weeds and very uneven. I hope come september I am proved wrong and the ground is in tip top shape, as your facilities are good.

so what facts did I get wrong JC, was just stating a opinion, the whole idea of the forum, and like assholes we all have one.
The 1 fact I know is that green matting or not, the ground is in terrible shape, covered in weeds and very uneven. I hope come september I am proved wrong and the ground is in tip top shape, as your facilities are good.

Fair return of service Duck.
But the Redlegs Stadium isn't too bad. Speaking of return of service, Sam Stosur nearly got there on clay so we look forward to "grass" at Wimbeldon!
My response was to clarify your thoughts that the surface was part of this litigious society we are now inheriting. If injury can happen on a footy field .. it can happen anywhere!
Cheers Cobber
Keep quacking Duckie;):thumbsu:
John Carrot

Fair return of service Duck.
But the Redlegs Stadium isn't too bad. Speaking of return of service, Sam Stosur nearly got there on clay so we look forward to "grass" at Wimbeldon!
My response was to clarify your thoughts that the surface was part of this litigious society we are now inheriting. If injury can happen on a footy field .. it can happen anywhere!
Cheers Cobber
Keep quacking Duckie;):thumbsu:
John Carrot

Gday John Veg. Will agree on the canteen points made earlier! Very tastey Shnitz and Gravy rolls!!
Was that you under the Big hat all day??
I have a question...What happened to the score board attendant in the seniors?? An 8 year old Lancaster child was running it!!

Gday John Veg. Will agree on the canteen points made earlier! Very tastey Shnitz and Gravy rolls!!
Was that you under the Big hat all day??
I have a question...What happened to the score board attendant in the seniors?? An 8 year old Lancaster child was running it!!

G’day LancAustralian.. or as I nickname you .. LancaStrine!

Reason being is that Australians speak the accent of ‘Strine. If you ever hear my voice one day, I speak Strine .. OzStrine. But I also love to talk about district footy so I’ll answer a couple of your questions.

Now this query is about the big hat first. Every farmer knows that the bigger the hat the smaller the .. erh .. property. But; as with the bloke from the Stanhope game four weeks ago who accused me of wearing a hat at the game, I posed the question .. “Was that when I was sitting down with a ten gallon hat on my lap and one of the single ladies walked past and said – Is that you hat or are you just excited to see me?” Wha’. Now Strinie .. you have raised my exciting ten gallon hat again .. so to speak!

Tell the Vegie man he’s dreamin’ but the one I want to bring out of the pool room is the poor effort of those who put their hands up to work of-field every week and let the Redlegs down badly against the Lancas last week. Not acceptable for the LFNC!
No seconds umpire as both sides took the field at 12.15 pm and no-one on the scoreboard .. here’s a snippet of my reply to Duckie which helps tell the tale.

“ ..And agreed .. late no-shows of support from the home field umpire and scoreboard attendants is not acceptable from the Longwood Club. But it also reflects the pathetic “WIIFM” mentality of today’s losers who say one thing then try to deny responsibility!
The committee man, ex-player who stepped into the breach at the last minute for the field umpiring job in the twos had half his leg removed last summer from playing footy on HARD grounds over the last twenty years. I thought he did a bloody good job!”

No way will any of that last minute crap happen again!! And many thanks to the Lanca youngsters who did the scoring .. they also picked up the $ that went with it .. as well as doing a great job.

Cheers
John Carrot:thumbsu:
Ps. Starting from the first “Wombat” I met, as in goal umpire Ross for the twos and his mate Graham who took over the scoreboard. I realised that these guys new that the shite had hit the fan for the Leggers last Satd’y and the respect they had to step up was exemplary. Thanks Wombats. Bytheway they ate (etc). and didn’t leave! Well done Lancaster Wombats! :)

Reason being is that Australians speak the accent of ‘Strine. If you ever hear my voice one day, I speak Strine .. OzStrine. But I also love to talk about district footy so I’ll answer a couple of your questions.

Now this query is about the big hat first. Every farmer knows that the bigger the hat the smaller the .. erh .. property. But; as with the bloke from the Stanhope game four weeks ago who accused me of wearing a hat at the game, I posed the question .. “Was that when I was sitting down with a ten gallon hat on my lap and one of the single ladies walked past and said – Is that you hat or are you just excited to see me?” Wha’. Now Strinie .. you have raised my exciting ten gallon hat again .. so to speak!

Tell the Vegie man he’s dreamin’ but the one I want to bring out of the pool room is the poor effort of those who put their hands up to work of-field every week and let the Redlegs down badly against the Lancas last week. Not acceptable for the LFNC!
No seconds umpire as both sides took the field at 12.15 pm and no-one on the scoreboard .. here’s a snippet of my reply to Duckie which helps tell the tale.

“ ..And agreed .. late no-shows of support from the home field umpire and scoreboard attendants is not acceptable from the Longwood Club. But it also reflects the pathetic “WIIFM” mentality of today’s losers who say one thing then try to deny responsibility!
The committee man, ex-player who stepped into the breach at the last minute for the field umpiring job in the twos had half his leg removed last summer from playing footy on HARD grounds over the last twenty years. I thought he did a bloody good job!”

