KDFL 2013

Hank you have made a wrong assumption why change in rankings. You got kids???
It's like this SE are a pretty excitable bunch like a demanding child, NW just roll their eyes and go with the flow, like the quiet easy to get along with kid. SE very unhappy with ranking may have spoke to "mum" aka vcfl for a change. Vcfl knowing the difference in character between the two made the swap but as a reward to NW for being such a likeable bunch gave them the opportunity to play at Visy.
Now NW thought hell yeah we'll accept that then picked a heap of their youngsters to give them the chance of a lifetime to play on an AFL ground!!! The facts stand up that my version is true don't ya think?
3 kids, like your version and wouldnt surprise me, facts are the rankings were changed, no idea why but now SE are ranked higher so I suppose until NW get ahead of them in the rankings my thoughts are backed up by the rankings;), rightly or wrongly.

Like your thinking Jax although must say I would hugely surprised if that is all it is costing your league even playing at home which has been the case the first two years and unlikely to occur in 2014 .
Many leagues endure costs closer to $20k for away games .
Got the figure from Greg Watson ( league pres )himself yesterday so only going on what he told me..

Their should be a selection committee put together and they choose the best side we have to offer eg: the best full back plays full back and the best onballers play onball. Fine the CLUBS say $400 dollars for every player who does not participate unless it is deemed they have a legit excuse and suspend the player for 1 week. .

No doubt that their should be a selection committee, clubs should not pick players, each club coach should be contacted and give thoughts but the squad should be picked by the selectors.
You still need to have players that WANT to play, so my thoughts on the matter are this;

*Interleague Coach and Selectors pick a squad in consultation with club coaches.
*The first training run on a Sunday is compulsory for all players picked to attend and any player that does not attend without a legitimate excuse (work, birth of child, death etc!!) will be suspended for 1 week.
* The Coach sells the interleague game, concept, worth to the league, the clubs and the individual, to the players, if at that point in time any players do not want to commit, they are allowed to pull out without sanction.
* Coach and selectors then move on with the players that commit and prepare them to represent the league to the best of their ability.

By doing this you still end up with players that want to play for the league, but in difference to the current system you have the opportunity to personally sell the opportunity to every player that you want to play before they decide its not for them. You would be surprised that once the better players are there and train together and sit down for a lunch and listen to why and what opportunities and benefits playing interleague footy can bring to an individual, how many will put their hand up and say, yeah I'm in.:rolleyes:

You'd have to ask the wife if the kids are demanding or not:D, nah they are all good, thanks for the thoughts though on the make up of the family;). Totally agree, whichever league gets their act together and gets the support of its topline players, will reap the benefits and allow one of us to substantiate our opinion and be shown to be RIGHT!, Even then I am sure there will still be excuses from the league/s that don't take it seriously or don't get the support of the players. Ah well glad I'm not in the position to have to worry about any of that, even though I suppose the GV is now in dissarray after losing the No.1 ranking;)

Agreed. I don't have to worry either thank goodness having just this season moved to MFL.
Still jump to defence of PDFNLNW at times though. just wish players/clubs could view their slackness through the eyes of their juniors.

KYABRAM DISTRICT FL
Goal Kickers: B. Bailey 2, C. McKay , M. Sanderson , P. Arandt
Best Players: P. Horsburgh, M. Sanderson, L. Trevena, S. Sali, G. Connally, D. Breen

S. Sali in the best?? Wowee geez and he did it for nuthin'?! the other 20 blokes must have really had us doomed!! Well anyway trend setters there's that info.....
Now that result and the side out there yesterday was embarrassing. I thought 13-14 players were legitimate interleague level, the rest very debatable. We need to look at a way to make players seriously look at buying in to the concept or don't bother. It was great to see Patty Horsburgh play, he is a gun. The risks these top players take by playing is big for them and their clubs. Talking to Pelly after the game he was very disappointed that blokes don't want to have a crack at this to help the leagues reputation. It should be an honour and its clearly not seen that way.
Murchison not having a single representative is an embarrassment as they could easily contribute 6 or more worthy players.
Congrats to Auldy on his efforts he is the right coach for this concept going forward but there needs to be a solid plan put in place to attract the best players.

Got the figure from Greg Watson ( league pres )himself yesterday so only going on what he told me..
No worries Jax , just think that figure would be conservative , a big congrats must go to the KDFL for their efforts in hosting the games on Saturday. Hopefully the gate takings covered the expenses incurred and the league was able to cover costs . :thumbsu:
The MDFNL ( Maryborough and District ) league stated after the game on Saturday they been training for 6 weeks in preparation and they are a 14 club comp. whilst the mid gippsland league (10 clubs ) had been training for 4 weeks . A big commitment from players who most likely are beyond their dream of making it to a further standard as neither played a largr amount of younger players , whilst the players who played are also likely to be receiving a few quid from their home club .

