KDFL June 07 -August 07

Re: Kyabram District FL

Hi Cosby,

Congratulations on your boys wins on the weekend, played very good football.

On the other couple of points:-

With the umpiring, we got caught short with the appointed umpires not being available and I was dissappointed when I arrived to see one of my senior players running around doing the thirds. Hence I wrecked a good pair of jeans and runners myself by going out and taking over. I think my free kick count was 4 or 5 to lancy and 2 or 3 to Undera. The boys from both sides were excellent and in reality I think if umpires keep on telling players to knock it on from underneath packs and don't pay tiggy touchwood free kicks it is better for everyone.

I didn't see the twos as I had to go home and get changed, but the lad that did it is an excellent young man and very fair. It was a hard day to umpire though with so many close in contests. I can't comment on the free kick count as I didn't see the match, but I am certain he would not have intended it to end up that way if that was the correct count.

In regards to the conditions, I think a lot of grounds struggled to cope with the rain in the week prior and you are right, the area in front of the clubrooms gets the most traffic so suffers the most. Having said that though after a couple of fine days the ground was fantastic to train on all week and they have rolled the muddy patch but some rain will make it heavy again. In regards to the lights, both ends are covered and we use the whole ground, but are upgrading the lights this year, with the money we won from NAB.

I played in the thirds game and was very happy when you came and umpired. Umps should just let players go and not blow the whistle every time someone is tackeld. Good on ya. Thought about taking a career as an ump.?

Thanks Juddy,

It is very enjoyable umpiring but I would miss the atmosphere of being involved in a footy club, but if there are any ex players out there not involved in a club, umpiring is as close as you can get to playing. It would be great for the game if players went on to become umpires.

R

Terry

Been a bit quiet for the kdl this week, has anyone got any match reports from the weekend matches especially:
Undera v lancaster?
Ardy v Rushy?

Sorry bodz, haven't been near a computer all week. Hope the hand gets better soon mate.. Ardy v Rushy was played in muddy conditions for most of the game, but I was impressed with the skill level and desire from both teams. We lost 5 before the game, so didn't have a lot of options on the bench, but gave it a crack.. Didn't lose by much, but were never a real threat of winning.. Ferrari, (M)Ansell?, and Gibson were all good - Gibson in particular was sensational for them. Meka had 4 kicks and kicked 4 goals, he can hardly run, and hasn't got the distance in his kicks, but positions himself well one-on-one and makes sure if he gets it he's a cert to kick a goal..

Was also thinking - hoota has been superb since he has come back to the KDL - is is unrealistic to think he holds the title of best ever KDL player? No doubt Aldous is his main rival, what do blokes think? would love to hear from someone who's seen them both and give an un-biased comparison.. Maybe wheelbarrow or Doona might know best??

Two u mentioned would be up there, think Damien Yze might give them a run, also Mark McQueen was unstoppable in two years at Stanhope. I'm sure there has been some standouts pre-1995 when I never took any notice of the league.
If its just on the best player to have played, then all these blokes would be up there, but on sheer weight of numbers and longevity there is no way you could put anyone ahead of Aldous, only guessing these but over a decade or so would have averaged 30-40 creds a game, 4 league medals (others mentioned have none), 3 or 4 flags.

Bodz. Is Abs a chance at 1st grade this year and is the club having any type of a reunion for the 20 yr aniversery of the 87 flag?
Abs played in the seniors last week against nagambie, and was selected in the senior game this weekend.
so good to see the man still playin in the ones,
will he go to 500 senior games?

Darren Turner,s footy sock draw would have to be bursting at the side,s wouldnt it??? what a disgrace, surely he must just think he,s carrying on just a little bit with his 3 or 4 clubs a year policy??? imagine been the ardy coach?? do u reckon breroton thinks he,s got a 2 or 3 year player for the club when he signed him??? I,d say 2 month player.

Two u mentioned would be up there, think Damien Yze might give them a run, also Mark McQueen was unstoppable in two years at Stanhope. I'm sure there has been some standouts pre-1995 when I never took any notice of the league.
If its just on the best player to have played, then all these blokes would be up there, but on sheer weight of numbers and longevity there is no way you could put anyone ahead of Aldous, only guessing these but over a decade or so would have averaged 30-40 creds a game, 4 league medals (others mentioned have none), 3 or 4 flags.

