KDFL June 07 -August 07

Re: Kyabram District FL

Mighty Swannies keep on travelling nicely, Seniors posting another win leaving them with 6 wins from 7 games played, only loss coming from Violet Town to the tune of 11 points and the Magoos remain undefeated.

The big test lies in the next five weeks where Avenel play Undera, Tally, Ardy, Stanhope and Rushy, if they can win 2 of the 5, surely the Swannies may get a taste of September action, huge step up from the previous two seasons.

Mighty Swannies keep on travelling nicely, Seniors posting another win leaving them with 6 wins from 7 games played, only loss coming from Violet Town to the tune of 11 points and the Magoos remain undefeated.

The big test lies in the next five weeks where Avenel play Undera, Tally, Ardy, Stanhope and Rushy, if they can win 2 of the 5, surely the Swannies may get a taste of September action, huge step up from the previous two seasons.

Yes i have to agree with you mate. Avenel have suprised alot of people this year and me included! Six wins from seven games is fantastic considering where they ended up last year! These games coming up for Avenel will stretch the boys and they will soon find out where they are at in terms of playing finals footy. Undera, Tally, Ardy, Stanhope and Rushy all will push the swannies to the limit. Stanhope have been in the past two grannies and keep on winning! They have the best win-loss ratio over the past two and a half seasons that i have seen. Ardy were last years premiers and are amongst it again this season. Tally were the 2005 premiers, dropped off last year but are back up there in contention this year. Rushy are a fairly young side with a few thirds boys playing and a couple in there first few seasons at senior level but are a competitive team at the worst and play on emotion. Should be there abouts this year. Undera are sitting seventh but have beaten Rushy and tally(two sides fighting for finals positions) so you cant write them off this early. All in all Avenel have there work cut out for them over the next few weeks and it will be interesting to see how these games pan out.

Is there any players out there that would be a walk up start in the GVFL top 8 sides.

At a guess Best (Tally) Gray (Stanhope) T. Perry (Rushy) Walker (VT) Chris Leatham (Yea) and both Mick Shiels (Nag) and Matty Mills (VT) shoulda played GV 1's than they did last year I reckon. Is Stammers still at Merrigum? Saw him play some handy games at Tatura.

He's not at Yea for 2007 but Tom Butterworth would also

lancy won
Ardy won

I'm well aware of that juddy. I'm looking for match reports, not results. wondering on details of games, who to look out for, who sustained injuries, the good points and bad points of each teams performance, etc.

Hey Bodzy, it sounds like you need to put a few staff on your payroll to go and check out every game every week. Would you rely on the info you get on BF anyway??

At a guess Best (Tally) Gray (Stanhope) T. Perry (Rushy) Walker (VT) Chris Leatham (Yea) and both Mick Shiels (Nag) and Matty Mills (VT) shoulda played GV 1's than they did last year I reckon. Is Stammers still at Merrigum? Saw him play some handy games at Tatura.

There would be a few more around the traps as well I would think. I don't think Ozzie from Tally ever played a 2s game at swans, always played 1s. In a pretty good team as well.

Matty Mills was an excellent GV 2s player but maybe not a walk up start to one of the top 8 sides.

Add a couple more of the stanhope lads (don't know the guys names), also maybe lowe (ardy) Macak & marguglio (VT), + the Tally boys that played GV seniors last year.

Add a couple more of the stanhope lads (don't know the guys), also maybe lowe (ardy) Macak & marguglio (VT), + the Tally boys that played GV seniors last year.
I don't reckon any other Tally boys would be walk up starts. Again, excellent 2s players and top up senior players but not walk up starts.
I reckon most of the KDL seniors would be walk up starts to Tat this year though HA HA:D:D

There would be a few more around the traps as well I would think. I don't think Ozzie from Tally ever played a 2s game at swans, always played 1s. In a pretty good team as well.

Matty Mills was an excellent GV 2s player but maybe not a walk up start to one of the top 8 sides.

My list coulda hit 15 when I think of guys playing one's at some GV clubs in 2007.

Pretty sure Matt is a GVFL Life Member (200 senior games), and still thought he was deserved of more of a go at Euroa Euroa last year but we move on hey, I hear he's loving things at VT and by all reports is having a real impact on the KDFL :thumbsu:

I think if it gets to the stage where Trotts can cover Matt forward and enjoy the luxury of his beautiful left foot coming off half back and steering the ship then VT will play Stanhope come the last Saturday in September.

There is alot alot more that would get a game in a top 8 GVFL side. While the top liners of the GVL seem to come more credentials these days the depth is wearing away and not what it used to be.

there would be at least 20 blokes maybe closer to 30 that would get a gig in a top 8 GV side.

Does anyone know anything about the rumor getting around about Euroa talking to the Nt boys from Gig ?

Rumor has it they went to Violet Town and watched them play and caught up with one of the boys and swapped numbers.

Does anyone know anything about the rumor getting around about Euroa talking to the Nt boys from Gig ?

