• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

KDFL - 2010

G'day Frozen Harness Racer!
Are you a Standard Bred or a Thoroughbred?
Joking Pace to Freeze as i would like to know more about the program you have raised.
Reason being that Longwood's beaut first lady; wife of the coach Adam Bourke, has implemented a 2-5 year old program with the LFNC to provide supervised entertainment from 11 am to 3 pm at redlegs stadium for a fee of $5.
Pass the word to
Undera people for the Leggers Home match on 9 july and more infor on Kid's First on the forum
Cheers
John Carrot:thumbsu:
Kids first is a VCFL program which can be implemented at club or league level and structured to that club or leagues wishes . It's main focus is to ensure that certain measures are put in place to avoid nasty incidents that are becoming more apparent in junior football everywhere, yet aren't covered under the laws of the game.
In some instances these programs have rules such as , a match steward who kindly advise parents carrying on to behave and reports any crowd behaviour to the league , only those listed upon the team sheet inside the playing arena, some even extend it to include at 1/4 , 1/2 and 3/4 time to avoid parent coaching !
All is available on VCFL website !!
Oh and your ideas on junior footy I don't agree with for one very important reason , why should we have junior football clubs whom have no obligation or generally interest in the senior club where those kids will end up playing ?
In my opinion the only junior football should be oart if senior clubs and therefore those kids are being given the skills to be better senior players
and members of their club rather than being pushed to be as good as they can be by the time their 16 . As it stands now a lot of those kids leave these juniors leagues dissillusioned or under skilled for future senior football !!

went up to ardy seen the rushy thirds get up.. i thought they were supposed to be be very average this year but they looked effing good.. whats the go there?

Kids first is a VCFL program which can be implemented at club or league level and structured to that club or leagues wishes . It's main focus is to ensure that certain measures are put in place to avoid nasty incidents that are becoming more apparent in junior football everywhere, yet aren't covered under the laws of the game.
In some instances these programs have rules such as , a match steward who kindly advise parents carrying on to behave and reports any crowd behaviour to the league , only those listed upon the team sheet inside the playing arena, some even extend it to include at 1/4 , 1/2 and 3/4 time to avoid parent coaching !
All is available on VCFL website !!
Oh and your ideas on junior footy I don't agree with for one very important reason , why should we have junior football clubs whom have no obligation or generally interest in the senior club where those kids will end up playing ?

In my opinion the only junior football should be oart if senior clubs and therefore those kids are being given the skills to be better senior players
and members of their club rather than being pushed to be as good as they can be by the time their 16 . As it stands now a lot of those kids leave these juniors leagues dissillusioned or under skilled for future senior football !!

G’day PTF
Re the former .. thanks for that. With Longwood not (yet?) involved in thirds footy it is good info to discover.

Re the latter. Good argument. My debate was aligned with that thought in that in my experience with Wang DJunior FL I saw kids playing junior football under 17 ending up big fish in a small pond with teams which were not CLUBS ..per se. Many finding the transition to Club footy difficult.

When Wang Junior Footy re-structured they also introduced a policy (for those not groomed for O&M) the option of selecting a range of say three O&K District Clubs in which to play Under 18 thirds .. if that was the local league they wished to move to .. rather than the former policy of allocation. It allowed families, brothers, “father - son” to have a first preference and a motivation for the kid to continue playing.

My main point is that District level thirds should be at U17 and after that age the player goes into the CLUB's twos or seniors, while better U18s continue at their age level in major leagues.

