KDFL April 06 -Sept 06

Re: Kyabram District FL

no worries trav from what ive heard 2 avenel players have been reported i wasnt there but have heard it could of got ugly when the scuffle was close to the boundary line near the crowd

Doona2 said:
Wasn't big Pez involved in something later last year, I think against maybe Stanhope? How old is he now, woulda thought he may have mallowed by now and wouldnt be bothered in getting sucked in from over the fence by a few kids.
There was a bloke who came under massive criticism at Broadford a few years back and he put up with crap every week he took to the field and no-one woulda blamed him for jumping the fence but he never did. Obviously Bakes wasn't the bad A$$ many tried to label him as . . . .

Noticed David Giles picture in the paper for Undera how did he go? No Travis Wayman for Tally? Did Tally fall in a hole after Ratcliffes broken leg? Hard for Vance to do much if the ball doesn't go near him? Is the top 5 set for the season? Looks like it to me, although they all appear fairly close. Ardmona could be the big surprise though.:confused:

gazza12 said:
no worries trav from what ive heard 2 avenel players have been reported i wasnt there but have heard it could of got ugly when the scuffle was close to the boundary line near the crowd

It's Tavis actually mate, not Travis..but your mail is good, it was definitely near the boundary line and had the potential to get very, very ugly. Because we were winning, myself and Dujon were trying to defuse the situation as much as we could and get as many rushy players away from the fracas as possible (and yes, I did cop a nice little shiner from some little fat fella..). If it had of been about 30m up (along the boundary) from where it was, or if we retaliated, it could have been worse. A spectator, who apparently had a brother playing for Avenel came running across and was about 5m from the fracas, but thankfully didn't jump the fence..

Giles had his first run on the weekend and will be handy for Undera, Jason Norman played well on him. Matt Wishart was at the game but didnt play and story is that he will pull the boots on soon so Undera may shape up as a side that will push the top 5 sides thoughout the year as they have a good onball brigade and with those two up forward will be dangerous.

Tav, was Sloany's first game back from injury went well but whether he will be straight in after the bye or not I don't know. A couple of other onballers in the twos also went well in James Weeks(ex Rochy) and Brian Cowie.

yeah thats what i heard there was a fair few punches thrown and it was very close to getting completley out of hand with crowd involvement luckily cool heads prevailed and it didnt but 2 avenel players did get reported

The dogs gay said:
No Travis Wayman for Tally? Did Tally fall in a hole after Ratcliffes broken leg? Hard for Vance to do much if the ball doesn't go near him? Is the top 5 set for the season? Looks like it to me, although they all appear fairly close. Ardmona could be the big surprise though.:confused:

A lot of people were eager to watch Yea's Tom Butterworth go at it against Travas Wayman but he never played. Fair to say that Tally didnt really give a yelp after the shocking break to young Ratcliffe, having been in the situation with one of our boys (Redda Inness) a few seasons back I ofund it very hard on the group to go into the rooms at half time and witness their mate going thru such hell and then try and re-focus.

No doubt it affected the game, unsure if the outcome woulda changed but certainly robbed us of a close finish after what was a great spectacle til half time.

Travvy43 said:
Fair comment Doona.
From what i hear they have five players that lets say would be on an average of 200 and game. Thats a grand a game and lets say roughly $16k a year. If the gig boys again go through without getting the win that $16k is a complete waste. I dare say the next two weeks against Violet Town and Undera would be cruicial for Gig in getting a win.

If they dont get a win in those games, why keep forking out the coin???

16k who are you kidding I would estimate that Gig will be flipping 60 to 65 grand this year. Just Between Canavan, Fisher and Snelson I'd think would be 25-26 Grand.

On The Money said:
16k who are you kidding I would estimate that Gig will be flipping 60 to 65 grand this year. Just Between Canavan, Fisher and Snelson I'd think would be 25-26 Grand.

Christ well they'll never be able to afford me then!!!

Doona2 said:
Christ well they'll never be able to afford me then!!!

There will be plenty left for you Doona I don't think bullets are a problem at Roo land they will proberly set you up in the best commission house in town!!

On The Money said:
There will be plenty left for you Doona I don't think bullets are a problem at Roo land they will proberly set you up in the best commission house in town!!

Mmmmm sounds tempting, get a truckload of money and no pressure to perform!!!

T.Perry said:
(me and) Dujon were trying to defuse the situation as much as we could and get as many rushy players away from the fracas as possible QUOTE]

There's an oxymoron - Dujon trying to DEFUSE a situation!

Just wondering how Violet Town are going in the KD. What happened to their old league? Who are some of their better players. The KDFL is not a league i am familiar with .

Violet Town won their first game on the weekend in the KD. The CG folded after half the clubs decided the league was going no where and voted to leave. Sean Horsborough, Bo Harrison are the best of the locals wth a couple of good players from melbourne

carlton_86 said:
Violet Town won their first game on the weekend in the KD. The CG folded after half the clubs decided the league was going no where and voted to leave. Sean Horsborough, Bo Harrison are the best of the locals wth a couple of good players from melbourne

The CGFL folded due to a Pi$$ poor VCFL, easily coulda reshuffled several sides and kept two strong leagues going, especially after Broadford had expressed an interest in going there in 2006. Sean is a very handy player, Bo I believe was an exeptional under ager, but have to admit has never really fired a shot against Yea the 3-4 years I watched them play against Violet Town. Where did Jack Smythe go, he was pretty handy also?

