Kdfl - 2011

No good about losing Whybrow. Your brother played well by the sound of it, reading the shepp news.
When will you start playing Tav and how many games will you get in for the home and away season?

Yeh, it was disappointing to lose Whybrow, he seemed to be enjoying it at Rushy, not sure why he went back, esp after a near best on ground performance, but hope he has a good season as he's a top bloke.

Looks like my first game will be against Gig in Round 5, then will be back for the Stanhope match. In the second half of the year I should be available most weeks.

How have you been travelling Bodzy? And how's old mate Brad Gleeson going? Looking forward to catching up at some stage.

And fair call, giveitawash, it was a disappointing result against Murch, I guess it's the beauty of footy - if one team has a red hot crack and one's off their game, anything can happen. Didn't see the match, but most who I've spoken to believe Murch, all going well, should finish anywhere from 5-7, so in that aspect knocking off Rushy perhaps isn't that big a turn up.

Yeh, it was disappointing to lose Whybrow, he seemed to be enjoying it at Rushy, not sure why he went back, esp after a near best on ground performance, but hope he has a good season as he's a top bloke.

Looks like my first game will be against Gig in Round 5, then will be back for the Stanhope match. In the second half of the year I should be available most weeks.

How have you been travelling Bodzy? And how's old mate Brad Gleeson going? Looking forward to catching up at some stage.

And fair call, giveitawash, it was a disappointing result against Murch, I guess it's the beauty of footy - if one team has a red hot crack and one's off their game, anything can happen. Didn't see the match, but most who I've spoken to believe Murch, all going well, should finish anywhere from 5-7, so in that aspect knocking off Rushy perhaps isn't that big a turn up.

Good to see you will be up and about in the kdl soon tav!! Yeh just think maybe its time murch went from 5th to 7th to 3rd or 4th coz it seems they are always at that same spot!! Only reason i say murch top 3 is because there number 15 was overheard saying they are a legimate threat to lancy:confused::confused::confused:

G'Day All

My team is playing Round 1 this week and we are coming up against a fellow by the name of Rattray who played for Nagambie. Any goss on what we can expect? Height - Strengths - Weaknesses?

Cheers boys.

New Odds for KDL

Lancaster 2.20
Violet Town 4.50
Rushworth 6.50
Stanhope 7.00
Undera 8.00
Nagambie 14.00
Murchison 17.00
Tallygaroopna 26.00
Avenel 26.00
Longwood 81.00
Girgarre 251.00
Ardmona 251.00
Merrigum 501.00

Tally would have to be the best value in my book.

Gleeso's goin' alright, he's had a good summer all round, good tucker and plenty too drink;), but also won an A grade cricket premiership and has barely missed a footy training since we returned after xmas.
Me, I'm just happy to be out there running around, been doing all the training, hopefully we can have a bit more team success than we've had since joining the KDFL, 4 out of our 5 years we've finished the home n away season sitting between 2nd and 6th on the ladder, played 3 finals and got smashed in all of them...
Good to hear you won't be about for our first match in round 6. Look forward to our round 20 clash and hopefully it won't be our last game for the year:thumbsu:

hopefully we can have a bit more team success than we've had since joining the KDFL, 4 out of our 5 years we've finished the home n away season sitting between 2nd and 6th on the ladder, played 3 finals and got smashed in all of them.

still haven't recovered from that Tiger mauling in the 2003 grand final :D

No, that wasn't a great day at all doona, pretty sure that could've been a VCFL record or it at a bare min, the biggest grand final loss (or win from your perspective) for that year in senior footy!
Yea were overdue if I remember right, hadn't they lost last 4 grannies straight leading up to that one...

No, that wasn't a great day at all doona, pretty sure that could've been a VCFL record or it at a bare min, the biggest grand final loss (or win from your perspective) for that year in senior footy!
Yea were overdue if I remember right, hadn't they lost last 4 grannies straight leading up to that one...

Not 100% sure, I only starting sniffing round over there in 2002 and I know Rumba got them that year at Shepp East on the back of a 9-goal 2nd term. Geez I miss that old comp . . . .

Round 2 Tips:
Stanhope too strong fro Ardy
Undera by 20 points over Avenel
Voilet Town easily over Merrigum, See if they can get a score on the board this week.
Nagambie by 60 points over Gig
Rushy by 50 + points over Longwood
Tally & Lanky - Lanky in a close one Under 20 points.