Cheers mate .. keep the cards and letters coming!!
John Carrot :):thumbsu:

Sat back and watched the 3rds game from start to finish. Both umpires are accreditated, the older fella of the two I haven't seen before and the other lives in Stanhope and has a last name the same as one of the players in the the 3rds so of course that would be where the Murchison people jumped to conclusions saying he had a son playing. Wrong.
The game was a pretty good standard with Murchison looking the better side but Stanhope hung in the contest and came home with a wet sail, helped by some undisciplined acts by Murch players and some umpiring that was to the letter of the law with no backchat taken.
I can certainly see where the Murch players and supporters got frustrated as the umpire has umpired a few 3rds and reserves games involving Stanhope over his time and has sent many a Stanhope player off and paid a fair few 100m penalties against us.
Over time the Coaches of our side have made our players well aware that any backchat wont be tolerated and MOST players adapt accordingly.
The young Murch boys should have realised after the 1st 50 and subsequent 100 that this umpire would not take any backchat whatsoever and that if you did open your mouth and show disrespect to the official then you and your side would be penalised.
So, Yes I agree it can be an advantage for any sides to have an umpire from your town as you know what your going to get before the first bounce and have time to adapt.

Young Milne was a very good player on the day but he was one player who was very undisciplined especially when the game got close, from the reaction of the clubs supporters I can see where he has got his attitude and lack of respect to officials from.
Sorry to single him out but he looks like a kid with real talent that can go places and if he pulls his head in it will only help him, ( hopefully some sane people had a quiet word to him after the game, believe his old man even talked to the umpire in question and didnt have any problems with the way he dealt with the game)

The biggest two problems I found where both after the game when supporters of Murchison berated the officials as they went off, the umpire in question walked straight into the umpires rooms and didnt engage with the crowd. The other umpire who should hang up the boots was in the end just as much to blame as the Murch supporters as he helped incite the crowd by urging them on to abuse him and then even confronted one Murchison supporter and gave him a push in the chest, very ordinary scenes after an underage football game.
The Stanhope players and some supporters weren't angels either, whilst this was happening they were cheering and clapping well done Stanhope as they thought at this stage they had won the game, this didnt help diffuse the situation either.
When we have 40-50 year olds acting like that after an underage football game you dont have to wonder and ask why some teenagers of today are growing up with little respect for their elders.
Hopefully there will be some cool heads and leaders of both clubs who have a word to those involved and make sure they pull their heads in, and the Murch boys are undefeated so they will be playing finals where they will get senior umpires who like Saturday won't tolerate 14 to 18 yr olds showing them any disrespect. Adapt and play footy, I did get told many moons ago that the umpire won't change his decision!!
hank you wouldn know what its like too be out on the feild in the sitiuation murch was in, you sat on the side line annd judge everything that murch did, it was obvious too both sides the umpire was one sided, with murch up at 3 quarter time by 20 points and never looking like loosing, and then too draw, it was obvouis that the umpires went out there too umpire one side, the last quarter there would have been atleast 10 50m penilties given against murch some for undisapline but most were for things that dont even diserve that punishment, and when stanhope did the same thing nothing would happen it was clear that they were against murch. if anyone says otherwise you must have been watching another gave it was that obvious.
use bag out on milney because his good and use jealous, for what he got sent off for was ****ed girls hit harder then that, the stanhope player faked that too the max and too get sent off for that is bullshit, james will go alot further then use all think,
and for the murch surpporters too act like that... do you blame them after how bad the umpiring was, they were lucky too get out of it that easy i feel, after pushing a surpporter they are really lucky too have a job, and too have the last name as a player on the other team thats just stupid thats going too start fights not matter what the score is, no one should umpire there own family or the team they support. its going too cause fights.
pete milne is the only person that should be coaching murch thirds look how good they are going, he is also one of the most disaplined coachs i have seen, with whatever it is swearing or 50m penilties you cop it off him. so its not petes fault, and all the murch boys back there coach and have respect in the decisions he makes,