Rumor has it they went to Violet Town and watched them play and caught up with one of the boys and swapped numbers.

dont no if thts true... few of the euroa boys played up in nt over summer and i know they played with at least one of the boys that played for gig against us.

there would be at least 20 blokes maybe closer to 30 that would get a gig in a top 8 GV side.

I'd have to agree with you there Bluey, I think the KDFL gets unfairly run down about its standard on occasions. Off hand I'd say that there are at least 20-30. You only have to look at a few of the guys who have left recently which have played good footy at a higher level. Tim Bone springs to mind immediatley at Echuca United, not the GV, but was playing inter-league for the MFL. Some others who could cut it include:
Leigh Kellett, was playing seniors for the top of the table Shepp Swans earlier this year, before heading back to Murch
Brad Lowe (Ard)
Lllyod O'Brien (Ard)
Mark Ferrari (Ard)
Shaun Pearce (Stan)
Matt Trist (Stan)
Dave Hansford (Stan)
Nick Gibbs (Stan)
Hayden Best (Tally)
Rob Osborne (Tally)
Kane Hoskin (Tally)
Ben Stoertbecker (Und)

There's an even dozen without trying too hard...
I'm sure there's plenty more out there

i think they were cathing up with the gig boys gazza, not asking them to play, one of the euroa blokes played with a few of them in darwin in our off season.
A i also heard of a good source that the blokes that were supposed to be coming down from darwin to play for euroa wont be coming to play anymore,

Big game this weekend takin place at Avenel where the Swans are playing host to undera, huge game for Avenel who have won there past 4 games. Any tips ??? For me the Swannies by 16 points

I'm sure this will impress many people...

Thursday, 7th June 2007

Meka's tough style is Legendary By Christie Peucker

Victorian coach Danny Frawley had been on the lookout for that extra bit of grunt to join the likes of Tony Liberatore, Dermott Brereton and Stewart Loewe in Wednesday's EJ Whitten Legends Game.

Luckily, he had Ardmona spearhead Perry Meka to call upon.
Nominated by the Kyabram District league Cats earlier this season, Meka was chosen from hundreds of hopefuls and given top billing as the side's fullforward.

The opportunity is likely to pit Meka against former Brisbane full-back Richard Champion, something which, with six days still to go before the match, is already giving the usual hard nut a few nerves.

"Danny Frawley rang and said `We want you to play full-forward,' " Meka said.
"I'm so nervous now and I've got a week to go.

"I think I'll drink water and soup until then just to lose a few kilos."
As the clock ticks down to game time against the All Star side coached by former Kangaroo Wayne Carey, Meka's captain Nathan Burke is confident the side has the perfect combination of mongrel and class.

"The great EJ was a firm believer that a tough, hard, uncompromising footballer would always beat a fast, skilful, namby-pamby footballer, (so) we've recruited for extra grunt," Burke said.

It's something Meka will have no trouble adding.

"Shane Woewodin is an old mate of mine, so I'll target him . . . if I can catch him," the former Footscray draftee said.

With the series tied at five-all, Meka said he hoped his trusted right foot would give his side something to sing about.

"It would be great (to kick a bag) but Adem (Yze, Meka's cousin) said four goals, one in each quarter," Meka said.
"But just a kick would be nice."

The incentive will be there though, as Meka's usual legion of fans are expected to travel to the MCG to cheer him on.

"They've said they are going to go goal to goal as they usually do," he said.
Also playing in the match are former GVFL and AFL players Adrian Hickmott and Anthony Stevens.

Big game this weekend takin place at Avenel where the Swans are playing host to undera, huge game for Avenel who have won there past 4 games. Any tips ??? For me the Swannies by 16 points

Joey u said the Swans are good things a work yesty!!!

I'm sure this will impress many people...

Thursday, 7th June 2007

Meka's tough style is Legendary By Christie Peucker

Victorian coach Danny Frawley had been on the lookout for that extra bit of grunt to join the likes of Tony Liberatore, Dermott Brereton and Stewart Loewe in Wednesday's EJ Whitten Legends Game.

Luckily, he had Ardmona spearhead Perry Meka to call upon.
Nominated by the Kyabram District league Cats earlier this season, Meka was chosen from hundreds of hopefuls and given top billing as the side's fullforward.

The opportunity is likely to pit Meka against former Brisbane full-back Richard Champion, something which, with six days still to go before the match, is already giving the usual hard nut a few nerves.

"Danny Frawley rang and said `We want you to play full-forward,' " Meka said.
"I'm so nervous now and I've got a week to go.

"I think I'll drink water and soup until then just to lose a few kilos."
As the clock ticks down to game time against the All Star side coached by former Kangaroo Wayne Carey, Meka's captain Nathan Burke is confident the side has the perfect combination of mongrel and class.

"The great EJ was a firm believer that a tough, hard, uncompromising footballer would always beat a fast, skilful, namby-pamby footballer, (so) we've recruited for extra grunt," Burke said.