Not 100% sure, I only starting sniffing round over there in 2002 and I know Rumba got them that year at Shepp East on the back of a 9-goal 2nd term. Geez I miss that old comp . . . .
Yeah I remember that granny. Yea looked like they were goin to kill 'em after the first quarter where they took a 4 or 5 goal lead, wasn't windy or anything. But then Rumba produced one of the best quarters you could imagine. Was an awesome game!

G'Day All

My team is playing Round 1 this week and we are coming up against a fellow by the name of Rattray who played for Nagambie. Any goss on what we can expect? Height - Strengths - Weaknesses?

Cheers boys.

Must have had a real impact in your competition. Thanks for your assistance lads.

Red Hot,

He is a gun when he is up and going, he is about 6 foot 5 can jump and mark. He is also one of the best kicks on goal that was going around in the KDFL for the last 2 or 3 years.

Not sure that he has done a lot of work on the track over the summer but he will still kick his 4+ goals a game.

Red Hot,

He is a gun when he is up and going, he is about 6 foot 5 can jump and mark. He is also one of the best kicks on goal that was going around in the KDFL for the last 2 or 3 years.

Not sure that he has done a lot of work on the track over the summer but he will still kick his 4+ goals a game.

Thanks Qwerty. Appreciate it.

Stanny 30.20.200 beat Ardy 2.7.19
Undera 33.11.209 beat Avenel 7.9.51
VT 26.25.181 beat Merr 0.5.5
Nag 20.24.144 beat Gig 4.4.28
Rushy 25.15.165 beat Longy 7.3.45
Lanky 18.15.123 beat Tally 8.4.52
Geez would've been a long time since the KD could say the closest game for the round had 71pt difference with 21 more scoring shots to the winning team.
Thought Undera v Avenel would've been a lot closer considering the Nagambie result against Avenel and witnessing Stanhope account for Undera last week.
Were Undera missing a few last week? Did Avenel have a few out today or is there just a huge difference between the top teams and the lower teams this year?
VT started very slow today (took us until 5-10mins into the 2nd quarter to kick our first goal) we kicked 9 behinds in the first quarter with 7 or 8 of them being set shots 20-40m out with barely no angle... Thankfully a 13 goal 3rd quarter got things back on track.
Any other match reports?

Stanny 30.20.200 beat Ardy 2.7.19
Undera 33.11.209 beat Avenel 7.9.51
VT 26.25.181 beat Merr 0.5.5
Nag 20.24.144 beat Gig 4.4.28
Rushy 25.15.165 beat Longy 7.3.45
Lanky 18.15.123 beat Tally 8.4.52
Geez would've been a long time since the KD could say the closest game for the round had 71pt difference with 21 more scoring shots to the winning team.
Thought Undera v Avenel would've been a lot closer considering the Nagambie result against Avenel and witnessing Stanhope account for Undera last week.
Were Undera missing a few last week? Did Avenel have a few out today or is there just a huge difference between the top teams and the lower teams this year?
VT started very slow today (took us until 5-10mins into the 2nd quarter to kick our first goal) we kicked 9 behinds in the first quarter with 7 or 8 of them being set shots 20-40m out with barely no angle... Thankfully a 13 goal 3rd quarter got things back on track.
Any other match reports?

Yeah their were some absolute beltings in the kd yesterday. Undera looked a pretty well drilled unit yesterday whilst we were absolute garbage. We do have quite a few players to come back in, in the coming weeks but that was no excuse for our performance yesterday. Just had too many passengers so hopefully we dont put in a perfromance like that again. Undera were a pretty strong bodied marking side, they were pretty impressive and will definitely be right up there again

KDFL Wrap Round 2.

The 2nd round of KDL footy seen all games end in lopsided scorelines.
At Ardmona, the bushcats were only able to register 2 goals against Stanhope's 30 to go down by 181pts. Jason Norman kicked 7 for the victors and Chris Cheong also chimed in with 4 in an onball roll which had him vying for BOG honours with coach Brad Lowe. Brent Ralph in the ruck was the only Ardmona player to hold his head high.

Undera bounced back from their Round 1 loss by slotting through 33 goals against a hapless Avenel at Avenel to take the win by 159pts. Sam LaPorta went on his merry way and slammed home 10 goals, while Jarrod Chapman was brought up from the twos and calmy slotted 7 himself. Daniel Breen and Peter Vourgaslis continued their early season form by being the Lions best two. For Avenel, new Assistant Coach Gerard Liddell led from the front but lacked the support of the rest of his troops.