No way will any of that last minute crap happen again!! And many thanks to the Lanca youngsters who did the scoring .. they also picked up the $ that went with it .. as well as doing a great job.

Cheers
Ps. Starting from the first “Wombat” I met, as in goal umpire Ross for the twos and his mate Graham who took over the scoreboard. I realised that these guys new that the shite had hit the fan for the Leggers last Satd’y and the respect they had to step up was exemplary. Thanks Wombats. Bytheway they ate (etc). and didn’t leave! Well done Lancaster Wombats! :)

Thanks for clearing that up Vegie man...I think:p

You met a cracking Wombat in Ross...very funny man, pretty good with the flags too.

All the best for the remainder of the season

Cheers

Nice work Silver Tongue, not a mate of Ruddy's are you JC..:p:p:p:p

G’day mate .. how’s things in the O&K Slimbo?
Just a note to advise that I have moved from Wang so you will have to keep me up to date.
No, not a mate of “CRUD’s” .. not even as verbose as he is in debating{????}
Longwood's list has been decimated in the last two weeks .. but we will prevail!
Cheers
John Carrot

Like your work Bourke .. especially the comment that as most clubs now regard playing the Leggers as having a bye .. “Definantly, all should be resting there senior players to save their bodies for the following week. Couldn't recommend it enough actually. :)
Now to DUCKJR23’s comments. Mate are you the younger brother of the original whingeing Duck from North Melbourne and his subsequent implosions?
For a start .. have you realised that we are recovering from a drought that has been on since the last century? Not the draught you enjoyed at the White Hart!
Get an OH&S expert to inspect the concrete pitch at Longwood and you will find that it has a foot of earth under the fixed rubber covering over the top. Even someone like yourself would have trouble getting brain damage from a rugby spear tackle on the pitch, let alone ankle or knee injury!! I reckon you have been reading too much of Jeffie’s crap about the surface at Empty Head Stadium!
The ground doesn’t have the advantage of the Goulburn River nearby, like many other Clubs. But it is recovering and yes.. come September, with those magnificent facilities for footballers, netballers and supporters, the Redlegs Stadium would be a suitable place for an early final.
And agreed .. late no-shows of support from the home field umpire and scoreboard attendants is not acceptable from the Longwood Club. But it also reflects the pathetic “WIIFM” mentality of today’s losers who say one thing then try to deny responsibility!
The committee man, ex-player who stepped into the breach at the last minute for the field umpiring job in the twos had half his leg removed last summer from playing footy on HARD grounds over the last twenty years. I thought he did a bloody good job!
Keep the comments coming Duckie .. but whether they are positive or negative .. get your facts right!
Cheers
John Carrot:):thumbsu:
Ps Phew! I must have been a bit passionate this time .. 10 exclamation marks .. counting these two !!

JC, as frustrating as that may be, Lanky's experience at Longwood was nothing compared to what Murchison has at Ardmona.

Firstly, they had no scoreboard attendant for the Seniors (I did it at the end because it would help our supporters, plus it's a good view from up there), no one volunteered to umpire the reserves (two of our committee members filled in, and did O.K despite the whinging that Ardy did, they weren't the worst going around), and all the food ran out by 2:30.

But, to be fair to Ardmona, they have a bare bones committee with very few consistent volunteers, and although the people they do have, do their jobs well, they simply don't have enough of them to make things work right.

And as far as Longwood goes, that pitch is covered in dirt (which is what most metro leagues do to their cricket pitches), and in some places in Melbourne they don't cover the synthetic turf at all (as long as there's no concrete exposed), but considering that they don't have a river, creek, bore or irrigation channel nearby, they do a pretty good job on the turf, and as far as getting people to do jobs around the place, that's a problem that most clubs have, not just Longwood.

Can someone from Longwood please confirm if that living legend Darren "Chad" Bonney took to the field in the ressies Satdy by any chance??? I didn't catch the great man at work today, but judging how ginger he looked walking in this morning (and around the joint thru the day) it resembled a walk we saw several times in 2009 after a few guest appearances :D

G’day mate,
Yeah Doona .. Nestles finest was there to answer the call to arms.
Longwood have unfairly (..in my opinion) been decimated in their player list and it was great to see Chad out their giving his best after a request from mates to help out.
Especially an away game at Rushie.
Cheers Cob,
John Carrot :thumbsu:

G’day mate,
Yeah Doona .. Nestles finest was there to answer the call to arms.
Longwood have unfairly (..in my opinion) been decimated in their player list and it was great to see Chad out their giving his best after a request from mates to help out.
Especially an away game at Rushie.
Cheers Cob,
John Carrot :thumbsu:

What's happened to the playing list Bugs?

Are there a lot of injuries or have players left?

I hope you have a full compliment this weekend, and I will make sure the fluids will be nice and cold.

What's happened to the playing list Bugs?

Are there a lot of injuries or have players left?

I hope you have a full compliment this weekend, and I will make sure the fluids will be nice and cold.

G'day Sparra (or is it the sweet deer named Bambie who may drive a Ford!! .. very cryptic).

Will avail of some of the cold vitamin B and if I bump into you then .. as Eddy McEverywhere loves to say .. "All will be revealed in the fullness of time!"
Cheers Cob
John carrot :thumbsu:;)