Nagambie's eddie sheils, who still runs around in the seniors for nagambie, would have to give it a fair run. played alot of footy at seymour (team of the century) and some at bendigo, has still managed to rack up 4 league medals, 10 Nagambies b n fs as well as a u18 medal back in 1974. few flags as well.

Darren Turner,s footy sock draw would have to be bursting at the side,s wouldnt it??? what a disgrace, surely he must just think he,s carrying on just a little bit with his 3 or 4 clubs a year policy??? imagine been the ardy coach?? do u reckon breroton thinks he,s got a 2 or 3 year player for the club when he signed him??? I,d say 2 month player.
Your right smallfootyhead,but a extra10 cents is an extra 10 cents

Makes you wonder about the sides that recruit him, what would there motives be? Can't be good for the betterment of the club.

DT is a gun player, but hes taking it a bit too far now. Ardmona would b looking at him to partner an ageing meka in the foward line, could possibly be what the cats need to boost them back into grand final contention, surely a one year deal though with him.

I think the clubs that pick up DT are thinking solely on his football talent which we know he,s a skillful player but there,s alot of baggage that comes with him!! Personally i wouldnt want him in the same team he more of a hinderance than a positive?????

Nagambie's eddie sheils, who still runs around in the seniors for nagambie, would have to give it a fair run. played alot of footy at seymour (team of the century) and some at bendigo, has still managed to rack up 4 league medals, 10 Nagambies b n fs as well as a u18 medal back in 1974. few flags as well.
not to mention that he is still running around in the seniors at the ripe old age of about 50! if its based on longevity eddie gets the nod imo. best i've seen is showy aldous with grey not far behind. hmmm someone should start a thread on this topic and we should get some opinions from blokes that have been around a bit longer.

Wheelie is in a better position to judge this me. I followed Avenel for a couple of years in the 90's when a cousin played there, and apart from a year at Avenel and last year at Yea where i again saw the comp first hand I would only see a game or two a year otherwise.

Showy was an absolute freak IMO, how many league medals 3-4??? Brenton is as good a player as you'll get in a district comp I say but as I said there's probably guys like Eddie Shiels and even Pez who have also stood the test of time along with others I haven't seen enough of to judge. Did Danny Irwin have an impact, was one of the Varcoe's at Gig pretty handy??? Like I said aint seen enough regular footy over a sustained period of time to judge.

I look forward to watching this topic but might leave it to a few longer standing KDFL followers :thumbsu:

Just checking today's results no real surprises but Im rapt to see Yea put up a great fight against Ardmona going down by 6-7 goals. Looks like Undera took most of the day to shake off Avenel, Tally got over Lancaster, VT pumped Merrigum, Nagambie got over Murch and the local derby saw Stanhope 5 goal victors over a Rushy side that had 3 more scoring shots.

Just on Avenel, I know talk about rookie's went on a few weeks back but young Robbie Sidebottom has given up thirds footy I believe and has been in the Swans best 2-3 just about every game I reckon. Today I see he booted 7 outa 12 goals and must be not only leading the club b & f at this stage but also featuring in other counts???

Wheelie is in a better position to judge this me. I followed Avenel for a couple of years in the 90's when a cousin played there, and apart from a year at Avenel and last year at Yea where i again saw the comp first hand I would only see a game or two a year otherwise.

Showy was an absolute freak IMO, how many league medals 3-4??? Brenton is as good a player as you'll get in a district comp I say but as I said there's probably guys like Eddie Shiels and even Pez who have also stood the test of time along with others I haven't seen enough of to judge. Did Danny Irwin have an impact, was one of the Varcoe's at Gig pretty handy??? Like I said aint seen enough regular footy over a sustained period of time to judge.

I look forward to watching this topic but might leave it to a few longer standing KDFL followers :thumbsu:

What about Paul (Zubes) O'Connor and Trevor Canobie Doona, would they rate:thumbsu:

also wanna know how rick sheilds goes for stanhope heard he good any takers. tried to get him to thornton couple of years ago.

Rick SHEERS goes alright. Out with quad problems at the moment. Will eventually be a 250 gamer, and all of them quality.

I am obviously biased Hank, but the best way to answer the question is, who hurts sides the most.?

I have seen Rohan pick up 50 plus in a final and slot a lazy 5 or 6 to boot.
Plus for over 10 yrs the bloke necked 20 udl's thursday and friday nights.