KYABRAM DISTRICT FL
Goal Kickers: B. Bailey 2, C. McKay , M. Sanderson , P. Arandt
Best Players: P. Horsburgh, M. Sanderson, L. Trevena, S. Sali, G. Connally, D. Breen

S. Sali in the best?? Wowee geez and he did it for nuthin'?! the other 20 blokes must have really had us doomed!! Well anyway trend setters there's that info.....
Now that result and the side out there yesterday was embarrassing. I thought 13-14 players were legitimate interleague level, the rest very debatable. We need to look at a way to make players seriously look at buying in to the concept or don't bother. It was great to see Patty Horsburgh play, he is a gun. The risks these top players take by playing is big for them and their clubs. Talking to Pelly after the game he was very disappointed that blokes don't want to have a crack at this to help the leagues reputation. It should be an honour and its clearly not seen that way.
Murchison not having a single representative is an embarrassment as they could easily contribute 6 or more worthy players.
Congrats to Auldy on his efforts he is the right coach for this concept going forward but there needs to be a solid plan put in place to attract the best players.

Even in the under 12s when you get well beaten the back line get named in the best , doesn't really mean they were in the best lol

interleague rankings after the weekend, rankings may change (due to additions etc.) before next season's games though;
25. Picola &DFNL (Sth East)
26. Ellinbank &DFL
27. Ovens & King FL
28. Mid Gippsland FL
29. Alberton FL
30. Riddell &DFNL
31. Picola &DFNL (North West)
32. Colac & DFL
33. Kyabram &DFNL
34. Tallangatta FL
35. Warrnambool & DFNL
36. Hume FL

It would seem that either the slide in rule has been removed or the umpires I saw today made their OWN rules up. A joke really , there must have been at least 20 times players had their legs taken out and not one whistle , and these were suppose to have been so called good umpires. :(. A rule is a rule !

what game

Tally v rushy
I presume that is called consistency, i.e. players from both sides know what is going on and should adapt accordingly. There is also an out known as "in the spirit of the game". If conditions were so poor that so many players applied this strategy then consistently not paying this as a free kick would be good umpiring.

They are not the rule makers , they uphold the rules. That's such a cop out In the spirit of the game what crap they don't decide what rules they enforce or don't enforce !!!!!

I laugh at comments like yours. I go to the footy every week ( not KDL) and hear the stupid & abusive comments from spectators that have NEVER read the rule book or watched the DVD. I bet your cannot explain the prior opportunity rule. Umpires will make mistakes but generally fewer than some very poorly skilled players. Over the years I have read the comments on the KDL site & I enjoy the banter & different views but I note the shortage of umpires in the GV. Have a go Godzilla & pull on the white shirt & you find it is a lot harder than you think.

I find it amusing the flogs that post on here and yes you are a flog I do umpire ,I do have a white shirt , when the umpires call in sick or don't turn up. I step up to make sure the game goes on , Do don't assume cos you turn yourself into an ass !!!!! I do what ever is need or asked and proberly donate 3 times more of my time than you do , so chirp away , if a player slides in and take the feet out , it's a bloody free kick No iF no buts A bloody free kick. :). Because that's the rule ! Amen.

Then I
I find it amusing the flogs that post on here and yes you are a flog I do umpire ,I do have a white shirt , when the umpires call in sick or don't turn up. I step up to make sure the game goes on , Do don't assume cos you turn yourself into an arse !!!!! I do what ever is need or asked and proberly donate 3 times more of my time than you do , so chirp away , if a player slides in and take the feet out , it's a bloody free kick No iF no buts A bloody free kick. :). Because that's the rule ! Amen.
Then I'm sure that you would understand that umpires are required to interpret the rules in "the spirit of the game".

"In an effort to achieve consistency and accuracy in decision making, there is an emphasis on understanding the “spirit of the laws” (i.e. the philosophies underlying the laws) and officiating according to the spirit of the laws."

http://www.aflcommunityclub.com.au/.../Spirit_of_the_Laws_2013_FA_lo_2___FINAL_.pdf

Most games today were played in atrocious conditions. Did the umpires apply this rule inconsistently or not?

I find it amusing the flogs that post on here and yes you are a flog I do umpire ,I do have a white shirt , when the umpires call in sick or don't turn up. I step up to make sure the game goes on , Do don't assume cos you turn yourself into an arse !!!!! I do what ever is need or asked and proberly donate 3 times more of my time than you do , so chirp away , if a player slides in and take the feet out , it's a bloody free kick No iF no buts A bloody free kick. :). Because that's the rule ! Amen.

The kdfl website has Tally 1.5 11 beating Rushy 1.4 10. I know it was wet but surely that can't be right? Would have to be the lowest winning score I've ever seen.

Godzilla just because somebody disagrees with your opinion does not mean you need to get abusive. It is terrific that you pull on the white shirt to umpire & help the game go on. I also agree with you about the sliding rule. However I still say 99% of footy followers & players have never read the rules or watched the rules DVD. By the way I spent about 20 hours a week helping my club so you are very busy if you spend 3 times as much time as I do.

Can any one shed any light on a n investigation which will take place over an incident which
left Geoff Connally in a bad way during the Merrigum vs Murch game

Can any one shed any light on a n investigation which will take place over an incident which
left Geoff Connally in a bad way during the Merrigum vs Murch game

I'm not going to alledge anything on here, we would prefer any investigation to run its course out of respect for Joffa and Murchison. I'm sure the incident will hit the papers before too long anyway. I hope everyone can keep it off BF until that happens, then we can talk..

Would suggest that you watch the win news shortly as it could be on, they were at the game for the whole last quarter on the weekend, could be shown?