Violet Town started off their season by not getting a goal in the 1st quarter against Merrigum but led 9 straight points to 1. After that they got right on top and romped home 26.25 181 to Merrigums 5 straight points. Young Guns Brad Gleeson and Ash Hobbs kicked 6 goals each, new coach Hayden Lamaro kicked 3 in his first game, but may have sustained an achilles injury, and new recruits David Rigney and Ben Tsakamakis were their best. For Merrigum, recruit Graeme Giles was again their standout player.

Nagambie made it 2 from 2 with a 20.24 144 to 4.4 28 win against Girgarre. Veterans Brent Clydesdale and Simon Potts slotted 5 and 4 respectively and youngster Jack Williams carried on from last week with another 4 in a BOG display. For Girgarre old hands Russ Myers and Sam Parker were ably supported by youngsters Cameron Gahan and Jeremy Hitchcock.

Rushworth broke their duck after 2 narrow losses with an even 20 goal win against first start victors Longwood. Big men Daniel Lambden and Jason Webb kicked 7 between them, returning local Steve Kirby kicked 3 as did young gun Andrew Clarke who again had another near BOG performance, Shaun Young and Jedd Perry were also good for the Tigers. Jesse Robertson and Adam Larkins again lead from the front for the leggers.

In the last game Tallygaroopna were at home to the Wombats. After Tally's big first up win they were brought back to earth by the might of the well oiled Lancaster machine. Brent Arho kicked 3 for Tally and Dylan Sidebottom was again their best, super veteran Willy Sanders worked hard all day, Matt Toohey and Dylan Kerr also tried valiantly at times but just couldnt sustain any pressure against the wombats. They were led by their courageous captain Steve Thomson and much hyped recruit Jason Casey in the midfield. Crumbing forward Ricki Busch ended up with 5 goals and key forward Nic Casey 4.

Next week we see the whole comp having a general bye over Easter, the big games after the break will be undefeated sides Lancaster and Nagambie facing off and arch rivals Stanhope and Rushworth locking horns where a loss to the tigers might see them falling away from challenging for a Top 3 berth.

Sportsbet Odds
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

30-4-2011 14:30AEST
Winner
Lancaster 2.00
Violet Town 4.50
Rushworth 6.50
Undera 8.00
Stanhope 8.00
Nagambie 12.00
Murchison 17.00
Tallygaroopna 51.00
Avenel 51.00
Longwood 101.00
Girgarre 501.00
Ardmona 501.00
Merrigum 1,001.00

Sportsbet Odds
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

30-4-2011 14:30AEST
Winner
Lancaster 2.00
Violet Town 4.50
Rushworth 6.50
Undera 8.00
Stanhope 8.00
Nagambie 12.00
Murchison 17.00
Tallygaroopna 51.00
Avenel 51.00
Longwood 101.00
Girgarre 501.00
Ardmona 501.00
Merrigum 1,001.00

I'm not a gambling man, Hank, but know that you don't mind a punt. I'm a bit confused about how Rushy's paying $6.50 (3rd favourite) when we lost to Murch (7th in betting here) and have only had a win over Longwood?

Also, it's surprising that Stanhope are at such long odds, and the same odds as Undera, who you beat comfortably..

Do these odds seem spot on, or is there a bit of value in Undera and yourself??

maybe Merrigum should put 20k on themselves, then recruit 20 guns with the incentive if they win the flag they all get a million each.... I'm sure Balrag Sing would play!!

Maybe you could put the boots back on or are you selling enough cars to get by?

I'm not a gambling man, Hank, but know that you don't mind a punt. I'm a bit confused about how Rushy's paying $6.50 (3rd favourite) when we lost to Murch (7th in betting here) and have only had a win over Longwood?

Also, it's surprising that Stanhope are at such long odds, and the same odds as Undera, who you beat comfortably..

Do these odds seem spot on, or is there a bit of value in Undera and yourself??

Yeah Tav had a nibble when we were $9, I'd certainly set a bit different market, think Lancy and VT are about right, but we would have to be atleast even with you guys at the minute until you knock us off after the break;).
Don't worry Boppin a similar scenario was spoken about during a sunday drink at the SFC a month ago:D
Look out for J Souter, M Roberts, A James, C McCarty, A Pappin etc to sign on before June 30th!!:eek::rolleyes: