KDFL April 06 -Sept 06

Re: Kyabram District FL

Avenel starts as the under dogs against merrigum this week according to the shepp paper. news in the nest is the swanees have a few handy players returning into the senior ranks this week which will help bolster the line up. should pose as an interesting match as both sides look to notch up only their second win for the year.

Joeyboy said:
Avenel starts as the under dogs against merrigum this week according to the shepp paper. news in the nest is the swanees have a few handy players returning into the senior ranks this week which will help bolster the line up. should pose as an interesting match as both sides look to notch up only their second win for the year.

I have heard of predictions of a nil all draw between these two!!
For mine Avenel to win by 32 points.

Hey Bodzy - when did old Hayesy become a wingman???

Yea pressing for a top-two finish

By Chris Stubbs
June 1 2006
Shepparton News

Yea and Violet Town are ready to rumble in round-nine action of Kyabram District Football League.

The clash shapes as an important one for both sides, with Yea looking to push for a top-two position and Violet Town well aware of its need to start beating teams above it to make the finals.

Yea coach Adrian Wilson said his side was cautiously confident ahead of the match.

"We're confident, but they've only lost two more games than us and I reckon this one's going to be a lot closer than most people think," Wilson said.

"We've played a lot of big games recently like Lancaster and Stanhope and we just can't afford to take games like this easy if we want to make the top two."

Wilson is looking for his underrated midfield to take charge this weekend.

"Our on-ball division gets overlooked, blokes like Dan Cleary, Glenn Ryan and Tom Butterworth really take the pressure off the forwards," Wilson said.

"We've actually had the wood over them in the past three or so years, but this one will be a good match-up."

Lions coach John Trotter said his side was well aware of what had to be done to play finals football.

"We haven't beaten anyone above us yet and we get that chance over the next two weeks before the bye, so this will give us a real indication of where we're heading." Trotter said.

"They're a real yardstick, they've been a good side for three years, we can only afford to lose one, maybe two, games to teams above us or that's it."

The Lions will have to win without injured wingman Chris Hayes and sharpshooter Frank Macak who, up against the Tigers' powerful backline, are big losses for the club.

One shining light for the Lions is the continued development of young full-back James Bodycoat.

"James is doing a great job, he's not really big enough to play fullback, but he is not getting many kicked on him at all," Trotter said.

Violet Town will travel to Yea for Saturday's match.

Doona2 said:
One shining light for the Lions is the continued development of young full-back James Bodycoat.

"James is doing a great job, he's not really big enough to play fullback, but he is not getting many kicked on him at all," Trotter said.

Violet Town will travel to Yea for Saturday's match.

You obviously haven't showered with the new coach yet BODZY!!!
Put Butterworth to Full Forward and Kick it high and long, you'll have your work cut out then!!

blackbeard said:
You obviously haven't showered with the new coach yet BODZY!!!
Put Butterworth to Full Forward and Kick it high and long, you'll have your work cut out then!!

Dont worry about predicting it beard - Tom Tom will spend most the day in the goalsquare next to Jimmy looking forward to watching two of the KDFL's in form players going at it.

I can only see 4 positions on the ground where VT could be confident in winning out, I think the Tiger's depth may stretch em - but after some poor showings at Yea by visiting Violet Town side's in recent times I must admit it should be a ripper contest for once but for me it's Yea by 20-30 points.

Sorry Bodz

Hey doona is there any chance of putting the kdfl sdies up 4 this week, im abit straved for info down here in the city, especially about vt....

T.Perry said:
Apart from Thomas and White, were you blokes at full strength on the weekend? What did you think of the game?
sorry to hear about Wintertons missus.
We were missing about 4 blokes from out best team i would think, thomo and brez included in those.

Hard to remember much about the game at this time but i'd think you guys just needed a marking forward to pop some more goals thru the middle.
Was well battled out by both teams, i think we came thru with out any injuries so it was a good outcome and good to get one back on your tigers.

My Tips for Round 9

Rushworth v Girgarre (Rushworth by 100pts)
Yea v Violet Town Yea by 30pts
Nagambie v Undera by 30
Murchison v Lancaster by 80pts
Avenel v Merrigum. avenel by 1pt
Tallygaroopna v Stanhope by 60pts

my tipps and gussing the margins
some one sided games their :thumbsu:

big weekend in footy....the towners defeating yea by 5 goals!!!!
lancaster only getting up by 25 points over murch!!
tally only scoring 23 against stanhope!!!!

Doona2 said:
Dont worry about predicting it beard - Tom Tom will spend most the day in the goalsquare next to Jimmy looking forward to watching two of the KDFL's in form players going at it.