The funniest thing I reckon I ever seen was when we went to Seymour in 95, they said if anyone was caught drinking after Thursday night they wouldnt play. Obviously as they were announcing this Showy was knocking back his 15th can after training saying, "good rule, whos gunna follow it.?"..

They had never seen a bloke do what he could do to himself on Thursdays and Fridays and still get 40 touches in the GV. People don't realise with Show, he was never really fair dinkum about his footy, loved it, gave 110% on the field but lets face it his prep wasnt the best. Just had a massive motor come game day. I dare say there will never be a paid player that can ever put their hand up and say that they got paid $250 a week, spent $500 a week over the bar and on top of that ran the whole social calender.

You will have a great night with him speaking up there, no better man has held the reins..

I am obviously biased Hank, but the best way to answer the question is, who hurts sides the most.?

I have seen Rohan pick up 50 plus in a final and slot a lazy 5 or 6 to boot.
Plus for over 10 yrs the bloke necked 20 udl's thursday and friday nights.

The funniest thing I reckon I ever seen was when we went to Seymour in 95, they said if anyone was caught drinking after Thursday night they wouldnt play. Obviously as they were announcing this Showy was knocking back his 15th can after training saying, "good rule, whos gunna follow it.?"..

They had never seen a bloke do what he could do to himself on Thursdays and Fridays and still get 40 touches in the GV. People don't realise with Show, he was never really fair dinkum about his footy, loved it, gave 110% on the field but lets face it his prep wasnt the best. Just had a massive motor come game day. I dare say there will never be a paid player that can ever put their hand up and say that they got paid $250 a week, spent $500 a week over the bar and on top of that ran the whole social calender.

You will have a great night with him speaking up there, no better man has held the reins..
did a bloddy good job at all 3 of his jobs in my opinion. Is the best social calnedar operator i have seen as well as the best footballer and drinker!!!! good bloke to boot, probably not the ideal role model :eek:but looked after us young blokes.
will never forget my first beer boobs and brownlow

Just checking today's results no real surprises but Im rapt to see Yea put up a great fight against Ardmona going down by 6-7 goals. Looks like Undera took most of the day to shake off Avenel, Tally got over Lancaster, VT pumped Merrigum, Nagambie got over Murch and the local derby saw Stanhope 5 goal victors over a Rushy side that had 3 more scoring shots.

Yeh, didn't play, but was taping the game, so had a good vantage point. Pretty good game, though stanhope looked in control until about the 18min mark of the last quarter, when we got back to within 11 points, and got a free kick 45m out dead in front. Unfortunately there was a soft reversal, followed by a 100m penalty, which gave stanhope the goal and the game.. Troy Auld and Marcus Emmett were dangerous up forward for the lions, while Tom clarke did a great job on hansford and Jake lloyd took some great marks and presented all day.

With the loss of hoota, I'd say there's stuff all difference between Stanhope, VT and Ardy.. given what I've seen when we've played them.

Yeh, didn't play, but was taping the game, so had a good vantage point. Pretty good game, though stanhope looked in control until about the 18min mark of the last quarter, when we got back to within 11 points, and got a free kick 45m out dead in front. Unfortunately there was a soft reversal, followed by a 100m penalty, which gave stanhope the goal and the game.. Troy Auld and Marcus Emmett were dangerous up forward for the lions, while Tom clarke did a great job on hansford and Jake lloyd took some great marks and presented all day.

With the loss of hoota, I'd say there's stuff all difference between Stanhope, VT and Ardy.. given what I've seen when we've played them.

Hard to believe one player could make so much of a difference, but there has been plenty of talk about him so he must be good. Only seen Stanhope twice and no one stood out, so he must have had an off day each time.

can any1 explain to me how the bennett s sport s award is scored. Is it the coaches that do the votes or goal umpires? confused. And why arer the leaders blokes from teams that arn t doing very well this year!!

i'm pretty sure the bennets sports award is a 3-2-1 voting card selected by the goal umpires and every game each team has a 3-2-1 thats why the outstanding players from the lower teams are leading.

Cheers Cat, What about the reunion plans? is there any?

Gidday HEAD, Just an update on the reunion,Abs is trying to get a date together so at this stage it looking good for later in the year,will be a good time to catch up..