KDFL June 07 -August 07

Re: Kyabram District FL

Stanhope look to be favouites. Hopefully they can overcome the finals jitters and win the GF this year. Although it was a close game last week against Ardmona, I still think Stanhope will have to many guns come the GF.

I don't know if you could call 05 and 06 jitters, bad luck yes! Quality side that has stayed up for a long time. I think they may have the mix this year, but will they have the luck? Yes, you do make your own luck and I am guessing that there are a few guys at Stanhope who will not want to let another one slip.

Violet Town vs Ardmona (5pts) were pumped and ready to make a statement
Undera vs Tallygaroopna (11pts) Tally to turn it around and finish a good season by Undera
Good to hear your pumped BODZY. You will have to keep the ground open and use as much run as possible to overcome Ardmona. The more congested it is the better for ardy, you guys would be quicker but they have the stronger bodies.
Tally will definately beat Undera. I am predicting a win by over 30 points. Undera have done a great job, but i reckon their run stops here.

Undera vs Tallygaroopna (11pts) Tally to turn it around and finish a good season by Undera

Ardmona by 15
Undera by 32
Anyone else see a striking resemblance between this years MCNamara medalist and another Nagambie great? Draw a moustache on him and put him at CHF. Are they related? Hooda named in the Stanhope reserves, would be a handy senior acquisition in 4 weeks, is he really back? ;)

I don't know if you could call 05 and 06 jitters, bad luck yes! Quality side that has stayed up for a long time. I think they may have the mix this year, but will they have the luck? Yes, you do make your own luck and I am guessing that there are a few guys at Stanhope who will not want to let another one slip.

If Stanhope don't win another flag soon they could be in the same boat as the bombers side '99,'00,'01 in having a great side but not putting the runs on the board or the flags on the wall.

My selections are as follows

Violet Town vs. ARDMONA 24 points, I know that this does seem steep to some people, but I feel that Ardy's finals experience and physicality will prove too much for Violet Town, and it wouldn't surprise me if they get beaten in straight sets (I hope it doesn't happen because as I said in our notes in the last game of the season, it would be great to see someone else win the flag for a change).

Tallygaroopna vs. UNDERA, 12 points, call it a hunch, but I think that with the injuries that Tally have at the moment, if ever there is a chance for Undera to knock off the Redlegs, and progress further in the finals, now would be it, and I think that Terry Mahoney should have a few surprises up his sleeve, and cause a big upset.

As far as the Flag is concerned, it's really Stanhope's to lose, and if they don't do it this year, they would have to consider this current era as being a failure, because they have been the most dominant side for over four years now, and really they don't have anywhere near enough to show for it.

I hope that all of those playing on the weekend to best of luck, and I anticipate the results of these two matches.

Hey Bodzy, I thought you thought you were a bit of a gun?? why did you only get 3 votes in the league??

I'm not sure if you's will all know him, but I have not seen a player more important to his side than James 'Cozza' Clavarino (yea). He is extremely underrated and it really is inspiring to watch him put his little body on the line like he does. I'm interested to know peoples thoughts on him, I'm sure Doona will agree with me...

I'll back ya Chrissy Boy - he's a ripper our Cosa. Did he win the B.O.G. medal in the 2005 flag? Often forced to play out of his weight division and never takes a backward step :thumbsu:

Good to hear your pumped BODZY. You will have to keep the ground open and use as much run as possible to overcome Ardmona. The more congested it is the better for ardy, you guys would be quicker but they have the stronger bodies.
Tally will definately beat Undera. I am predicting a win by over 30 points. Undera have done a great job, but i reckon their run stops here.

Have to disagree with your there Trouser i reckon Undera will take care of Tallygaroopna. Keith Wellman keeps making reference in his writes up's to Tally players missing? their top liners all seem to be going round at the moment.