I can only see 4 positions on the ground where VT could be confident in winning out, I think the Tiger's depth may stretch em - but after some poor showings at Yea by visiting Violet Town side's in recent times I must admit it should be a ripper contest for once but for me it's Yea by 20-30 points.

Sorry Bodz

Geez my credability continues to slide!!! Great win for the Towners, didnt get there so dunno what happened - maybe Bodz can give us a rundown. Some interesting results means the race for the finals is bound to hot up

Doona2 said:
Geez my credability continues to slide!!! Great win for the Towners, didnt get there so dunno what happened - maybe Bodz can give us a rundown. Some interesting results means the race for the finals is bound to hot up

Yes yes was a great game of footy for the towners, the last 2 games we've put things together right accross the field. we were able to nullify yea's great running game with lots of pressure and marks for leathem and g. Ryan were almost non-existent and the likes of clavarino on the wing had no impact on the game. We got the jump on 'em in the first quarter and always answered back after yea kicking a goal and gradually stretched our lead each quarter. Yea never looked like winning after first quarter. Gary Abley was flawless in the forward line but in my mind it was our midfield destroying yea's midfield where the game was won and our half back lines run. i did get to play on tommy for 2 and a half quarters and im glad i wasn't on him all game was way too strong for me but i did get plenty of spoils on him so it wasn't too bad. Now just looking forward to our clash with rushy find out if we mean business or it was just a once off win....?

BODZY#32 said:
Yes yes was a great game of footy for the towners, the last 2 games we've put things together right accross the field. we were able to nullify yea's great running game with lots of pressure and marks for leathem and g. Ryan were almost non-existent and the likes of clavarino on the wing had no impact on the game. We got the jump on 'em in the first quarter and always answered back after yea kicking a goal and gradually stretched our lead each quarter. Yea never looked like winning after first quarter. Gary Abley was flawless in the forward line but in my mind it was our midfield destroying yea's midfield where the game was won and our half back lines run. i did get to play on tommy for 2 and a half quarters and im glad i wasn't on him all game was way too strong for me but i did get plenty of spoils on him so it wasn't too bad. Now just looking forward to our clash with rushy find out if we mean business or it was just a once off win....?
Geez Bodz that's an honest account, but the confidence must be high. How many did the old fella kick?

BODZY#32 said:

Abley jagged 5 i think, the Towners just might be gathering some momentum whilst Yea it appears has some work ahead of them - the fitness of key players is a worry as there's little depth to allow them games off when needed. This weekend's bye couldn't have cum at a better time for them whilst I'm sure the Towners are spewing they have to wait a fortnight before playing again.

It's shaping up as a very interesting last few rounds of the season, both at the top end, and the bottom end..Violet Town are obviously flying at the moment and play us in 2wks in what shapes as a crucial game for both teams, Ardy have lost Meka, which might bring them back to the field a bit, and a few question marks may have been raised about Yea after the weekend's performance..Elborough was at Rushy Sat night and said that Lancy got out of jail against an improved Murch side, though they are obviously still up there with Stanhope as the likely Grand Finalists at this stage..

The bye has come at a good time for Rushy, with hopefully a few to return for the towners clash, and Gig, who were actually quite good on the weekend given that they had Canavan, Fisher, Snelson, D. Vance and M. Vance all on the sidelines are yet to chalk up a win, yet could surprise a few more fancied sides if they get it all together..Not sure how long he's been playing there, but ex-northern Knights player, Pearson, played at CHF for Gig on Sat and could take some containing if they use him right..

Would love to know who played on Mitchell to keep him to 1 goal for Murch? R. Feehan?? W. Saunders?? Booza??

head67 said:
Geez Bodz that's an honest account, but the confidence must be high. How many did the old fella kick?
Yeh Abs kicked five majors and his presence was instrumental in a few other goals.... The kdfl is hotting up at the moment and looks like it will be an exciting 2nd half to the season. Murch are a worry for me being 10pts up at 3 quarter time to lancaster and keeping mitchell to one goal and kellett still managing to snag a decent amount of goals through lancy's solid defense, this could see them really take it up too a few top teams i think and maybe come out on top if they put it together for four quarters

T.Perry said:
Elborough was at Rushy Sat night and said that Lancy got out of jail against an improved Murch side.
Sure did.
It took close to three quarters to realise that we were actually goin to have to put in to get the result we wanted.
Murch had a fair dinkum crack and will roll a few sides this year if they're not on their game.
I'm not sure who had mitch, he was still involved in alot of play but just couldn't snag a goal. I think he kicked about 5 points from set shots.

cosby said:
Sure did.
It took close to three quarters to realise that we were actually goin to have to put in to get the result we wanted.
Murch had a fair dinkum crack and will roll a few sides this year if they're not on their game.
I'm not sure who had mitch, he was still involved in alot of play but just couldn't snag a goal. I think he kicked about 5 points from set shots.