Doona2 said:
The CGFL folded due to a Pi$$ poor VCFL, easily coulda reshuffled several sides and kept two strong leagues going, especially after Broadford had expressed an interest in going there in 2006. Sean is a very handy player, Bo I believe was an exeptional under ager, but have to admit has never really fired a shot against Yea the 3-4 years I watched them play against Violet Town. Where did Jack Smythe go, he was pretty handy also?

Yer I must admit the day I seen Violet Town Bo Harrison was pretty quiet playing in the midfield but got named best in the rooms following the game. Might be a bit of favourite there casue they gave him a real good rap up.

Wayne Weideman said:
just wondering if luke west played any senior games for stanhope?

Don't think so Wayne. Played a fair bit of thirds footy, and might have played in an under age flag, or two, but I don't think he would have played 1's. If he did, 5 or so games would prob pull him up..

Speaking of Stanhope, having Sloan, Cowie and Weeks in the 2's is a pretty good indication of their depth, esp considering Sloan has played a lot of GV senior footy and Cowie had a great year for the lions back in 99 or so before he got injured and is still only 25..Their depth will be a major advantage for them this year..

And Travvy, I think you might be seriously underestimating how much Gig are forking out this year - Snelson and Canavan alone are costing them more than $20K/yr..easily.. I think they over-estimated Canavan's ability to bring quality players with him and forgot that he's nearly 40 and his best footy is behind him. They should have given Brenton Grey, Brad Lowe or one of the Reid brothers $15K-odd to coach so at least they would have also gotten a quality player, as well as a coach..

would have been funny saturday when t.perry yelled out "someone get on wheelbarrow". What was the response tavis??

T.Perry said:
Don't think so Wayne. Played a fair bit of thirds footy, and might have played in an under age flag, or two, but I don't think he would have played 1's. If he did, 5 or so games would prob pull him up..

Speaking of Stanhope, having Sloan, Cowie and Weeks in the 2's is a pretty good indication of their depth, esp considering Sloan has played a lot of GV senior footy and Cowie had a great year for the lions back in 99 or so before he got injured and is still only 25..Their depth will be a major advantage for them this year..

And Travvy, I think you might be seriously underestimating how much Gig are forking out this year - Snelson and Canavan alone are costing them more than $20K/yr..easily.. I think they over-estimated Canavan's ability to bring quality players with him and forgot that he's nearly 40 and his best footy is behind him. They should have given Brenton Grey, Brad Lowe or one of the Reid brothers $15K-odd to coach so at least they would have also gotten a quality player, as well as a coach..

At the rate in which gig are going you would think they would have be a great chance in folding next year. Will have no money and will probably only win a couple of games. I hear that they are paying close 1000 a game for the 2 vances on top of all the others.

Can any one substanciate these figures. If true. With so many teams in country Vic it must be a night mare trying to find the coin to compete.

head67 said:
Can any one substanciate these figures. If true. With so many teams in country Vic it must be a night mare trying to find the coin to compete.

Canavan, Snelson and the Vances have all told me what they're on, and whilst it would be unfair to reveal exact amounts, big footy scribes haven't been far off the mark. Gig have been down for a while and in that time had managed to save $70K, or so. Depending on what happens (if they stop paying players at the mid-way point coz finals is out of reach), they should still have some left over for 07. But that's the point, they went for a quick fix, and it has back-fired to date, big time. They should have put something in place to attract junior players to the club, and changed the culture they have at the club of not training.

Whilst Rushworth haven't had as much senior success as Stanhope, if you look at both clubs, there is a large number of ex-junior players that have gone through to be quality senior players for the club. That is how success is achieved. That, and a culture that requires players to achieve a certain amount of fitness level and training adherence before a senior game is played. Apart from Snelson, like I've stated in earlier posts, all the Gig recruits don't train, and have been told they don't have to...what kind of value for $ is that, and what example is it setting for the rest of the side??

At the end of the day, Gig will prob spend their $ this year, win 5+ games at most, be a long way off finals, and then have to rebuild again for another 5 years til they have the money to try and buy success again...

In terms of finding it hard to compete, I can't speak for all clubs, but in the case of Gig, I think they found it harder to recruit the players they wanted (even though they had the $) than they thought they would...for a majority of players it seems as though being a chance to play finals/have a crack at a flag is still the most attractive way of convincing them to play..

Once again it comes back to poor administration! Why pay so much in 06 and still be in the same position as in 05? I would suggest that the club has put its future in jeopardy. It would not be the only club in this position.

jazzy said:
would have been funny saturday when t.perry yelled out "someone get on wheelbarrow". What was the response tavis??

Fair dinkum gold what did he say or do? . . . you're a mighty sleuth there T.Perry I have been off the mark and thought wheelie was just a Swans fan who worked at Strath Ayr

Doona2 said:
Fair dinkum gold what did he say or do? . . . you're a mighty sleuth there T.Perry I have been off the mark and thought wheelie was just a Swans fan

He's more than just a fan, but I doubt he'd appreciate me revealing his true identity - I'm sure he'd do that himself if he wanted to let everyone know.. By the way Jazzy - how on earth did you know I called out "someone get on wheelbarrow"?? Are you an Avenel player or an insider??

don't stress, I don't play. a mate told me about it. He plays at avenel and has just found out about big footy. he said not many others got the joke......