hank you wouldn know what its like too be out on the feild in the sitiuation murch was in, you sat on the side line annd judge everything that murch did, it was obvious too both sides the umpire was one sided, with murch up at 3 quarter time by 20 points and never looking like loosing, and then too draw, it was obvouis that the umpires went out there too umpire one side, the last quarter there would have been atleast 10 50m penilties given against murch some for undisapline but most were for things that dont even diserve that punishment, and when stanhope did the same thing nothing would happen it was clear that they were against murch. if anyone says otherwise you must have been watching another gave it was that obvious.
use bag out on milney because his good and use jealous, for what he got sent off for was ****ed girls hit harder then that, the stanhope player faked that too the max and too get sent off for that is bullshit, james will go alot further then use all think,
and for the murch surpporters too act like that... do you blame them after how bad the umpiring was, they were lucky too get out of it that easy i feel, after pushing a surpporter they are really lucky too have a job, and too have the last name as a player on the other team thats just stupid thats going too start fights not matter what the score is, no one should umpire there own family or the team they support. its going too cause fights.
pete milne is the only person that should be coaching murch thirds look how good they are going, he is also one of the most disaplined coachs i have seen, with whatever it is swearing or 50m penilties you cop it off him. so its not petes fault, and all the murch boys back there coach and have respect in the decisions he makes,

As Emanuel from Fawlty Towers said to John Cleese. "Que! Mr Fawlty??"
:):thumbsu:

Not sure why I am even bothering replying to your dribble young fella, but you do back up a couple of my points made earlier in the week.
1. I have played 20+ years of footy and found myself in a lot of situations, many you will never have the experience of, so yes I would know what its like.
2. It is laughable that you point out an umpire shouldn't umpire a game where he has the last name as a player participating in that game.
3. Your point that umpires shouldn't umpire teams they have an affiliation with, agree with you in a perfect world but mate their isn't enough umpires going around to pick and choose, WHY? See post above!!
4. Young Milne, as I mentioned, I only said what I said because he has talent and could go places if he decided to just play football and not worry about trying to be the tough guy.
5. The umpire that got into an altercation with the Murch supporter is not the same umpire that has the last name as a Stanhope player, and he has no affiliation with Stanhope.
6. I don't know Peter Milne personally but I am sure if I were to print your post off and hand it to him, he would kick you up the ass and tell you to pull your head in!. (I should give a copy to your english teacher also, but you probably don't attend school anymore!)

QUOTE]

So you are telling us all that Milne did strike a Stanhope player, but not very hard:rolleyes:
I'll let you in on a rule that applies to Australian Rules Football, Striking a player is a reportable offence, when an umpire witnesses this behaviour expect to be sent off and probably reported.

You need to stop being a sook im not fussed on stanhope either but the man (umpire) in question
I have known now for 6 yrs and in all that time i have never seen him favour his own side in fact i believe he goes out of his way to be fair to both sides.
If he paid the frees against you guys you must have deserved them.
So are you a newbie or trying to hide

Not sure why I am even bothering replying to your dribble young fella, but you do back up a couple of my points made earlier in the week.
1. I have played 20+ years of footy and found myself in a lot of situations, many you will never have the experience of, so yes I would know what its like.
2. It is laughable that you point out an umpire shouldn't umpire a game where he has the last name as a player participating in that game.
3. Your point that umpires shouldn't umpire teams they have an affiliation with, agree with you in a perfect world but mate their isn't enough umpires going around to pick and choose, WHY? See post above!!
4. Young Milne, as I mentioned, I only said what I said because he has talent and could go places if he decided to just play football and not worry about trying to be the tough guy.
5. The umpire that got into an altercation with the Murch supporter is not the same umpire that has the last name as a Stanhope player, and he has no affiliation with Stanhope.
6. I don't know Peter Milne personally but I am sure if I were to print your post off and hand it to him, he would kick you up the ass and tell you to pull your head in!. (I should give a copy to your english teacher also, but you probably don't attend school anymore!)

Great retort Hank, and full marks on your punctuation and spelling, your english teacher would be very proud!:D

noticed on the KDL website that Baker and Fairweather have put clearances in to a murry league club. pretty good commitement from the two boys. I think they were the answer to Merrigums problems early in the year were'nt they?

Some big results yesterday with Avenel & Murchison getting up. Keeps them with a sniff of the Top 5 but still 2 games out so it might be all in vain.

noticed on the KDL website that Baker and Fairweather have put clearances in to a murry league club. pretty good commitement from the two boys. I think they were the answer to Merrigums problems early in the year were'nt they?