It's something Meka will have no trouble adding.

"Shane Woewodin is an old mate of mine, so I'll target him . . . if I can catch him," the former Footscray draftee said.

With the series tied at five-all, Meka said he hoped his trusted right foot would give his side something to sing about.

"It would be great (to kick a bag) but Adem (Yze, Meka's cousin) said four goals, one in each quarter," Meka said.
"But just a kick would be nice."

The incentive will be there though, as Meka's usual legion of fans are expected to travel to the MCG to cheer him on.

"They've said they are going to go goal to goal as they usually do," he said.
Also playing in the match are former GVFL and AFL players Adrian Hickmott and Anthony Stevens.

That does impress me Bradrowe#32 however choosing a better bloke wouldnt have gone a stray. Good luck to Perry and lets hope his legion of Ardmona fans dont start a riot.

Been a bit quiet for the kdl this week, has anyone got any match reports from the weekend matches especially:
Undera v lancaster?
Lancaster got off to a good start kicking to the swampy end and kept the scoreboard pressure on Undera all day. The wombats probably should have kicked a few more goals in the first quarter and made it harder for Undera to sniff a comeback.
Well fought out all day. Umpiring was a bit perplexing each way, but not nearly half as bad as the umpiring in the two's match, but I'll get to that in a minute.
Some good games had by a few of the younger blokes and not one passenger so a good all round effort in pretty ordinary conditions.

Now, good on the kid( Undera thirds player) for putting his hand up to Umpire the twos but I think someone out the road might wanna just take him aside and explain that an alleged 14-1 free kick count to the team he just ran out with doesn't look the greatest. Lancaster had the better team and ran out convincing winners but gee I'd hate to be that lad walking off the ground if it had of been close on the scoreboard or against a club that have a bunch of nutters waiting on the sidelines. ;)

Just on Undera's ground, now some of the Undera boys were on here early in the year and saying just how good the surface was, but even with the drought the rain we've had in the last week has turned it to shizen. the southern end is literally mud from centre square to boundary line.
Unfortunately it's the only end that is lighted for training so it will make it hard for the ground to come up.

looks like darren turner is looking at a return to the KDFL after putting in a clearance to Ardmona

Add a couple more of the stanhope lads (don't know the guys names), also maybe lowe (ardy) Macak & marguglio (VT), + the Tally boys that played GV seniors last year.
Bodz. Is Abs a chance at 1st grade this year and is the club having any type of a reunion for the 20 yr aniversery of the 87 flag?

Lancaster got off to a good start kicking to the swampy end and kept the scoreboard pressure on Undera all day. The wombats probably should have kicked a few more goals in the first quarter and made it harder for Undera to sniff a comeback.
Well fought out all day. Umpiring was a bit perplexing each way, but not nearly half as bad as the umpiring in the two's match, but I'll get to that in a minute.
Some good games had by a few of the younger blokes and not one passenger so a good all round effort in pretty ordinary conditions.

Now, good on the kid( Undera thirds player) for putting his hand up to Umpire the twos but I think someone out the road might wanna just take him aside and explain that an alleged 14-1 free kick count to the team he just ran out with doesn't look the greatest. Lancaster had the better team and ran out convincing winners but gee I'd hate to be that lad walking off the ground if it had of been close on the scoreboard or against a club that have a bunch of nutters waiting on the sidelines. ;)

Just on Undera's ground, now some of the Undera boys were on here early in the year and saying just how good the surface was, but even with the drought the rain we've had in the last week has turned it to shizen. the southern end is literally mud from centre square to boundary line.
Unfortunately it's the only end that is lighted for training so it will make it hard for the ground to come up.

Hi Cosby,

Congratulations on your boys wins on the weekend, played very good football.

On the other couple of points:-

With the umpiring, we got caught short with the appointed umpires not being available and I was dissappointed when I arrived to see one of my senior players running around doing the thirds. Hence I wrecked a good pair of jeans and runners myself by going out and taking over. I think my free kick count was 4 or 5 to lancy and 2 or 3 to Undera. The boys from both sides were excellent and in reality I think if umpires keep on telling players to knock it on from underneath packs and don't pay tiggy touchwood free kicks it is better for everyone.

I didn't see the twos as I had to go home and get changed, but the lad that did it is an excellent young man and very fair. It was a hard day to umpire though with so many close in contests. I can't comment on the free kick count as I didn't see the match, but I am certain he would not have intended it to end up that way if that was the correct count.

In regards to the conditions, I think a lot of grounds struggled to cope with the rain in the week prior and you are right, the area in front of the clubrooms gets the most traffic so suffers the most. Having said that though after a couple of fine days the ground was fantastic to train on all week and they have rolled the muddy patch but some rain will make it heavy again. In regards to the lights, both ends are covered and we use the whole ground, but are upgrading the lights this year, with the money we won from NAB.