KDFL 2013

Sadly, it speaks more of the disease that is besetting the game and I am not referring to money being paid. Players are not coming through from junior ranks. I know that geography and changes in social norms play a part but the AFL continually trumpets the success of Auskick and other 'initiatives' when surely its true measure is the number who go on to play as adults.

I agree with you 100% woody the auskick program is great and is run by some good people as I have seen , but after that is where the trouble is Most clubs have flawed junior program's and I see that first hand , and I'm not talking about the 3rds. They have their own issues with numbers , it's before they get to that stage , most under age coaches are more concerned with winning and their top 5 players instead of trying to develop every player that turns up , you can get the most improvement from your bottom 5 players that will make your side so much better .
And some of senior clubs not all, don't realise that in 7 or 8 years and in sometimes less time these are their senior players , Not enough forward thinking . My opinion as I see the lack of forethought every week

I agree with you 100% woody the auskick program is great and is run by some good people as I have seen , but after that is where the trouble is Most clubs have flawed junior program's and I see that first hand , and I'm not talking about the 3rds. They have their own issues with numbers , it's before they get to that stage , most under age coaches are more concerned with winning and their top 5 players instead of trying to develop every player that turns up , you can get the most improvement from your bottom 5 players that will make your side so much better .
And some of senior clubs not all, don't realise that in 7 or 8 years and in sometimes less time these are their senior players , Not enough forward thinking . My opinion as I see the lack of forethought every week
Spot on Godzy! Too many senior clubs don't have the correct attitudes for developing kids into senior players. Boys can still be growing and developing physically until 19, so why ride off a local kid at 10 or 12 who is a bit shorter, skinnier or fatter than what you think would be a good footballer? Try and develop all your players skills and technical knowledge of the game! The disappointing thing is that most senior clubs have the resources to fasten this process, but don't want to get involved with younger kids development and so it quite often leaves it to less knowledgeable parents.

Is this the situation at your club "Boardman"? There should be better (or some) representation and involvement at junior training from senior groups. Keep the kids playing football as long as possible and you have the potential to have more players at a senior and reserve level.

For what it's worth I don't think Lee, Williams or Whelan are any chance of heading back to VT this year. Happy to put a slab on it, too, if there are any takers..
Could have told you that ages ago Tav, Love reading the gos that gets put on here its a good laugh.

For what it's worth I don't think Lee, Williams or Whelan are any chance of heading back to VT this year. Happy to put a slab on it, too, if there are any takers..

You having a beer these days mate?

correct along with Ricki Shinner. Seems strange time to be leaving even though its would be extremely hard getting flogged every week. Whats the go Carrot in 15 words or less?

This bloke any good, where does he live?

Should Longwood have a football team?
Whilst they are still financial, and can field 2 football teams and 3 netball teams, then yes, they do deserve a place to play (as far as Ardmona goes, they have all division's covered, which is great from a rebuilding point of view, and their 3rds are a big chance to win it this year).

I know that the chances of them getting an Under 18's side is Buckley's, but maybe if they can get a junior Netball Team up and running in the future (you only need 10 players 7 on court & 3 on the bench), then things might look a bit better for them, but if the worse comes to the worse, there's always the O&K, or even joining up with Avenel if the other alternative is folding (And no one wants to see that, I like Longwood :footy::thumbsu:) .

Remember, in the mid 00's, Murchison & Merrigum were on the arse end of the ladder & look at them now, I doubt that this will happen to Longwood but as long as there's some improvement there, we should try to help to make them prosper.

You having a beer these days mate?

Yeh Doon.. Darwin got me mate..

Must say, I ended up having a kick for Rushy on the weekend & nagaz were very impressive; seemed to have good midfield depth, were well structured & Haysom looked very good (what's his background..?)

On previous years I'd say they're top 3 material, do any of you guys rate them a chance this year, or they still a bit off the likes of Murch, etc...?

Yeh Doon.. Darwin got me mate..

Must say, I ended up having a kick for Rushy on the weekend & nagaz were very impressive; seemed to have good midfield depth, were well structured & Haysom looked very good (what's his background..?)

On previous years I'd say they're top 3 material, do any of you guys rate them a chance this year, or they still a bit off the likes of Murch, etc...?

Haysom, Nagambie lad, played past 2 years at Shepp Swans, struggled with injury but a good GV player. Can't see anyone else other than Murch, Merrigum & Stanhope finishing Top 2, new finals system hs 3-6 playing knockout finals right through so Top 3 is out the window now.

I have some thoughts on the current lack of umpires which sadly seems to be getting worse each week. ( not the umpiring ) what do you think if the senior coach from the competing clubs each week had to supply one of their senior players as a thirds umpire each week , this would solve a few problems but also help out the current lack of umpires , one ,players would have a better understanding each week and wouldn't umpire whilst playing ! 2, the thirds umpires could do the seconds games with the volunteer umpire from the home club thus helping him and making it easier ,3 some senior players might actually enjoy the umpiring experience and when they finish playing might actually consider umpiring , this wont provide an influx of umpires that is needed but over time it encourage some retiring players to umpire thus keeping the games going each week , as we all know volunteers are harder and harder to find each year , if we don't try something , who will umpire Just my thoughts Remember we are buggered without them

Footy is usualy the first thing to go out the window when teams are in struggle street.

Not sure I agree with that, Bond. Longwood have been down for a while & haven't appeared to be involved in many unsavoury incidents at all, while Ardmona were clearly a more aggressive side when they were near the top of the ladder rather than near the bottom like now.

On another note, it was great to see so many competitive matches last weekend; gig weren't blown away by lancy, Rushy & undera were close, nagaz had a big third qtr v murch, avenel reached triple figures against VT, etc. in saying that, the final 6 looks set and I reckon they'll be quietly confident out at the 'mainland'..

Not sure I agree with that, Bond. Longwood have been down for a while & haven't appeared to be involved in many unsavoury incidents at all, while Ardmona were clearly a more aggressive side when they were near the top of the ladder rather than near the bottom like now.

On another note, it was great to see so many competitive matches last weekend; gig weren't blown away by lancy, Rushy & undera were close, nagaz had a big third qtr v murch, avenel reached triple figures against VT, etc. in saying that, the final 6 looks set and I reckon they'll be quietly confident out at the 'mainland'..
Yep agree final 6 looks set.
Whats the format for final 6 ? who plays who ?

Yep agree final 6 looks set.
Whats the format for final 6 ? who plays who ?

Week One: Elimination Finals
Game 1: 3 v 6
Game 2: 4 v 5

Week Two: Semi Finals
Game 3: 1 v 2
Game 4: Winner Game 1 V Winner Game 2

Week Three: Preliminary Final
Game 5: Loser Game 3 V Winner Game 4

Week Four: Grand Final
Game 6: Winner Game 3 V Winner Game 5

Is this the situation at your club "Boardman"? There should be better (or some) representation and involvement at junior training from senior groups. Keep the kids playing football as long as possible and you have the potential to have more players at a senior and reserve level.
Sorry Dogs gay, I have been off air for a few days...I think our systems are ok at the moment but could always do with some improvement and your idea has been a suggestion given to me a couple of weeks ago. Oh and How did you know I was a boardman? We only played Mooroopna Blue in the U/14's for the first time yesterday :) ....... mmmm