Were these the fella's that almost had their own thread dedicated to them in the pre-season? Wasn't there another one (Densley?) what's the go, how has their form been - has it lived up to all the hype and expectation thus far???

As Emanuel from Fawlty Towers said to John Cleese. "Que! Mr Fawlty??"
:):thumbsu:

It's just Manuel, not Emanuel. Sorry, to correct you Mr Carrot.

Good win by the Murch boys yesterday, we may not shape the finals but it does go to show that the competition is a lot more even than it looked a month or two ago.

Were these the fella's that almost had their own thread dedicated to them in the pre-season? Wasn't there another one (Densley?) what's the go, how has their form been - has it lived up to all the hype and expectation thus far???

If there was 1 player from the bottom clubs I'd like it would be a toss up between Fairweather and Snelson, both are game breakers. I didn't even bother chasing fairweather when he took off there's no point.

watched game you played against gig, now seen und, lanc and nagz. probably think the most of lancy at this stage of the year, didn't think that you really smashed gig, were you boys not on your full game or something else

Played all sides but MERRIGUN and can honestly say the two sides are nagambie and Lancaster with the later being a favourite at his stage.Undera a little way back but still some hope.

We were very ordinary on the weekend, there are a few areas we need to clean up and we know what that is and if this doesn't occur then we won't last to long in September. In saying that we have a fair few to come back into the side from the weekend who will strengthen us and going forward I'm pretty confident we have enough match winners at this level to cause a bit damage.

IMO Nagambie were the most impressive I've come up against, very well drilled especially there defenders. They know there game plan and execute it very well, I have a feeling they are Just plotting along and will step up a few cogs when needed.

Girgarre battled all day and are very creative around the fringes, they spread exceptionally well and switch the play at every opportunity.

It's just Manuel, not Emanuel. Sorry, to correct you Mr Carrot.

Good win by the Murch boys yesterday, we may not shape the finals but it does go to show that the competition is a lot more even than it looked a month or two ago.

G’day Crockie
Won’t get into pedantics about Spanish names mate, ‘cept to say get on ‘em in the wussie round ball game! ESP to win the WWCC .. the World Who Cares Cup!

Apart from the Germans!! As Basil said, “Don’t mention the war”!!

What a beauty by Murch on the weekend. Has opened the pandoras box me thinks. Cletus Delroy should be “Wading” into the thread to pump Murch up.

Good Club the Hoppers, but I do have a bitch about your scribe in the footy record when the Redlegs played Murch last financial year when he said, “The Longwood blokes started playing the man after half-time”. Que Mr Fawlty? The scoreboard would tell you that our blokes couldn’t even catch ‘em let alone play the man?

After the shafting we got from reports against Violet Town three weeks ago; where our retaliators were unfairly pinged by the men in (.. insert your own colour), plus the fact that the GV Umpires haven’t had the courtesy to send a seconds umpire “interstate” to Longwood .. or should that be “intestate”!! I’m starting to think of a bit of conspiracy theory .. (tongue in cheek). But no, not totally joking!

And the old ally from last century, Avenel, have played a pearler for their win last weekend.

This is a bloody good league for the Longwood Leggers to join and with 7 rounds to go more surprises are expected. ‘Cepting that the Longwood Redlegs are re-building.
Cheers
John Carrot :):thumbsu:

Ps No disrespect to the Towners re the above, bytheway. Just in case VT Number 24 might line me up next game!! Cheers

Some big results yesterday with Avenel & Murchison getting up. Keeps them with a sniff of the Top 5 but still 2 games out so it might be all in vain.
Wasnt to impressed with the water boy for Stanhope i tried to stir him up but he didnt hear me

Interesting results this weekend.
We were very lucky to get the 4pts against Tally, another 30 seconds and i reckon it could well have been there's. Our kicking let us down again... The 3rd quarter never saw much action down the VT backline but we only managed 3 goals for the quarter. Thought the veteran Willy Sanders was probably Tally's best 4 quarter contributor and Aaron Wood provided lots of run off the wing and half back for them.

What happened with Nagambie and Stanhope on the weekend?? Would love to hear a match report on the two seperate games... Poor preparation? Too sore from training during week? Or other teams just improved out of sight? Too many key players out? I know we've currently got 8 senior players out, but i'm sure everyones in the same boat there.

Had to have a chuckle at Shep News Stanhope comments about training numbers this morning... In regards to the lack of committment for only getting 30 blokes on a Tuesday to training.... Bloody hell, we've had 30 blokes at training once this year and that was on a Thursday. 18 - 20 players would be an outstanding Tuesday for us and that inlcudes all 3 teams. I'd be over the moon with 30 blokes on a Tuesday. Hats off to that committment from where I stand.

We were very lucky to get the 4pts against Tally, another 30 seconds and i reckon it could well have been there's. Our kicking let us down again... The 3rd quarter never saw much action down the VT backline but we only managed 3 goals for the quarter. Thought the veteran Willy Sanders was probably Tally's best 4 quarter contributor and Aaron Wood provided lots of run off the wing and half back for them.

What happened with Nagambie and Stanhope on the weekend?? Would love to hear a match report on the two seperate games... Poor preparation? Too sore from training during week? Or other teams just improved out of sight? Too many key players out? I know we've currently got 8 senior players out, but i'm sure everyones in the same boat there.

Had to have a chuckle at Shep News Stanhope comments about training numbers this morning... In regards to the lack of committment for only getting 30 blokes on a Tuesday to training.... Bloody hell, we've had 30 blokes at training once this year and that was on a Thursday. 18 - 20 players would be an outstanding Tuesday for us and that inlcudes all 3 teams. I'd be over the moon with 30 blokes on a Tuesday. Hats off to that committment from where I stand.

Not to sure where they plucked that number from as we struggle to get 20 on Tues nites, maybe the editor slipped and hit the 3 instead of the 2:confused:

Avenel just wanted it more than we did, being 2nd to the ball all day and our forwards being lead to the footy isnt going to win u games.

We did hav prob 3 of our top 5 out and a couple others, Ritchett Pritchett, Hank and Number One (aka Chris Sanders) all due back this wknd. Matt Stokes and Matt Evans also missed. Still no excuse for our performance. Avenel were just too good.

Yeah definately misquoted on the number there Bodzy, 10 would be closer to the mark.

On the Stanhope v Avenel game, Avenel's 1st half was good and obviously got a run on in the 2nd 1/4 when they kicked 8 goals and where slotting them from everywhere. Stanhope's 1st 1/4 was ok, controlled most of the general play but couldnt convert, were never in it in the 2nd.
After half time 4 goals to 1 Stanhope's way but Avenel were always in control.
Stanhope's willingness to work and intensity was well down, yes had a fair number of players out but 90% of the side turned up with the wrong attitude and paid dearly for it.
Rushworth this week who will come out with the same season on the line mentality that Avenel showed last week so will need to be on our game or we will find ourselves right back with the pack.

I just reckon it's great for the comp, as we now know that all teams are beatable and looking at the season so far, apart from Merrigum, Ardmona and Longwood any one could be capable of causing an upset on their day.

Lancaster would be the best team I have seen this year and it now makes for an interesting final 7 rounds

It's been a really interesting season in the KDL thus far.. I've been surprised that a few people have started pumping up Lancy's chances, when a few weeks ago most seemed to have Undera and Nagaz slightly ahead. Who are Lancy's gun players and leading goal kickers?

Was surprised that Rushy got over Merrigum by as much as they did, too, and Hank's right in that if they get over Stanhope this week finals are a chance.. And this from a team who got embarrassed by over 200 points from Undera not that long ago..

Apparently Jungle Martin is in red hot form at the moment and Drew Clarke played a great game down back on the weekend. I suppose like any side, if your best players perform it always helps your cause. Should be a cracker this week!