Unlike Mitch! Normally he's a bit of dead-eye d i c k, but I suppose he generally likes them better when he can snap them, etc..

I totally agree about top sides being careful against the likes of Murch, though..they seem more than capable of being able to roll one of the more fancied sides if they're not switched on for 4 quarters..I seriously reckon if Gig get all their players on the park at once they could also get 1 or 2 big scalps before the season's out..

big no no lads . . . . . just found us lingering on page 2 :mad:

ringo1 said:
interleague this weekend. anyone willing to have a crack at a side. what do people think the result will be

Going on training, I would imagine it'd look something like this (please fill in the gaps);

B: Wheeler whoever turns up whoever turns up

HB: Chapman Morgan McDonald

C:Clavarino Grey

HF: Hansford T. Butterworth Sidebottom

F: J. Perry Wayman

Followers: Montgomery O'Brien Snelson

I imagine it'd be a pretty good game against the Picola boys..Don't think they'll have their best side, apparently Ahmat, Brunt, etc aren't playing.. I think the KDL on-ball brigade should get them over the line in a close one..

T.Perry said:
Going on training, I would imagine it'd look something like this (please fill in the gaps);

B: Wheeler whoever turns up whoever turns up

C:Clavarino Grey

F: J. Perry Wayman

I imagine it'd be a pretty good game against the Picola boys..Don't think they'll have their best side, apparently Ahmat, Brunt, etc aren't playing.. I think the KDL on-ball brigade should get them over the line in a close one..

Cant remember initial names but are Jed Smith (Avenel) & Jimmy Bodycoat (VT) in the squad??? Strong in form defenders could play full back??? Mark Nicholls (Yea) plays midfield/haf forward and is in really good form, and is keen to play rep footy he told me yesterday. What about Dipper Wilson on a wing? One of the Sidebottomas played well on Chris Leatham against Yea is he available and is Troy Mitchell gunna play in that other FP?

Where is Tav Perry gunna line-up?

Doona2 said:
Cant remember initial names but are Jed Smith (Avenel) & Jimmy Bodycoat (VT) in the squad??? Strong in form defenders could play full back??? Mark Nicholls (Yea) plays midfield/haf forward and is in really good form, and is keen to play rep footy he told me yesterday. What about Dipper Wilson on a wing? One of the Sidebottomas played well on Chris Leatham against Yea is he available and is Troy Mitchell gunna play in that other FP?

Where is Tav Perry gunna line-up?

I was only going on the blokes who rocked up to training when I was there. Didn't realise Dipper, Nicholls, etc were available, and i forgot the blokes names who trained from VT...don't think Mitch has made himself available..in fact, I don't think he's ever played interleague..I'm sure Cosby will fill us in when he gets the chance..Unfortunately T.Perry has had to pull out with an injury that could see me on the sidelines for 4 weeks...gutted.

B: Wheeler Bodzy #32 Smith

C:Clavarino Grey Wilson

F: J. Perry Wayman Nicholls

T.Perry said:
I was only going on the blokes who rocked up to training when I was there. Didn't realise Dipper, Nicholls, etc were available, and i forgot the blokes names who trained from VT...don't think Mitch has made himself available..in fact, I don't think he's ever played interleague..I'm sure Cosby will fill us in when he gets the chance..Unfortunately T.Perry has had to pull out with an injury that could see me on the sidelines for 4 weeks...gutted.

B: Wheeler Bodzy #32 Smith

C:Clavarino Grey Wilson

F: J. Perry Wayman Nicholls

Whats the problem Trev? Blown the hammy out again?
Doesn't look like near the best side which is always the case for Interleague. Give me your best line up Trev with everyone available.

T.Perry said:
You're right Tav, Mitch aint interested. The travel from echuca to Nagambie would've put him off from the start.
Like yourself i won't be taking part in the team either.
Was talking to Patto today and he said he's had another 4 pull out since the weekend. I guess you're one of them. The other 3???

Sean Horsborough from VT is the bloke you're thinking of, should get a guernsey.
I think Adam 'white trash' Thomson should get a crack at full back, as far as i'm concerned he's probably the best going around at the moment. The other two Thomsons Jarrod and Steve would go close too, and i know they're both very keen to represent the kdl.
I reckon Shane 'special' Kay from murch and Molli(Molisak) from Tally will sneak in for a game also.
Don't forget also, unless things have changed, Brad Lowe has made himself available too. Quite a handy midfield with, wokka, lowey, snels and moli rotating thru it.

Surely someone must be able to get onto that Bodycoat kid, he is surely one of the up and comers in the league and deserves a interleague gig. Watched him a few weeks back and he provides a lot of drive for a full back, much like Scarlett does for the Cats.